Official Sony VPL-VW95ES Owners Thread - Page 100 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 3588 Old 03-26-2012, 04:08 AM
Member
 
SAM ZEOLI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Sanderdvd, what screen are you using with your sony projector if you don't mind me asking. Thanks Sam
SAM ZEOLI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 3588 Old 03-26-2012, 04:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM ZEOLI View Post

Hi Sanderdvd, what screen are you using with your sony projector if you don't mind me asking. Thanks Sam

KingpinScreen VFS-240 1.0 gain. Thinking about 'upgrading' to a 1.4 gain screen for better brightness.
sanderdvd is offline  
post #2973 of 3588 Old 03-26-2012, 04:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

Having problems with my Sony TDG-PJ1 glasses. The sync gets lost from time to time, mostly only for a few miliseconds or so. What could this be?

Are they charged all the way?

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
joerod is offline  
post #2974 of 3588 Old 03-26-2012, 04:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Are they charged all the way?

I think so (not 100% sure though)

EDIT: what you think about my settings Joerod?
sanderdvd is offline  
post #2975 of 3588 Old 03-26-2012, 06:18 AM
Member
 
batborsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi! does anyone know the filesize of image director 3.0? Can it be downloaded.
I have only seen 2.1 availible for download at some sony sites.

Is this a program that can be worked only with the computer, or is it intended for use
with calibration instruments?

I want to tweak the gamma on the my vw90 with my oppo-93. oppo doesn´t have gamma control. I am satified with the denon 1611 blu-ray player because that player can adjust gamma, but on the other hand doesn´t have subtitle shift.

I have it on cd but no cd-rom in my 13.3 inch laptop.
batborsen is offline  
post #2976 of 3588 Old 03-26-2012, 06:23 AM
WTS
AVS Special Member
 
WTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Find someone with a CDrom drive and copy the exe file to a stick, does your laptop have a USB port? Yes this is meant only for a computer.

Walter
WTS is offline  
post #2977 of 3588 Old 03-26-2012, 06:28 AM
Member
 
batborsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, i suppose I can do so. Yes it has usb.
And since it has only usb I need an usb to serial adapter right?
batborsen is offline  
post #2978 of 3588 Old 03-26-2012, 06:53 AM
Member
 
SAM ZEOLI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks
SAM ZEOLI is offline  
post #2979 of 3588 Old 03-26-2012, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

Having problems with my Sony TDG-PJ1 glasses. The sync gets lost from time to time, mostly only for a few miliseconds or so. What could this be?

Could be some form of IR interference in the room I suppose. If you have ANY lights on or nearby equipment that is not essential to run the pj you may want to try as an experiment turning everything off, and seeing if it goes away. If it does then you can try turning things back on one at a time until the issue reoccurs and then you'll know where it is coming from.

How far away is the pj mounted from the screen, and how far away do you sit from the screen. Maybe the signal is not strong enough.

There is something in the service menu about the 3D signal strength. I don't know anything about it, but assume it is at its default and could be changed to boost the IR power. If so I wonder if that could solve it, although boosting it may introduce other issues such as interfering with remote controls.
lovingdvd is offline  
post #2980 of 3588 Old 03-26-2012, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post

Could be some form of IR interference in the room I suppose. If you have ANY lights on or nearby equipment that is not essential to run the pj you may want to try as an experiment turning everything off, and seeing if it goes away. If it does then you can try turning things back on one at a time until the issue reoccurs and then you'll know where it is coming from.

How far away is the pj mounted from the screen, and how far away do you sit from the screen. Maybe the signal is not strong enough.

There is something in the service menu about the 3D signal strength. I don't know anything about it, but assume it is at its default and could be changed to boost the IR power. If so I wonder if that could solve it, although boosting it may introduce other issues such as interfering with remote controls.

how do I get acces to the service menu?
sanderdvd is offline  
post #2981 of 3588 Old 03-26-2012, 12:51 PM
Member
 
batborsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So now I installed ID3 on my computer and it says it doesn´t work on this OS.
Shall I now find another friend that has an os that is compatible...
The friend with the computer that had the cd-rom runs windows 7 just like I do.
batborsen is offline  
post #2982 of 3588 Old 03-26-2012, 04:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
MadMyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Anyone ever check if these monprice glasses work with the Sony IR?

