Sony VPL-vw1000 - Page 336 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10051 of 10406 Old 06-25-2014, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunday2 View Post
Congratulations, I bought the AX100 one months ago. In the beginning I was not very happy, because when I looked at my first results with the VW1000, I found out that the montion enhancer in 4K is not working.

I was very impressed by the sharpness of details in 4K, but you have to learn again how to move this camera or better not to move it.

So I hope you don`t mind if I make the proposal, you should move this camera slower, than the gardenvideo would be even more impressive than it is already.

By the way to play 4k on a PC you now only need a videocard for e.g. 150$, but for cutting it should be a high performance PC, which I bought last November.

If You Tube is blocked there are unblocking programmes. May-be even 4K-downloader can provide a solution, but I am not sure of that.
In this quick sample, I did not use a tripod and stood far back to zoom in quite a bit, purely to get the shallow depth of field...that doesn't help the occasional choppy waters...
thrang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10052 of 10406 Old 06-25-2014, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by robmarti@tampa View Post
Hey guys, I haven't been able to try it but anyone with a NVid video card with 1000 or 1100 with hdmi2.0 can try this.


Nvid released recent drivers that push 4K 60p over hdmi 1.4 bandwith of existing video cards using 4:2:0 sampling or 4:0:0 ( I forget). Some other people on their sony 4K TV's, on other forums, have had success running games at that resolution, speed and like it. They say though not good for text due to the less color detail but not noticed on video games. SO if you want to try games on the projector at full 4k and good frequency, try it out. I am hopefully going to move my computer and try today or tomorrow and will post results.

-Rob
I'm going to give this a try one night this week on the 1100. I have a shuttle SFF with a 3.6 I7 @ 4.0 / 32GB ram / GTX 780 Ti. Please keep us posted on your experience, i'll post feedback once I test it as well.
zombie10k is online now  
post #10053 of 10406 Old 06-25-2014, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 3,927
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Nice, I'm glad nVidia is pushing the limits with HDMI on their cards.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #10054 of 10406 Old 06-26-2014, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stevenjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DC Metro area USA
Posts: 2,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D is coming to BD on 8/19/14. I wonder if/when it will show up as available for purchase / download on the puck. The trailer is there. It'll be my first purchase using the $300 voucher since I don't own it and didn't see it in the theater. Gotta spend that money on something eventually.

I wonder if they'll offer it in 3D? I'm assuming that the puck can do 3D4K. Anyone know for sure?

...Steve
"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

 


My 3D-BD/BD/HD-DVD/DVD collection and HT gear

stevenjw is offline  
post #10055 of 10406 Old 06-26-2014, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
I expect (eh, hope...) there is IP support as well...
I don't think we got that in the X1, PS3, or PS4, so I'm not expecting it...

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10056 of 10406 Old 06-26-2014, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenjw View Post
I wonder if they'll offer it in 3D? I'm assuming that the puck can do 3D4K. Anyone know for sure?
I would think if that was possible there would be at least one demo clip by now. Doesn't seem there is much activity to bring 4K and 3D together. I only hear about using 4K to make 1080p more bearable in passive 3D setups.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10057 of 10406 Old 06-26-2014, 10:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 279
I tried the latest Nvidia beta drivers, they definitely allow UHD and 4K resolution @ 60hz. it looks like there is at least a few games that should achieve near 60fps in UHD res.

zombie10k is online now  
post #10058 of 10406 Old 06-27-2014, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Does 4096x2160 show up as an option? I guess that would be too much to ask.

Or even 3840x1632--that will save me some pixels and that will fill up a cinemascope ratio. I know I can do 1920x816 with just Nvidia Control Panel so maybe it will be offered eventually if not already.

Thinking I should have gotten a more powerful video card for my HTPC now (I had to send it back with issues so can't try it yet). I figured that I was going to have to wait for a HDMI 2.0 card and those would be very high end pricing for at least a year.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10059 of 10406 Old 06-27-2014, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 279
yes you can run full 4K res at the 60hz setting, I don't recall if I saw the scope ratios, I'll check it later tonight.

iit's time to install steam and take a look at a few games in 4K. This system i'm using is a Shuttle SFF with the i7 3770K @ 4.0ghz, 32 GB ram and the Geforce GTX 780Ti. I like how compact and quiet these machines are.

zombie10k is online now  
post #10060 of 10406 Old 06-29-2014, 01:38 PM
Newbie
 
sunday2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Close to Berlin, Germany
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
In this quick sample, I did not use a tripod and stood far back to zoom in quite a bit, purely to get the shallow depth of field...that doesn't help the occasional choppy waters...
I tried also to do some shots without a tripod in Berlin. If you like to watch it is here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sKgs...ature=youtu.be

What I now need is a player, because I don`t like to bring down my PC to my homecinema too often.
sunday2 is offline  
post #10061 of 10406 Old 06-29-2014, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunday2 View Post
I tried also to do some shots without a tripod in Berlin. If you like to watch it is here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sKgs...ature=youtu.be

What I now need is a player, because I don`t like to bring down my PC to my homecinema too often.
Nice...

