Sony VPL-vw1000 - Page 360 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10771 of 10798 Unread 12-05-2014, 08:26 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,575
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 810 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
Is the 1100ES properly weight balanced around the three support points (screws)? In other words, if the projector is suspended using the PSS-H10 ceiling bracket and the ball-and-socket of the latter is released, would the projector tend to remain aproximately horizontal?
I do not know if it would hang dead level, but that is right at the balance point. I will say, I would never use a mount with a ball and socket type system, especially on a projector of this caliber. I would use something like the Chief RPMA304.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10772 of 10798 Unread 12-05-2014, 10:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10,074
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremehomtheatr View Post
Directv now offers 4k. Is the vpl1100 compatible with it? For some reason very few tvs are listed as compatible
Is it really 4k?
I kind of doubt it, as you probably know --- I mean the problem is lossy compression. I kind of wonder if their 4k compression would even look better than a 1080p Bluray?

It's just like online streaming, 1080p with streaming does not look like Bluray, though Vudu gets close I suppose.


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
post #10773 of 10798 Unread 12-05-2014, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremehomtheatr View Post
Directv now offers 4k. Is the vpl1100 compatible with it? For some reason very few tvs are listed as compatible
The 1000/1100 doesn't even have any "smarts" built into it to support this. The 4K they are offering uses the RDU pieces built into Samsung TVs. Kind of a slap in the face in my book to not offer an upgrade to the Genie to offer it to all of us. Even Sony is making their 4K streamer compatible with any 4K set with HDCP 2.2.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10774 of 10798 Unread 12-05-2014, 03:35 PM
Member
 
KRGM1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
The 1000/1100 doesn't even have any "smarts" built into it to support this. The 4K they are offering uses the RDU pieces built into Samsung TVs. Kind of a slap in the face in my book to not offer an upgrade to the Genie to offer it to all of us. Even Sony is making their 4K streamer compatible with any 4K set with HDCP 2.2.
I have a Genie but I don't think I would worry with the 4K even if it did work. I'm certain a good 1080p Blu-ray would look better. I wasn't that impressed with the 4K from my Sony server.
KRGM1 is offline  
post #10775 of 10798 Unread 12-05-2014, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRGM1 View Post
I have a Genie but I don't think I would worry with the 4K even if it did work. I'm certain a good 1080p Blu-ray would look better. I wasn't that impressed with the 4K from my Sony server.
Sony Server vs. DirecTV isn't a fair comparison. Its internet vs satellite delivery. Or at least it can be...

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10776 of 10798 Unread 12-05-2014, 10:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
I do not know if it would hang dead level, but that is right at the balance point. I will say, I would never use a mount with a ball and socket type system, especially on a projector of this caliber. I would use something like the Chief RPMA304.
If the mounting holes for the 1100ES are at its centre of gravity (balance point), that's great. What is wrong with the Sony PSS-H10 mount which uses a ball-and-socket system? I have used it with three Sony projectors without any issue. In fact, the PSS-H10 is even listed as an accessory for the 1100ES: http://www.sonybiz.ca/pro/lang/en/ca...s/accessories/. It is also indicated in the Operating Instructions for the 1100ES. Am I missing something here?

Last edited by Michael9009; 12-05-2014 at 10:28 PM.
Michael9009 is online now  
post #10777 of 10798 Unread 12-06-2014, 10:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,575
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 810 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
If the mounting holes for the 1100ES are at its centre of gravity (balance point), that's great. What is wrong with the Sony PSS-H10 mount which uses a ball-and-socket system? I have used it with three Sony projectors without any issue. In fact, the PSS-H10 is even listed as an accessory for the 1100ES: http://www.sonybiz.ca/pro/lang/en/ca...s/accessories/. It is also indicated in the Operating Instructions for the 1100ES. Am I missing something here?
It just will not hold the projector a rigid as a good mount like the RPMA304. Most of those ball and socket mounts will move, if you touch them.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .

Last edited by AV Science Sales 5; 12-06-2014 at 10:11 PM.
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #10778 of 10798 Unread 12-09-2014, 03:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
It just will not hold the projector a rigid as a good mount like the RPMA304. Most of those ball and socket mounts will move, if you touch them.
Mike, have you ever tried out a Sony PSS-H10? If not, I can tell you that, once fixed, this mount is rigid like Hell. This is what I have.

The one downside I thought you'd mention is that, when adjusting the position, it would rotate around the tree axes, so it's not possible to adjust it around each axis separately.

I once visited a friend who was using a mount with a vertical pipe coming down from the ceiling. Could have been a Chief mount, not sure. But when his subwoofer kicked hard, the projector would vibrate and this was visible in the image on the screen. This would never happen for a PSS-H10.

