Sony VPL-vw1000 - Page 349 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10441 of 10447 Old 09-11-2014, 02:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Search is dead but nobody mentioned that Odemax website died a while ago did they? What is everybody here with a RedRay going to use them for now? I guess I don't even remember if it really shipped, glad I cancelled mine.

Amazing Red would let that happen without a replacement service.

Matt

Last edited by turls; 09-11-2014 at 02:14 AM.
turls is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10442 of 10447 Old 09-11-2014, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
I used the One last. If you don't like the dealer model Control4 definitely isn't what you want, and it shouldn't have been sold to you that way. On the other hand, if you haven't even used ComposerHE you aren't really giving it a fair shake.

I agree with you on the system. My dealer said this to me in regards to composer HE, which didn't leave me feeling keen on it:

Quote:
"Making your own macro feature is only for the avid user who wants to play around. Things like 'if doorbell rings then execute pause on TV or light at front gate turn on' or 'at 6pm close blinds on east wall'"-I cant see you using this feature

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10443 of 10447 Old 09-12-2014, 03:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
I agree with you on the system. My dealer said this to me in regards to composer HE, which didn't leave me feeling keen on it:
Hmm, its pretty easy stuff for basic but I have a programming background. I don't know how much time I would waste on it with only one room, but I have a huge array of connected stuff in my house, so I get a ton out of it.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10444 of 10447 Old 09-12-2014, 03:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 40
http://www.twice.com/news/trade-show...boration/53979

Still no specifics on the calibration software, all the articles mentioning this say basically the same thing. Anybody at CEDIA know if this is something an end user can take advantage of?

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10445 of 10447 Old 09-14-2014, 12:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
Hmm, its pretty easy stuff for basic but I have a programming background. I don't know how much time I would waste on it with only one room, but I have a huge array of connected stuff in my house, so I get a ton out of it.
Yeah unfort in my scenario we are talking a media room in an apartment I'm using roughly every 10 days for between one to two days at a time. Also, am very likely when there to have girlfriend and her daughter in tow or to entertaining colleagues. I know as it is I get reminded when I'm spending too much time with my A/V gear, fiddling and tweaking, etc. So sitting down in the new media room writing macros (I'm def the opposite of computer illiterate) is prob going be something that I'm a tad too time poor in that situation for unfort. I'm going see how the installers go finishing off things next week there and take it from there. I have good buddies nephew on the case as well who's pretty gun on systems and high end A/V installs - used to work the guys who did my work, so knows all the systems I've got including C4.


Last edited by OzHDHT; 09-14-2014 at 05:58 PM.
OzHDHT is offline  
post #10446 of 10447 Old 09-14-2014, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 40
http://www.cnet.com/news/sony-makes-...row-projector/

Some discussion about stacking 1100ES here.

Does anybody know what they used for the last image in the article, which has the image split into 4 different quadrants like a video wall? Likely typical tradeshow magic, but the article is a little vague about if this is meant for consumers or not.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10447 of 10447 Old Today, 02:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,093
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 224
In case anyone is interested, and I know this doesn't pertain specifically to the 1100ES because it only accepts 4:2:0 at 60hz, but nVidia just launched two new video cards (GTX 970 and GTX 980, the latter being the flagship card) that has a full bandwidth HDMI 2.0 port (support for 4K at 60hz 4:4:4 RGB). It's also significantly more powerful than the previous generation cards. This should be able to handle madVR's NNEDI3 image doubling better and definitely handle JINC scaling 1080p--> 4K with ease compared to last gen cards. For those looking for a cheaper alternative than a Lumagen to scale your blu-rays to 4K should pick one up while you still can. Zombie has compared a 4K lumagen to JINC and prefers JINC scaling over the lumagen. NNEDI3 is even better. I expect them to sell out within 48 hours and not be available until new stock comes which may take weeks. This card is "future-proof" and will work when we finally see full bandwidth HDMI chips on new 4K projectors. I just picked one up on Newegg.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Seegs108 is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Casio Rs 232 Adapter Catalog Category Projectors Accessories
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off