Sony VPL-vw1000 - Page 253 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7561 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stevenjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DC Metro area USA
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by discodol View Post

I am not sure what the starting point actually was since the person who setup the pj for me may have changed things to his liking.

How do my end results compare to what yours are?

What are you settings after calibration? Also, please post your lamp hours and screen used including its gain.

...Steve
"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

 


My 3D-BD/BD/HD-DVD/DVD collection and HT gear

stevenjw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7562 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
d.j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

stevenjw, d.j. is right on this one. The REFERENCE preset is the best starting point because that is closest to D65. I ISF calibrate projectors and of course I know how all things exactly works. I ll post my calibration results thonight wink.gif

The only thing I asked was to see if my measured light output is normal. The FILM MODE i am talking about is the PROJECTION MODE. Yes, I also know this is a dark frame insertion method that cuts off approx 50% light output but again, I m only trying to find out if my light output is 'normal'.

Btw, the DFI option does VERY good things to the PQ and moreover, it works in 4K too. The only downside is the native on/off contrast, this is cut down when using DFI. With no DFI i measure a native contrast 8800:1 while with DFI enabled it is 4250:1. The black floor level is good with DFI enabled but the contrast is noticable worse with it enabled. Compromises compromises smile.gif


Thanks for feed back Sanderdvd

Some numbers for you:

My 1000ES with 170 hours on lamp, clossed possible distance to screen ( 280 cm wide screen - projector 370 cm from it ) Screen research 110" wide CP 2 gain 0.95 ( in reality, probely 0.9 gain ) and with "normal" mode ( not full panel, if full panel / 2.35 zoom mode approx. + 10% ). Projector adjusted to D65 and with no clipping ( contrast about 88 ) at 255


110" wide with 100% ( 235 ) White test pattern: low = 15,5 fl high = 22,8 fl

IN general gives high lamp mode arround 45% more light ( meassured on 3 1000ES )

2.35 zoom mode / full panel 10 % more

And from 100% test pattern ( 235 ) to test pattern 109% ( 255 ) gives about 20% more light output ( or if you adjust the projector to clipping arround 235 - contrast setting 98-max. - you will win 20 % more light, but lose WTW information )


dj
d.j. is offline  
post #7563 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
d.j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

@ Mark Hahlich: I found a post from you that this firmware is supposed to be the latest (at that time):

SC ROM Version SC1:01.05/SC2:01.02
NVM Version 01 / 01.04
Sub ROM Version 01.00
IP ROM Version 01.02
DE ROM Version 01.02

I just checked mine and it shows:

SC ROM Version SC1:01.07/SC2:01.03
NVM Version 02 / 01.06
Sub ROM Version 01.00
IP ROM Version 01.03
DE ROM Version 01.02

What does this tell me? Is mine newer? btw. My unit was labled (on the box) as VPL-VW1000ES3 and my serial number is 10100XX

Could someone check with a pretty new VW1000 unit their software version? You can check the software by going into the service menu: ENTER, ENTER, LEFT, ENTER, TOGGLE YES. When you go in the menu after you did this you can see all the additional information as described above in the INFO part of the MENU.




I think, I got one off the newest software now ( not that I think it is better then any off the others - have had your version too and I cant see any difference except a on/off toggle in the RC menu) , here it is :

SC ROM Version SC1:01.08/SC2:01.04
NVM Version 03 / 01.07
Sub ROM Version 01.00
IP ROM Version 01.03
DE ROM Version 01.03


dj
d.j. is offline  
post #7564 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 02:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 293
To get the newest software the unit has to back to Sony service. With the upgrade to 1100ES maybe the unit can be flashed with the new stuff externally. Not sure though.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #7565 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
d.j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

To get the newest software the unit has to back to Sony service. With the upgrade to 1100ES maybe the unit can be flashed with the new stuff externally. Not sure though.
]





Why do the hassle? immediately, there is no significant difference in the last few versions of software IMO ( And there is no guarantee that the latest software is the "best" as some people allways think )


dj
d.j. is offline  
post #7566 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 119
With the 1100 update, it seems all the firmware values are reset to 1.00...
thrang is online now  
post #7567 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post

With the 1100 update, it seems all the firmware values are reset to 1.00...

I was going to say I'm pretty sure that's what my factory 1100 has when you go into the service menu.

OzHDHT is offline  
post #7568 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post

I was going to say I'm pretty sure that's what my factory 1100 has when you go into the service menu.

