OWNERS Thread for the Panasonic PT-AE7000U 3D Projector - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 03:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
JamesN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mopar_Mudder View Post

I suppose if you want to limit yourself to using the BluRay player on your projector that is fine. But for us who use our reciever to switch multiple sources to the projector that is not a good option. Also having a HTPC I would never use a stand alone again, mater a fact I don't even have a stand alone DVD or BluRay now.

About a year ago when I redid the wiring in my HT I was already thinking ahead towards 3D. I knew my AVR wouldn't pass a frame-packed signal, so I ended up running two in-wall HDMI cables from the AV rack to the projector. I have one HDMI output from my OPPO BD player running straight to the 7000's HDMI1 input for BD video and the OPPO's other HDMI output to my AVR for HD BD audio.

Then I have the main HDMI video out from my AVR running to the 7000's HDMI2 input using the second in-wall HDMI cable. I use this for all other (non-BD) video sources. I have my Harmony One programmed to select HDMI1 for the BD player and HDMI2 for everything else.
JamesN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 04:08 PM
Member
 
djbuddha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carey P View Post

Not true. You only need to hit the Picture Adjust button so the setting bar shows up at the bottom while you're watching 3D. You can change to any Frame Creation mode on the fly.

Ahhh I stand corrected

djbuddha
djbuddha is offline  
post #903 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Carey P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesN View Post

I have my Harmony One programmed to select HDMI1 for the BD player and HDMI2 for everything else.

This is what I do with the 310. So where did you find direct codes for the 7000 Input selections? I don't think they are the same as the 2000, but maybe I'm wrong
Carey P is offline  
post #904 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 04:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
JamesN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carey P View Post

This is what I do with the 310. So where did you find direct codes for the 7000 Input selections? I don't think they are the same as the 2000, but maybe I'm wrong

I use the equivalent RS-232 commands for direct input selection, but it's also possible to program the Harmony One to use the single IR code for input selection. When you set up an activity, you have to explicitly tell the Harmony One what the various input selection options are (component, s-video, etc.) and which one to use for that activity. The list has to be complete and in the correct order even if you don't intend to use all the options (because the remote needs to be able to determine how to cycle through all the options to find the correct one).

I had to manually correct the order (it listed only one HDMI input for example). I don't think the 7000 codes in the LogiTech database are complete. For example the new 3D button is missing and I had to program that manually. Their database may still be using the old 4000 codes.
JamesN is offline  
post #905 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mopar_Mudder View Post

I suppose if you want to limit yourself to using the BluRay player on your projector that is fine. But for us who use our reciever to switch multiple sources to the projector that is not a good option. Also having a HTPC I would never use a stand alone again, mater a fact I don't even have a stand alone DVD or BluRay now.

Still not seeing that as an issue with an HDMI switch before the projector...
WilliamG is offline  
post #906 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 06:47 PM
Senior Member
 
inefekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cofn42 View Post

2 things that convinced me over the Epson.

FI in 3d, the Epson does not have this feature. As well as Dynamic Iris in 3d, for whatever reason Epson opted out of these 2 features.


The Panny is rated at 2000lumens, and the Epson 3010 is 2200, this will equate to very little difference in 3d.

I can't find any direct evidence which supports these claims that the Epson does not do FI in 3D mode. I've read through the Epson thread and found a couple of links but there's nothing on those to suggest the 5010 does not have this feature in 3D. Google is no help either. The fact that there are no real reviews yet lends weight to the suggestion that nobody actually knows.

I'm also having trouble finding measurements of lumen output for the AE7000 in 3D mode. I know the Acer 5360 measured around 700 lumens in 3D mode but with the glasses on it dropped to under 200. With the 480hz panels on the Panny the lumen output won't drop as significantly, percentage wise, because the glasses are open longer.
inefekt is offline  
post #907 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
widerscreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hollywood fla
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I sit here projector less in my theatre awaiting for panasonic to get off their ass and ship me a new one. now they are saying its going to take 2-3 weeks WTF! so i have been screwed over by Panasonic and Visual apex as Visual apex will not return my call.
widerscreen is offline  
post #908 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 07:01 PM
Member
 
ekscden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Visual Apex just lost my order...thanks for the heads up.
ekscden is offline  
post #909 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 07:04 PM
Newbie
 
glee7007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the PT-AE7000U this afternoon and was excited to post about how great it is when I noticed a vertical band that would sometimes appear that is not part of the source material or an issue with the screen. This is my first projector, though I've set up a few others and haven't come across this issue before. I'm assuming it's a problem with one of the LCD panels? Anyone know if this kind of problem goes away after a while? I've only gotten the bulb up to two hours so far, but I feel like it's a pipe dream to think this could just magically go away.

