Sony VPL-vw1000 - Page 349 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10441 of 10463 Old 09-11-2014, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
I used the One last. If you don't like the dealer model Control4 definitely isn't what you want, and it shouldn't have been sold to you that way. On the other hand, if you haven't even used ComposerHE you aren't really giving it a fair shake.

I agree with you on the system. My dealer said this to me in regards to composer HE, which didn't leave me feeling keen on it:

Quote:
"Making your own macro feature is only for the avid user who wants to play around. Things like 'if doorbell rings then execute pause on TV or light at front gate turn on' or 'at 6pm close blinds on east wall'"-I cant see you using this feature

OzHDHT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10442 of 10463 Old 09-12-2014, 03:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
I agree with you on the system. My dealer said this to me in regards to composer HE, which didn't leave me feeling keen on it:
Hmm, its pretty easy stuff for basic but I have a programming background. I don't know how much time I would waste on it with only one room, but I have a huge array of connected stuff in my house, so I get a ton out of it.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10443 of 10463 Old 09-12-2014, 03:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 42
http://www.twice.com/news/trade-show...boration/53979

Still no specifics on the calibration software, all the articles mentioning this say basically the same thing. Anybody at CEDIA know if this is something an end user can take advantage of?

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10444 of 10463 Old 09-14-2014, 12:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
Hmm, its pretty easy stuff for basic but I have a programming background. I don't know how much time I would waste on it with only one room, but I have a huge array of connected stuff in my house, so I get a ton out of it.
Yeah unfort in my scenario we are talking a media room in an apartment I'm using roughly every 10 days for between one to two days at a time. Also, am very likely when there to have girlfriend and her daughter in tow or to entertaining colleagues. I know as it is I get reminded when I'm spending too much time with my A/V gear, fiddling and tweaking, etc. So sitting down in the new media room writing macros (I'm def the opposite of computer illiterate) is prob going be something that I'm a tad too time poor in that situation for unfort. I'm going see how the installers go finishing off things next week there and take it from there. I have good buddies nephew on the case as well who's pretty gun on systems and high end A/V installs - used to work the guys who did my work, so knows all the systems I've got including C4.


Last edited by OzHDHT; 09-14-2014 at 05:58 PM.
OzHDHT is offline  
post #10445 of 10463 Old 09-14-2014, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 42
http://www.cnet.com/news/sony-makes-...row-projector/

Some discussion about stacking 1100ES here.

Does anybody know what they used for the last image in the article, which has the image split into 4 different quadrants like a video wall? Likely typical tradeshow magic, but the article is a little vague about if this is meant for consumers or not.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10446 of 10463 Old 09-19-2014, 02:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,107
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 226
In case anyone is interested, and I know this doesn't pertain specifically to the 1100ES because it only accepts 4:2:0 at 60hz, but nVidia just launched two new video cards (GTX 970 and GTX 980, the latter being the flagship card) that has a full bandwidth HDMI 2.0 port (support for 4K at 60hz 4:4:4 RGB). It's also significantly more powerful than the previous generation cards. This should be able to handle madVR's NNEDI3 image doubling better and definitely handle JINC scaling 1080p--> 4K with ease compared to last gen cards. For those looking for a cheaper alternative than a Lumagen to scale your blu-rays to 4K should pick one up while you still can. Zombie has compared a 4K lumagen to JINC and prefers JINC scaling over the lumagen. NNEDI3 is even better. I expect them to sell out within 48 hours and not be available until new stock comes which may take weeks. This card is "future-proof" and will work when we finally see full bandwidth HDMI chips on new 4K projectors. I just picked one up on Newegg.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #10447 of 10463 Old 09-19-2014, 04:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
In case anyone is interested, and I know this doesn't pertain specifically to the 1100ES because it only accepts 4:2:0 at 60hz, but nVidia just launched two new video cards (GTX 970 and GTX 980, the latter being the flagship card) that has a full bandwidth HDMI 2.0 port (support for 4K at 60hz 4:4:4 RGB). It's also significantly more powerful than the previous generation cards. This should be able to handle madVR's NNEDI3 image doubling better and definitely handle JINC scaling 1080p--> 4K with ease compared to last gen cards. For those looking for a cheaper alternative than a Lumagen to scale your blu-rays to 4K should pick one up while you still can. Zombie has compared a 4K lumagen to JINC and prefers JINC scaling over the lumagen. NNEDI3 is even better. I expect them to sell out within 48 hours and not be available until new stock comes which may take weeks. This card is "future-proof" and will work when we finally see full bandwidth HDMI chips on new 4K projectors. I just picked one up on Newegg.
Good information, and I'm sure it's interesting, but the idea of relying on a Windows PC again for Blu Ray playback is completely unappealing to me (and several others I know) after years of trying to achieve the coveted WAF. Actually could not achieve MAF (my acceptance factor!) Too many odd and random behaviors. Even Arcsoft has now dropped TMT.

