Sim2 Nero 3D-2 in the house!!! - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 75 Old 12-31-2012, 09:06 AM
Member
 
gigimonagas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I still have my Lumis Solo. I bought the Nero becuase I had to moved and didn't have the space for the big screen I used to have in my old place. The Lumis is too bright for my current setup, and after testing several projectors: JVC rs65, Sony 4k, I decided on the Nero. After testing side by side the Lumis and the Nero both machines calibrated, the only thing the Lumis excels over the Nero its brightness and image depth. The Lumis has a more 3D image, but colors are practicaly the same after calibration. The Nero is so sharp that makes other projectors look cheap.
gigimonagas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 75 Old 12-31-2012, 04:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
danieledmunds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bermuda
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Thanks for the feedback, interesting to hear that the colour reproduction on the Nero is practically the same. I have seen several other 3 chip models and been impressed but I have never had a chance to see a Lumis.

danieledmunds is offline  
post #63 of 75 Old 12-31-2012, 04:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
millerwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 49

I just read the projectorreviews of this projector, and it reported only 600 and something lumens when calibrated to D65.   This doesn't seem very impressive for a unit in this price range.    Am I missing something?   

millerwill is offline  
post #64 of 75 Old 12-31-2012, 04:52 PM
Member
 
gigimonagas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I believe projectorsreview got one of the first units to review. There has been a few firmwares after that review with major upgrades in both 2D and 3D.I also believe that reviewer has a fairly large screen, over 120". I have seen the Nero on a 120in screen calibrated to 18fl, so that pretty good. For my current setup, 92in batcave, the Nero is perfect
gigimonagas is offline  
post #65 of 75 Old 01-07-2015, 05:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Got myself a SIM2 3D-2. Is the only option to enjoy 3D the very expensive emitter and glasses from SIM2 itself?
sanderdvd is offline  
post #66 of 75 Old 01-07-2015, 05:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,908
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 836 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
Got myself a SIM2 3D-2. Is the only option to enjoy 3D the very expensive emitter and glasses from SIM2 itself?
The 3D sync port is a VESA DIN-3 port which means it should work with any 3-pin DIN emitter out there. The best, in my opinion, is the E-Star BC6000 system. It's fairly cheap too:

Starter kit (which includes the emitter and 1 pair of glasses):

http://www.amazon.com/EStar-America-.../dp/B00D39AUCI

Single Glasses:

http://www.amazon.com/EStar-America-...rds=Estar+6000
Seegs108 is online now  
post #67 of 75 Old 01-07-2015, 05:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
The 3D sync port is a VESA DIN-3 port which means it should work with any 3-pin DIN emitter out there. The best, in my opinion, is the E-Star BC6000 system. It's fairly cheap too:

Starter kit (which includes the emitter and 1 pair of glasses):

http://www.amazon.com/EStar-America-.../dp/B00D39AUCI

Single Glasses:

http://www.amazon.com/EStar-America-...rds=Estar+6000

are these glasses as good as the original from SIM2 you think?
sanderdvd is offline  
post #68 of 75 Old 01-07-2015, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,908
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 836 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
are these glasses as good as the original from SIM2 you think?
It looks like they're the exact same glasses from the same OEM, just with a different logo printed on either pair of glasses:



There are a few other companies using the exact same emitter and glasses. Optoma and Monster are a couple of them. The only thing that differentiates between them is the brand name printed on the side of the glasses/emitter and price. Performance is the same from a few posts I've read that compared them. Which makes sense because they're the exact same things. BitCouldron is the OEM:

http://www.bitcauldron.com/products.html

Last edited by Seegs108; 01-07-2015 at 05:48 AM.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #69 of 75 Old 01-07-2015, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
It looks like they're the exact same glasses from the same OEM, just with a different logo printed on either pair of glasses:

glasses are not the exact same. Look at the glasses where the nose is.
Anyway, why the hell would SIM2 ask € 799 for 1x glasses?
sanderdvd is offline  
post #70 of 75 Old 01-07-2015, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,908
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 836 Post(s)
Liked: 381
I think that's just the angle of the photo and the nose piece looks installed on the Sim2 glasses where on the E-Star photo the noise piece hasn't been installed yet. Either way, even if they are different, it's a 3-pin DIN connector so the E-Star system will still work with Nero 3D-2. For $63 it's worth a try and you can always return them to amazon if they don't work (even though I doubt you'll have problems).
Seegs108 is online now  
post #71 of 75 Old 01-07-2015, 08:17 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
cal87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Sim2 uses Xpand glasses. You can get these for cheap on Amazon with the emitter. Only thing is the emitter does not work at 144Hz, does work at 120Hz. Don't recall if this particular Sim2 model does that rate, but if you need it, you can get the correct emitter directly from Xpand. The BC versions also work fine. Matter of preference.


Edit: noted you are from Netherlands, not sure of the most cost-effective option there, but the options remain the same
cal87 is online now  
post #72 of 75 Old 01-07-2015, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 26
thanks for your response again.


Is this the same:


http://www.winnings.de/beamer/zubeho...3d-starter-kit
sanderdvd is offline  
post #73 of 75 Old 01-07-2015, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by cal87 View Post
Sim2 uses Xpand glasses. You can get these for cheap on Amazon with the emitter. Only thing is the emitter does not work at 144Hz, does work at 120Hz. Don't recall if this particular Sim2 model does that rate, but if you need it, you can get the correct emitter directly from Xpand. The BC versions also work fine. Matter of preference.


Edit: noted you are from Netherlands, not sure of the most cost-effective option there, but the options remain the same
Only the 3D-S does 144, the 3D-2 is 120
sanderdvd is offline  
post #74 of 75 Old 01-07-2015, 02:01 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
cal87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
Only the 3D-S does 144, the 3D-2 is 120
In that case, you would be fine with the cheap Mitsubishi Xpand sets if you can get them where you are located.
Any of the Bit Cauldron versions should also work fine.
Seegs108 likes this.
cal87 is online now  
post #75 of 75 Old 01-08-2015, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
d.j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
thanks for your response again.


Is this the same:


http://www.winnings.de/beamer/zubeho...3d-starter-kit

No, this is new Optoma ( "improved" ) version - but should still Work ( but havnt tried them myself )




But sanderdvd, look at these, ( they have the same connection ) , : http://www.amazon.com/EX105BT-Shutte...=xpand+x105-rf


you can ordrer them here as well now, and is exstreamly cheap - even if we have to pay tax and import fee ( here they end at double Price - about 50 dollar - still very cheap for quality 3D Xpand glasses)


dj
d.j. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off