DLA-X7 - 3D problems with Comcast Cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-15-2011, 12:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rebn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently completed an install of the X7 and was extremely pleased with the results after an ISF calibration. I connected an Oppo BDP through a Denon AVR and was able to get 3D content visible without any additional configuration. I am not having any luck with Comcast Cable. (Metro Atlanta) The two stations that we get either show top/bot or side/side. There aren't any settings inside the projector to turn 3D on/off; it just adjusts when it senses a 3D signal. I bypassed the AVR entirely and connected the cable box directly to the projector. Still no luck. I changed resolutions from 1080i to 720p and no luck. JVC tech support wasn't very helpful at all, and my sales rep mentioned to me some incompatibility issues with the way the 3D source material is encoded. Can anyone confirm or deny this? Has anyone had any luck with Comcast Cable (motorola DVR) and the X7/60U ?

Thanks!

"The mind is like a drunken monkey stung by a scorpion"
rebn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-15-2011, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,739
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebn View Post
I recently completed an install of the X7 and was extremely pleased with the results after an ISF calibration. I connected an Oppo BDP through a Denon AVR and was able to get 3D content visible without any additional configuration. I am not having any luck with Comcast Cable. (Metro Atlanta) The two stations that we get either show top/bot or side/side. There aren't any settings inside the projector to turn 3D on/off; it just adjusts when it senses a 3D signal. I bypassed the AVR entirely and connected the cable box directly to the projector. Still no luck. I changed resolutions from 1080i to 720p and no luck. JVC tech support wasn't very helpful at all, and my sales rep mentioned to me some incompatibility issues with the way the 3D source material is encoded. Can anyone confirm or deny this? Has anyone had any luck with Comcast Cable (motorola DVR) and the X7/60U ?

Thanks!
There is a setting on the JVC X7 to manaully select the side-by-side and top/bottom 3D formats. True HDMI 1.4a video sources (which current cable TV boxes are not) can include info in the HDMI exchange to tell the projector when side-by-side and top/bottom formats are being used. The JVC menu to manually set the 3D mode is under the input signal >> HDMI >> 3D Format. See page 41 of the JVC owner's manual (at least the English language version) an also more details at the top of page 52 (at the end of section 2-1 on the projector's menus).

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-15-2011, 04:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 343
To clarify, if the signal includes a code sending the type of 3D format, the projector will switch to that format automatically if set to 3D auto. If the code is lacking in the signal being broadcast, the projector will not know what to switch to and you will have to tell the projector what to switch to by leaving the auto selection and switching to the format being sent.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-15-2011, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I thought the JVC didn't work with over/under like with 3D ESPN.
Ronomy is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-15-2011, 05:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 343
ESPN 3D by DTV is 720p side by side, which is non conforming with the 3D standard, The new Sony projectors have included it despite its non conformance. The Lumagen Radiances will covert 720p side by side to a conforming standard.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-15-2011, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,739
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronomy View Post

I thought the JVC didn't work with over/under like with 3D ESPN.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

ESPN 3D by DTV is 720p side by side, which is non conforming with the 3D standard, The new Sony projectors have included it despite its non conformance. The Lumagen Radiances will covert 720p side by side to a conforming standard.

Correct as for Directv using the 720p s-b-s which is only an optional format in the HDMI 1.4a standard. However, CableLabs that sets the cable industry standards and certifies cable TV set top boxes, specifically does not support the 720p s-b-s format and ESPN uses 720p top/bottom 3D format for cable TV which is a HDMI 1.4a required 3D format and it is supported by the JVC 3D projectors.

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-16-2011, 06:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 343
You know I forgot that cable ESPN 3D is 720p top and bottom.And I have certain 3D set ups where 720p top and bottom was not handled by the projector regardling of the 3D type setting.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-16-2011, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I thought Top/bottom was optional and SBS was standard! Like the Monoprice converter that outputs SBS. I figured that was a standard format. SBS I would think looks better than top/bottom when combined.
Ronomy is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-16-2011, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,739
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronomy View Post

I thought Top/bottom was optional and SBS was standard! Like the Monoprice converter that outputs SBS. I figured that was a standard format. SBS I would think looks better than top/bottom when combined.

For 720p top/bottom is the required format and 720p s-b-s is optional. For 1080i s-b-s is a required format. See the Basic 3D Video FAQs thread for the list of HDMI 1.4a required 3D formats.

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off