Official JVC RS20/HD750 thread (7/20/11) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 42 Old 07-20-2011, 08:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Just thought that we should start up this thread again since the old one got locked somehow. I just purchased a used RS20 over a month ago, and this is my first JVC PJ. WOW black levels, colors, sharpness, and all the other great stuff make this 3 year old projector seem VERY up to date IMO...for those of you that don't need FI or 3D, this baby really does shine. I would like to hear fellow RS20/HD750 owners and their experiences with this machine, and any 'tweaks' they have done as well. Lets get the ball rolling (again).

PS. Don't forget to mention what screen you are using as well...

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 Old 07-20-2011, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brad Horstkotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 5,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Aww you beat me to it, lol. Guess I'll delete my thread and post here then. I'd suggest putting a link to the old thread in the first post for reference.
Brad Horstkotte is offline  
post #3 of 42 Old 07-20-2011, 04:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
R Harkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Funny, as an RS20 owner I considered starting a similar thread.

Several years ago I almost bought the earlier RS2, just before the RS20. I'm sooooo glad I held out for the RS20! It is just the total package for meeting my needs - fantastic image that still makes me go "wow." I got a really sharp unit in terms of focus. It's quiet. Got it ISF calibrated. I love how it looks (MUCH more stylish then the revert-to-industrial-chunky style of the newer models). It's been reliable. It's lens controls have been fantastic for my variable image size set up.

Thankfully, for my pocket book, it makes it easy to pass on upgrades at this point.
I'm not looking for 3D so much as significantly better black levels, so I may be holding on to this a while yet until (hopefully) that occurs.
R Harkness is offline  
post #4 of 42 Old 07-20-2011, 06:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Please guys. Let's not repeat posts from the other threads. Settings, tweaks etc, there are many in the other threads. Of course, if anyone has something new to add, please do it. Congrats on those who have just purchased.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #5 of 42 Old 07-21-2011, 01:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I don't have my RS20 pro calibrated...BUT, I will say that my 'formula' from the THX setting is quite nice. I got myself into a BMW with a Chevy cash flow, hence the fact I don't have my own calibration equipment...I think I will just keep playing with it, and enjoying it at the same time!

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #6 of 42 Old 07-21-2011, 02:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
this is for the people that have the latest firmware.....
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...highlight=rs20

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #7 of 42 Old 07-25-2011, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I have a question for the projector calculator and the RS20. I want to see if I can throw a 115" 2.35:1 screen with a 12ft throw. I'm doing the 'zoom' method for 2.35 content so what would the 'virtual' screen size be when zoomed in (including the black bars)??? I think it's going to be very close....anyone care to chime in on this?

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #8 of 42 Old 07-25-2011, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brad Horstkotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 5,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBMAN View Post

I have a question for the projector calculator and the RS20. I want to see if I can throw a 115" 2.35:1 screen with a 12ft throw. I'm doing the 'zoom' method for 2.35 content so what would the 'virtual' screen size be when zoomed in (including the black bars)??? I think it's going to be very close....anyone care to chime in on this?

You'd need to size for a 16:9 that's the same width as your desired 2.35:1 screen size. Assuming that's 115" wide (not diagonal), the 16:9 would be 115 / 16 * 9 = 64.69" high.
Brad Horstkotte is offline  
post #9 of 42 Old 07-25-2011, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
thanks Brad, but the screen I want to get is 115" diagonal, not wide. the viewable width will be 110.6". I must be a dummy right now, 'cause I don't understand your math. Can you calculate that for me?

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #10 of 42 Old 07-25-2011, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
sorry....figured it out. I forgot that * means times just found out with the pj calculator that my projector needs to be 6" more back for a 115" diag screen....bummer. I'll have to try some other size calculations (thanks Brad) to see how big of a screen I can use at a 12' throw....

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #11 of 42 Old 07-25-2011, 12:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
millerwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBMAN View Post

sorry....figured it out. I forgot that * means times just found out with the pj calculator that my projector needs to be 6" more back for a 115" diag screen....bummer. I'll have to try some other size calculations (thanks Brad) to see how big of a screen I can use at a 12' throw....

The widest possible screen you can fit from a 12 ft (144") distance is 144/1.37 = ~ 105" , but this gives a 16x9 diagonal of ~ 120". So you should be OK for a 115" diag. [The throw ratio is listed as 1.4, but in reality it is a bit less, ~ 1.37.]
millerwill is offline  
post #12 of 42 Old 07-25-2011, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by millerwill View Post

So you should be OK for a 115" diag.]

millerwill,
So in simple terms I should be OK with a 115" diag. 2.35:1 screen?

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #13 of 42 Old 07-25-2011, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brad Horstkotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 5,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Is that 12' throw taking into account the depth of the projector? I'm not 100% sure, but I *think* the distances are from the front of the lens to the screen - so you'd have to allow for the depth of the projector case.
Brad Horstkotte is offline  
post #14 of 42 Old 07-25-2011, 02:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
millerwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad Horstkotte View Post

Is that 12' throw taking into account the depth of the projector? I'm not 100% sure, but I *think* the distances are from the front of the lens to the screen - so you'd have to allow for the depth of the projector case.

Correct.
millerwill is offline  
post #15 of 42 Old 07-25-2011, 02:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
millerwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBMAN View Post

millerwill,
So in simple terms I should be OK with a 115" diag. 2.35:1 screen?

You're right on the edge! A 115" diag 2.35 screen will have a width = 115*2.35/sqrt(1 + 2.35^2) = 105.8", and the minimum lens-to-screen distance for a 105.8" width is 105.8*1.37 = 145", an inch more than 12 ft!
millerwill is offline  
post #16 of 42 Old 07-25-2011, 04:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
wow miller, that IS pretty close! And I thought the throw was from lens to screen, not entire machine to screen. Am I right on that?

