OWNERS Thread for the Panasonic PT-AE7000U 3D Projector - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 03:12 PM
Member
 
natedogg661's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetJock3315 View Post

I ran into this issue as well. I was running it through an Onkyo TX-NR809 in the second HDMI SUB output (the receiver has two outputs).

Initially I solved the problem by connecting the Panny directly to the PS3 and then reran the PS3 Video Settings and the 3D capability was detected and the settings were saved.

The PS3 does NOT check each time if it is an 3D capable display is connected so you only have to make the direct connection and setup once. But my DirecTV HR23 does and there was no way I was going to bypass my receiver.

Turns out the Onkyo will allow detection of 3D capable displays by source devices but ONLY if it is plugged into the HDMI MAIN output. I didn't find it written in the manual and the telephone support was clueless. But luckily I figured it out by playing with it.

Good info! Thanks. I'll give that a try.
natedogg661 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
xamphear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KallanOz View Post

Thanks Mate.

I thought their was a 'game' mode which allowed the 4000 to get less than 50ms. Is that no longer the case?

Apparently not. I used to get under 50ms with the 4000, but the lowest I can get out of the 7000 is 80ms. Still acceptable in my book.
xamphear is offline  
post #273 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
xamphear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maestro J View Post

I have to say right off that I notice a bigger difference between the 4k and the 7k than I did when I upgraded from the 3k to the 4k in terms of brightness and blacks. Color saturation looks about the same from what I can tell so far.

I agree completely. When I upgraded from the 3000 to the 4000, the changes in black level and contrast were minor, the only thing that made me keep it (versus sending it back and sticking with the 3000 a while longer) was the increased color saturation and red levels.

The 7000 keeps the color saturation (it's even a couple notches better) from the 4000 and adds a whole lot of contrast while also dropping the black floor noticeably. Whenever I get a projector that adds this much detail to PQ versus my previous one, I want to pop in everything I've watched somewhat recently and see just how much better they look versus the last time.
xamphear is offline  
post #274 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Liaury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KallanOz View Post

Thanks Mate.

I thought their was a 'game' mode which allowed the 4000 to get less than 50ms. Is that no longer the case?

I see in the manual that there is still a "game" picture mode for the 7000.
Liaury is offline  
post #275 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 04:11 PM
Newbie
 
serge039's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
please can somebody tell me how is the vpl-hw30aes compared to the pt-ae 7000

Thank you
serge039 is offline  
post #276 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 04:11 PM
Member
 
kmfellows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyoo View Post

which BD player did you choose, or which do you recommend?

And what is this notion about optical audio ports not being lossless? I've been out of the AV world for some time.. this is news to me.. but I'm hoping I just misread that up above a bit.

Optical (toslink) is digital, but does not have the bandwidth to carry lossless formats like Dolby TruHD etc...You can get 2 channel pcm or the "Core" dts/dolby digital, but not the newer lossless formats using the optical out, which is essentially a legacy connection now...kf
kmfellows is offline  
post #277 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Randito3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Des Allemands, La
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liaury View Post

I see in the manual that there is still a "game" picture mode for the 7000.

There is, I was switching Picture modes and saw GAME listed as one. Dont know anything about it though.
Randito3 is offline  
post #278 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 04:17 PM
Member
 
kmfellows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
"The eagle has landed"... That's what my wife said when she called... She meant, FedEx delivered the 7000. Unfortunately I don't have the new (peerless) mount ready, and of course the old one won't work as the chassis changed (which is why I would have been happy to keep the old brick look...) from the previous panasonic projectors..And its dark and raining here in SoCal, and the room is dark, and, well, it's like being a kid at Christmas, getting that toy you've been waiting for, only to find out Santa forgot the batteries and you have to wait....kf
kmfellows is offline  
post #279 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 04:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Randito3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Des Allemands, La
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by serge039 View Post

please can somebody tell me how is the vpl-hw30aes compared to the pt-ae 7000

Thank you

Is this what you're looking for?