Any signs that it will work with the RF glasses?
zombie10k is online now  
post #7569 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 05:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post

Any signs that it will work with the RF glasses?

Nope I have 4 pairs from my panel and I sat there to try them with MV3D RF transmitter running and no sync. The 1100 still comes with IR glasses as per the 1000. I also tried to sync to the MV3D transitter by holding down the power button put it into RF sync mode on the glasses but no dice. I think the RF freq must be in a different range to the Monster/Optoma ones. Not so much a loss though as the Sony RF glasses look nice but I don't think the open sides will help the image quality over the current Optoma super light wrap arounds.

OzHDHT is offline  
post #7570 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 235
I didn't expect that the MV3D's would work, they are not part of the RF standard. I was hoping maybe you had a pair of the glasses that ships with the VW600.

I ordered a pair to test Mike's VW600 and will likely keep them just to see if they work with the 1000 after the mobo swap.

So what movies are worth checking out on the 4K box? smile.gif
zombie10k is online now  
post #7571 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevenjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DC Metro area USA
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

great! Could you also check what your firmware version is? (see my post from a few back). And what is your opinion on DFI? Like I said, I like it very much but the downside is that is native contrast is cut down 50%.

SC ROM Version SC1:01.07/SC2:01.03
NVM Version 02 / 01.06
Sub ROM Version 01.00
IP ROM Version 01.03
DE ROM Version 01.02

My unit was labeled as VPL-VW1000ES2 and my serial number is 11100XX

I'll post back later with DFI impressions, but I run low lamp so may not like the loss. I'll also try with lamp in high mode to help compensate.

...Steve
"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

 


My 3D-BD/BD/HD-DVD/DVD collection and HT gear

stevenjw is offline  
post #7572 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 07:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by d.j. View Post

]





Why do the hassle? immediately, there is no significant difference in the last few versions of software IMO ( And there is no guarantee that the latest software is the "best" as some people allways think )


dj


Since we are all getting the conversion to the 1100ES, its at this point a moot point. I am curious if the Roms are on the new mother board or whether they are inside and just flashed during the conversion process by the Sony tech wherever the praised may be out there in upgrade land. May one of they speedily visit all of us and enable us to see the Sony No Baloney 4K promised land. UHD output at 24 or 30 from the server.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #7573 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevenjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DC Metro area USA
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

More later including my conspiracy theory why Sony is not shipping the 1100ES until years end and why I think upgrade kits won't be shipped until then. smile.gif

So when is "later"? Will you be posting here or on Wikileaks? eek.gif

If your theory is correct, we may not want a speedy visit just yet....right?

...Steve
"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

 


My 3D-BD/BD/HD-DVD/DVD collection and HT gear

stevenjw is offline  
post #7574 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

Since we are all getting the conversion to the 1100ES, its at this point a moot point. I am curious if the Roms are on the new mother board or whether they are inside and just flashed during the conversion process by the Sony tech wherever the praised may be out there in upgrade land. May one of they speedily visit all of us and enable us to see the Sony No Baloney 4K promised land. UHD output at 24 or 30 from the server.


The promise land awaits you Brother Haflich! May you soon join us there....Hallelujah! Just gimme the glory of Lawrence of Arabia and I will be in rapturous delight across this very weekend!...God bless his sole that fine fellow, Mr. O'Toole!! biggrin.gif

OzHDHT is offline  
post #7575 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 09:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Oz - quick question - did the menu fonts change from the 1000 to the 1100? The 500/600 uses a different font, it looks better than the 1000. It's no big deal, just curious if it's different.
zombie10k is online now  
post #7576 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 09:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post

Oz - quick question - did the menu fonts change from the 1000 to the 1100? The 500/600 uses a different font, it looks better than the 1000. It's no big deal, just curious if it's different.

Zero diff. Would be same as upgraded 1000's i.e. no change.


OzHDHT is offline  
post #7577 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 11:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post

Zero diff. Would be same as upgraded 1000's i.e. no change.

