Sony VPL-vw1000 - Page 340 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 1254Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-19-2014, 08:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,413
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 415
I already boxed it up. I am sure someone else can take a few screens. I would prefer the extra storage and the fact that I don't have to turn everything on to start downloading a movie or browse them. The tablet wins there. Also the most I could sell the puck and tablet for was around 400. I may as well keep them and get my funds back for the brick. As for Netflix I am happy using it with all my other devices. And since my internet has terrible rates it doesn't make a big difference attempting to stream 4K.

I will be perfectly content with the puck and tablet until the day 4K Blu-ray arrives. And since we got it "free" with our upgrades.....


My Sony 5000ES Review PART 2 FINISHED:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1462841668379
joerod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-19-2014, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,951
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1434 Post(s)
Liked: 1207
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post
I was really hoping that Thrang was going to do some PS on the brick....

Well, here's the first attempt...








FS: JKP Affinity .09 Fixed Frame 2.35 screen, 12.5 feet wide - PM for details, ad not posted yet

Thrang's Home Theater, For Now...
thrang is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,570
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Lol.. you chooch! Those are pretty funny..
adidino is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,951
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1434 Post(s)
Liked: 1207
one more

stevenjw, joerod and zombie10k like this.

FS: JKP Affinity .09 Fixed Frame 2.35 screen, 12.5 feet wide - PM for details, ad not posted yet

Thrang's Home Theater, For Now...
thrang is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,883
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 182
I just got mine from Sony. I had a bunch of rewards points on my Sony card and since they quit carrying PS Vita I wasn't really saving them for anything else. That plus the pre-order discount made me decide I had enough faith in Netflix to make the purchase worthwhile. I probably won't get it hooked up until tomorrow.

Good news--it looks like it is an IR remote not Bluetooth.

Surprised Sony didn't even double box the package.

Matt

UMR on HDR vs 4K: The benefit of greater saturation and luminance capability is...not very evident in all images unlike more pixels which can be seen in every scene.
turls is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 01:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Venice, Florida, USA
Posts: 22,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1416 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Double boxing costs money. Sony has a shortage of same. Besides its hard to break a brick without significant deflection. If you dent it, it will still probably work fine. But unlike the tablet its will not survive immersion in most fluids.
mark haflich is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 01:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10,342
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2454 Post(s)
Liked: 2322
When they announced the brick w/ H265 support, I was hoping they would streamline the video side on the downloads and use the saved space for an HD track. This means they would have needed different downloads for the X1 / X10 so that wasn't likely going to happen.

btw, they upgraded the software on the Tablet to Android Kit Kat. Impressive for a 1.5 year old tablet in a disposable market for these devices.

We've used the tablet at several pool gatherings for pictures/video. all were surprised when I threw it directly in the water. The water proof Sony is no baloney. Just make sure the trap doors are closed.
zombie10k is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 07:17 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,413
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 415
I actually like leaving the Tablet available for guests to surf the internet before and after movies or to check stats (fantasy footba) during games. I have a strict no X-rated material clause as well. That's what the iPad is for!

My Sony 5000ES Review PART 2 FINISHED:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1462841668379
joerod is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 08:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Venice, Florida, USA
Posts: 22,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1416 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
I actually like leaving the Tablet available for guests to surf the internet before and after movies or to check stats (fantasy football) during games. I have a strict no X-rated material clause as well. That's what the iPad is for!
I suspect its quite suitable for surfing because its waterproof.

Last edited by mark haflich; 07-20-2014 at 05:25 AM.
mark haflich is offline  
Old 07-20-2014, 12:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,413
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post
I suspect its quite suitable for surfing because its waterproof.
Haha just got that!

My Sony 5000ES Review PART 2 FINISHED:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1462841668379
joerod is offline  
Old 07-21-2014, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,883
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 182
X10 hooked up.

IR, not bluetooth.
Tablet does not see it (saw the puck fine, I don't think I am doing anything wrong).
Cannot get Netflix to play anything higher than 1080p Super HD. Not happy because I have way more than enough bandwidth to support Ultra HD. Just verified with Speedtest I am not having issues with speed.

No current point to this thing if Netflix won't stream Ultra HD, before I even get to the quality of Netflix Ultra HD. There should be some kind of menu choice in Netflix to test why it isn't giving me Ultra HD, but no diagnostics seem to be available.

There is Breaking Bad, House of Cards, and about 5 Sony movies in Ultra HD available. Then some demo type stuff.

Matt

UMR on HDR vs 4K: The benefit of greater saturation and luminance capability is...not very evident in all images unlike more pixels which can be seen in every scene.
turls is offline  
Old 07-21-2014, 06:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15,547
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4794 Post(s)
Liked: 2950
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
X10 hooked up.

IR, not bluetooth.
Tablet does not see it (saw the puck fine, I don't think I am doing anything wrong).
Cannot get Netflix to play anything higher than 1080p Super HD. Not happy because I have way more than enough bandwidth to support Ultra HD. Just verified with Speedtest I am not having issues with speed.