Here's a picture of what I mean. It shows up mostly in darker scenes, and it can flicker a bit when it does. Sometimes it's purple and sometimes it's a little more pink. It runs mostly from top to bottom depending on the scene. This is a photo taken from my iphone and it's a close up of Nicholas Cage's sweater in Kick Ass.


Hate for my first post in this forum to be about this, but what can I do? So far the projector, other than this band, is fantastic. I'm using a 120" screen with a gain of 1. On eco mode it's plenty bright, but I haven't adjusted the picture on cinema1 mode at all yet. Was hoping to do that tonight, but now it looks like I will have to wait until I know whether I have to send this back or if it's a problem that can be fixed.

I appreciate any help.
glee7007 is offline  
post #910 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 07:24 PM
Senior Member
 
plasmaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Wow I must say I'm a bit perplexed to hear about some of these problems people are having with their brand new projectors.
plasmaowner is offline  
post #911 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 07:30 PM
Senior Member
 
widerscreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hollywood fla
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmaowner View Post

Wow I must say I'm a bit perplexed to hear about some of these problems people are having with their brand new projectors.

WELL IT SUCKS!

BUT, I WILL add that Im sure there are more happy people with their 7000's than unhappy. I was very very happy till mine went to flickering REAL bad.
widerscreen is offline  
post #912 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,578
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 238
There is bound to be a few bad apples, the crappy thing is how it's getting handled by the sellers. I'm very confident that if anything arises with mine, it will be taken care of asap!

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is online now  
post #913 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 08:03 PM
Senior Member
 
inefekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
are you owners all paying $2999 or have those with good bargaining skills managed to knock a few dollars off that??
inefekt is offline  
post #914 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 08:17 PM
Member
 
KallanOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by inefekt View Post

are you owners all paying $2999 or have those with good bargaining skills managed to knock a few dollars off that??

Let me know how you go with importing? Are you using Price USA?
KallanOz is offline  
post #915 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
inefekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KallanOz View Post

Let me know how you go with importing? Are you using Price USA?

I haven't made up my mind whether I'm going to get this Panny or whether I'm going to go with the Epson. There's not enough info out yet on the Epson 5010 (TW8000 in Oz) and with the problems reported with the Panny so far, I'm not sure importing one is a good idea. Yes I know the chances are slim of getting a problematic unit but tell that to the guys who are having to send theirs back to Panny for replacements. Local warranty is quite valuable in cases like this.
inefekt is offline  
post #916 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 09:23 PM
Member
 
KallanOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by inefekt View Post


I haven't made up my mind whether I'm going to get this Panny or whether I'm going to go with the Epson. There's not enough info out yet on the Epson 5010 (TW8000 in Oz) and with the problems reported with the Panny so far, I'm not sure importing one is a good idea. Yes I know the chances are slim of getting a problematic unit but tell that to the guys who are having to send theirs back to Panny for replacements. Local warranty is quite valuable in cases like this.

Yeah I feel the same about having a local warranty. I wish Panasonic had a global warranty. So I could send it to the local rep.
KallanOz is offline  
post #917 of 4432 Old 10-18-2011, 11:14 PM
Member
 
KallanOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by inefekt View Post


I haven't made up my mind whether I'm going to get this Panny or whether I'm going to go with the Epson. There's not enough info out yet on the Epson 5010 (TW8000 in Oz) and with the problems reported with the Panny so far, I'm not sure importing one is a good idea. Yes I know the chances are slim of getting a problematic unit but tell that to the guys who are having to send theirs back to Panny for replacements. Local warranty is quite valuable in cases like this.

Hi Mate,


I thought I would give you a heads up.
http://www.projectisle.com.au/Produc...x?ProdID=27652 are taking per-orders till Friday with a price that is the USA price+GST+100. after Friday there will be a small price rise. They reckon they will have them 2nd week of November. I just missed out on an earlier shipment.
KallanOz is offline  
post #918 of 4432 Old 10-19-2011, 01:03 AM
Newbie
 
bigalaska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I replaced my 900 I had for 5 years with the 7000 and could not be happier. I got it a week ago and have already put over 20 hours on it.

