OWNERS Thread for the Panasonic PT-AE7000U 3D Projector - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
conan48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Igloo
Posts: 2,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 106
.......

I mean smooth screen.
conan48 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 03:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hotlanta, GA
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave1969 View Post

going just on these pics the rs-10's image looks alot sharper. kind of a disappointment from the panny

dude, you can't be serious. These are just screenshots, different cameras, different settings..
Ranger is offline  
post #153 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Larryad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The pics were never intended to be anything more than a quick impression. I can see every detail on my screen, that he has in his picture with razor sharp clarity. Even the sheen on the mask and also the eye. Blacks are very black with excellent shadow detail. The only real difference that I could see from my screen, is that his unit renders the blue in the jacket a little differently and his mid tones appear to be calibrated brighter. The jacket difference could be because my screen is a light gray. I'm sorry that either my camera or my photography skills could not convey this adequately. I thought the pics were in the ballpark, but apparently not enough. If you like JVC you should by all means by a JVC. I am however, extremely happy with my Panasonic.
Larryad is offline  
post #154 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Maestro J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, I got myself a dud.
My 7000 showed up today from PP and I quickly unpacked it and put it up on my shelf that hangs from the ceiling. Fired her up and as I was adjusting the joystick and focus, it shut off. I turned her back on and continued adjusting the settings and she shut off again. Just like that. I would say it shut down within 5 minutes each time. So something is definitely wrong.
I contacted PP and they are going to call me in the morning to arrange a new one from Panny. While I would just like PP to swap it out with a new one, I don't know if they have any in stock to be able to do that. They probably have sold their initial allocation.
Very disappointing but I know this happens from time to time. Overall, I've been pretty fortunate with electronic purchases in the past.
Maestro J is offline  
post #155 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Iusteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 3,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by claymic View Post

Why put pictures from jvc here ? There is no better place to do that ?
I am very greatful for the pictures from ae7000 posted here and must be a better place to put comments about jvc projectors and anyone with minimal of intelligence will not to take this pictures "so serious". Its for fun and make the "owners thread" more beautiful.

This coming from a forum member with 15 posts?

This IS the precise place to post "comparison" pictures of this new Panny and a comparable JVC.

Irish Copper Top Tavern & Theater

Theater Build Version 2.0 LOOK HERE

Cuzed Approved C.C.C. (Certified Column Counselor)

XBOX Live: Zz NiNj4 D4D zZ
Iusteve is offline  
post #156 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeyNow^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Martinsburg, Wv USA
Posts: 2,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Maybe it's just me, but screen shots don't mean squat. Different cameras etc. I find it hard to believe that all you videophiles are arguing over screen shots. Please....
HeyNow^ is offline  
post #157 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 05:03 PM
Member
 
claymic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its against the rules ? How many posts its necessary to say what i think ? I am a member size 2006. I dont speak english very well. But, i want to read about AE7000 not about jvc, and is very annoyng see the same thing about jvc every time. There is a tread about jvc x panny.
I am a owner and i want to read about my projector, not about jvc. Or this topic is about jvc ? Am i in a wrong place ?
claymic is offline  
post #158 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 05:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
sparky7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: reno,nv.
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TELSTARS View Post

Will you all please provide info about which screen you are using?!? The screen obviously makes a hell of a difference to what image a projector is throwing,in fact it`s crucial no?
I`m an extremely happy owner of the 4000 with a Draper glass bead Luma 2,a set up which is tremendous for me as I need no wide viewing angle at all.But if I(when I!) upgrade to the 7000 I`m thinking I might get a new screen. As brilliant as the Draper is,I think this new 7000 would show it`s flaws....any suggestions? Apologies if this is wronly posted but I do stick by my suggestion of us listing which screen we are all using as nothing is more important to a projector outside the lighting set up of the viewing room,no? Thanks and congrats to Panasonic for their great line of projectors.

