Sony VPL-vw1000 - Page 325 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2014, 05:34 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Abbas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post

Question on the puck... for people with a Sony 4k TV, can the puck be controlled by the TV remote, thus not requiring the Xperia Z tablet? I am selling my puck to someone that has a Sony 4k TV and want to make sure I give him correct info. I don't know the TV model number he has yet. I have asked.

Yes, on my 4k panel, you can control the puck with the remote control but I will say that I prefer the Tablet method. Tablet lets me know that it is warming up, connecting, ... With the remote, you just have to sit there and wait and you just dont know if it didnt connect to the 4k player.
Abbas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2014, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
BrianMundt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

That is not the case. I KNOW the original 84 inch 4K panel requires the tablet and I think the original 55 and 65 do also. You can check the sony esupport site and down load the applicable puck installation instructions for the sets that require the tablet to control the puck.

The 84" requires the tablet, but the 55 and 65 don't. It's controlled via the TV.
BrianMundt is offline  
Old 04-22-2014, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianMundt View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

That is not the case. I KNOW the original 84 inch 4K panel requires the tablet and I think the original 55 and 65 do also. You can check the sony esupport site and down load the applicable puck installation instructions for the sets that require the tablet to control the puck.

The 84" requires the tablet, but the 55 and 65 don't. It's controlled via the TV.

I know when I run my other puck on my 55X8504A it requires the tablet. It's had a couple of software updates since I last used the puck with it. Plus it's not running US firmware, so that could be a factor as well.

OzHDHT is offline  
Old 04-22-2014, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
BrianMundt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post

I know when I run my other puck on my 55X8504A it requires the tablet. It's had a couple of software updates since I last used the puck with it. Plus it's not running US firmware, so that could be a factor as well.

That's so weird. I got my 850 right when they were available and I never had to use the tablet. Same with my 900 that I kept for a few weeks. Maybe it is a US firmware thing.
BrianMundt is offline  
Old 04-22-2014, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianMundt View Post

That's so weird. I got my 850 right when they were available and I never had to use the tablet. Same with my 900 that I kept for a few weeks. Maybe it is a US firmware thing.

Think it is. Pending next time I try it since last couple of updates.

OzHDHT is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
discodol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wilton Manors, FL, USA
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I have a 65" 4K panel and a 124" screen. I found that watching the 4K material on the 65" screen seemed so pitifully small that now I only use the puck with the projector.

I prefer using the tablet but it would be nice if the same image on the tablet was also displayed on the screen so everyone else in the room could see what can be selected.

David Ferebee
discodol is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,219
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 172
My issue is Sony forces you to use their dumbass tablet. I have iPads all over the house, including a dedicated one running Roomie Remote installed on cup holder mount, to control everything, including lighting. Now, I have to have an entirely separate tablet laying round that serves no use except the rare browsing of 4k titles.

It's not bad to have a tablet to browse titles - I have a Dune, and while you can use an OSD, their iOS app is much easier to search, research, and play titles. The Sony app is pitiful in comparison.

And I don't for a MOMENT believe they couldn't release an iOS app for this - their blathering about security is downright silly. There's no way to have secure, authenticated app communication from an iOS device?

In fact, for me, the separate tablet discourages use. I have it plugged into a charger several feet away, and all my other sources are available on my ipad remote...if it were an iOS app, I would more likely switch to it and browse a little but. Now, I don't even remember to unplug it and bring it to my seat when I walk into the theater. Other then taking a look a few days ago, I hadn't launched the FMP in over two months straight...if it were an app on my ipad, I would have taken a peek more than a few times a week...
thrang is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,711
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Maybe you just need Roomie to release an Android version of THEIR app! biggrin.gif
hifiaudio2 is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,219
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post

Maybe you just need Roomie to release an Android version of THEIR app! biggrin.gif

Ha! I could care less honestly. I used the sony tablet when I first received it, and the OS is so inferior to iOS I would never switch. Call me a fanboy, but the user experience is much better on iOS IMO...
thrang is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,711
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Fanboy. tongue.gif


I agree though, the app sucks. I sold my puck yesterday. Guy turned out to have the 55 model 4k TV so he is set. Not sure if I will sell the tablet or not. Maybe let the kids mess with it so I can have my iPad back.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 08:42 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I need to check out Roomie...

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is online now  
Old 04-23-2014, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,219
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post

Fanboy. tongue.gif


I agree though, the app sucks. I sold my puck yesterday. Guy turned out to have the 55 model 4k TV so he is set. Not sure if I will sell the tablet or not. Maybe let the kids mess with it so I can have my iPad back.

What did you get for the FMP? I'm likely selling mine...and the tablet...
thrang is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,711
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 75
$350 selling through Amazon's "sell one used" method. I have had really good luck selling stuff through Amazon. They take less fees than Ebay and you don't get double charged for someone to pay you, either. They just pay Amazon when they click to order. Even buying the shipping is cheaper through Amazon.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,219
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post

$350 selling through Amazon's "sell one used" method. I have had really good luck selling stuff through Amazon. They take less fees than Ebay and you don't get double charged for someone to pay you, either. They just pay Amazon when they click to order. Even buying the shipping is cheaper through Amazon.
Thanks

Did you sell the tablet also?
thrang is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,711
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Not yet. Haven't tried.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 09:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 20,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 589
Supposedly the 55 and 65 and 84 XBR900 required the tablet.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 01:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I would be happy with 300.00 for my puck. smile.gif

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is online now  
Old 04-23-2014, 05:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 20,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 589
If you sell a used puck for $300 or more, you could say you successfully graduated from Sony Puck U.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 05:15 PM
Member
 
hermosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

If you sell a used puck for $300 or more, you could say you successfully graduated from Puck U.

