Sony VPL-vw1000 - Page 60 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1771 of 10185 Old 03-14-2012, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Hmm.. I didnt notice any flicker, and I am very sensitive to those types of things...
hifiaudio2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1772 of 10185 Old 03-14-2012, 08:47 PM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcastle View Post

tried to call chad at sony exchange. got stuck in phone tree hell. multiple customer service agents asking me my model number. "what's the vw1000es?" let me transfer you to the right department, repeat. needless to say, 6 transfers later, I still can't get in touch with someone who can exchange this thing.

anyone know the secret. please help.

If you purchased yours from AV Science, just give me a call and I will handle everything for you.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #1773 of 10185 Old 03-15-2012, 05:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
d.j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
[quote=hifiaudio2;21778806]Ok I will research... in any case, on my current "too bright" 133" HP screen the light loss was not noticeable but the motion improved tremendously... I really liked it. I would suggest anyone interested in Motionflow but cant stand the SOE to check it out. I had basically skipped over the setting for a long while before looking into it.

We will see if I can live with whatever the light loss is once I move to the EN4k screen.[/QUOTE]


Have you tested the 1000 with other screen materiale then the EN4K ? ( say etc. CP 2 ) and how bright was the EN4K with it and what size did you project when tested it ?


dj
d.j. is offline  
post #1774 of 10185 Old 03-15-2012, 06:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I have not tested with other materials. I will sit too close I believe for the other AT screens.

I blew up the screen to where it would be a 160" width and then measured my EN4k sample in the center and got 15 ftl at short throw, as I recall. That was on reference, rec 709, d65, etc. I did not calibrate it but I did measure it with Calman and if anything the calibration might increase brightness as it seemed to need red added. But it measured very close from 20-80. 90IRE is where red was off.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #1775 of 10185 Old 03-15-2012, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
d.j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post

I have not tested with other materials. I will sit too close I believe for the other AT screens.

I blew up the screen to where it would be a 160" width and then measured my EN4k sample in the center and got 15 ftl at short throw, as I recall. That was on reference, rec 709, d65, etc. I did not calibrate it but I did measure it with Calman and if anything the calibration might increase brightness as it seemed to need red added. But it measured very close from 20-80. 90IRE is where red was off.


Thanks hifiaudio2


dj
d.j. is offline  
post #1776 of 10185 Old 03-15-2012, 02:28 PM
Member
 
jcastle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Charleston, WV USA
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mark,

thanks for the offer. got the right number. all is good.
jcastle is offline  
post #1777 of 10185 Old 03-15-2012, 02:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Doing Gladiator later.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #1778 of 10185 Old 03-16-2012, 05:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
d.j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post

I have not tested with other materials. I will sit too close I believe for the other AT screens.
I blew up the screen to where it would be a 160" width and then measured my EN4k sample in the center and got 15 ftl at short throw, as I recall. That was on reference, rec 709, d65, etc. I did not calibrate it but I did measure it with Calman and if anything the calibration might increase brightness as it seemed to need red added. But it measured very close from 20-80. 90IRE is where red was off.



How close are you going to be to the screen ? ( 1 x screen wide ? more or less ? )

dj
d.j. is offline  
post #1779 of 10185 Old 03-16-2012, 08:38 AM
Newbie
 
Chris P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had the 1000 for about two weeks and love it. Got mine through Mike G. (AVS) and he's a pleasure to deal with as are all the AVS team. I'm using Lumagen Radiance XE and ADA Mach IV and the video is significantly better than my Pioneer Elite FPJ-1. I'm using zoom for 2.35 rather than AL I was using with Pioneer.

I love the zoom, but not the fact that I have to use so many button presses to get screen masking, aspect ratio and zooming correct. I'm using RTI control and can macro masking but I have not found any Sony command files to change aspect ration and select zoom discreetly. Do those command exist for the Sony?

Thanks
Chris
Chris P is offline  
post #1780 of 10185 Old 03-16-2012, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris P View Post

I've had the 1000 for about two weeks and love it. Got mine through Mike G. (AVS) and he's a pleasure to deal with as are all the AVS team. I'm using Lumagen Radiance XE and ADA Mach IV and the video is significantly better than my Pioneer Elite FPJ-1. I'm using zoom for 2.35 rather than AL I was using with Pioneer.