The other downside for the Sony PSS-H10 is that it cannot be extended vertically and is expensive, probably more than double than the cost of a complete Chief system. But, I'm sorry to say, sturdiness is its main asset.
Michael9009 is online now  
post #10779 of 10798 Unread 12-09-2014, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Michael9009 is online now  
post #10780 of 10798 Unread 12-09-2014, 10:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
Ok, fantastic, but even those of us that have shelled out for the X10 have no access to it now. Lame, Sony, lame.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10781 of 10798 Unread 12-09-2014, 11:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
Ok, fantastic, but even those of us that have shelled out for the X10 have no access to it now. Lame, Sony, lame.
And very likely it's not available outside the U.S. (e.g. Canada), which sucks even further.
Michael9009 is online now  
post #10782 of 10798 Unread 12-10-2014, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
And very likely it's not available outside the U.S. (e.g. Canada), which sucks even further.
True, but that's never stopped VPNer's like me from using my X1 and X10 from outside the US.

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10783 of 10798 Unread 12-11-2014, 06:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
True, but that's never stopped VPNer's like me from using my X1 and X10 from outside the US.
Do you need a U.S.-based credit card to purchase or rent films from Sony using the X1 or X10 streamers? Or is the VPN the only special requirement?

Would DNS proxies like smartdnsproxy.com also work with the Sony streamers?
Michael9009 is online now  
post #10784 of 10798 Unread 12-11-2014, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 677 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
Do you need a U.S.-based credit card to purchase or rent films from Sony using the X1 or X10 streamers? Or is the VPN the only special requirement?

Would DNS proxies like smartdnsproxy.com also work with the Sony streamers?
You'd need to make sure it's a dedicated proxy you alone can access otherwise you speed may be all over the place. I'm not sure about the proxies on that site but all the free proxies I've ever used were terribly slow and unreliable. That site seems to be legitimate. No where near fast enough to download files as large as the ones the Sony 4K store has.

Last edited by Seegs108; 12-11-2014 at 07:09 PM.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #10785 of 10798 Unread 12-11-2014, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
Do you need a U.S.-based credit card to purchase or rent films from Sony using the X1 or X10 streamers? Or is the VPN the only special requirement?

Would DNS proxies like smartdnsproxy.com also work with the Sony streamers?
You can use US PSN gift cards. My current U.S. MasterCard doesn't work last time I checked. I still have a lot of credit though as I don't buy that many games or movies. You don't need store credit for the free content of course.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
You'd need to make sure it's a dedicated proxy you alone can access otherwise you speed may be all over the place. I'm not sure about the proxies on that site but all the free proxies I've ever used were terribly slow and unreliable. That site seems to be legitimate. No where near fast enough to download files as large as the ones the Sony 4K store has.
DNS proxies don't do the trick on the X1 or X10 as the player will still identify that it's outside the US as it can 'see around' DNS proxies. A dedicated VPN like StrongVPN or GoldenFrog provides the appearance of a genuine US connection to the player.

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10786 of 10798 Unread 12-12-2014, 03:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Board upgrade to vw1000es

Hi mate Oz guy here am I understanding that you upgraded your 1000es to hdmi2.00 in Oz as I'm finding it very frustrating to find someone here who knows about this can you help
Krystal9 is offline  
post #10787 of 10798 Unread 12-12-2014, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 6,001
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
Sony Server vs. DirecTV isn't a fair comparison. Its internet vs satellite delivery. Or at least it can be...
Actually what Directv is offering is delivered via the internet. Satellite 4K channel(s) from Directv will not be coming until late 2015 or 2016. So for now Directv has become just another streaming 4K provider and currently only certain Samsung UHDTVs have the app to use this service.

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is online now  
post #10788 of 10798 Unread 12-12-2014, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones View Post
Actually what Directv is offering is delivered via the internet. Satellite 4K channel(s) from Directv will not be coming until late 2015 or 2016. So for now Directv has become just another streaming 4K provider and currently only certain Samsung UHDTVs have the app to use this service.
Understood, that's why I said "it can be". They are going to have to use satellite delivery to leverage any advantage in capacity or cost (no data caps for example) over traditional internet streaming.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #10789 of 10798 Unread 12-12-2014, 10:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,575
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 810 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
Mike, have you ever tried out a Sony PSS-H10? If not, I can tell you that, once fixed, this mount is rigid like Hell. This is what I have.

The one downside I thought you'd mention is that, when adjusting the position, it would rotate around the tree axes, so it's not possible to adjust it around each axis separately.