Hah!😜


Projector humor....

Does that mean that since the puck was obsolete so quickly, we all got pucked?
hermosa is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 05:20 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,449
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 706 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

If you sell a used puck for $300 or more, you could say you successfully graduated from Sony Puck U.

And, in six months, if you pay more than $300 for a used puck, you got Pucked.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 06:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 20,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 589
I wouldn't be surprised if Sony gave a trade in for used pucks.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,754
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked: 401
i don't recall seeing anyone talk about this yet. Interesting solution for the older TV's and non-updated 1000.

http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/news/sony-fmpx5-201404233747.htm

"Sony has launched its new FMP-X5 4K Media Player in the United Kingdom and Europe at a press event in London today, bringing HEVC/ H.265 decoder support to legacy Bravia X9 4K Ultra HD TVs, therefore allowing owners to access Netflix 4K streaming for the first time."

Unlike the FMP-X10 launched in the USA, the Sony FMP-X5 doesn’t come with any internal storage, and so won’t be compatible with the brand’s Video Unlimited 4K download service
(which still hasn’t been rolled out in the UK and European markets in any case). Support for Sony 4K projectors like the VPL-VW500ES and the VPL-VW1000ES, as well as rival VP9 codec used by Google for YouTube 4K, remains under consideration, a company spokesperson said.
zombie10k is online now  
Old 04-24-2014, 02:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,206
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 24
''Support for Sony 4K projectors like the VPL-VW1000ES remains under consideration''

The only reason for getting the upgrade for EU VW1000 owners is to get it future proof. See also post #172 in this topic:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1523994/hdmi-2-0-cedia-webinar/100_100#post_24639267
sanderdvd is offline  
Old 04-24-2014, 12:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Abbas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

Supposedly the 55 and 65 and 84 XBR900 required the tablet.

Mark, I have the 65" X900A and I have never used the tablet with it. The TV's remote controls the puck.
Abbas is offline  
Old 04-24-2014, 01:45 PM
Member
 
BakeApples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post


"Sony has launched its new FMP-X5 4K Media Player in the United Kingdom and Europe at a press event in London today, bringing HEVC/ H.265 decoder support to legacy Bravia X9 4K Ultra HD TVs, therefore allowing owners to access Netflix 4K streaming for the first time."

Unlike the FMP-X10 launched in the USA, the Sony FMP-X5 doesn’t come with any internal storage, and so won’t be compatible with the brand’s Video Unlimited 4K download service
(which still hasn’t been rolled out in the UK and European markets in any case). Support for Sony 4K projectors like the VPL-VW500ES and the VPL-VW1000ES, as well as rival VP9 codec used by Google for YouTube 4K, remains under consideration, a company spokesperson said.

So basically, the only 4k media this player will support is netflix streaming? Why not also make this player compatible with the video download service when it gets rolled out in the European markets?
Disappointing to say the least..
BakeApples is offline  
Old 04-24-2014, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevenjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DC Metro area USA
Posts: 2,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

I wouldn't be surprised if Sony gave a trade in for used pucks.

I sure hope that you're right, but don't see how they can do anything other than a swap considering the price drop and smaller internal drive of the new one. And I'm pretty sure that's not going to happen.

...Steve
"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

 


My 3D-BD/BD/HD-DVD/DVD collection and HT gear

stevenjw is offline  
Old 04-24-2014, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doublewing11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Timber Country!
Posts: 3,881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 321

Could someone pretty please cite source page # for puck hook up in this laborious 300+ thread?  I'm in process of installing puck and preparing with a little reading...................

 

I've already spent 15 minutes.............................time is money!  :D

 

Thanks.................

doublewing11 is offline  
Old 04-24-2014, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doublewing11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Timber Country!
Posts: 3,881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 321

Ok.............puck is hooked up...................some of the free material is quite compelling.....well, the video aspect.  No audio...............what the heck?  2nd HDMI cable to media player on Marantz 8801..............nothing.............no sound. Ugh!

doublewing11 is offline  
Old 04-24-2014, 07:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Did you enable hdmi audio out of the puck's hdmi 2? Do so via the three vertical dots (upper right) in the tablet's 4k app menu, then go to audio settings. If that doesn't work you made need the hdmi to optical (toslink) converter as discussed on joerod's site.
G-Rex is online now  
Old 04-24-2014, 10:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doublewing11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Timber Country!
Posts: 3,881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post

Did you enable hdmi audio out of the puck's hdmi 2? Do so via the three vertical dots (upper right) in the tablet's 4k app menu, then go to audio settings. If that doesn't work you made need the hdmi to optical (toslink) converter as discussed on joerod's site.

 

 

Thanks.......

 

I tried the audio settings before I posted, but nothing.  Thanks for advice ...........................I'll check out joerod's site for  fix.

doublewing11 is offline  
 

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Casio Rs 232 Adapter Catalog Category Projectors Accessories
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off