3D Glasses

These are specifically for Samsung TVs with IR Active Shutters... No one said they would work with the Sony, but I thought I'd ask...

I realize they aren't great, but for very occasional need... it might be nice to have a couple extra cheap ones.

... Altan

Like pinball? Check out
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

MadMyers is offline  
post #2983 of 3588 Old 03-26-2012, 11:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I m using a Oppo BDP-93 with my VW95. How do I find out what the best color space and deep color is to pick in the Oppo player? (I only play blu-ray content)

For color space I can choose:
RGB Video Level
RGB PC Level
YCbCr 4:4:4
YCbCr 4:2:2


For deep color I can choose:
36 Bits
30 Bits (Dithered)
30 Bits
Off (Dithered)
Off
sanderdvd is offline  
post #2984 of 3588 Old 03-27-2012, 12:40 AM
Newbie
 
Jimwithasmile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

I m using a Oppo BDP-93 with my VW95. How do I find out what the best color space and deep color is to pick in the Oppo player? (I only play blu-ray content)

For color space I can choose:
RGB Video Level
RGB PC Level
YCbCr 4:4:4
YCbCr 4:2:2


For deep color I can choose:
36 Bits
30 Bits (Dithered)
30 Bits
Off (Dithered)
Off



Although i think Blu uses 4:2:2 spacing, i use 4:4:4 for the pretty weak reason of "Well it can't hurt"
The same reasoning applies to my use of 36 Bits for the color.
Jimwithasmile is offline  
post #2985 of 3588 Old 03-27-2012, 02:54 AM
Member
 
RioBar4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batborsen View Post

So now I installed ID3 on my computer and it says it doesn´t work on this OS.
Shall I now find another friend that has an os that is compatible...
The friend with the computer that had the cd-rom runs windows 7 just like I do.

You will need XP or Vista...
RioBar4U is offline  
post #2986 of 3588 Old 03-27-2012, 04:44 AM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimwithasmile View Post

Although i think Blu uses 4:2:2 spacing, i use 4:4:4 for the pretty weak reason of "Well it can't hurt"
The same reasoning applies to my use of 36 Bits for the color.

Indeed it can. See an article in WSR by Spears and Munsell a year or so back on how to test for the correct space. It is more than likely that 4:2:2 will be best.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #2987 of 3588 Old 03-27-2012, 06:32 AM
Newbie
 
Jimwithasmile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 4 View Post

Indeed it can.

Jimwithasmile is offline  
post #2988 of 3588 Old 03-27-2012, 08:43 AM
Member
 
batborsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RioBar4U View Post

You will need XP or Vista...

Can ID3 be run in xp mode on my windows 7 machine?
batborsen is offline  
post #2989 of 3588 Old 03-27-2012, 09:06 AM
Member
 
dryeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by batborsen View Post

Can ID3 be run in xp mode on my windows 7 machine?

Good question and I hope it can. From what I've read ID3 seems to NOT run on windows 7 home premium edition but possibly will run on the professional and ultimate editions. If you have an edition which allows the xp mode (a free download for the non home editions) please do try it and report back. I am intersted in upgrading my home premium version (only) if ID3 can run on the higher versions. Good luck.
dryeye is offline  
post #2990 of 3588 Old 03-27-2012, 02:19 PM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
We finally have a positive situation in VPL-vw95ES stock status and can immediately fill an order. So if you are interested in getting one of these very fine projectors, give us a call. We can ship immediately.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #2991 of 3588 Old 03-28-2012, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Drem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still no one that had the red six-flashes On/Standby shutdown? Is it just me? I just had the fourth one, at about 410 hours. The weird thing is, it's almost exactly 100 hours between these shutdowns. I took it down today, packed it and the courier picked it up.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Drem is offline  
post #2992 of 3588 Old 03-28-2012, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
richardyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 4 View Post

We finally have a positive situation in VPL-vw95ES stock status and can immediately fill an order. So if you are interested in getting one of these very fine projectors, give us a call. We can ship immediately.

Can't afford a new one, is there a wait list for b-stock? If not, would love to be on the list so I won't miss out.
richardyc is offline  
post #2993 of 3588 Old 03-31-2012, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I m still trying to find out what the best settings are to pick for my MV3D/Sony VW95 combo.
The LENS DUTY CYCLE can be set from 10% - 120%. I know this is the amount of time the lenses remain open. Of course a lower value decreases ghosting and has less brightness and a higher value causes more ghosting and more brightness.

