Sony VPL-vw1000 - Page 337 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10081 of 10190 Old 07-08-2014, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 32
The timing is very interesting, looks like they are trying to beat the Sony device to market. My guess is Roku will have Netflix 4K before this device will.

Matt
turls is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10082 of 10190 Old 07-08-2014, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 248
it seems unlikely this device will have 4K netflix support, they would have it plastered all over their site. Netflix 4K is based on H.265/HEVC so it would have to support it out of the box.

I'm curious to hear about it though. it should be able to play a mean game of Angry Birds..
OzHDHT likes this.
zombie10k is online now  
post #10083 of 10190 Old 07-08-2014, 03:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
The timing is very interesting, looks like they are trying to beat the Sony device to market. My guess is Roku will have Netflix 4K before this device will.

They will supposed to release it in April. Their stock fell to about 5 cents a share, now that the device is shipping, last time I checked it the stock was at 8 cents. Their founder is serving a prison sentence for things he allegedly did in the gaming industry before he started NTEK. Supposedly Ingram Micro which owns AVAD and other HT installer suppliers will be distributing it which means maybe AVAD will be selling it.
OzHDHT likes this.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #10084 of 10190 Old 07-08-2014, 04:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 306
If you go to their website, there is an endless stream of press releases showing distribution deals they have entered into. To the best of my knowledge, no major studeos and the NP1 ONLY has one HDMI out.
OzHDHT likes this.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #10085 of 10190 Old 07-08-2014, 08:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
It requires at least 10 mpbs and I sadly am stuck below 5!
They said it will buffer and I would have to have it on pause awhile. There are some short clips and apps included within its GooglePlay. I bet Netflix is not 4K as well. Anyway, Leslie Hayes (VP of Sales) seems nice there. I am not sure on movie support either.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #10086 of 10190 Old 07-08-2014, 10:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
It requires at least 10 mpbs and I sadly am stuck below 5!
They said it will buffer and I would have to have it on pause awhile. There are some short clips and apps included within its GooglePlay. I bet Netflix is not 4K as well. Anyway, Leslie Hayes (VP of Sales) seems nice there. I am not sure on movie support either.
I'm pretty excited, in a couple of weeks I should have access to a 100mbps cable internet connection new media room. I'm still running 14mbps DSL in my existing HT which will likely drop below 10 with my need for VPN set up with the FMP (assuming nothing will have changed there with the X10). So looks like there's most def going to be some 4K streaming happening for at least some of the time for me

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10087 of 10190 Old 07-09-2014, 06:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Here is a link to their content service. That's where their potential bucks are.

I am glad that they claim all their content is in "pristine" 4K cause we know that how the content is upscaled or scanned or whatever really affects how pristine the content looks.

How is Joe Microbrew (not fair to brand any 4K panel owner as Joe six pack because he/she is more upscale than that), going to react if he/she doesn't have enough internet speed? Lots of these machines will end up being returned.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536

Last edited by mark haflich; 07-09-2014 at 04:48 PM.
mark haflich is offline  
post #10088 of 10190 Old 07-09-2014, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post
Here is a link to theirr content service. That's where their potential bucks are.


ttps://mail.yahoo.com/;_ylt=AgNhCnO.burT4BReaLrUvYMGuodG;_ylu=X3oDMTBzdW kzZ2l1BHNlYwNVSCAzIERlc2t0b3AgVG9wIEJhciAxMDA-;_ylg=X3oDMTByZmJwdHZpBGxhbmcDZW4tVVMEcHQDNAR0ZXN0 AzUxMjAxNw--;_ylv=3?.intl=us&.lang=en-US&.src=ym


I am especially relieved that all their content is in "pristine" 4K cause we know that how the content is upscaled or scanned or whatever really affects how pristine the content looks.