I love the zoom, but not the fact that I have to use so many button presses to get screen masking, aspect ratio and zooming correct. I'm using RTI control and can macro masking but I have not found any Sony command files to change aspect ration and select zoom discreetly. Do those command exist for the Sony?

Thanks
Chris

There must be a list of discrete rs232 or IP commands somewhere. I'm sure the zoom shortcuts are discrete. They better be anyway..
adidino is offline  
post #1781 of 10185 Old 03-16-2012, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by d.j. View Post

How close are you going to be to the screen ? ( 1 x screen wide ? more or less ? )

dj

Right around 1x for 2:35 or slightly less I believe. My room is being re-designed now so I dont have the final schematics yet or know exactly how far back seating will be.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #1782 of 10185 Old 03-16-2012, 09:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
mookie b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris P View Post

I've had the 1000 for about two weeks and love it. Got mine through Mike G. (AVS) and he's a pleasure to deal with as are all the AVS team. I'm using Lumagen Radiance XE and ADA Mach IV and the video is significantly better than my Pioneer Elite FPJ-1. I'm using zoom for 2.35 rather than AL I was using with Pioneer.

I love the zoom, but not the fact that I have to use so many button presses to get screen masking, aspect ratio and zooming correct. I'm using RTI control and can macro masking but I have not found any Sony command files to change aspect ration and select zoom discreetly. Do those command exist for the Sony?

Thanks
Chris

All I needed was the Picture Position Button programmed into my universal. The aspect should be saved in each of your positions saves. Blanking is universal and in my eyes because of that not all that useful, but the aspects will be specific to the picture position save. I just use 2 positions (1.78, 2.35), so it's as easy as hitting the position button twice and that will toggle to the other position.

mookie b is offline  
post #1783 of 10185 Old 03-17-2012, 06:21 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I had a couple NCAA friends over this evening and they were amazed at the amount of detail they were seeing in the studio breakouts during and between games. They said it made them feel as if they were part of a studio audience. I have to agree. The amount of realism the 1000 brings to the table is jaw dropping. I am currently Reviewing Sony's latest Flagship AVR the 5700ES and have to admit they are a pretty good team. I've never had a Sony Receiver before so this is unchartered waters for me. More on that elsewhere but I will say our eyes and ears have both been fed a ton of candy!!!

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #1784 of 10185 Old 03-17-2012, 06:58 AM
 
Randall Morton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Mid South
Posts: 1,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking for a new solution for my audio processing. I am now using a Anthem D2, a D2V may be my best upgrade choice once the new HDMI 1.4 video board becomes available.

Just wondering what everyone else is using with the Sony. It seems to me that the picture is somewhat degraded when the video goes through the D2. This leaves me to think that the best solution would be a processor that would bypass the video or pass the video untouched. Then if we get a 4K source at some point how will this pass through the processor?

The Classe looks pretty good but does it pass the video untouched? Also I don't believe it has any room correction. It seems like the ADA Mach 4 may be the only solution but when you add the TEQ Trinnov for room correction it gets very expensive. I'm also a bit intimidated by the ADA setup as it seems like there is very little online help available like the D2V thread in this forum. My best bet may be just to limp along with my D2 until something supporting 4K video is available.
Randall Morton is offline  
post #1785 of 10185 Old 03-17-2012, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Randall what source are you using? Something like an Oppo can send video straight to the pj and audio separately to the preamp. If its other sources that HAVE to go through the preamp, then the Integra 80.2 and 80.3 are both great and can pass video untouched.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #1786 of 10185 Old 03-17-2012, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
img eL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I had a couple NCAA friends over this evening and they were amazed at the amount of detail they were seeing in the studio breakouts during and between games.

Are you doing any OTA NCAA?
img eL is offline  
post #1787 of 10185 Old 03-17-2012, 10:05 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by img eL View Post

Are you doing any OTA NCAA?