http://www.projectorcentral.com/shoo...ony_hw30es.htm
Randito3 is offline  
post #280 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
mookie b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmfellows View Post

"The eagle has landed"... That's what my wife said when she called... She meant, FedEx delivered the 7000. Unfortunately I don't have the new (peerless) mount ready, and of course the old one won't work as the chassis changed (which is why I would have been happy to keep the old brick look...) from the previous panasonic projectors..And its dark and raining here in SoCal, and the room is dark, and, well, it's like being a kid at Christmas, getting that toy you've been waiting for, only to find out Santa forgot the batteries and you have to wait....kf

Sorry if I missed this, but the 7000 won't work on a ceiling mount that held an AE3000?

mookie b is offline  
post #281 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randito3 View Post

There is, I was switching Picture modes and saw GAME listed as one. Dont know anything about it though.

^^^

Curious to here input response in Game picture mode.

Also, are these compatible glasses with the 7000?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...sr=8-3&seller=
WilliamG is offline  
post #282 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 04:33 PM
Member
 
WizardOfZo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstabb View Post

I don't believe that will work. Your source device is still going to do a handshake with every device in the HDMI chain (both outputs of the splitter). One of the purposes of this handshake is to find the common set of capabilities of the entire HDMI chain to ensure that the source device is sending a signal that all devices know how to handle. During the handshake the projector will respond with "I can handle 3D!", and your receiver will say "3D? What's that?", so your source device will then disallow 3D because not all connected devices support it.

A source with 2 HDMI outputs is able to negotiate the video and audio connections seperately.

Sorry, I really wish a splitter would solve the problem as it would save me some money as well.

Maybe I am over optimistic, but it is worth a try. I ordered the switch.
I do have one more card up my sleeve. I also have a Ambery AU-HDMICP which is a HDMI to 7.1 converter.
So "theoretically" if the matrix switch going directly into the Onkyo fails, I should be able to go into this device with one output and then use the Onkyo 7.1 inputs to do the deed
WizardOfZo is offline  
post #283 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 04:41 PM
Member
 
kmfellows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mookie b View Post

Sorry if I missed this, but the 7000 won't work on a ceiling mount that held an AE3000?

I wish. If you're using a universal mount, then probably, but what are the odds the mounting holes are the same now that they've completely changed the chassis? Slim to none I fear. kf
kmfellows is offline  
post #284 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Randito3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Des Allemands, La
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post

^^^

Curious to here input response in Game picture mode.

Also, are these compatible glasses with the 7000?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...sr=8-3&seller=

Those should work. I bought the ones listed below to get the Avatar 3D movie. I think they are the same glasses.
http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-TY-E...f=pd_cp_e_pw_1

Have not tried any games yet. Hopefully this weekend.
Randito3 is offline  
post #285 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 04:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Randito3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Des Allemands, La
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmfellows View Post

I wish. If you're using a universal mount, then probably, but what are the odds the mounting holes are the same now that they've completely changed the chassis? Slim to none I fear. kf

Im using the same ceiling mount I used for the Panny 900. I think it is a universal mount.
Randito3 is offline  
post #286 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
widerscreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hollywood fla
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mookie b View Post

Sorry if I missed this, but the 7000 won't work on a ceiling mount that held an AE3000?

Correct you must buy a universal mount like this:SLBU Universal Interface Bracket (Black) chief
widerscreen is offline  
post #287 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
widerscreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hollywood fla
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randito3 View Post

Those should work. I bought the ones listed below to get the Avatar 3D movie. I think they are the same glasses.
http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-TY-E...f=pd_cp_e_pw_1

Have not tried any games yet. Hopefully this weekend.