I is Joe Microbrew (not fair to brand any 4K panel owner as Joe six pack because he/she is more upscale than that, going to react if he/she doesn't have enough internet speed? Lots of these machines will end up being returned.
Mark, that appears to me a (malformed) link to a page in your webmail perhaps??? After adding the missing "h" at the beginning, it takes you to a Yahoo mail login page...
thrang is offline  
post #10089 of 10190 Old 07-09-2014, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post
the NP1 ONLY has one HDMI out.
Good reminder Mark. Another reason the question has to be asked why does the device even exist.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10090 of 10190 Old 07-09-2014, 07:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 306
It exists for one reason. To make the NTEK founders rich. They saw an opportunity to make a lot of money with a start up venture. They appear to be good at generating hype. Showing something way way before it was fully developed and ready to ship. They won awards for something that really didn't exist at the time. And the used the award or awards to hype. They claimed being the industry first. They didn't even have the idea of a 4K streamer first. Now its shipping and everything in their future probably rests on its success. The money is in providing content. Plus there just isn't much out there for 4K streaming and 4K is the buzz word. The quality doesn't matter. Obviously the quality for us now is low for all 4K no matter the provider unless you can get a DCI feed. My prediction is that the company will be purchased by a bigger competitor and the founders and those who own large number of shares at the initial offering price will get very rich and that is all that counts.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #10091 of 10190 Old 07-09-2014, 02:17 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
They are claiming their main channel is Nanoflix.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #10092 of 10190 Old 07-10-2014, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whitetrash66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I posted this in the VW500/VW600 thread too, since that's what I own, but i'll post it here too in case nobody else has.

The new Nvidia beta update for the newer Nvidia video cards allows 3840x2160 over the HDMI 1.4 cable. For PC gaming, it's awesome! I have a decent rig and have been playing last years Tomb Raider on ultra at 3840x2160 60 hz, and at that resolution, it's great! really sharp, and smooooth.. So video and everything will work. I believe the work around was 4:2:0 but for gaming at least, I don't see any difference quality wise, but I do see a nice 60 fps. 4K gaming is actually doable! Wait until GTA V is out for PC!
whitetrash66 is offline  
post #10093 of 10190 Old 07-10-2014, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 248
I've been playing around with this recently, it's definitely a cool feature for Nvidia to implement. I'm using a Shuttle SFF @ 4.0 ghz, 32 Gb ram and a 780 GTX Ti.
zombie10k is online now  
post #10094 of 10190 Old 07-10-2014, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whitetrash66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post
I've been playing around with this recently, it's definitely a cool feature for Nvidia to implement. I'm using a Shuttle SFF @ 4.0 ghz, 32 Gb ram and a 780 GTX Ti.

Nice! 32 GB of ram is a lot! I have a custom build with only 16gb ram, a 4770K and SLI 780 TIs. It's pretty awesome and i use a wired xbox controller for games.
whitetrash66 is offline  
post #10095 of 10190 Old 07-10-2014, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post
I've been playing around with this recently, it's definitely a cool feature for Nvidia to implement. I'm using a Shuttle SFF @ 4.0 ghz, 32 Gb ram and a 780 GTX Ti.
Zombie, still curious re your Shuttle's 500w power supply and the 780ti. I have had no luck with my Shuttle with same power supply and Radeon R290 with near identical power usage. I even switch to an SSD and no dice. I've ended up ordering a Silverstone Sugo case that's essentially a dead ringer for the Shuttle with 600W power supply built in. I also noted the store I bought it from show graphics card power supply requirements on their site. Both the 780ti and R290 are stated as needing a PC with 600W power supply.

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10096 of 10190 Old 07-10-2014, 04:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
So I get an email from Sony saying Heaven Is For Real is available early for Digital Download. I run straight to the 4K store only to find it not there. First time I had an urge to actually get a movie from the Puck and it was a trick! I guess it is available in HD and SD but just not in 4K. If they want us to support their new 4K media they need to treat it like new media.

Maybe it will show up there soon...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #10097 of 10190 Old 07-10-2014, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 3,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
Zombie, still curious re your Shuttle's 500w power supply and the 780ti. I have had no luck with my Shuttle with same power supply and Radeon R290 with near identical power usage. I even switch to an SSD and no dice. I've ended up ordering a Silverstone Sugo case that's essentially a dead ringer for the Shuttle with 600W power supply built in. I also noted the store I bought it from show graphics card power supply requirements on their site. Both the 780ti and R290 are stated as needing a PC with 600W power supply.
Unless you have a TON of harddrives and extra pci express cards being used there's no need to have more than 500watts, granted the PSU can reach it's rated power:



And those are at system full load. His 500 watt PSU is more than sufficient (as long as the PSU quality is half way decent). Maybe there was an issue with the specific PSU you had? Or the specific model being used was a piece of junk? These new 28nm cards are extremely power efficient.