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #17 of 42 Old 07-25-2011, 05:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
millerwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBMAN View Post

wow miller, that IS pretty close! And I thought the throw was from lens to screen, not entire machine to screen. Am I right on that?

The throw is lens to screen.
millerwill is offline  
post #18 of 42 Old 07-25-2011, 10:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
So should I go with the 115"? just wondering....there are other options, but the Elite Screen will barely fit between my two light sconces...116.75" apart...the overall screen dim. for the EZframe will be 110.6" wide to give about 3" space on each side of the lights thoughts?

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #19 of 42 Old 07-26-2011, 07:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
millerwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBMAN View Post

So should I go with the 115"? just wondering....there are other options, but the Elite Screen will barely fit between my two light sconces...116.75" apart...the overall screen dim. for the EZframe will be 110.6" wide to give about 3" space on each side of the lights thoughts?

It sounds like it will fit, but you of course have to decide if you want it for your space. However I've never heard anyone say they wish they had gotten a smaller screen, but many say they wish they have gotten a larger one.

I just replaced my 110x62 screen of 4 years with a 144x72 one (viewing from 12 ft) and love it. (And it's about as large that will fit my space, so not larger!)
millerwill is offline  
post #20 of 42 Old 07-26-2011, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by millerwill View Post

It sounds like it will fit, but you of course have to decide if you want it for your space. However I've never heard anyone say they wish they had gotten a smaller screen, but many say they wish they have gotten a larger one.

I just replaced my 110x62 screen of 4 years with a 144x72 one (viewing from 12 ft) and love it. (And it's about as large that will fit my space, so not larger!)

Yeah, I agree with you. However, my screen size jump is not even close to yours....I'm coming from a 104" diag. DIY screen, so that would be almost a foot bigger (diagonally). This will not be my last screen purchase; I could be moving out of my house in about 5-7 years. Hell, who knows with this economy. What I DO know is that by that time I will have at least a 130" AT screen with a projector that can melt eyeballs Thanks for taking the time to do the math and such for me

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #21 of 42 Old 07-29-2011, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
quick update....measured a white 2.35:1 image and zoomed all the way in and it gave me 117" (not counting the black bars). So I have just 2 inches more than I need for the 115" screen...that is close!

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #22 of 42 Old 10-20-2011, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dragonbud0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Like KBMAN, I just got a 2nd hand HD750 (RS20 clone) from a reputable member. Somehow I cannot get the SHIFT to work, but focus and zoom are fine.

Puzzled!
dragonbud0 is online now  
post #23 of 42 Old 10-20-2011, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Googer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
It's probably a mechanical defect that arose in shipping. Back when I bought my RS20 from AV Science nearly 3 years ago, the first unit I received had the same problem and I had my unit QC'd before shipping, so shift was likely checked before it was sent to me. I had no problem exchanging it at the time and the replacement was fine (and continues to be to this date), but this of course isn't an option for you.
Googer is offline  
post #24 of 42 Old 10-20-2011, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dragonbud0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Ahem. I actually picked it up myself from an hour drive and the pj was in its original packing materials.

My previous RS1 and RS2 had manual shifts, not electronic.
dragonbud0 is online now  
post #25 of 42 Old 10-20-2011, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dragonbud0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Further, even within limited horizontal shift, I did hear a mechanical sound that it seemed stuck (actually it did not move either way). However, for up and down, there was not even a peep, nada.

As I said, focus and zoom worked.
dragonbud0 is online now  
post #26 of 42 Old 10-20-2011, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
my used 20 only gets stuck if it's at max horizontal/vertical shift. I just played with it and finally got it to work great (and to this day). I think that was a problem prone to a lot of these machines....

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #27 of 42 Old 10-20-2011, 08:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dragonbud0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I'll give it once more try tomorrow, too tired today.

The picture at the bottom of the screen (naked white wall) do look great.
dragonbud0 is online now  
post #28 of 42 Old 10-21-2011, 04:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dragonbud0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
KBMAN,

You're right. SHIFT function is stuck. Tried it this morning to no avail. The horizontal just would not move, making funny noise (like reaching the limit) while the vertical never even register.

The saga continues. It was interesting that someone send me a religious or zen message to the effect that Be Happy With What You Have. Wish I did not sell my 6-months old Sony hw15.
dragonbud0 is online now  
post #29 of 42 Old 10-23-2011, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dragonbud0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I let it sit for a day to ease my frustration.

Tonight, I maxed out the focus (or un-focus to the max), finally get the SHIFT to unstuck. Time to play.

Now I wondered what kind of rating I should give to the seller? Any suggestions? Seller got a great history w/ solid 100% rating. In this instance, it's my problem to figure it out.
dragonbud0 is online now  
post #30 of 42 Old 10-24-2011, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonbud0 View Post

I let it sit for a day to ease my frustration.

Tonight, I maxed out the focus (or un-focus to the max), finally get the SHIFT to unstuck. Time to play.

Now I wondered what kind of rating I should give to the seller? Any suggestions? Seller got a great history w/ solid 100% rating. In this instance, it's my problem to figure it out.

Dragonbud,
Are you selling your RS20? If so, I wonder why, since you somehow got it 'unstuck'. The first day I got mine I noticed that if I maxed out in one direction, the other direction would not work. At this point I don't really care because my pj is centered and there's not a lot of vertical shift for my setup. The only thing I do is zoom in/out, focus (from time to time) and then shift up just a tad when watching 2.35:1 movies...I'm doing the 'zoom' method; a poor-man's CIH....STILL LOVING MY RS20!

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc Dlahd750 200 Inches 1080p Front Projector Black
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off