Depending on which games. Yes. The 5700ES passes the signal straight thru untouched so the 1000 can do all the work.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #1788 of 10185 Old 03-17-2012, 10:34 AM
 
Randall Morton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Mid South
Posts: 1,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Depending on which games. Yes. The 5700ES passes the signal straight thru untouched so the 1000 can do all the work.

Do you get onscreen menus from your receiver?

The Integra looks interesting and also the McIntosh MX121.
Randall Morton is offline  
post #1789 of 10185 Old 03-17-2012, 11:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randall Morton View Post

Do you get onscreen menus from your receiver?

The Integra looks interesting and also the McIntosh MX121.

I can turn it off if I want to.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #1790 of 10185 Old 03-17-2012, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randall Morton View Post

Do you get onscreen menus from your receiver?

The Integra looks interesting and also the McIntosh MX121.

With the Integra, if you want it to truly leave the video alone and set it that way, you will NOT get volume control, etc menus onscreen. If you hit the setup buttom those menus DO still come onscreen though.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #1791 of 10185 Old 03-17-2012, 12:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris P View Post

I've had the 1000 for about two weeks and love it. Got mine through Mike G. (AVS) and he's a pleasure to deal with as are all the AVS team. I'm using Lumagen Radiance XE and ADA Mach IV and the video is significantly better than my Pioneer Elite FPJ-1. I'm using zoom for 2.35 rather than AL I was using with Pioneer.

I love the zoom, but not the fact that I have to use so many button presses to get screen masking, aspect ratio and zooming correct. I'm using RTI control and can macro masking but I have not found any Sony command files to change aspect ration and select zoom discreetly. Do those command exist for the Sony?

Thanks
Chris

Thank you Chris. Glad you are enjoying the projector.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales
Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com

Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/

 

Call for B-stock projectors

Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.

AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #1792 of 10185 Old 03-17-2012, 09:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Still Accepting requests for anyone wanting to see my 1000.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #1793 of 10185 Old 03-18-2012, 06:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jmouse007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Still Accepting requests for anyone wanting to see my 1000.

Joerod, it is too bad you don't live in New Hampshire, I would be over every opportunity I could As an alternative you are welcome to make a special trip to New England to hold a special viewing/demo at my house. I am sure my ceiling mount could handle that bad boy
Jmouse007 is offline  
post #1794 of 10185 Old 03-19-2012, 08:29 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmouse007 View Post

Joerod, it is too bad you don't live in New Hampshire, I would be over every opportunity I could As an alternative you are welcome to make a special trip to New England to hold a special viewing/demo at my house. I am sure my ceiling mount could handle that bad boy

New Hampshire here we come!

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #1795 of 10185 Old 03-19-2012, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Heard from a reliable source that Sony is increasing dealer cost on the ES line by 5% (VW1000 included) on March 31. Could have an effect on street price. In case anyone is still pondering one of these bad boys.
adidino is offline  
post #1796 of 10185 Old 03-19-2012, 04:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
mookie b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Is there a website to register the product for warranty purposes?

mookie b is offline  
post #1797 of 10185 Old 03-19-2012, 06:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
samalmoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just curiour if most users are using reference for their bluray and dvd viewing?
samalmoe is offline  
post #1798 of 10185 Old 03-19-2012, 07:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
mookie b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by samalmoe View Post

Just curiour if most users are using reference for their bluray and dvd viewing?

I am.

Which leads me to something else....is there an auto setting for switching pre-sets? I noticed as I'm going through the menu of my new AV processor that the projector keeps changing from reference to cinema 1...anyone have an idea what's going on? I use reference for everything....

mookie b is offline  
post #1799 of 10185 Old 03-19-2012, 09:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
DigsMovies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arriving Somewhere...
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

Heard from a reliable source that Sony is increasing dealer cost on the ES line by 5% (VW1000 included) on March 31. Could have an effect on street price. In case anyone is still pondering one of these bad boys.

Thanks for the heads up!
DigsMovies is offline  
post #1800 of 10185 Old 03-19-2012, 09:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
samalmoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
just discovered somethin else..the auto iris can make things way too contrasty and nasty looking sometimes. i notice the default for ref is iris off. it can really improve some material
samalmoe is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Casio Rs 232 Adapter Catalog Category Projectors Accessories
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off