No current point to this thing if Netflix won't stream Ultra HD, before I even get to the quality of Netflix Ultra HD. There should be some kind of menu choice in Netflix to test why it isn't giving me Ultra HD, but no diagnostics seem to be available.

There is Breaking Bad, House of Cards, and about 5 Sony movies in Ultra HD available. Then some demo type stuff.
The new Sony server is IR controlled. The tablet will not control it.

Call for CEDIA SPECIALS
AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Parasound, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, SE, Carada, MicroLite.
Mike Garrett is offline  
Old 07-21-2014, 07:07 PM
Member
 
hermosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 21
There is a Netflix menu tab to check streaming quality. I am interested to see if you get UHD quality finally from Netflix. Their help menu says "Ultra HD" should show up in the beginning placard for House of Cards or other UHD shows.

Please let us know if you get the brick to work correctly with Netflix - as you said there is no point to replacing the puck if not.
hermosa is offline  
Old 07-21-2014, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 9,254
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3764 Post(s)
Liked: 1770
I hope Sony takes note of our naming scheme for these devices. I'm sure they'll love the monikers "brick" and "puck".
Seegs108 is offline  
Old 07-21-2014, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,883
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
The new Sony server is IR controlled. The tablet will not control it.
Understood, and I'm glad for the IR control instead of Bluetooth, so it already has a leg up on the PS4 should it ever support 4K/UHD. But it should not be an either/or situation. I have lots of devices that can be controlled both IR and IP. For that matter, a device like this should have IP control so it integrates into home automation systems, which is one thing they worked a lot on with the projector.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hermosa View Post
There is a Netflix menu tab to check streaming quality. I am interested to see if you get UHD quality finally from Netflix. Their help menu says "Ultra HD" should show up in the beginning placard for House of Cards or other UHD shows.

Please let us know if you get the brick to work correctly with Netflix - as you said there is no point to replacing the puck if not.
The only setting I've seen in the Netflix "app" on the X10 says my connection is fine, and tests connections to 3 different Netflix servers. It says nothing about whether my ISP/connection supports UHD or not. If congestion was an issue locally, it shouldn't be this time of night and I still can't get it to go above 1080p. Not sure what you mean about the placard either--the content shows up as Ultra HD content, it just won't play that way.

EDIT: did finally get sustained streaming at 2160 with S2 of HoC. Will have to do some more testing and see if I can detect a pattern of why it works or doesn't work. I did find an X10 owners thread here that is less than 10 days old and is already many pages long so there may be quite a few panel users that ordered this.

Matt

UMR on HDR vs 4K: The benefit of greater saturation and luminance capability is...not very evident in all images unlike more pixels which can be seen in every scene.

Last edited by turls; 07-21-2014 at 11:28 PM.
turls is offline  
Old 07-22-2014, 10:01 AM
Member
 
hermosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I was not referring to a Netflix app on the X10. I was referring to your Netflix account on the Netflix website. You must click on "Your Account", then "Playback Settings", then choose "Data Usage - High".

I am not sure if this has anything to do with your problem, but may be restricting your data flow rate from Netflix.
hermosa is offline  
Old 07-22-2014, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,883
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by hermosa View Post
I was not referring to a Netflix app on the X10. I was referring to your Netflix account on the Netflix website. You must click on "Your Account", then "Playback Settings", then choose "Data Usage - High".

I am not sure if this has anything to do with your problem, but may be restricting your data flow rate from Netflix.
Ok, yes those settings are correct. Thanks.

Matt

UMR on HDR vs 4K: The benefit of greater saturation and luminance capability is...not very evident in all images unlike more pixels which can be seen in every scene.
turls is offline  
Old 07-22-2014, 10:54 AM
Member
 
hermosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Perplexing!

Based on your comments, it seems like it is the X10 that is not decoding the UHD stream correctly. I have decided to cancel my order of the X10 until I am sure it works correctly. It will cost me the $200 discount if I buy later, but I don't need another box that doesn't provide any value over the puck.
hermosa is offline  
Old 07-22-2014, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,883
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by hermosa View Post
Perplexing!

Based on your comments, it seems like it is the X10 that is not decoding the UHD stream correctly. I have decided to cancel my order of the X10 until I am sure it works correctly. It will cost me the $200 discount if I buy later, but I don't need another box that doesn't provide any value over the puck.
Well, it definitely has worked, I edited my post to indicate that. But with the lack of diagnostic tools and possibly some type of logic for the box to try really hard to generate UHD (better buffering algorithms?), I don't think it is ready for prime time for a good chunk of ISPs. I'm undecided on whether I'm going to keep it or not.