And this solution is limited only to Blu Ray. If you have other sources, like cable or Directv or other streamers, you cannot leverage whatever this card potentially does, where a Lumagen helps all.

I suppose gamers might like this more however...
d.j. likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by thrang; 09-20-2014 at 03:18 AM.
thrang is online now  
post #10448 of 10463 Old 09-19-2014, 08:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
Search is dead but nobody mentioned that Odemax website died a while ago did they? What is everybody here with a Redray going to use them for now? I guess I don't even remember if it really shipped, glad I cancelled mine.

Amazing Red would let that happen without a replacement service.
It really shipped and is still shipping. Many manufacturers are using preloaded content for store displays and show displays. Epson used it at Cedia. JVC used it and uses one in every AVAD to feed 4K content to its 4K panel. I wouldn't buy one except if I were shooting 4K content and wanted to distribute it to other Redray owners. It has its uses in the trade. For consumers, probably not.

Mark Haflich

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #10449 of 10463 Old 09-19-2014, 08:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
http://www.cnet.com/news/sony-makes-...row-projector/

Some discussion about stacking 1100ES here.

Does anybody know what they used for the last image in the article, which has the image split into 4 different quadrants like a video wall? Likely typical tradeshow magic, but the article is a little vague about if this is meant for consumers or not.
thanks for the link. more enjoyable to read than most press reports on the same subjects. I like the bit about split screen displays and how do you split the audio. For those instances where I have more than one piece of content showing at the same time, I have modified a electronic game paddle normally used for playing electronic squash (think tennis if you don't know squat whoops squash, so that the position of my head is sent to the computer which then activates a selector switch to select the audio for the source I am watching. The problem is that I must turn my head. I am working on an eye sensor. they actually exist, all of this stuff, in the simulation industry, though not for sound selection but that is child's play.

Mark Haflich

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #10450 of 10463 Old 09-19-2014, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,107
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
Good information, and I'm sure it's interesting, but the idea of relying on a Windows PC again for Blu Ray playback is completely unappealing to me (and several others I know) after years of trying to achieve the coveted WAF. Actually could not achieve MAF (my acceptance factor!) Too many odd and random behaviors. Even Arcsoft has now dropiped TMT.

And this solution is limited only to Blu Ray. If you have other sources, like cable or Directv or other streamers, you cannot leverage whatever this card potentially does, where a Lumagen helps all.

I suppose gamers might like this more however...
I've just never had a bad experience using a PC for media playback so personally I only have great things to say. Then again I don't use TMT.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #10451 of 10463 Old 09-20-2014, 12:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post
I like the bit about split screen displays and how do you split the audio. For those instances where I have more than one piece of content showing at the same time,
I've got a couple of PoP setups with my Lumagen, and basically whatever is on the left side gets audio. Its a one button press to get the sources switched. Works fine for me.