I once visited a friend who was using a mount with a vertical pipe coming down from the ceiling. Could have been a Chief mount, not sure. But when his subwoofer kicked hard, the projector would vibrate and this was visible in the image on the screen. This would never happen for a PSS-H10.

The other downside for the Sony PSS-H10 is that it cannot be extended vertically and is expensive, probably more than double than the cost of a complete Chief system. But, I'm sorry to say, sturdiness is its main asset.
You are comparing apples to oranges. There is very little drop on the PSS-H10. The Chief mount that you saw was probably an RPA and as you said it was on a drop tube. Take an RPMA with custom plate and use it with a short pipe nipple and it will be more solid than the PSS-H10, because the PSS-H10 uses a ball socket joint. Also as you said the adjustment with a PSS-H10 is not near as nice as the gear adjustment on the RPMA. Not saying the PSS-H10 is a bad mount, just that I would never chose it over a Chief RPMA with custom plate.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #10790 of 10798 Unread 12-12-2014, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
You are comparing apples to oranges. There is very little drop on the PSS-H10. The Chief mount that you saw was probably an RPA and as you said it was on a drop tube. Take an RPMA with custom plate and use it with a short pipe nipple and it will be more solid than the PSS-H10, because the PSS-H10 uses a ball socket joint. Also as you said the adjustment with a PSS-H10 is not near as nice as the gear adjustment on the RPMA. Not saying the PSS-H10 is a bad mount, just that I would never chose it over a Chief RPMA with custom plate.
I also think that the PSS-H10 mount is more expensive than the Chief RPMA mount, isn't it?
Michael9009 is online now  
post #10791 of 10798 Unread 12-14-2014, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krystal9 View Post
Hi mate Oz guy here am I understanding that you upgraded your 1000es to hdmi2.00 in Oz as I'm finding it very frustrating to find someone here who knows about this can you help

Hi mate, my advice here is speak to Sony directly in Sydney(North Ryde) about this. They have to order the VW1100 upgrade kit from the factory. Retail it will set you back probably a fair bit over $2500 installed. It also takes quite a while for them to get the kit out of Japan so be prepared to wait. You'll also have to send your 1000 into Sony (most likely Sydney HQ) to have it done. I had the use of a brand new VW1100 for several months, I was going to just keep the factory 1100 but it would have cost me way more than the upgrade.
Krystal9 likes this.

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10792 of 10798 Unread 12-17-2014, 12:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi mate thanks so much will do in the new year cheers Ian
& have a great Xmas
Krystal9 is offline  
post #10793 of 10798 Unread 12-17-2014, 12:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi mate thanks so much will do in the new year cheers Ian
& have a great Xmas
Krystal9 is offline  
post #10794 of 10798 Unread 12-17-2014, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 18
New VPL-VW1100ES

So, I wasn't happy with the VPL-VW500ES due to its long-duration thermal convergence drift of up to one hour and the lack of colour uniformity, and decided to return it and get the VPL-WV1100ES instead.

I picked up the new unit on Monday. It is a November 2014 production, serial number 10004xx. So not many such projectors have been manufactured. I was in touch with Sony Canada to ensure that the box was factory sealed - for some reason they open some units for 'inspection' - and they tracked it for me from Japan all the way to my dealer.

Some preliminary observations:

1. The front lens element had a smudge on it and it took me about a couple of hours to be able to clean it without leaving traces and smuggles. I had to work with the projector on as the lens cover would close otherwise, so here go a couple of hours of bulb life. This should not have happened for a product of this caliber;

2. There is little or no noticeable thermal convergence drift like the 500ES has. Although some say that the light engine is similar in the 500ES and the 1100ES, unlike the former, the latter has virtually no drift;

3. Colour uniformity is close to perfect. There is no yellowing at the bottom, like the 500ES units had. The lower corners are a tad darker than the centre but this could be attributed to the 1.3 gain of my HD Progressive screen and the inherent light falloff of the lens;

4. Sharpness is just marginally better than that of the 500ES. On a 100 IRE projected image, nose to the screen, I can just distinguish the pixels across the screen, except for about 20% at the left side where the pixels are virtually indistinguishable. This is on a 3840x2160 image, so I suppose it'd be worse on a 4096x2160 image. The weird thing is that the pixels were more clearly visible all across the screen on a Screen Innovation Black Diamond screen for the upgraded 1000ES that I saw a few weeks ago in a showroom. I'm not sure if the screen material would make such a difference.

5. The convergence is fairly accurate out of the box but, for near perfection, 5 units for each blue and red, in each direction would have to be dialed in. This is the worse case scenario as two pixels would have to be engaged equally.

