Epson 6010 - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 391 Old 08-13-2012, 12:15 PM
Member
 
point1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

I'm looking to get feedback from people who have the 6010. I currently have an Epson 6500 right now in a dedicated theater room (lighting is a non factor). I was wondering if the 6010 is a good upgrade from this projector (my 6500 has less than 400 hours of usage since 2009) or should I wait for this year's (next year's) Epson model. If I recall, every year, Epson releases an updated model.

I think the next evolution from here on is 4k resolution right?

Jon
point1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 391 Old 08-14-2012, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,646
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Man I love the view of 2:35:1 but dont want to shell out 3k for a lens lol
Holiday121 is online now  
post #363 of 391 Old 08-14-2012, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
JoeBoy73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
The 6010 will do a 2.35 without a lens. I've seen it in person from a local dealer in Texas. Only downside is its a manual zoom cool.gif
JoeBoy73 is online now  
post #364 of 391 Old 08-14-2012, 12:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeBoy73 View Post

The 6010 will do a 2.35 without a lens. I've seen it in person from a local dealer in Texas. Only downside is its a manual zoom cool.gif

Any 16:9 projector will do 2.35, but if ceiling mounted, you might get pretty tired getting a ladder out and manually changing vertical and horizontal lens shift and zoom every time you change aspect ratio. Even table top mounted, it would be a pain. The minimum that i would want on a projector if going 2.35 is power lens shift, power zoom and power focus. lens memory would be a step up from there with an A-lens being my preferred method.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales
Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com

Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/

 

Call for B-stock projectors

Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.

AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #365 of 391 Old 08-14-2012, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,646
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Are there any projectors that do that with power?... Is there a difference in the lens between the built in on some of the projectors?
Holiday121 is online now  
post #366 of 391 Old 08-14-2012, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Francis Medina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lilburn, GA, USA
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The Panasonic AE-7000 can do the zoom lens automatically smile.gif
Francis Medina is offline  
post #367 of 391 Old 08-14-2012, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
jnabq is offline  
post #368 of 391 Old 08-15-2012, 04:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,646
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 35
So with the panny you can zoom auto and everything and get a 2:35 screen... So if these projectors can do that what is the point of the Anamorphic lens?
Holiday121 is online now  
post #369 of 391 Old 08-15-2012, 04:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
programmergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: summit, nj
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Zooming the projector you loose resolution and light. Basically you are cutting off about 1/3 of the chip it just appears black on the top and bottom. By using a lens you are getting full resolution every pixel on the chip is being sent to the screen and also all the light so you don't loose brightness. It gets worse by zooming and cutting light you are also throughing off your color calibration etc. Basically it works but an anamorphic lens is the better way but not without it's downsides as well. I suggest you go over to the 2:33 constant height board and look there a bit. Basically an anamorphic lens is the right way to do it as of now. In a couple of years we may see some new chips or 4k projectors get brigher.

Jason
Note: Any posts are of my personal opinions and not to reflect upon any business.

Jason@programmergeek.com

908 578-6466

programmergeek is offline  
post #370 of 391 Old 08-16-2012, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,646
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Thanks for the info will do some research..
Holiday121 is online now  
post #371 of 391 Old 08-18-2012, 05:08 PM
Member
 
gbickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi all,
I have have a new tw9000w (6010)....and I thought I'd ask here before taking this back.

The reds are way too saturated (thx, cinema, 3d mode) ... Faces look sunburnt ..came with firmware 1.04 installed. I know I can calibrate but thx mode should be way better than this.

Convergence is horrible, I played with panel align but it makes text lose its "punch"....its the red panel that I notice is out the most ....maybe I'm just fussy coming from dlp...I'm sitting normal distance from screen and can clearly see a red tinge around everything on a computer desktop.

On a side note I tried my panasonic glasses from my plasma tv and they are more comfortable than the Epson ones and seem to produce the same 3d picture.
gbickle is offline  
post #372 of 391 Old 08-18-2012, 05:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 140
If you can see a red outline from seating distance, I'd send it back...
Red is one of the most bothersome colors for convergence to be out too much.


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
post #373 of 391 Old 08-22-2012, 04:33 PM
Member
 
scarr2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought my Epson 6010 back in march of 2012, its been fantastic. Only issue I had was occasionally I would turn it on, only to get a bulb error (red light) on the side. Did this about 3-4 times at random intervals. Called Epson Monday and they 2 day shipped me a new bulb. Just wanted to give some props to Epson support. Only took my serial and I was we'll over the 90 days but prob only 40 hours on the bulb. Nice to see good customer service. smile.gif
scarr2k is offline  
post #374 of 391 Old 08-23-2012, 02:16 AM
Member
 
DefRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks,

quick question for the Epson owners in here:
Does the 5010/6010 support shifting of the lower black bar to the top when viewing 2.35:1 content?
I'm going to use a fixed frame screen with masking from the top so the lower edge of the picture should always be on the bottom of the screen to avoid using the manual lens shift.
I know I can probably do it when playing something from the HTPC (using MPC-HC), but what about dedicated Blu-Ray/DVD players?