This was the whole system being used for the review:


Last edited by Seegs108; 07-10-2014 at 04:31 PM.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #10098 of 10190 Old 07-10-2014, 04:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Abbas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
My NP-1 came in today. They included a free Kit Kat bar with the unit in the shipping box which I thought was kinda funny. I guess waiting one year to receive the unit justifies the candy bar. I am going to try and test it out this weekend to see if it is worth $299. One interesting part of the letter that was included said ' we have decided to provide you with a month of unlimited access to the UltraFlix 4k Ultra HD library' so I am guessing they will be charging for the content after the first month.
Abbas is offline  
post #10099 of 10190 Old 07-10-2014, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 3,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 143
I'm guessing the device runs on Android Kit Kat?
Seegs108 is online now  
post #10100 of 10190 Old 07-10-2014, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
Unless you have a TON of harddrives and extra pci express cards being used there's no need to have more than 500watts, granted the PSU can reach it's rated power:



And those are at system full load. His 500 watt PSU is more than sufficient (as long as the PSU quality is half way decent). Maybe there was an issue with the specific PSU you had? Or the specific model being used was a piece of junk? These new 28nm cards are extremely power efficient.

This was the whole system being used for the review:


Yes Dylan I've read statements like that re power requirements. However with my very simple set up of identical Shuttle power supply, different chipset - LGA-2011, I cannot get the R290 to post no matter what. I've gotten away with power requirements for the majority of systems I've ever built that have 500W or near. But in this case simply no dice. Outside the chance the R290 is faulty, there's not much to explain why I can't run the card in my Shuttle.

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10101 of 10190 Old 07-10-2014, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 3,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Is the TDP and power draw on LGA-2011 CPUs typically higher than LGA-1150 CPUs? To stay a little more on topic, I'm assuming you're using MadVR to upscale content to 4K for your Sony? Have you compared it to other well regarded scalers? If so, how do you find it's performance compared to the competition? I've been feeding my JVC DLA-X500 4K content and the result, to my eyes at least, seems like a more analog, natural, looking image when the image is upscaled. I can only assume because these have true 4K panels this same effect takes place but at a greater level. There's a great thread somewhere on the forum showing how well MadVR works at scaling.

Last edited by Seegs108; 07-10-2014 at 06:01 PM.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #10102 of 10190 Old 07-10-2014, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
Is the TDP and power draw on LGA-2011 CPUs typically higher than LGA-1150 CPUs? To stay a little more on topic, I'm assuming you're using MadVR to upscale content to 4K for your Sony? Have you compared it to other well regarded scalers? If so, how do you find it's performance compared to the competition? I've been feeding my JVC DLA-X500 4K content and the result, to my eyes at least, seems like a more analog, natural, looking image when the image is upscaled. I can only assume because these have true 4K panels this same effect takes place but at a greater level. There's a great thread somewhere on the forum showing how well MadVR works at scaling.

Yeah that's one of my theories that the 2011 could be drawing more power. I haven't investigated it yet. However, I'll have the Silverstone with 600w today anyway which should cover future videocard upgrades for a while to come. I've been getting into the NNEDI3 upscaling in madvr, that's why I'm moving on from the 7950 to R290. I haven't gone to 4K yet due to the MX150 and not wanting to have to try to get hdmi split or direct connect like I've done in the past with the PC or when I had the Denon.