Next is the DELAY that can be adjusted. This can be set from 20 - 45000.

What is the way to config the DELAY+LENS DUTY CYCLE to accomplish to best result? (for your info, I m sensitive to ghosting so I prefer the least ghosting).

Changing the delay is the thing I don t understand. When beginning from 20 and moving the delay upwards it looks like 'the same result is repeating itself for a few times' untill 45000 (max) is reached. I hope you guys understand what I mean here. So what is the best to choose here?

Thxz!
sanderdvd is offline  
post #2994 of 3588 Old 03-31-2012, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Search my previous posts.
lovingdvd is offline  
post #2995 of 3588 Old 03-31-2012, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post

Search my previous posts.

i did. 1720 and 60 is the way it works best?
sanderdvd is offline  
post #2996 of 3588 Old 03-31-2012, 11:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drem View Post

You are right, I had the color spaces mixed up. Just read this:
http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-b...olor_Space.asp

I did think that 4:2:2 gave me the best colors but maybe that is not the correct selection for the Oppo.

Do you know what the best 'deep color' setting is for the Oppo/VW95 combo? I m reading different things about this. Some say OFF is the best choise, some say OFF (Dithered) and also 36-bit is a commonly used setting. But which is the right one......

See also:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...ostcount=19949
sanderdvd is offline  
post #2997 of 3588 Old 03-31-2012, 11:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Canary_Jules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well I received my Xpand 104s, switched them on and they worked instantly with my VW95ES. Glad I chose them. They are much more comfortable to wear than the Sony glasses and the picture is great through them. Unfortunately though I was calibrating in the dark. I put a pair of my glasses down on a chair behind me as I tweaked something, then without thinking I gently sat down!! At the point I felt something underneath me I stopped but it was too late. One of the lenses on a pair of 104s was cracked. I was gutted as I'd only had them for a few hours! Amazingly though, the glasses still worked! and as the crack is in the corner I don't see it. Not as sturdily built as the Sony glasses.

I've done some more comparisons with my JVC HD750 as I received a new bulb for it and the Sony wins out again. Black levels are better on the JVC but only by a small amount. Having said that I was struck by how 'muddy' the JVC picture looks compared to the 95ES. The Sony picture is much more detailed. It is sharper and cleaner. When the auto iris is engaged the brightness of the Sony picture can almost be too much in my bat cave. It would be nice to be able to dial it down a tad with a second iris. I need to work on the gamma as I'm not really satisfied with the presets. So Image Director here I come! As I understand it you can tweak RGB gamma response? That should mean that you can centre the Gains and Biases and calibrate the greyscale using Image Director? That's exactly the way THX recommend calibrating some of the JVC projectors and it works very well.
Canary_Jules is offline  
post #2998 of 3588 Old 04-02-2012, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Canary_Jules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Damn it. Can't get Image Director to connect with my projector. I'm running Vista but as my PC doesn't have an RS232 port I'm using a USB-Serial connector with a male connector at the end then running a female to male serial lead into the projector. I've also tried running XP Pro from my Mac (using the USB-serial connector and Vmware) but no joy there either. I have another PC with Windows 7 on but it won't even install on that. Does it matter if you start up the projector first then the PC? I've rebooted my PC several times and still no joy. When I select the correct Com port the pj and pc seem to be talking for a while and them Image Director tells me that it can't connect. Can anyone help?
Canary_Jules is offline  
post #2999 of 3588 Old 04-02-2012, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Canary_Jules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I see from reading through the thread that USB-serial converters don't work. My laptop has a PCMCIA slot so it looks like I'll have to buy a card. Sony aren't exactly making this easy for us are they?!!! They need to rewrite the software to use up to date OS and hardware configs.
Canary_Jules is offline  
post #3000 of 3588 Old 04-02-2012, 10:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
MadMyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canary_Jules View Post

I see from reading through the thread that USB-serial converters don't work. My laptop has a PCMCIA slot so it looks like I'll have to buy a card. Sony aren't exactly making this easy for us are they?!!! They need to rewrite the software to use up to date OS and hardware configs.

Keyspan USB to serial works under win XP...

Like pinball? Check out
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

MadMyers is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw95es Full Hd 3d Home Cinema Projector

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off