Matt

UMR on HDR vs 4K: The benefit of greater saturation and luminance capability is...not very evident in all images unlike more pixels which can be seen in every scene.
turls is offline  
Old 07-22-2014, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,951
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1434 Post(s)
Liked: 1207
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
Understood, and I'm glad for the IR control instead of Bluetooth, so it already has a leg up on the PS4 should it ever support 4K/UHD. But it should not be an either/or situation. I have lots of devices that can be controlled both IR and IP. For that matter, a device like this should have IP control so it integrates into home automation systems, which is one thing they worked a lot on with the projector.
Well perhaps mike or someone can clarify. The tablet not supporting the x10 may be an app issue, and might not preclude the x10 from have an ip protocol set.

It would be another in a string of stupid things Sony has done (or not done) if they failed to include IP support. All you need is discrete power, four arrows, enter , control transport, menu, and maybe a few others. They've only done that 478 times on disc players...

FS: JKP Affinity .09 Fixed Frame 2.35 screen, 12.5 feet wide - PM for details, ad not posted yet

Thrang's Home Theater, For Now...
thrang is offline  
Old 08-01-2014, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 2,049
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 109

Has anyone found a way to have their movies from the X1 moved or downloaded to the X10 ?

Including the free feature films we were given on the X1

I contacted Sony and they were not helpful. Sony promised a tech would call back. That was 3 days ago.
thestewman is offline  
Old 08-01-2014, 09:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Venice, Florida, USA
Posts: 22,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1416 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Hopefully, one can transfer the stuff on the internal hard drive in the puck (the X1) to an external drive through the USB (we know that works) and then plug the external drive into the brick (the x10).

Last edited by mark haflich; 08-01-2014 at 02:39 PM.
mark haflich is offline  
Old 08-01-2014, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 2,049
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post
hopefully, one can transfer the stuff on the internal hard drive in the puck (the X1) to an external drive through the USB (we know that works) and then plug the external drive into the brick (the x10).

That will not work because whatever external harddrive you plug in automatically starts a reformat request wth no way to bypass it.

That would erase any already loaded files.

Sony was dumbfounded when I told them about the Reformat request.. They Had no idea what to do.

There must be some early adopters who received an FMP-X10 and owned a FMP -X1 who have worked the problem out previously and could give us guidance.
thestewman is offline  
Old 08-01-2014, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
David Shapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Highland Park,Illinois,U.S.A
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just saw a demo upgraded unit sell for a very low price on Audiogon. New model on the horizon, or just getting a little old?

David

DES
David Shapiro is offline  
Old 08-01-2014, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 2,049
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Shapiro View Post
Just saw a demo upgraded unit sell for a very low price on Audiogon. New model on the horizon, or just getting a little old?

David
What model number ?
thestewman is offline  
Old 08-01-2014, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 9,254
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3764 Post(s)
Liked: 1770
I saw one sell on ebay for $8900. I think it's the age of the unit. These can't hold their value for ever.
Seegs108 is offline  
Old 08-01-2014, 12:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15,547
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4794 Post(s)
Liked: 2950
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
I saw one sell on ebay for $8900. I think it's the age of the unit. These can't hold their value for ever.
If it was one of the first purchased ones, it would be 2.5 years old and could have quite a few hours on it.

Call for CEDIA SPECIALS
AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Parasound, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, SE, Carada, MicroLite.
Mike Garrett is offline  
Old 08-01-2014, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 9,254
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3764 Post(s)
Liked: 1770
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
If it was one of the first purchased ones, it would be 2.5 years old and could have quite a few hours on it.
It was a refurb unit. Also, it went for $8600. For some reason I thought $8900:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/271544288809...84.m1423.l2649

Last edited by Seegs108; 08-01-2014 at 12:44 PM.
Seegs108 is offline  
Old 08-01-2014, 12:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10,342
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2454 Post(s)
Liked: 2322
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
If it was one of the first purchased ones, it would be 2.5 years old and could have quite a few hours on it.
there was no mention of the hours, or photos of the actual product. short warranty, no upgrade, etc. i'm pretty sure my 120 hour A stock w/ the upgrade is still worth a few more bucks than this ebay special.
zombie10k is offline  
Old 08-01-2014, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 9,254
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3764 Post(s)
Liked: 1770
It did come with a 30 day return policy so if there was something wrong with the unit you could return it. Also, you're covered through ebay. They will give you your money back if the item comes broken/damaged/or not like the description. I'm just saying ebay isn't some shady place to buy electronics. I've bought MANY projectors through ebay and have never once had an issue where the unit wasn't as described. And ironically the two projectors I've had to send in for service were bought from dealers, not second hand units on ebay. Sometimes you know you aren't buying a lemon if the person has had it for a little while without issues. I've watched a few other auctions and the units sold for under $10000. Like Mike said, some of these units are almost 3 years old. They can't hold their value forever. These were auctions, not "buy it now" prices. The marketplace sets value and it does seem the value has gone down a bit since this time last year. At that time, most units were selling for around $12000. I keep a close eye on these units when they go up for sale.

Last edited by Seegs108; 08-01-2014 at 01:00 PM.
Seegs108 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Casio Rs 232 Adapter Catalog Category Projectors Accessories , Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off