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10103 of 10190 Old 07-10-2014, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 3,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 143
That's one of the drawbacks to MadVR scaling. It's very demanding. My GTX 690 definitely ramps up quite a bit when it does the scaling to 4K. I think you definitely need an expensive graphics card to use JINC and NNEDI3 scaling. The cost of a PC needed to do this costs almost as much as a Lumagen, but there's a ton of other functionality the PC has. It helps justify the high cost a bit more. Though, fan noise becomes quite a bit louder from my GPU. I haven't taken a peek at the GPU percent usage MadVR is utilizing, but I think I will tonight. I may upgrade with nvidia releases it's 8xx line of GPUs if it means quieter performance when it's under a load.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #10104 of 10190 Old 07-10-2014, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,561
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 59
A while back a fiber optic HDMI cable was discussed in this thread. Did anyone ever try one out? I have a nasty hiss / hum (more of a hiss though, but I assume its a ground loop, which is usually called a hum I guess) that is ONLY present when the HDMI cable is plugged into both my Sony 1100 and the HDMI output of the processor. I thought it was being caused before by a switch that I had on the same circuit that had a brushless fan. I got rid of the switch and got rid of the hum. But now I just swapped my Marantz processor out for a processor that is different in two ways: It DOES have a ground plug, whereas the Marantz did not, and it does NOT have balanced outs, whereas the Marantz did. So between those two things, the hiss is back. If I unplug that HDMI cable, the hiss goes away. Note that the projector doesn't even have to be plugged in for this to happen. Just the cable connected. So I figure if I get that fiber optic HDMI cable then there will be no way for whatever electronic garbage is on the line to travel.

The other weird thing is that if I unplug it and plug it back in, the hiss stays gone until something is actually played on a source component. So hitting play and then stop or pause causes the hiss to come back and stay until the cable is unplugged. Then it wont come back even with the cable plugged back in until I hit play again.



As soon as Emotiva ships the XMC 1, which supposedly starts today or tomorrow with people on the list getting their emails, then I will move back to balanced outs. Then we will see if the ground connection on the chassis vs the Marantz not having it is the difference instead of the balanced vs unbalanced outs.

Sorry to bring this issue to this thread... its just the only one where I have seen that fiber optic cable discussed.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #10105 of 10190 Old 07-10-2014, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
Zombie, still curious re your Shuttle's 500w power supply and the 780ti. I have had no luck with my Shuttle with same power supply and Radeon R290 with near identical power usage. I even switch to an SSD and no dice. I've ended up ordering a Silverstone Sugo case that's essentially a dead ringer for the Shuttle with 600W power supply built in. I also noted the store I bought it from show graphics card power supply requirements on their site. Both the 780ti and R290 are stated as needing a PC with 600W power supply.
This shuttle is the SZ77R5 using LGA1155. I hooked up a Kill-A-Watt just now, windows 8 64bit is installed. It idles @ 40 watts.

Using FurMark, just pegging the CPU's it's 127 watts. With the CPU's and GPU pegged it's 390-395 watts.
zombie10k is online now  
post #10106 of 10190 Old 07-11-2014, 04:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Wasn't that the emotiva product they claim performs as good as competitors that cost 10x as much? Keep us informed.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #10107 of 10190 Old 07-11-2014, 04:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hifiaudio2,

Celerity optical hdmi works fine...a friend has it on a Sony 95es/Integra processor. Other than one of the hdmi end connectors needing to be replaced, it has performed well. As you know, since it is optical, it should break the ground loop.

Last edited by G-Rex; 07-11-2014 at 04:58 AM.
G-Rex is online now  
post #10108 of 10190 Old 07-11-2014, 05:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,561
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
Wasn't that the emotiva product they claim performs as good as competitors that cost 10x as much? Keep us informed.
Yeah if it delivers I will let you know how it sounds. Its big draw is Dirac room correction. We shall see if it lives up to the hype. Dirac is certainly loved by the Datasat owners though.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #10109 of 10190 Old 07-11-2014, 05:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,561
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post
Hifiaudio2,

Celerity optical hdmi works fine...a friend has it on a Sony 95es/Integra processor. Other than one of the hdmi end connectors needing to be replaced, it has performed well. As you know, since it is optical, it should break the ground loop.
Ok great, thanks. Just ordered one. Hopefully it fixes the problem. At least its 18gbps / 4k ready so I "shouldn't" have to change it later.

Last edited by hifiaudio2; 07-11-2014 at 07:16 AM.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #10110 of 10190 Old 07-11-2014, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post
Ok great, thanks. Just ordered one. Hopefully it fixes the problem. At least its 18gbps / 4k ready so I "shouldn't" have to change it later.
There is a another member here that confirmed with me via pm that the Celerity works fine with the 1000/1100es. I believe he had the puck. Also, fwiw, Celerity informed me via email that Sony uses the Celerity in their lab for 4k sources. Of course that is an unconfirmed statement. Yeah 4k 60p headroom is nice to have.
G-Rex is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Casio Rs 232 Adapter Catalog Category Projectors Accessories
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off