Good idea, even if your not posting pictures tell us what screen you are using.

mark
sparky7 is offline  
post #159 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kini62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeyNow^ View Post

Maybe it's just me, but screen shots don't mean squat. Different cameras etc. I find it hard to believe that all you videophiles are arguing over screen shots. Please....

+1

Take a screen shot with a 3mp phone and a 24mp D3X. Which one is going to look better?

WAY too many variables to even make any conclusions as to picture quality. A pointless endeavor if ever there were one.

Klipsch RF-62II, RC-500, RS-400, SVS PC12+,
Def Tech SC8000
Harman Kardon AVR 1600
PS3, Apple TV, Sharp 70" Qattron
Kini62 is online now  
post #160 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
widerscreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hollywood fla
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave1969 View Post

going just on these pics the rs-10's image looks alot sharper. kind of a disappointment from the panny

Hi
what kind of camera were these taken with? what was the setting set at on the camera? if you have it set to auto then you could be off on each as the auto white balance and auto focus may read differently You Mist use all manual settings on a DLSR camera to get the same exposure and white balance and shutter speed as if shot on program or auto will have lots of variables to what the auto censers reads. To me the pictures are not equal as one looks out of focus and darker do to the camera exposure. I could be wrong but Im a professional photographer and I sorta know this stuff. : )
widerscreen is offline  
post #161 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 06:11 PM
Member
 
satboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by natedogg661 View Post

I think everyone else has been advising against this since PP will provide a full replacement if there are under 4 hours on the bulb.

UPDATE:

I spoke with PP today and their tech was helpful but their tech dept was understaffed today so getting things moving was a slow go, however I am now in a time vacuum as the procedure is to send it in for repair but PP wants it replaced as do I. So they have to work that out with Panasonic and it has to wait for approval from higher up as I am told.

It's not a dust issue rather a defect in the projector which is still unknown exactly what. They did not recommend running it to get rid of the blob and frankly this does not sound like the fix I would be happy with.

So I will wait staring at a box waiting to hear how they will take care of this issue (Advance replace with a charge to my CC or I have to send it to panny for repair and wait for it to be returned) I really would rather have a new one and not a repaired new projector.

So I will wait and keep the Epson 8350 in it's place until this sorts it's self out.

I am just pissed as I spent $90 to get it by Saturday for a party I was having on Sunday. So I am out those funds, so much for early adopter......
satboy is offline  
post #162 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Black Banshee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rocky Mountain High
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For folks mounting to the ceiling: what mount are you using? Mine comes Wednesday and I'm planning to retrofit my current mount, but to do so I'll need to know the footprint size of the mounting holes, and what size/length screws are used? Could any of the current owners advise on this, I couldn't find this anywhere online or in the manual? I'm planning to visit the hardware store Tuesday.

THANKS, can't wait!
Black Banshee is offline  
post #163 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 06:20 PM
Senior Member
 
widerscreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hollywood fla
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Take a look at the difference in pictures and the camera setting this is the file info from each image. just starters the f stop is 1.5 stops difference and the shutter speed is very different in comparing the two images. Way too many variables to judge screen shots so case closed! : )
LL
LL
widerscreen is offline  
post #164 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 06:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Elkhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Note that on page 31 of the manual, there's this note:

"Panasonic recommends that focus adjustment be made after 30 minutes or more have elapsed since picture display."

So, for the first 30 minutes or so (after turn on), the projector's focus isn't as sharp as it can be - in both 2D and 3D (i.e. the 2011 JVC's ghosting in 3D mode)???

Surely, the focus must change in the first 30 minutes after the projector is turned on. Otherwise, Panny wouldn't recommend this in the manual.
Elkhunter is offline  
post #165 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
widerscreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hollywood fla
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elkhunter View Post

Note that on page 31 of the manual, there's this note:

"Panasonic recommends that focus adjustment be made after 30 minutes or more have elapsed since picture display."