No they are the older glasses with avatar you can buy the newer glass via b&H cheeper
widerscreen is offline  
post #288 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 05:05 PM
Member
 
jstabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by widerscreen View Post

No they are the older glasses with avatar you can buy the newer glass via b&H cheeper

The 2 amazon links are both for 3rd gen glasses, one is for a 2 pack, the other the starter kit with Avatar. The glasses are the same. There IS a 2nd gen starter kit with older glasses out there as well, but the starter kit linked by Randito3 has the new ones.

jstabb is offline  
post #289 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 05:23 PM
Senior Member
 
widerscreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hollywood fla
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstabb View Post

The 2 amazon links are both for 3rd gen glasses, one is for a 2 pack, the other the starter kit with Avatar. The glasses are the same. There IS a 2nd gen starter kit with older glasses out there as well, but the starter kit linked by Randito3 has the new ones.

your right my bad but I just bought the Twin Pack of Active Shutter 3D Eyewear (TY-EW3D3MPK2) for 149.00 B&H
widerscreen is offline  
post #290 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 05:37 PM
Member
 
bten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post

It was Cars, so 2.39:1. I did have it setup for the auto-zoom, worked like a charm. That pic was taken in full daylight (light colored blinds, blackouts on the way), in ECO mode. I turned it on again in pitch black, darn near watched the whole movie without sound.


+1, when it first turned on it brought up a message saying it was 3D

Your "Crappy" picture tells a thousand words! I wanted to make sure that I would not see "gray bars" above and below my 2.35:1 screen that I plan to purchase. I can see from your picture, that the bars do not show, and that my screen will be just what I want.

thanks!
bten is offline  
post #291 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 06:00 PM
Member
 
3d newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 7000 just arrived. I connected it to the direcTV box for testing. It appears to have no obvious defects.
I thought that the 7000 in auto 3D detection mode would just automatically switch to a full screen 3D when getting the direcTV 3D signal. It doesn't. I have to put it in side by side mode. In auto mode I get two 2D pictures that are side by side. Does anybody know what's up with that? I guess I'm going to have to read the manual.
3d newbie is offline  
post #292 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 06:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
JamesN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mookie b View Post

Sorry if I missed this, but the 7000 won't work on a ceiling mount that held an AE3000?

I need to correct some misinformation I spread in an earlier post. I stated that the Chief Interface Bracket from the 4000 (SLB181) would not work on the 7000. I got this information directly from Chief. However, this is incorrect.

My 7000 arrived yesterday, I mounted it today, and I'm happy to report that the Chief SLB181 works perfectly with the 7000 -- all of the mounting holes line up precisely.

I apologize for the earlier misinformation. In Chief's defense, when they told me that the SLB181 wouldn't work, the 7000's CAD drawing had not yet been released, and they were going off of preliminary info from Panasonic.
JamesN is offline  
post #293 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
widerscreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hollywood fla
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesN View Post

I need to correct some misinformation I spread in an earlier post. I stated that the Chief Interface Bracket from the 4000 (SLB181) would not work on the 7000. I got this information directly from Chief. However, this is incorrect.

My 7000 arrived yesterday, I mounted it today, and I'm happy to report that the Chief SLB181 works perfectly with the 7000 -- all of the mounting holes line up precisely.

I apologize for the earlier misinformation. In Chief's defense, when they told me that the SLB181 wouldn't work, the 7000's CAD drawing had not yet been released, and they were going off of preliminary info from Panasonic.


Well i just bought a new universal mount and sold the slb181 for 50.00 i got the universal for 87.00 so not a big loss : )
widerscreen is offline  
post #294 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 06:13 PM
Newbie
 
serge039's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randito3 View Post

Is this what you're looking for?

http://www.projectorcentral.com/shoo...ony_hw30es.htm

Thank you for that! i prefer the pt-ae7000
serge039 is offline  
post #295 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 06:21 PM
Member
 
kmfellows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesN View Post

I need to correct some misinformation I spread in an earlier post. I stated that the Chief Interface Bracket from the 4000 (SLB181) would not work on the 7000. I got this information directly from Chief. However, this is incorrect.

My 7000 arrived yesterday, I mounted it today, and I'm happy to report that the Chief SLB181 works perfectly with the 7000 -- all of the mounting holes line up precisely.

