Sony VPL-vw1000 - Page 360 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10771 of 10794 Unread 12-05-2014, 07:59 AM
Newbie
 
xtremehomtheatr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
ditrctv 4k

Directv now offers 4k. Is the vpl1100 compatible with it? For some reason very few tvs are listed as compatible
xtremehomtheatr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10772 of 10794 Unread 12-05-2014, 08:26 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,530
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 767 Post(s)
Liked: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
Is the 1100ES properly weight balanced around the three support points (screws)? In other words, if the projector is suspended using the PSS-H10 ceiling bracket and the ball-and-socket of the latter is released, would the projector tend to remain aproximately horizontal?
I do not know if it would hang dead level, but that is right at the balance point. I will say, I would never use a mount with a ball and socket type system, especially on a projector of this caliber. I would use something like the Chief RPMA304.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #10773 of 10794 Unread 12-05-2014, 10:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10,068
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremehomtheatr View Post
Directv now offers 4k. Is the vpl1100 compatible with it? For some reason very few tvs are listed as compatible
Is it really 4k?
I kind of doubt it, as you probably know --- I mean the problem is lossy compression. I kind of wonder if their 4k compression would even look better than a 1080p Bluray?

It's just like online streaming, 1080p with streaming does not look like Bluray, though Vudu gets close I suppose.


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
post #10774 of 10794 Unread 12-05-2014, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremehomtheatr View Post
Directv now offers 4k. Is the vpl1100 compatible with it? For some reason very few tvs are listed as compatible
The 1000/1100 doesn't even have any "smarts" built into it to support this. The 4K they are offering uses the RDU pieces built into Samsung TVs. Kind of a slap in the face in my book to not offer an upgrade to the Genie to offer it to all of us. Even Sony is making their 4K streamer compatible with any 4K set with HDCP 2.2.

Matt
turls is online now  
post #10775 of 10794 Unread 12-05-2014, 03:35 PM
Member
 
KRGM1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
The 1000/1100 doesn't even have any "smarts" built into it to support this. The 4K they are offering uses the RDU pieces built into Samsung TVs. Kind of a slap in the face in my book to not offer an upgrade to the Genie to offer it to all of us. Even Sony is making their 4K streamer compatible with any 4K set with HDCP 2.2.
I have a Genie but I don't think I would worry with the 4K even if it did work. I'm certain a good 1080p Blu-ray would look better. I wasn't that impressed with the 4K from my Sony server.
KRGM1 is offline  
post #10776 of 10794 Unread 12-05-2014, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRGM1 View Post
I have a Genie but I don't think I would worry with the 4K even if it did work. I'm certain a good 1080p Blu-ray would look better. I wasn't that impressed with the 4K from my Sony server.
Sony Server vs. DirecTV isn't a fair comparison. Its internet vs satellite delivery. Or at least it can be...

Matt
turls is online now  
post #10777 of 10794 Unread 12-05-2014, 10:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
I do not know if it would hang dead level, but that is right at the balance point. I will say, I would never use a mount with a ball and socket type system, especially on a projector of this caliber. I would use something like the Chief RPMA304.
If the mounting holes for the 1100ES are at its centre of gravity (balance point), that's great. What is wrong with the Sony PSS-H10 mount which uses a ball-and-socket system? I have used it with three Sony projectors without any issue. In fact, the PSS-H10 is even listed as an accessory for the 1100ES: http://www.sonybiz.ca/pro/lang/en/ca...s/accessories/. It is also indicated in the Operating Instructions for the 1100ES. Am I missing something here?

Last edited by Michael9009; 12-05-2014 at 10:28 PM.
Michael9009 is offline  
post #10778 of 10794 Unread 12-06-2014, 10:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,530
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 767 Post(s)
Liked: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
If the mounting holes for the 1100ES are at its centre of gravity (balance point), that's great. What is wrong with the Sony PSS-H10 mount which uses a ball-and-socket system? I have used it with three Sony projectors without any issue. In fact, the PSS-H10 is even listed as an accessory for the 1100ES: http://www.sonybiz.ca/pro/lang/en/ca...s/accessories/. It is also indicated in the Operating Instructions for the 1100ES. Am I missing something here?
It just will not hold the projector a rigid as a good mount like the RPMA304. Most of those ball and socket mounts will move, if you touch them.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .

Last edited by AV Science Sales 5; 12-06-2014 at 10:11 PM.
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #10779 of 10794 Unread 12-09-2014, 03:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
It just will not hold the projector a rigid as a good mount like the RPMA304. Most of those ball and socket mounts will move, if you touch them.
Mike, have you ever tried out a Sony PSS-H10? If not, I can tell you that, once fixed, this mount is rigid like Hell. This is what I have.

The one downside I thought you'd mention is that, when adjusting the position, it would rotate around the tree axes, so it's not possible to adjust it around each axis separately.

I once visited a friend who was using a mount with a vertical pipe coming down from the ceiling. Could have been a Chief mount, not sure. But when his subwoofer kicked hard, the projector would vibrate and this was visible in the image on the screen. This would never happen for a PSS-H10.

The other downside for the Sony PSS-H10 is that it cannot be extended vertically and is expensive, probably more than double than the cost of a complete Chief system. But, I'm sorry to say, sturdiness is its main asset.
Michael9009 is offline  
post #10780 of 10794 Unread 12-09-2014, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Red face Amazon Streaming Now in 4K UHD!

http://www.amazon.com/b/?_encoding=U...66RXNKQQXDRUX2
Michael9009 is offline  
post #10781 of 10794 Unread 12-09-2014, 10:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
Ok, fantastic, but even those of us that have shelled out for the X10 have no access to it now. Lame, Sony, lame.

Matt
turls is online now  
post #10782 of 10794 Unread 12-09-2014, 11:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
Ok, fantastic, but even those of us that have shelled out for the X10 have no access to it now. Lame, Sony, lame.
And very likely it's not available outside the U.S. (e.g. Canada), which sucks even further.
Michael9009 is offline  
post #10783 of 10794 Unread 12-10-2014, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
And very likely it's not available outside the U.S. (e.g. Canada), which sucks even further.
True, but that's never stopped VPNer's like me from using my X1 and X10 from outside the US.

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10784 of 10794 Unread 12-11-2014, 06:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
True, but that's never stopped VPNer's like me from using my X1 and X10 from outside the US.
Do you need a U.S.-based credit card to purchase or rent films from Sony using the X1 or X10 streamers? Or is the VPN the only special requirement?

Would DNS proxies like smartdnsproxy.com also work with the Sony streamers?
Michael9009 is offline  
post #10785 of 10794 Unread 12-11-2014, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
Do you need a U.S.-based credit card to purchase or rent films from Sony using the X1 or X10 streamers? Or is the VPN the only special requirement?

Would DNS proxies like smartdnsproxy.com also work with the Sony streamers?
You'd need to make sure it's a dedicated proxy you alone can access otherwise you speed may be all over the place. I'm not sure about the proxies on that site but all the free proxies I've ever used were terribly slow and unreliable. That site seems to be legitimate. No where near fast enough to download files as large as the ones the Sony 4K store has.

Last edited by Seegs108; 12-11-2014 at 07:09 PM.
Seegs108 is offline  
post #10786 of 10794 Unread 12-11-2014, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
Do you need a U.S.-based credit card to purchase or rent films from Sony using the X1 or X10 streamers? Or is the VPN the only special requirement?

Would DNS proxies like smartdnsproxy.com also work with the Sony streamers?
You can use US PSN gift cards. My current U.S. MasterCard doesn't work last time I checked. I still have a lot of credit though as I don't buy that many games or movies. You don't need store credit for the free content of course.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
You'd need to make sure it's a dedicated proxy you alone can access otherwise you speed may be all over the place. I'm not sure about the proxies on that site but all the free proxies I've ever used were terribly slow and unreliable. That site seems to be legitimate. No where near fast enough to download files as large as the ones the Sony 4K store has.
DNS proxies don't do the trick on the X1 or X10 as the player will still identify that it's outside the US as it can 'see around' DNS proxies. A dedicated VPN like StrongVPN or GoldenFrog provides the appearance of a genuine US connection to the player.