If that's not possible I might have to go with a JVC with motorized lens-shift after all...
DefRay is offline  
post #375 of 391 Old 08-28-2012, 09:55 AM
Senior Member
 
ragged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Anyone know a dealer in MD, near zip 21045 that has one on display or where I could order one?

Thanks.
ragged is online now  
post #376 of 391 Old 08-28-2012, 08:14 PM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Please give me a call. I live in MD, zip 20833, probably within 1/2 hour from you.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #377 of 391 Old 09-02-2012, 04:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
canton160's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by john2910 View Post

Hello


So do more people have those anoying ghosting on the subtitles when in a 3d movie?

finally i found someone that has ghosting in subtitles in 3D.

choosing a different time for the 3D glasses stay open the 3D is perfect but the subtitles are unreadable, if i chose the option in the glasses the 3D movie gain crosstalk , ghosting and artifacts but subtitles are ok.

my 3D movies with this issue are the titles " turtles tale 3D" and " drive angry 3D" all the other 3D works well.

my projector epson tw6000 aka 3010 in usa.. the zoom is in minimal ( due to small room)

can some epson owners try their 3D movies with subtitles on, to check subtitle ghosting, I'm sure theres more people with this issue and epson need to address this with a firmware update.

thanks

Projector Mitsubishi HC5

Projector Optoma hd300x 

Av receiver Onkyo TX-NR 818

Oppo 103D

Media player Med1000x3D

 

 

KEN KREISEL DXD-808 

Q7000 5.1

canton160 is offline  
post #378 of 391 Old 09-03-2012, 12:53 AM
Senior Member
 
MAZMAN808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
choosing a different time for the 3D glasses stay open the 3D is perfect but the subtitles are unreadable, if i chose the option in the glasses the 3D movie gain crosstalk , ghosting and artifacts but subtitles are ok.

What do you mean with this? i dont understand it.
I watched the Avengers the other day in 3D and yes, i could also see crosstalk on the subtitles, didnt happen all the time but a few times it did and it was the first time ive seen it for me.
MAZMAN808 is offline  
post #379 of 391 Old 09-03-2012, 01:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
canton160's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAZMAN808 View Post

What do you mean with this? i dont understand it.
I watched the Avengers the other day in 3D and yes, i could also see crosstalk on the subtitles, didnt happen all the time but a few times it did and it was the first time ive seen it for me.

in the menu theres a option to "INVERSE 3D GLASSES" that allows the glasses to receive more light reducing crosstalk images in 3D
in some particulary 3D movies doing this, improves a lot the quality of 3D but gives loads of ghosting /artefacts in subtitles.

for example in "A turtle's tale 3D" on 14,54m the scene with seahorses its impossible to watch unless, i "inverse the 3D glasses" but clearly the subtitles get loads of ghosting impossible to read.
in the remote the option to "inverse 3D glasses" is by default the "user"

i imagine this bug, take so long to be address by epson , the average of users in avsforums and avforum, dont use subtitles in movies....but for the other non -english-native is a reallly annoying.

Projector Mitsubishi HC5

Projector Optoma hd300x 

Av receiver Onkyo TX-NR 818

Oppo 103D

Media player Med1000x3D

 

 

KEN KREISEL DXD-808 

Q7000 5.1

canton160 is offline  
post #380 of 391 Old 09-03-2012, 05:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAZMAN808 View Post

What do you mean with this? i dont understand it.
I watched the Avengers the other day in 3D and yes, i could also see crosstalk on the subtitles, didnt happen all the time but a few times it did and it was the first time ive seen it for me.

So you are SAYING Avengers is Released on Blu-Ray in Australia already???
drhankz is online now  
post #381 of 391 Old 09-03-2012, 06:18 AM
Senior Member
 
MAZMAN808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Canton160
Thanks, i didnt know about the inverse 3D glasses bit, i always wondered what that did, so i'll give it a go next time i watch a 3D movie.

drhankz,
Yes, Avengers was released here on the 28th of August, sorry champ that you have to wait biggrin.gif
MAZMAN808 is offline  
post #382 of 391 Old 09-03-2012, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAZMAN808 View Post

Canton160
Thanks, i didnt know about the inverse 3D glasses bit, i always wondered what that did, so i'll give it a go next time i watch a 3D movie.
drhankz,
Yes, Avengers was released here on the 28th of August, sorry champ that you have to wait biggrin.gif

YES a FULL MONTH smile.gif

I have it on ORDER.
drhankz is online now  
post #383 of 391 Old 09-03-2012, 11:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
canton160's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAZMAN808 View Post

Canton160
Thanks, i didnt know about the inverse 3D glasses bit, i always wondered what that did, so i'll give it a go next time i watch a 3D movie.
drhankz,
Yes, Avengers was released here on the 28th of August, sorry champ that you have to wait biggrin.gif


from another forum about the inverse 3D glasses.