I'm looking forward to being able to do more than two sources at once someday hopefully, then it will get a little more challenging.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
Even Arcsoft has now dropiped TMT.
Thanks for mentioning that, since Arcsoft didn't have the decency to let us know or handle the discontinuation with any class whatsoever. Not sure when I would have figured that out.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10452 of 10463 Old 09-20-2014, 02:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
d.j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
http://www.cnet.com/news/sony-makes-...row-projector/

Some discussion about stacking 1100ES here.

Does anybody know what they used for the last image in the article, which has the image split into 4 different quadrants like a video wall? Likely typical tradeshow magic, but the article is a little vague about if this is meant for consumers or not.



One 1100:


"Another trick they showed with this setup, which doesn't require a double stack, just a 4K projector (or large TV): four 1080p feeds at once. They used sports as their example, showing feeds of four different games and sportsball shows."
d.j. is offline  
post #10453 of 10463 Old Yesterday, 04:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't know where to post so I will start here. Recently I noticed that BluRay menu screens' display show the options extending outside of the viewable area. The menu wording is cut off. I have a 16:9 screen, Oppo player set 16:9 no zoom, Lumaganen XD set 16:9, and the Sony aspect 1.85 which is correct for the film. What could be causing this? It has me wondering about what I may be missing in the actual movie image.
DaveN is offline  
post #10454 of 10463 Old Yesterday, 09:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Try setting the Sony aspect to normal.

Mark Haflich

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #10455 of 10463 Old Yesterday, 05:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Dave. How about a little feedback? I won't be able to sleep tonight without knowing if my suggestion was successful.

Mark Haflich

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #10456 of 10463 Old Yesterday, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post
Dave. How about a little feedback? I won't be able to sleep tonight without knowing if my suggestion was successful.
I have been working all day and didn't try it until now. Nope, that wasn't it. Turned out that Lumagen needed to be on 1:85, not 16:9 to fix things. Picture looks great, if only I had the time to watch...

Thanks Mark.
DaveN is offline  
post #10457 of 10463 Old Yesterday, 05:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Thinking about it, that makes sense. My suggestion, upon reflection, could not have done it. 8 weeks from yesterday, we pick up our new GSMD puppy in Bear Creek, NC, a little south of Chapel Hill.

Mark Haflich

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

call me at: 240 876 2536

Last edited by mark haflich; Yesterday at 06:07 PM.
mark haflich is offline  
post #10458 of 10463 Old Today, 01:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by d.j. View Post
One 1100:


"Another trick they showed with this setup, which doesn't require a double stack, just a 4K projector (or large TV): four 1080p feeds at once. They used sports as their example, showing feeds of four different games and sportsball shows."
I can guarantee there is no processing in a consumer 1100 to do this by itself. But you have to admit, the way the article is worded, its like the author thought that it does.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10459 of 10463 Old Today, 05:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 463
This should do the trick for unprotected feeds.

http://www.ambery.com/4hddvispqupi.html

Mark Haflich

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #10460 of 10463 Old Today, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post
This should do the trick for unprotected feeds.

http://www.ambery.com/4hddvispqupi.html
Thanks Mark, but what would be best is if Directv and Tivo added multiview to their boxes, especially as they add more and more tuners (Roamio is six right now I think). Quad viewing is mostly for sports nuts, and an external device like your link still requires seperate tuners for every feed. Multi view in the source tuner would be ideal...


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
thrang is online now  
post #10461 of 10463 Old Today, 07:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 463
I agree.

Mark Haflich

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #10462 of 10463 Old Today, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post
This should do the trick for unprotected feeds.

http://www.ambery.com/4hddvispqupi.html
Hmm, can't remember if I saw that one before or not when I was searching for a solution. What do you mean unprotected feeds? It says it supports HDCP (not 2.x I'm sure).

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10463 of 10463 Old Today, 01:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
Hmm, can't remember if I saw that one before or not when I was searching for a solution. What do you mean unprotected feeds? It says it supports HDCP (not 2.x I'm sure).

Missed that. You are correct. Should be fine for everything under HDCP 2.2.

Mark Haflich

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Casio Rs 232 Adapter Catalog Category Projectors Accessories
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off