I decided to make the investment on the 7000 and am thrilled with the quality, but am contemplating finally replacing my DIY screen I made out of blackout cloth 5 years ago.

I know there is a constant debate over types of screens, I am just overall wondering how significant of an improvement people have seen with an incredible projector like this with different screens. I guess the bottom line is I have seen such a significant improvement over the 900, I am wondering if I will truly see that much more of a difference if I can purchase something like th Carada Brilliant White CinemaScope over my DIY blackout cloth.

Thanks in advance.
bigalaska is offline  
post #919 of 4432 Old 10-19-2011, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
djbluemax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 2,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by djbuddha View Post

Now this is strictly personal preference.

On 2D content, this feature drives me insane. Especially movie content. I love the almost flickering film look lol.

In 3D mode (as another user pointed out) it looks TOO real lol. But after 5 minutes I forgot I was watching a movie. It was nothing short of incredible on an 80" screen in the store .. Can't wait to get a unit home to my 106" screen!

Hope that helps!

djbuddha

Thanks for the input

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carey P View Post

Yes. Frame Creation Mode 3 is best for 3D, not so good for 2D except for sports maybe. Anything less than FC Mode 3 in 3D causes jitter on fast moving objects for me - kinda like stop motion flicker on any fast portion in the scene. Not sure how you can watch 3D that way at all.

FC Mode 3 with 3D does not produce the same home-video/soap opera look as it does in 2D for whatever reason. For 2D I use FC Mode 1 at most and the pictures are quite smooth enough and 95% film-like.

Thanks for the info. I wonder if that last part is just a difference in perception between 2d and 3d (James Cameron mentioned that a switch to 48fps would be significantly beneficial to 3D because we notice the difference between what we perceive as REAL motion vs. motion artifacts more acutely in 3D because it looks closer to real life and the differences are more noticeable), or if this might have anything to do with what I mentioned about the maximum FI not being available (meaning the number of created frames inserted between actual/original frames) in 3D vs 2D despite what the menu might indicate.

I need to find a place with the 7000 on display in MI or in the Cleveland area to take a look at this puppy in person.


Max
djbluemax1 is offline  
post #920 of 4432 Old 10-19-2011, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mopar_Mudder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rice Lake, WI
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post

Still not seeing that as an issue with an HDMI switch before the projector...

It is possible with a switch yes, just get more involved. I actually have two bigger reasons why it isn't an option for me.

1) I don't want to go through the hassle of running another 40' HDMI cable through my ceiling
2) I out out my BluRay play back to two different devices (TV and Projector) makes it harder to do with switches.
Mopar_Mudder is offline  
post #921 of 4432 Old 10-19-2011, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Deja Vu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: great white north
Posts: 4,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by inefekt View Post

I can't find any direct evidence which supports these claims that the Epson does not do FI in 3D mode. I've read through the Epson thread and found a couple of links but there's nothing on those to suggest the 5010 does not have this feature in 3D. Google is no help either. The fact that there are no real reviews yet lends weight to the suggestion that nobody actually knows.

I'm also having trouble finding measurements of lumen output for the AE7000 in 3D mode. I know the Acer 5360 measured around 700 lumens in 3D mode but with the glasses on it dropped to under 200. With the 480hz panels on the Panny the lumen output won't drop as significantly, percentage wise, because the glasses are open longer.

According to the German report from Cine4home the Epson disables the following in 3D -- 1) the super resolution feature, 2) the DI and 3) the FI.

I've pretty much written off the Epson because of this. I'll try and find the link.

Here it is:

http://translate.google.com/translat...000_Test_A.htm

"The factory calibration will cost a certain amount of light in high mode, glasses remain 140 lumens, 115 lumens in medium and low in 85Lumen. The contrast in both modes amounts to about 5000:1 native, an adaptive aperture control in 3D mode is not universally supported.

Subtracting this still in mind that colors can be especially gamma and subsequently further optimized, the TW9000 offers (W) according to the current state of the art a good and powerful 3D performance. The only downer: Neither the 120Hz interframe even the super-resolution can be activated in 3D feature films remained in their original 24 (48) Hz movement frequency."