So, for the first 30 minutes or so (after turn on), the projector's focus isn't as sharp as it can be - in both 2D and 3D (i.e. the 2011 JVC's ghosting in 3D mode)???

Surely, the focus must change in the first 30 minutes after the projector is turned on. Otherwise, Panny wouldn't recommend this in the manual.

I wonder why that is? vibrations? heat? I get my 7k this week and can't wait as I just sold my 4k and boxing it up tomorrow. I also got the Lumagen RadianceMini 3D processor to go with it. I also got the new Panasonic PATYEW3D3MPK
Twin Pack of Active Shutter 3D Eyewear and they are a tad brighter that all the rest and much much much more comfortable than all the other glasses as well as the expand universal glasses. B&H is the only place that as them as I found.$148.00 for two
widerscreen is offline  
post #166 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 06:35 PM
Member
 
viper14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i know were not allowed to talk price in here, is there a section of the forums where price talk is allowed/buy-sell, i have 2 PT-ae7000 on the way from employee purchases, looking to sell one not sure where the right section is or if there even is one.

Thanks
viper14 is offline  
post #167 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 06:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper14 View Post

i know were not allowed to talk price in here, is there a section of the forums where price talk is allowed/buy-sell, i have 2 PT-ae7000 on the way from employee purchases, looking to sell one not sure where the right section is or if there even is one.

Thanks

Try THIS SECTION
drhankz is online now  
post #168 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 07:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Larryad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by widerscreen View Post

Take a look at the difference in pictures and the camera setting this is the file info from each image. just starters the f stop is 1.5 stops difference and the shutter speed is very different in comparing the two images. Way too many variables to judge screen shots so case closed! : )

Wow -- a 6 second exposure length! Yeah, my shots were just quick auto shots.The fault was definitely my photography skills. Sorry guys you shouldn't have to be explaining this. My fault entirely. But thanks for taking the time.

Also I pulled out the WOW calibration disk and my settings were pretty darn close. I think my hue was off a notch. I don't know how accurate these disks are though.
Larryad is offline  
post #169 of 4432 Old 10-03-2011, 08:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
taffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by conan48 View Post

Is the difference is sharpness due to the Sh*t smear feature on the panny?

You are obviously a Panny hater, so why are you bothering to post your remarks here? People on this post want to learn meaningful and useful information about the new Panny 7000, and despite what you think most Panny owners love the smoothscreen.
taffman is offline  
post #170 of 4432 Old 10-04-2011, 01:03 AM
Member
 
steve21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elkhunter View Post

Note that on page 31 of the manual, there's this note:

"Panasonic recommends that focus adjustment be made after 30 minutes or more have elapsed since picture display."

So, for the first 30 minutes or so (after turn on), the projector's focus isn't as sharp as it can be - in both 2D and 3D (i.e. the 2011 JVC's ghosting in 3D mode)???

Surely, the focus must change in the first 30 minutes after the projector is turned on. Otherwise, Panny wouldn't recommend this in the manual.

Some of the epsons do this. They lose focus as the projector warms up, and after 30 mins or so once the focus is re-set they are fine.
It's annoying actually. You have to let the projector warm up for 30 mins, or you have to refocus part way though the film.
Panasonic may just have this as a warning (to avoid warranty claims) and the issue may not really exist but with epson, it's a known issue/fault and the focus shift is enough to get you out of your seat and fix it. It takes quite a large shift to notice a change with film content so it's not an insignificant problem.
Hopefully with the pana it's not such a problem.
steve21 is offline  
post #171 of 4432 Old 10-04-2011, 04:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Epson had a focus issue a few years ago. They solved the problem with a few changes. It has not be an issue/fault for several years. Epson exchanged any projectors that had problems for user that had the problem.
rwestley is offline  
post #172 of 4432 Old 10-04-2011, 05:41 AM
Member
 
satboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maestro J View Post

Well, I got myself a dud.
My 7000 showed up today from PP and I quickly unpacked it and put it up on my shelf that hangs from the ceiling. Fired her up and as I was adjusting the joystick and focus, it shut off. I turned her back on and continued adjusting the settings and she shut off again. Just like that. I would say it shut down within 5 minutes each time. So something is definitely wrong.
I contacted PP and they are going to call me in the morning to arrange a new one from Panny. While I would just like PP to swap it out with a new one, I don't know if they have any in stock to be able to do that. They probably have sold their initial allocation.
Very disappointing but I know this happens from time to time. Overall, I've been pretty fortunate with electronic purchases in the past.