I apologize for the earlier misinformation. In Chief's defense, when they told me that the SLB181 wouldn't work, the 7000's CAD drawing had not yet been released, and they were going off of preliminary info from Panasonic.

Are you saying that the mounting holes are in the same position between the two projectors, so anyone with a mount made to fit only the 3000/4000 would also fit the 7000, or that a particular universal mount still works (after adjustment to the arms that connect to the projector) on the new model?
kmfellows is offline  
post #296 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
widerscreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hollywood fla
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Its a sad day today as a great inventor will be missed.

RIP!
widerscreen is offline  
post #297 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 07:10 PM
Member
 
viper14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
so i asked the question earlier in the thread about the glasses and if anyone has tested any 3rd party glasses that fit/work better. I also noticed that tons of people here have complaints about the IR interfering with there other IR devices. I have a few different way to fix this issue, first of all i noticed theirs an 3D IR emitter from sony you can buy fairly cheap, so my thoughts were plug that into the PT-AE7000's external IR port and then you would be able to use the Active glasses from Sony, it seems in researching this technology that the glasses talk to the IR emitter so essentially if you have a Sony emitter and sony glasses should be OK right? thought? so 2nd to this i have found the Monster 3D MAX glasses/ RF transmitter which claims to work with any current active shutter TV system it seems this device can be hooked up 2 ways it can grab the IR off the IR emmiter from the projector like the glasses or it also comes with a 3.5mm jack that could be hooked right into the projector i would think the 3.5 mm jack would be the way to go since there wouldn't be any extra lag,etc. If these devices work then you would be able to wear the over-sized active shutter Monster 3d glasses and i would think the 3D experience would be a lot better vs the Panasonic glasses and there small active shutter lenses, also once your glasses are RF you wouldn't have any issues with distance/ IR dropout from turning your head etc. you can take a look over here for info on the monster product.
viper14 is offline  
post #298 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
xamphear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post

^^^

Curious to here input response in Game picture mode.

Also, are these compatible glasses with the 7000?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...sr=8-3&seller=

Setting the color mode to "Game" does two things:

1. Decreases the lag by about 20ms
2. Completely disables any sort of frame creation, it looks exactly like my AE4000 did in terms of refresh rate. The panels must be being driven at 60hz in this mode.

The drawback is that game appears to be roughly the same as "Normal" mode in terms of brightness, colors, etc... If you're not a fan of this look (I'm not) you have to choose between a decrease in lag and better colors/contrast.
xamphear is offline  
post #299 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
JamesN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmfellows View Post

Are you saying that the mounting holes are in the same position between the two projectors, so anyone with a mount made to fit only the 3000/4000 would also fit the 7000, or that a particular universal mount still works (after adjustment to the arms that connect to the projector) on the new model?

I am saying the Chief SLB181 custom interface bracket, which fits the 4000, also fits the 7000. The SLB181 has four holes which line up precisely over 4 of the five threads on the bottom of the 7000. (I never noticed it before, but my 4000 also has a fifth thread which I never used).

I have no experience with any other brand or model of mount for these particular projectors, so I am not making any claims about anything except the SLB181.
JamesN is offline  
post #300 of 4464 Old 10-05-2011, 07:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
JamesN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by widerscreen View Post


Well i just bought a new universal mount and sold the slb181 for 50.00 i got the universal for 87.00 so not a big loss : )

I'm sorry if you did that based on my earlier (mis)information. I was going by what Chief told me when I wrote them and asked if their SLB181 would work with the 7000. They told me they didn't think it would because of the new chassis design (this was before the final design specs and CAD drawings were released.)

I was very surprised to find that it did indeed work.

Again I apologize if my misinformation caused anyone to make an unnecessary purchase.
JamesN is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Pt Ae7000u 1080p Full Hd Projector , Projectors , Blu Ray Players
Gear in this thread - Ae7000u by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off