6. The unit is labelled VPL-VW1100ES3 on the packaging box. I'm not sure what the '3' stands for, but it might be related to the factory-installed version of the firmware. The software versions are:
SC ROM Version: SC1:01.01/SC2:01.00
NVM Version: 01/01.01
Sub ROM Version: 01.00
IP ROM Version: 01.01
DE ROM Version: 01.00
How do they compare to the software versions of your units?

7. The 1100ES is rated at 2000 lumens vs. 1700 lumens for the 500ES. However, I am not able to distinguish an increase in brightness for the former.

8. The 1100ES came with two pairs of 3D glasses and a USB charging cable. The operating instructions I downloaded from the Internet indicate that an AC power adaptor should also be supplied (page 21), but my unit did not include one. Have you received a power charger with your projector?

In summary, I think this unit is a keeper. Although, at this price it should have been more close to perfection and without smudges on the lens.

Here goes my new car for next year...
ShaharT likes this.

Last edited by Michael9009; 12-17-2014 at 05:44 PM.
Michael9009 is online now  
post #10795 of 10798 Unread 12-17-2014, 06:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krystal9 View Post
Hi mate thanks so much will do in the new year cheers Ian
& have a great Xmas

No dramas mate. Keep us posted on your progress Merry Xmas to you too!

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10796 of 10798 Unread Today, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
d.j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
So, I wasn't happy with the VPL-VW500ES due to its long-duration thermal convergence drift of up to one hour and the lack of colour uniformity, and decided to return it and get the VPL-WV1100ES instead.

I picked up the new unit on Monday. It is a November 2014 production, serial number 10004xx. So not many such projectors have been manufactured. I was in touch with Sony Canada to ensure that the box was factory sealed - for some reason they open some units for 'inspection' - and they tracked it for me from Japan all the way to my dealer.

Some preliminary observations:

1. The front lens element had a smudge on it and it took me about a couple of hours to be able to clean it without leaving traces and smuggles. I had to work with the projector on as the lens cover would close otherwise, so here go a couple of hours of bulb life. This should not have happened for a product of this caliber;

2. There is little or no noticeable thermal convergence drift like the 500ES has. Although some say that the light engine is similar in the 500ES and the 1100ES, unlike the former, the latter has virtually no drift;

3. Colour uniformity is close to perfect. There is no yellowing at the bottom, like the 500ES units had. The lower corners are a tad darker than the centre but this could be attributed to the 1.3 gain of my HD Progressive screen and the inherent light falloff of the lens;

4. Sharpness is just marginally better than that of the 500ES. On a 100 IRE projected image, nose to the screen, I can just distinguish the pixels across the screen, except for about 20% at the left side where the pixels are virtually indistinguishable. This is on a 3840x2160 image, so I suppose it'd be worse on a 4096x2160 image. The weird thing is that the pixels were more clearly visible all across the screen on a Screen Innovation Black Diamond screen for the upgraded 1000ES that I saw a few weeks ago in a showroom. I'm not sure if the screen material would make such a difference.

5. The convergence is fairly accurate out of the box but, for near perfection, 5 units for each blue and red, in each direction would have to be dialed in. This is the worse case scenario as two pixels would have to be engaged equally.

6. The unit is labelled VPL-VW1100ES3 on the packaging box. I'm not sure what the '3' stands for, but it might be related to the factory-installed version of the firmware. The software versions are:
SC ROM Version: SC1:01.01/SC2:01.00
NVM Version: 01/01.01
Sub ROM Version: 01.00
IP ROM Version: 01.01
DE ROM Version: 01.00
How do they compare to the software versions of your units?

7. The 1100ES is rated at 2000 lumens vs. 1700 lumens for the 500ES. However, I am not able to distinguish an increase in brightness for the former.

8. The 1100ES came with two pairs of 3D glasses and a USB charging cable. The operating instructions I downloaded from the Internet indicate that an AC power adaptor should also be supplied (page 21), but my unit did not include one. Have you received a power charger with your projector?

In summary, I think this unit is a keeper. Although, at this price it should have been more close to perfection and without smudges on the lens.

Here goes my new car for next year...

No, here you have to buy one separate too


dj
d.j. is online now  
post #10797 of 10798 Unread Today, 01:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 20,299
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 665 Post(s)
Liked: 606
That serial number makes no sense. Many of owners here who have owned machines for several years have later serial numbers. are you sure your machine doesn't start with an 1100 instead of a 1000. For 1100 machines, I doubt they have sold that many and your number ould make sense..

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Casio Rs 232 Adapter Catalog Category Projectors Accessories
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off