Official Sony VPL-VW95ES Owners Thread - Page 120 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3571 of 3585 Old 05-26-2014, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 54
How do I know if I need a new lamp?

I measured 14 ftL in Cinema1 LOW lamp on a 96" ST130 which seemed plenty bright to me. On high lamp is was over 22 ftL. This was at max throw (1.0 zoom).

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3572 of 3585 Old 05-27-2014, 01:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Elix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dungeon, Pillar of Eyes
Posts: 1,215
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post

How do I know if I need a new lamp?
Either when the picture is getting too dim for your taste or when lamp hours are approaching lamp life specification - for security reasons. 14 ftL is plenty bright for me.
Elix is offline  
post #3573 of 3585 Old 05-27-2014, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing, cycling or kayaking ) - Sacramento CA area
Posts: 4,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post

How do I know if I need a new lamp?

I measured 14 ftL in Cinema1 LOW lamp on a 96" ST130 which seemed plenty bright to me. On high lamp is was over 22 ftL. This was at max throw (1.0 zoom).

That seems plenty bright to me too. When you drop below 12 foot lamberts in high lamp, or the picture is dimmer in even high lamp than you like, or the projector tells you to change the lamp, then it's time to put a new one in.

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Direct Line - 585-671-2972
I'm available 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday Email me at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, Klipsch, and many more!
Craig Peer is offline  
post #3574 of 3585 Old 06-08-2014, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 54
^^ thanks guys. That's what I thought too but the unit is saying please replace the bulb and there are 2000 hrs on the clock. Dealer included a new bulb so I'm going to change it now. Wish me luck... I hope it doesn't get too much brighter!

=========================================================

EDIT: yikes! With the fresh lamp I am now getting 17 ftL in low and 29 ftL in high, and this is with white level calibrated!

I was getting a flicker in low lamp which is now gone. The old lamp also had a strange blue shift that was difficult to calibrate out without causing a red background, now it calibrates real nice biggrin.gif

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #3575 of 3585 Old 06-10-2014, 11:41 PM
Member
 
bathes2051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FYI I've been using mine in High lamp, and it starting flickering occasionally around 1900 hours, then it went away.
The projector then started showing the warning after 2000 hours, although the lamp was still fine, unless I switched to Low mode, and it would then flicker again.
Then after 2100 the lamp started flickering in High mode, and that's when I changed it.
AVfile likes this.
bathes2051 is offline  
post #3576 of 3585 Old 06-18-2014, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing, cycling or kayaking ) - Sacramento CA area
Posts: 4,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 261
We have one VW95 B stock projector left if anyone is looking for a great deal !

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Direct Line - 585-671-2972
I'm available 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday Email me at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, Klipsch, and many more!
Craig Peer is offline  
post #3577 of 3585 Old 06-26-2014, 06:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I am in a kind of dilemma. I just purchased a BenQ W1300 (1150$) but found after my purchase that someone was selling a VW95 at a reasonable price (2500$) which is just inside my budget. So I am still able to return the BenQ, but the thing is that I have already purchased screen material for a DIY fixed screen (grey material, so low gain) because of the BenQs average black levels.

Since the VW95 have a low lumen output and much better black levels, I guess I would need to purchase a new screen material again? I am afraid that the low lumen will be a problem.

Should I keep the BenQ W1300 or buy the used VW95 (400 hours)?

I am upgrading from an Optoma HD70 (1280x720, 2006 model) so I guess both will be a super big upgrade for me.


My screen will be 90-90".
Room measurements (H:2m,L:5m,W:2,6m)


**red area will be covered by black fabric, so will have good light control, but not perfect. Window is totally blackout out when watching movies.

Last edited by rankiz; 06-26-2014 at 06:56 PM.
rankiz is offline  
post #3578 of 3585 Old 06-26-2014, 07:05 PM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
The Sony will be great for your set up.
stephenbr is offline  
post #3579 of 3585 Old 06-27-2014, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I find it very bright even after calibration.

Low lamp, picture contrast 81, 96" ST 130 screen: 17 ftL.

On high lamp it is too bright (at night).

Last edited by AVfile; 06-28-2014 at 01:32 PM.
AVfile is offline  
post #3580 of 3585 Old 07-12-2014, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Is this projector supposed to have two bright corners? Top left and bottom right (when ceiling mounted).

There is also a small bright blob in the center only visible on a black background. Dust blob or internal reflection?
AVfile is offline  
post #3581 of 3585 Old 07-12-2014, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Andreas21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
Is this projector supposed to have two bright corners? Top left and bottom right (when ceiling mounted).

There is also a small bright blob in the center only visible on a black background. Dust blob or internal reflection?
Bright corners can be a problem, but with the VW95 it is quite rare. The bright blob in the center when diplaying a black picture sounds like a dust blob.

Regards
Andreas


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Andreas21 is online now  
post #3582 of 3585 Old 07-13-2014, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas21 View Post
Bright corners can be a problem, but with the VW95 it is quite rare. The bright blob in the center when diplaying a black picture sounds like a dust blob.
Thanks. I tried blowing it out when I changed the bulb but I did not disassemble further. I tried focusing on the blob but it remains a blob, not sure where it would be, perhaps between the lens elements? Optical block looked very clean with flashlight.

Do you advise removing the chassis cover and blowing it out? I find the fan is getting a bit noisy too.
AVfile is offline  
post #3583 of 3585 Old 09-15-2014, 09:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
VPL95 - discrete codes for zoom settings

Hi

I have a 2.35:1 screen that masks to 16:9. I use the zoom function on the projector and have the two settings set up. Is there any way instead of toggling zoom memory 1 or 2 that I can have a discrete code for each that is tied to my masking setup.

E.g. When I pick 16:9 mask it auto adjusts the projector zoom as well - at the moment I have to separately mask and then toggle zoom memory

Thanks guys

Rob
Robcameron is offline  
post #3584 of 3585 Old 09-17-2014, 09:17 PM
Member
 
dlinsley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robcameron View Post
Hi

I have a 2.35:1 screen that masks to 16:9. I use the zoom function on the projector and have the two settings set up. Is there any way instead of toggling zoom memory 1 or 2 that I can have a discrete code for each that is tied to my masking setup.

E.g. When I pick 16:9 mask it auto adjusts the projector zoom as well - at the moment I have to separately mask and then toggle zoom memory

Thanks guys

Rob

I checked my copy of the RS232 protocol document and there are discrete codes for Picture Position memories for RS232 but where they document the IR simulation codes they only list the toggle. Are you, can you, use serial control?
dlinsley is offline  
post #3585 of 3585 Old 09-17-2014, 10:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlinsley View Post
I checked my copy of the RS232 protocol document and there are discrete codes for Picture Position memories for RS232 but where they document the IR simulation codes they only list the toggle. Are you, can you, use serial control?
I'll check with my home theater guy to see. Can you send me the codes you mentioned?

Thanks
Robcameron is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw95es Full Hd 3d Home Cinema Projector

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off