"Inverse 3D glasses switches left and right images or rather, what your left eye sees with what the right eye sees and vice versa.
Therefore something in the foreground gets pushed to the background and so on.
It should only be used for images that are incorrectly formatted.
It does not make any changes to light throughput.

From P.58 of the manual:
"Reverses the synchronization timing for the left/
right shutters on the 3D Glasses and the left/right
images. Enable this function if the 3D effect is not
displayed correctly."

Projector Mitsubishi HC5

Projector Optoma hd300x 

Av receiver Onkyo TX-NR 818

Oppo 103D

Media player Med1000x3D

 

 

KEN KREISEL DXD-808 

Q7000 5.1

canton160 is offline  
post #384 of 391 Old 09-18-2012, 10:18 AM
Newbie
 
bcpeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CAN SOMEBODY PLEASE POST SOME PICS OF MOVIES!!!!!!!! LOL
bcpeery is offline  
post #385 of 391 Old 09-18-2012, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcpeery View Post

CAN SOMEBODY PLEASE POST SOME PICS OF MOVIES!!!!!!!! LOL

NO NEED TO
drhankz is online now  
post #386 of 391 Old 09-18-2012, 01:14 PM
Member
 
Special FX_45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

So you are SAYING Avengers is Released on Blu-Ray in Australia already???

LOL, that was the biggest thing that caught my eye as well in his post. Can't wait for release day next week!

FOR SALE - Definitive Technology CLR3000. PM me if interested.
Special FX_45 is offline  
post #387 of 391 Old 09-21-2012, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
PS3 3D glasses on sale at bestbuy if you need any. $30
jnabq is offline  
post #388 of 391 Old 09-23-2012, 01:09 AM
Member
 
gbickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Just an update for those that may be interested. (check my post number 371)

I sent it back to Epson because I wasn't happy with the Red panel convergence. I had a good play with the panel align feature but it would always make it worse somewhere else on the picture from the green or blue panel. Never get it right over the whole screen.

Epson sent it back and sure enough they had just had a play with the panel align feature. The Green panel was now worse than the red was. When I flicked up the Menu I could see obvious green lines around where it was supposed to be white. Also a purplish shadow had been introduced which I could see around Channel logos and subtitles.

I contacted Epson again and sent them some photos of the new problem and they replied back that the technician had said that the projector was fine from normal viewing distances and basically insinuated that I was being too fussy. Ill say this, if my Computer LCD monitor was anywhere near this bad I would find it unusable for text.

So long story short, I sold the projector at an $800 loss and will never buy Epson again. I think ill go DLP now or maybe SXRD as I have owned JVC LCOS and Sony SXRD before and the panel alignment had been fine.

I have uploaded a picture of how the Epson Menu looked (Epson deemed this fine and not a problem ... I know the whole panel cant be aligned perfectly because I had a problem getting it good and obviously the Epson "Technician" did as well)

gbickle is offline  
post #389 of 391 Old 10-29-2012, 08:45 PM
Member
 
DeaconDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: East Coast
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm hoping someone can help me with actual orientation of the 6010 power connector. When looking at the rear of the PJ, feet down (power connector on right), is the power connector

--- ---
--- or ---
--- ---

I will have very tight clearance at the rear of projector and need to order some right angle connectors for power and USB. The input diagram in the 6010 manual shows single prong to the left, which contradicts the photo on projectorreviews.com's review of the 5010 (I can't find a rear view photo of the 6010.

Thanks,
DD
DeaconDan is offline  
post #390 of 391 Old 10-30-2012, 03:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
sparky7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: reno,nv.
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeaconDan View Post

I'm hoping someone can help me with actual orientation of the 6010 power connector. When looking at the rear of the PJ, feet down (power connector on right), is the power connector
--- ---
--- or ---
--- ---
I will have very tight clearance at the rear of projector and need to order some right angle connectors for power and USB. The input diagram in the 6010 manual shows single prong to the left, which contradicts the photo on projectorreviews.com's review of the 5010 (I can't find a rear view photo of the 6010.
Thanks,
DD



here's some, http://www.hifi.com.cn/content-137-16-1.html same as 5010.

mark
sparky7 is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Epson Powerlite Pro Cinema 6010 Projector

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off