Thanks. you may have mentioned this when first receiving the 1100 - is the RC any less harsh than it is on the 1000?

on first look at the 600 and 1000, the 600 RC appears more subtle and not as aggressive looking. I was hoping to hear this was dialed back a bit with the update.
zombie10k is online now  
post #7578 of 10115 Old 12-18-2013, 11:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Thanks for all the input on the different firmware versions that are available guys. So until now I have found 5 different firmware versions and 3 different VW1000 types:

SC ROM Version SC1 01.01 SC2 01.01
NVM Version 01 / 01.01
Sub ROM Version 01.00
IP ROM Version 01.01
DE ROM Version 01.02

SC ROM Version SC1 01.03 SC2 01.02
NVM Version 01 / 01.02
Sub ROM Version 01.00
IP ROM Version 01.02
DE ROM Version 01.02

SC Rom Version SC1 01.05 SC2 01.02
NVM Version 01 / 01.04
Sub ROM Version 01.00
IP ROM Version 01.02
DE ROM Version 01.02

SC ROM Version SC1 01.07 SC2 01.03
NVM Version 02 / 01.06
Sub ROM Version 01.00
IP ROM Version 01.03
DE ROM Version 01.02

SC ROM Version SC1 01.08 SC2 01.04
NVM Version 03 / 01.07
Sub ROM Version 01.00
IP ROM Version 01.03
DE ROM Version 01.03


VPL-VW1000ES1
VPL-VW1000ES2
VPL-VW1000ES3


Now we need to find out what the different values mean and what the actual differences are between the firmware version. There could be important fixes we don t know about. Just an example: it was mentioned a while ago that the HDMI range setting (Full-Auto-Limited) had some issues when feeding the VW1000 with a RGB signal. This is pretty important for HTPC users. Also, there COULD be fixes in the dynamic iris, FI etc.

I assume that Sony updates the firmware through the LAN input and simply by some kind of install procedure with using a Windows platform. All we need to have is the firmware and a detailed firmware upgrade 'manual'.

d.j. Did yours got a repair? Because your firmware version seems newer then mine but my VW1000 is labeled as VPL-VW1000ES3 while you say your is labeled as VPL-VW1000ES2.
sanderdvd is offline  
post #7579 of 10115 Old 12-19-2013, 03:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 293
All the software differences make no difference if one is having their machine transformed into a 1100ES given Thrang's report of the 1100ES transformation of his 1000 has a whole new set of software.

Any internal hardware differences between the ES1, ES2, abd ES3 are unknown. That's what we need to know and I doubt Sony US will tell us but maybe someone could ask them. I am not sure if they will say anything except they are al the same etc. But suppose there are say a different power supply board that reduces the arc flash circut caused banding, It wiuld be nice to know.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #7580 of 10115 Old 12-19-2013, 04:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

All the software differences make no difference if one is having their machine transformed into a 1100ES given Thrang's report of the 1100ES transformation of his 1000 has a whole new set of software.

Any internal hardware differences between the ES1, ES2, abd ES3 are unknown. That's what we need to know and I doubt Sony US will tell us but maybe someone could ask them. I am not sure if they will say anything except they are al the same etc. But suppose there are say a different power supply board that reduces the arc flash circut caused banding, It wiuld be nice to know.

It may be as simple as a Sony internal designate for warehouse location or build revision. I believe Apple does something similar when they have slight change in internal components on the same model device. I doubt there is any difference between them at all that we would ever notice.
adidino is offline  
post #7581 of 10115 Old 12-19-2013, 04:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post

Thanks. you may have mentioned this when first receiving the 1100 - is the RC any less harsh than it is on the 1000?

on first look at the 600 and 1000, the 600 RC appears more subtle and not as aggressive looking. I was hoping to hear this was dialed back a bit with the update.

Yep I did. I found it to be as it should be, identical aka same as upgraded 1000. To clarify for anyone still unsure, the 1100 is the same as a late model 1000 but of course already upgraded, so ie better converged from factory than my early prod 1000. Nothing handed across from the 500/600...as much as I'd love to have the autocal and any RC improvements. Prob have to wait for a VW2000 to see that I reckon..

OzHDHT is offline  
post #7582 of 10115 Old 12-19-2013, 04:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

It may be as simple as a Sony internal designate for warehouse location or build revision. I believe Apple does something similar when they have slight change in internal components on the same model device. I doubt there is any difference between them at all that we would ever notice.

I am pretty sure Sony will say something like that but I would like to know the actual differences in circuits and boards and what those accomplished or were done for. We just don't knw any thing.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #7583 of 10115 Old 12-19-2013, 04:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I agree, maybe it s indeed just 'warehouse differences' but maybe it are actual hardware changes/upgrades like a change in a power supply like Mark says. The same goes for firmware upgrades: maybe they are not important at all but maybe they contain pretty important updates in eg. dynamic iris, RC etc.
sanderdvd is offline  
post #7584 of 10115 Old 12-19-2013, 04:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

I am pretty sre Sony will say something like that but I would like to know the actual differences in circuits and boards and what those accomplished or were done for. We just don't knw any thing.