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10787 of 10794 Unread 12-12-2014, 03:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Board upgrade to vw1000es

Hi mate Oz guy here am I understanding that you upgraded your 1000es to hdmi2.00 in Oz as I'm finding it very frustrating to find someone here who knows about this can you help
Krystal9 is online now  
post #10788 of 10794 Unread 12-12-2014, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,987
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
Sony Server vs. DirecTV isn't a fair comparison. Its internet vs satellite delivery. Or at least it can be...
Actually what Directv is offering is delivered via the internet. Satellite 4K channel(s) from Directv will not be coming until late 2015 or 2016. So for now Directv has become just another streaming 4K provider and currently only certain Samsung UHDTVs have the app to use this service.

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is online now  
post #10789 of 10794 Unread 12-12-2014, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones View Post
Actually what Directv is offering is delivered via the internet. Satellite 4K channel(s) from Directv will not be coming until late 2015 or 2016. So for now Directv has become just another streaming 4K provider and currently only certain Samsung UHDTVs have the app to use this service.
Understood, that's why I said "it can be". They are going to have to use satellite delivery to leverage any advantage in capacity or cost (no data caps for example) over traditional internet streaming.

Matt
turls is online now  
post #10790 of 10794 Unread 12-12-2014, 10:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,530
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 767 Post(s)
Liked: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
Mike, have you ever tried out a Sony PSS-H10? If not, I can tell you that, once fixed, this mount is rigid like Hell. This is what I have.

The one downside I thought you'd mention is that, when adjusting the position, it would rotate around the tree axes, so it's not possible to adjust it around each axis separately.

I once visited a friend who was using a mount with a vertical pipe coming down from the ceiling. Could have been a Chief mount, not sure. But when his subwoofer kicked hard, the projector would vibrate and this was visible in the image on the screen. This would never happen for a PSS-H10.

The other downside for the Sony PSS-H10 is that it cannot be extended vertically and is expensive, probably more than double than the cost of a complete Chief system. But, I'm sorry to say, sturdiness is its main asset.
You are comparing apples to oranges. There is very little drop on the PSS-H10. The Chief mount that you saw was probably an RPA and as you said it was on a drop tube. Take an RPMA with custom plate and use it with a short pipe nipple and it will be more solid than the PSS-H10, because the PSS-H10 uses a ball socket joint. Also as you said the adjustment with a PSS-H10 is not near as nice as the gear adjustment on the RPMA. Not saying the PSS-H10 is a bad mount, just that I would never chose it over a Chief RPMA with custom plate.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #10791 of 10794 Unread 12-12-2014, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
You are comparing apples to oranges. There is very little drop on the PSS-H10. The Chief mount that you saw was probably an RPA and as you said it was on a drop tube. Take an RPMA with custom plate and use it with a short pipe nipple and it will be more solid than the PSS-H10, because the PSS-H10 uses a ball socket joint. Also as you said the adjustment with a PSS-H10 is not near as nice as the gear adjustment on the RPMA. Not saying the PSS-H10 is a bad mount, just that I would never chose it over a Chief RPMA with custom plate.
I also think that the PSS-H10 mount is more expensive than the Chief RPMA mount, isn't it?
Michael9009 is offline  
post #10792 of 10794 Unread 12-14-2014, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krystal9 View Post
Hi mate Oz guy here am I understanding that you upgraded your 1000es to hdmi2.00 in Oz as I'm finding it very frustrating to find someone here who knows about this can you help

Hi mate, my advice here is speak to Sony directly in Sydney(North Ryde) about this. They have to order the VW1100 upgrade kit from the factory. Retail it will set you back probably a fair bit over $2500 installed. It also takes quite a while for them to get the kit out of Japan so be prepared to wait. You'll also have to send your 1000 into Sony (most likely Sydney HQ) to have it done. I had the use of a brand new VW1100 for several months, I was going to just keep the factory 1100 but it would have cost me way more than the upgrade.
Krystal9 likes this.

OzHDHT is offline  
post #10793 of 10794 Unread Today, 12:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi mate thanks so much will do in the new year cheers Ian
& have a great Xmas
Krystal9 is online now  
post #10794 of 10794 Unread Today, 12:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi mate thanks so much will do in the new year cheers Ian
& have a great Xmas
Krystal9 is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Casio Rs 232 Adapter Catalog Category Projectors Accessories
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off