What is occurring on output, I see the same thing with your footage: raw in-camera footage (30 fps) when played directly to the 1100, certainly looks like "video.: But post editing and export (maintaining 30 fps), the footage has a bit of a film-like feel...not that its bad...

Do you sense the difference between edited footage and raw camera footage?
thrang is offline  
post #10062 of 10406 Old 06-29-2014, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
I don't think we got that in the X1, PS3, or PS4, so I'm not expecting it...
No, but most of the AVR's and Blu Ray players, TVs and of course our projectors do..

I think from an integrator's perspective, (if they are thinking that way at all), it's something that would be there..
thrang is offline  
post #10063 of 10406 Old 06-29-2014, 04:20 PM
Newbie
 
sunday2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Close to Berlin, Germany
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@thrang : The footage was done in 24p and it was not changend, when I rendered it. In Europe there is no 30p with the AX100.

When I connect the AX100 to my upgraded VW1100 info shows me 24p. Most of the scenes look great.

Regarding the quality you have to consider that You Tube is bringing down the datarate from more than 58 Mbits to about 20 Mbits or even less.

If you load down the file (I use 4K videodownloader) it has a length of 445 MB, the original has 1,22 GB.
sunday2 is offline  
post #10064 of 10406 Old 06-29-2014, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post
yes you can run full 4K res at the 60hz setting, I don't recall if I saw the scope ratios, I'll check it later tonight.

iit's time to install steam and take a look at a few games in 4K. This system i'm using is a Shuttle SFF with the i7 3770K @ 4.0ghz, 32 GB ram and the Geforce GTX 780Ti. I like how compact and quiet these machines are.

Hi Zombie is your shuttle running the 500 watt factory power supply? I have a Shuttle X79R5 and I bought a R290 to swap out with the exist 7950. However I can't get the system to run with it. I only run 1 HD drive, nothing else, so the power supply should be able to handle it. I haven't tested the card in another PC though to make sure it's working ok. I have 780ti just put into my gaming rig, running a Samsung UHD monitor at 60Hz. Everything looks great on it. I just started playing Sniper Elite 3 yesterday and it looks sensational at Ultra settings in 4K, smooth frame rate at all times.

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10065 of 10406 Old 06-29-2014, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunday2 View Post
@thrang : The footage was done in 24p and it was not changend, when I rendered it. In Europe there is no 30p with the AX100.

When I connect the AX100 to my upgraded VW1100 info shows me 24p. Most of the scenes look great.

Regarding the quality you have to consider that You Tube is bringing down the datarate from more than 58 Mbits to about 20 Mbits or even less.

If you load down the file (I use 4K videodownloader) it has a length of 445 MB, the original has 1,22 GB.
Yes I get the compressed file size, but this effect occurs even if I play a flle locally from my PC, at a much higher bitrate than the YouTube download . It's 30 fps, but "feels" like 24...

I've returned the camera for now, may re-buy when I get this and a few other questions sorted out...
thrang is offline  
post #10066 of 10406 Old 06-29-2014, 09:09 PM
Senior Member
 
billqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
Hi Zombie is your shuttle running the 500 watt factory power supply? I have a Shuttle X79R5 and I bought a R290 to swap out with the exist 7950. However I can't get the system to run with it. I only run 1 HD drive, nothing else, so the power supply should be able to handle it. I haven't tested the card in another PC though to make sure it's working ok. I have 780ti just put into my gaming rig, running a Samsung UHD monitor at 60Hz. Everything looks great on it. I just started playing Sniper Elite 3 yesterday and it looks sensational at Ultra settings in 4K, smooth frame rate at all times.
I don't want to derail this thread, but I need a list of minimum and suggested requirements for an HTPC to deal with 4K and HEVC, and how this deals with the NVIDIA Keplar cards now exposing 4K60HZ to our devices. I started a thread HEVC Required Specs for HTPC here in the HTPC area if folks want to discuss it.
billqs is offline  
post #10067 of 10406 Old 06-29-2014, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 3,927
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by billqs View Post
I don't want to derail this thread, but I need a list of minimum and suggested requirements for an HTPC to deal with 4K and HEVC, and how this deals with the NVIDIA Keplar cards now exposing 4K60HZ to our devices. I started a thread HEVC Required Specs for HTPC here in the HTPC area if folks want to discuss it.

Currently there are no hardware based decoders for HEVC on the PC for either AMD of nVidia GPUs. This means you're stuck using software decoders and currently there really isn't a CPU that is powerful enough to do HEVC decoding at reasonable bitrates (40mb/s+) with the current decoders in their infant state, ie the decoding software is very inefficient currently. However, if you do find H.264 UHD material there are plenty of options and mature software decoders out there that basically any midrange CPU or GPU should be able to handle.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #10068 of 10406 Old 07-01-2014, 05:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Now that we all have had the puck for some time, which pretty much went unused by most of us, do any of you plan to buy the new 4k streamer/player that is soon to be released? If so what are your justifications to buy (or not buy).