In most cases it's due to availability of the original component from their supplier which required a change in component or supplier.. Typically not an engineering improvement.
adidino is offline  
post #7585 of 10115 Old 12-19-2013, 04:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
In my opinion a firmware update that needs to be done by the manufacturer is so 2012 biggrin.gif

Serious, it would be so much better and easier if we could update the firmware ourselves. Just put a simple USB input on the projector, download the update.file from Sony's site and let it install on the projector.
sanderdvd is offline  
post #7586 of 10115 Old 12-19-2013, 05:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 293
2012? Its 2014 in a few days. CEDIA is only 9 months off, its almost time to start flipping the stuff we haven't even got yet.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #7587 of 10115 Old 12-19-2013, 05:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post

Has anyone been able to get the Sony Image Director software to connect to the projector? I downloaded the latest version, 3.1, from Sony's esupport site, which allows it to work natively under Wndows 7, but I cannot connect to the projector via USB/RS232 or via the allegedly supported network connection....
I also want to get this working but I have no succes just like you. Installed Image Director 3.1 from Sony site and connected my VW1000 with the network output to my PC but I can t get it working.
sanderdvd is offline  
post #7588 of 10115 Old 12-19-2013, 05:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

2012? Its 2014 in a few days. CEDIA is only 9 months off, its almost time to start flipping the stuff we haven't even got yet.
biggrin.gif
Mark, you know how to get Image Director 3.1 work with our VW1000?
sanderdvd is offline  
post #7589 of 10115 Old 12-19-2013, 06:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
d.j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

Thanks for all the input on the different firmware versions that are available guys. So until now I have found 5 different firmware versions and 3 different VW1000 types:

SC ROM Version SC1 01.01 SC2 01.01
NVM Version 01 / 01.01
Sub ROM Version 01.00
IP ROM Version 01.01
DE ROM Version 01.02

SC ROM Version SC1 01.03 SC2 01.02
NVM Version 01 / 01.02
Sub ROM Version 01.00
IP ROM Version 01.02
DE ROM Version 01.02

SC Rom Version SC1 01.05 SC2 01.02
NVM Version 01 / 01.04
Sub ROM Version 01.00
IP ROM Version 01.02
DE ROM Version 01.02

SC ROM Version SC1 01.07 SC2 01.03
NVM Version 02 / 01.06
Sub ROM Version 01.00
IP ROM Version 01.03
DE ROM Version 01.02

SC ROM Version SC1 01.08 SC2 01.04
NVM Version 03 / 01.07
Sub ROM Version 01.00
IP ROM Version 01.03
DE ROM Version 01.03


VPL-VW1000ES1
VPL-VW1000ES2
VPL-VW1000ES3


Now we need to find out what the different values mean and what the actual differences are between the firmware version. There could be important fixes we don t know about. Just an example: it was mentioned a while ago that the HDMI range setting (Full-Auto-Limited) had some issues when feeding the VW1000 with a RGB signal. This is pretty important for HTPC users. Also, there COULD be fixes in the dynamic iris, FI etc.

I assume that Sony updates the firmware through the LAN input and simply by some kind of install procedure with using a Windows platform. All we need to have is the firmware and a detailed firmware upgrade 'manual'.

d.j. Did yours got a repair? Because your firmware version seems newer then mine but my VW1000 is labeled as VPL-VW1000ES3 while you say your is labeled as VPL-VW1000ES2.[/quote]



Yes, it has been exchanged and later repaired and no, it is (are certainly on the box smile.gif ) a VPL-VW1000ES3 , and the software was on it from start ( before the rep. ) seriel numbers is in the 10102XX


dj
d.j. is offline  
post #7590 of 10115 Old 12-19-2013, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by d.j. View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

Yes, it has been exchanged and later repaired and no, it is (are certainly on the box smile.gif ) a VPL-VW1000ES3 , and the software was on it from start ( before the rep. ) seriel numbers is in the 10102XX
WHy was your unit exchanged? And why later repaired? I think our units are from a same production or something like that. We are both from Europe and my unit is 10100XX. What says the date with your unit (you can find this on you label on the unit itself to the left of the serial#).
sanderdvd is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Casio Rs 232 Adapter Catalog Category Projectors Accessories
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off