There's your evidence! Looks like the Acer is still brighter than the Epson (150, 140 and 85 lumens in 3D mode depending on how you adjust the glasses and that's with a new lamp).
Deja Vu is offline  
post #922 of 4432 Old 10-19-2011, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wolfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 2,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by happybob View Post

what kind of screen and projector settings are you using to make it "too bright"? do you have a high gain screen? are you saying it's too bright in "cinema 1" setting in both 2D and 3D, or are you using the "normal" setting? I think the concern about the panasonic is that its best color setting, "cinema 1" only puts out around 550-560 lumens, and probably only in the 400-450 range in econo mode, which tend to be less than the equivalent best color modes on competing projectors that tend to put out over 800 lumens. i have no doubt that you can make the thing too bright by going to those modes that put out 1000-2000 lumens, but then you are sacrificing the color and contrast.

I am using a very expensive screen technology called 'Ralph Laren Flat White Enamel on drywall' I get good color balance and loads of brightness with just the 'Nornal' setting. I have pretty much used the 'out of box' picture settings. Very little adjustments. You're right about 'Cinema 1', it is way too dark for my taste. And no, I'm not sacrificing any color and contrast with my 'Nornal'. In fact, I have set my picture setting memories to 'Inside Sports' for any game indoors, 'Outside Sports' for any game outside and even 'Night Sports' for any game at night...can you see a pattern here?

Wolfie
Wolfie is offline  
post #923 of 4432 Old 10-19-2011, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Liaury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post

....In fact, I have set my picture setting memories to 'Inside Sports' for any game indoors, 'Outside Sports' for any game outside and even 'Night Sports' for any game at night...can you see a pattern here?

Wolfie

You like watching sports that way you like it?
Liaury is offline  
post #924 of 4432 Old 10-19-2011, 10:15 AM
Member
 
natedogg661's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have seen a few questions about using HDMI switches to circumvent non-3D capable receivers. I had to do this. Below is a drawing of how I did it with my BDP-93 and PS3 because both of these use frame packed 3D on bluray format. The Xbox360 (and other side by side or top/bottom 3D devices) should be able to pass 3D through the non-3D receivers since it is not frame packed. Please excuse my poor handwriting.

Edit: Just realized I may have not made a few things clear.

1. The splitter for the PS3 is so video content can be sent to the projector independent of the receiver while still sending audio content to the receiver.

2. The HDMI 2 output on the Oppo is for audio only (set that way in the player options). HDMI 1 sends the video directly to the projector.

3. The receiver out is for other video capable devices that I don't have in the drawing (Wii, HTPC,etc.)

I have not had any audio-video sync issues with this setup for either PS3 or Oppo.

natedogg661 is offline  
post #925 of 4432 Old 10-19-2011, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Arialis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sweet my projector is in the mail and be here Friday. Can someone recommend a decent mount for this projector? One of the main reasons I purchased this model is in want to take advantage of the cih between 2.35 and 16.9 content. So the mount needs to lower projector into the correct range...
Arialis is offline  
post #926 of 4432 Old 10-19-2011, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
mariokrt64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by inefekt View Post

I haven't made up my mind whether I'm going to get this Panny or whether I'm going to go with the Epson. There's not enough info out yet on the Epson 5010 (TW8000 in Oz) and with the problems reported with the Panny so far, I'm not sure importing one is a good idea. Yes I know the chances are slim of getting a problematic unit but tell that to the guys who are having to send theirs back to Panny for replacements. Local warranty is quite valuable in cases like this.

I saw at a vendor site a rebate for extending the warranty to two years, so I guess the regular is one year. Is that so?
mariokrt64 is offline  
post #927 of 4432 Old 10-19-2011, 02:20 PM
Member
 
toni1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=natedogg661;21100004]I have seen a few questions about using HDMI switches to circumvent non-3D capable receivers. I had to do this. Below is a drawing of how I did it with my BDP-93 and PS3 because both of these use frame packed 3D on bluray format. The Xbox360 (and other side by side or top/bottom 3D devices) should be able to pass 3D through the non-3D receivers since it is not frame packed. Please excuse my poor handwriting.

Edit: Just realized I may have not made a few things clear.