Is 4k netflix enough with their one or two movies and 2 series in 4k to justify the purchase? Not sure how quickly movies will be added to Netlix 4k. Or is it the 60 frames capability, triluminous color with new codecs (HEVC) the reason for purchase? With the delays of 4k bluray, I am tempted while there is a $200 savings at the prebuy price, but we only have about 10 days left to preorder.
G-Rex is offline  
post #10069 of 10406 Old 07-01-2014, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post
Now that we all have had the puck for some time, which pretty much went unused by most of us, do any of you plan to buy the new 4k streamer/player that is soon to be released? If so what are your justifications to buy (or not buy).

Is 4k netflix enough with their one or two movies and 2 series in 4k to justify the purchase? Not sure how quickly movies will be added to Netlix 4k. Or is it the 60 frames capability, triluminous color with new codecs (HEVC) the reason for purchase? With the delays of 4k bluray, I am tempted while there is a $200 savings at the prebuy price, but we only have about 10 days left to preorder.
I preordered one last month. I'm just hoping it's generally a much better unit all round for most of the reasons you mentioned. I figured I used to spend more on buying new Oppo bluray player models pretty regularly, so $500 wasn't bad for a unit I can use with 2 4K projectors and if really want to, 2 4K TV's.

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10070 of 10406 Old 07-02-2014, 06:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
I preordered one last month. I'm just hoping it's generally a much better unit all round for most of the reasons you mentioned. I figured I used to spend more on buying new Oppo bluray player models pretty regularly, so $500 wasn't bad for a unit I can use with 2 4K projectors and if really want to, 2 4K TV's.
I think hoping the brick is much better than the puck is a false hope. It has less internal storage, 1TB instead of 2, but like the puck you can add external storage cheaply and it is easy to access material stored externally. really no difference in acessing it rather than internally. The big things are h265 decoding or decompressing but that is only useful when things start getting encoded 265 and the ability to receive and play back streaming but if you think streaming is gping to be better than the existing down load system and quality, think again.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #10071 of 10406 Old 07-02-2014, 07:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 389
The new server will get you 4K Netflix. I guess that means, the 4K will get you the equivalent of good 1080P BD quality from Netflix.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #10072 of 10406 Old 07-02-2014, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
The new server will get you 4K Netflix. I guess that means, the 4K will get you the equivalent of good 1080P BD quality from Netflix.
Yes, but there is only 2 series in 4K: Breaking Bad and Orange is the New Black...plus a movie or 2. Is there an updated list somewhere for Netflix 4K movies in the pipeline? That would make it a much easier decision.
G-Rex is offline  
post #10073 of 10406 Old 07-02-2014, 08:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 363
This is a severely edited post. I had foolishly relied on a post in the 600ES thread showing that the brick only had one HDMI out instead of two, one audio and video combined and one for audio only which we boys need. Sorry for my not being able to find and look up the real specs. I hang my head in shame.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536

Last edited by mark haflich; 07-03-2014 at 05:16 AM.
mark haflich is online now  
post #10074 of 10406 Old 07-02-2014, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post
And how can you listen to the audio when there is only one HDMI out and that must run to HDMI 2 on your projector? Do you have a receiver or AV Processor that can pass HDCP 2.2 and strip out the audio. Unless you do, the brick is useless for use with either of the Sony 4K projectors.
The specs say there is dual HDMI out on the X10, just like the X1

http://store.sony.com/sony-4k-ultra-...ternet-Players
thrang is offline  
post #10075 of 10406 Old 07-02-2014, 11:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
The specs say there is dual HDMI out on the X10, just like the X1

http://store.sony.com/sony-4k-ultra-...ternet-Players

Phew, Mark made me nervous for a min there till you cleared that up.

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10076 of 10406 Old 07-03-2014, 02:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 3,927
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Mark was just testing everyone. Good one Mark!
Seegs108 is online now  
post #10077 of 10406 Old 07-03-2014, 05:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Its my fault. I relied on someone elses posting of the specs in the 500/600ES thread. That is no excuse. The damage in the 500/600ES thread is massive. I need to go over there and do some serious editing.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #10078 of 10406 Old 07-08-2014, 08:02 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I will have a NP-1 here in a day or two. Review coming....

Build your own Concession Stand Counter for cheap! Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #10079 of 10406 Old 07-08-2014, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
I will have a NP-1 here in a day or two. Review coming....
Please let us know if it does Netflix 4k so I can cancel my Sony pre-order if it does...on that note this topic went 5 days without a reply. I guess you can blame that on the 4th, but seems like a record, at least recently.

Update on my 1000ES-1100ES defective board saga...found the tech and he still has my upgrade files, but I don't have them in my hands yet. Probably having to send the thing off this week. Yuck.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10080 of 10406 Old 07-08-2014, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 279
this should be interesting, it's basically a hopped up smart phone running kit-kat.

There is no mention of 4K Netflix support on their site

http://ntek.com/np1.php

Where are they getting their UHD content from?
zombie10k is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Casio Rs 232 Adapter Catalog Category Projectors Accessories
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off