Well we are in the same boat however my issue was a blue screen blob in the middle (see eariler post), they need to figure out if they will just replace it or have to repair it.

I asked for replacing over repair since it was new and then my delay started.... Also came from PP
satboy is offline  
post #173 of 4432 Old 10-04-2011, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mopar_Mudder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rice Lake, WI
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by claymic View Post

No, you can't call the lens memory in 3D mode. You have to select this before watch the 3D movie.

As long as it can be called before and sticks it shouldn't be too big of deal.
Mopar_Mudder is offline  
post #174 of 4432 Old 10-04-2011, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
DMark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Its a little disconcerting to hear of two quality control issues already in this first batch of Panasonic AE7000 projectors... I hope we are not seeing the leading edge of a storm here.

In past years (the AE3000 and AE4000) it was the dust blob issue. Hopefully they've solved that problem with new filtering and light path changes this year.

Fine Music, Movies, Wine, and Friends - A Life Well Lived!
DMark1 is offline  
post #175 of 4432 Old 10-04-2011, 08:56 AM
Member
 
claymic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mopar_Mudder View Post

As long as it can be called before and sticks it shouldn't be too big of deal.

Control AE7000 over RS-232 its the best way to change between the memory lens quickly.
claymic is offline  
post #176 of 4432 Old 10-04-2011, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mopar_Mudder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rice Lake, WI
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by claymic View Post

Control AE7000 over RS-232 its the best way to change between the memory lens quickly.

Has anyone confirmed that this still works the same on the 7000 as it did the 4000? This is how I control everything on my 4000 and would do it no other way. Would be nice if Panny added discrete IR codes on the 7000 though.
Mopar_Mudder is offline  
post #177 of 4432 Old 10-04-2011, 09:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
JamesN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mopar_Mudder View Post

Has anyone confirmed that this still works the same on the 7000 as it did the 4000? This is how I control everything on my 4000 and would do it no other way. Would be nice if Panny added discrete IR codes on the 7000 though.

The control codes are the same as for the 4000, plus some new ones were added.
JamesN is offline  
post #178 of 4432 Old 10-04-2011, 09:48 AM
Member
 
kyoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why is it that I can't find details on the mounting screw locations for the 7000? I'm trying to pick a monoprice mounting bracket that will work for the 7000, but also extend the projector down a ways..

does the 7000 have 4 screw holes, or just 3?
kyoo is offline  
post #179 of 4432 Old 10-04-2011, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyoo View Post

Why is it that I can't find details on the mounting screw locations for the 7000? I'm trying to pick a monoprice mounting bracket that will work for the 7000, but also extend the projector down a ways..

does the 7000 have 4 screw holes, or just 3?

Well, if you had downloaded the CAD diagram from the Panny website you would have seen that there is 4 M4x9 mounting holes that look to be in similar locations as the 4000 except they are a bit more closer to the lens since its offset.
Killroy is offline  
post #180 of 4432 Old 10-04-2011, 10:35 AM
Member
 
kyoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

Well, if you had downloaded the CAD diagram from the Panny website you would have seen that there is 4 M4x9 mounting holes that look to be in similar locations as the 4000 except they are a bit more closer to the lens since its offset.

Thank you.. do you have a link handy for that? I hope it doesn't require a special CAD program to view it.
kyoo is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Pt Ae7000u 1080p Full Hd Projector , Projectors , Blu Ray Players
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off