1. The splitter for the PS3 is so video content can be sent to the projector independent of the receiver while still sending audio content to the receiver.
---------

What is your splitter brand or specifications ?
toni1 is offline  
post #928 of 4432 Old 10-19-2011, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by natedogg661 View Post

I have seen a few questions about using HDMI switches to circumvent non-3D capable receivers. I had to do this. Below is a drawing of how I did it with my BDP-93 and PS3 because both of these use frame packed 3D on bluray format. The Xbox360 (and other side by side or top/bottom 3D devices) should be able to pass 3D through the non-3D receivers since it is not frame packed. Please excuse my poor handwriting.

Edit: Just realized I may have not made a few things clear.

1. The splitter for the PS3 is so video content can be sent to the projector independent of the receiver while still sending audio content to the receiver.

2. The HDMI 2 output on the Oppo is for audio only (set that way in the player options). HDMI 1 sends the video directly to the projector.

3. The receiver out is for other video capable devices that I don't have in the drawing (Wii, HTPC,etc.)

I have not had any audio-video sync issues with this setup for either PS3 or Oppo.


Very useful information, thank you! So I can send 3D from my XBOX 360 to my non-3D-capable Onkyo TX-SR707 via HDMI, and it will pass the 3D and keep 5.1?

I'm guessing the PS3 is a bit more tricky with only 1 HDMI output, meaning I can only connect it via HDMI to the projector for 3D, and use optical for audio. Not a big deal, I suppose....

So, the Panasonic 310BT or the Oppo for Blu-ray? I don't need a media player..
WilliamG is offline  
post #929 of 4432 Old 10-19-2011, 02:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Black Banshee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rocky Mountain High
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
[quote=toni1;21101124]
Quote:
Originally Posted by natedogg661 View Post

I have seen a few questions about using HDMI switches to circumvent non-3D capable receivers. I had to do this. Below is a drawing of how I did it with my BDP-93 and PS3 because both of these use frame packed 3D on bluray format. The Xbox360 (and other side by side or top/bottom 3D devices) should be able to pass 3D through the non-3D receivers since it is not frame packed. Please excuse my poor handwriting.

Edit: Just realized I may have not made a few things clear.

1. The splitter for the PS3 is so video content can be sent to the projector independent of the receiver while still sending audio content to the receiver.
---------

What is your splitter brand or specifications ?


I was using an "ancient" 2009 Sony STR-DA5400es receiver, which cannot pass the 3D signal to the projector. So I tried the ~$25 HDMI splitter from monoprice which claims to split 3D signals AND also split the lossless bistream audio. Didn't work for me, I'm figuring it's a compatibility issue with this particular projector, but would be interested to see someone else try this splitter to see if it works for them.

I ended up selling the Sony and got a 2112CI Denon receiver which is working great with this projector, including 3D signals.

And for the record, I'm loving my 7000 so far!
Black Banshee is offline  
post #930 of 4432 Old 10-19-2011, 02:53 PM
Member
 
WizardOfZo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Black Banshee;21101218]
Quote:
Originally Posted by toni1 View Post



I was using an "ancient" 2009 Sony STR-DA5400es receiver, which cannot pass the 3D signal to the projector. So I tried the ~$25 HDMI splitter from monoprice which claims to split 3D signals AND also split the lossless bistream audio. Didn't work for me, I'm figuring it's a compatibility issue with this particular projector, but would be interested to see someone else try this splitter to see if it works for them.

I ended up selling the Sony and got a 2112CI Denon receiver which is working great with this projector, including 3D signals.

And for the record, I'm loving my 7000 so far!

My Monoprice switch is this one:
Quote:


6415 4x2 True Matrix High Speed HDMI Powered Switch w/ Remote (HDMI x.v. Color) w/ 3D support

I tried it between the 7000 and my PS3 and my Popcornhour C200. and using the 2nd HDMI switch output audio to the Onkyo 805.
The results were erratic and at best I had lousy audio output, at worst, the video refused to make it to the projector through the switch.

I cant say it is 100% the switches fault, but I am so fed up with incompatible old/new technology, I am upgrading to a new Onkyo that is 1.4 complaint.
If that fails, I think I will go back to my 1940 something Zenith Radio and watch the magic eye blink as I look for AM stations
WizardOfZo is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Pt Ae7000u 1080p Full Hd Projector , Projectors , Blu Ray Players
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off