Official JVC X30 / RS45 owner's thread! - Page 154 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4591 of 4614 Old 06-11-2015, 06:57 PM
Member
 
happyfirst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I can't believe how hard it is to get to the ballast board. Finally got it out, unfortunately I can't see anything wrong with it. Claymic, your blown resistor looks ok on mine and the multimeter shows resistance. You said their was other stuff blown too? Where?

So now to decide to gamble on a new board AND that I can actually put this thing back together.
happyfirst is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4592 of 4614 Old 06-16-2015, 04:47 AM
Member
 
claymic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by happyfirst View Post
I can't believe how hard it is to get to the ballast board. Finally got it out, unfortunately I can't see anything wrong with it. Claymic, your blown resistor looks ok on mine and the multimeter shows resistance. You said their was other stuff blown too? Where?

So now to decide to gamble on a new board AND that I can actually put this thing back together.
In my case there is a IC burned (IC1).
I cant find a place to sell me the ballast, i tried to contact some stores that i found using google but without luck. Can someone help ? I would like to buy this as soon as possible.
Thanks
Clayton
claymic is offline  
post #4593 of 4614 Old 06-16-2015, 08:00 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11,135
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2187 Post(s)
Liked: 1167
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
As many of us have suspected since this series of JVC projectors, RS40, 45,46, came out, they have had a bad ballast. Maybe a motherboard too. I had my RS40 fixed under warranty for the same symptoms; flickering, failure to boot, etc. Haven't had a problem since. Just a lot of worry about when it will happen again.
The 40 and 45 use the same ballast, but the 46 uses a new ballast design and it has been pretty trouble free.

AV Geek for life. :) Contact for advice and help.
My Baffle wall Build: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...-tpl-150h.html
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #4594 of 4614 Old 06-16-2015, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,980
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
The 40 and 45 use the same ballast, but the 46 uses a new ballast design and it has been pretty trouble free.
Thanks for that clarification Mike. Does the 46 have any functional or visual improvements over the 40/45?

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #4595 of 4614 Old 06-16-2015, 12:08 PM
Member
 
happyfirst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by claymic View Post
In my case there is a IC burned (IC1).
I cant find a place to sell me the ballast, i tried to contact some stores that i found using google but without luck. Can someone help ? I would like to buy this as soon as possible.
Wow. That is going to suck if we can't order a new ballast. I figured it was going to take weeks, so I went ahead and just bought an AE8000U since I kind of wanted another projector anyways for nighttime patio movies. I still want to fix my RS45 though! Kind of ironic, years ago I had narrowed it down to the AE8000 (or was it 7000) and the RS45. Now the 8000 while old, still seems to hold it's own against newer projectors and they dropped the price substantially.

I did put my RS45 all back together MINUS the ballast to see if it would still turn on and show me the same error lights. I don't understand why JVC assembled it the way they did. There is enough room to slide that ballest tray out and the wire is long enough except for those two back screws that hold the tray up and that you can't get to without dismantling half the projector. So I reassembled it without the ballast, but I was then able to still plug the ballast in and slide it in. It is resting on top of the bottom metal heat sink, but if I ever do get a new ballast, then I will fashion something to hold the ballast try above that heat sink.

The ballast seems to be 2 power wires in, 2 power wires out, and a small plug for something (fan?). Does a 46 ballast have basically the same wires and would it fit in the space of a 45?
happyfirst is offline  
post #4596 of 4614 Old 06-17-2015, 03:39 AM
Member
 
claymic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought it here
http://www.partsimple.com/qal1305-001-jvc-n-13.html
It will take more or less 30 days to arrive.
Let´s see if this will fix my problem.
Regards

Last edited by claymic; 06-17-2015 at 03:59 AM.
claymic is offline  
post #4597 of 4614 Old 06-19-2015, 02:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
I was plugging the HDMI cable from my laptop to the X30, felt a little electrostatic spark discharge, and now both HDMI inputs show "No Input Signal". The projector still works with component input.

Has anyone else experienced this problem? Is it an expensive fix?
I'm having the same issue except i didn't plug or remove the hdmi cables left them in from the night before, woke up and now neither hdmi inputs are working. haven't tried the component input though.
bbgambino is offline  
post #4598 of 4614 Old 06-19-2015, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbgambino View Post
I'm having the same issue except i didn't plug or remove the hdmi cables left them in from the night before, woke up and now neither hdmi inputs are working. haven't tried the component input though.
Luckily, in my case the HDMI inputs came back to life on their own.

They didn't work when the "zapping" occurred (as a matter of fact, the displayed image disappeared when it happened). I tried a few things including doing a factory reset, and it still didn't work. I switched to component video input and used it for two weeks, and one day decided to try it again before bringing it in for repair, and it has worked since then!
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4599 of 4614 Old 06-19-2015, 03:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Luckily, in my case the HDMI inputs came back to life on their own.

They didn't work when the "zapping" occurred (as a matter of fact, the displayed image disappeared when it happened). I tried a few things including doing a factory reset, and it still didn't work. I switched to component video input and used it for two weeks, and one day decided to try it again before bringing it in for repair, and it has worked since then!

How were you able to do a factory reset? I've tried finding it in the manual with no success.
bbgambino is offline  
post #4600 of 4614 Old 06-19-2015, 04:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbgambino View Post
How were you able to do a factory reset? I've tried finding it in the manual with no success.
It's really surprising that the factory reset option is hidden in the Service Menu. I would have thought it should be in the regular menu.

The Service Menu can be accessed by Up, Down, Right, Left key sequence on the remote. You may have to try a few times to get the timing right.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4601 of 4614 Old 06-19-2015, 07:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've tried numerous times, but couldn't get into the menu. Were you able to get 1080p with the component cable?
bbgambino is offline  
post #4602 of 4614 Old 06-20-2015, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbgambino View Post
I've tried numerous times, but couldn't get into the menu. Were you able to get 1080p with the component cable?
The combination is actually

Up, Down, Right, Left, OK.

I think the resolution was 1080i with component cable. Also the range went from limited (16-235) to full (0-255)

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 06-20-2015 at 06:23 PM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4603 of 4614 Old 06-26-2015, 06:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
The combination is actually

Up, Down, Right, Left, OK.

I think the resolution was 1080i with component cable. Also the range went from limited (16-235) to full (0-255)

Ok, the component worked, just not the hdmi. So looks like the ports went bad. Hopefully I get lucky like you and they work 2 weeks later

Thanks for your help!
bbgambino is offline  
post #4604 of 4614 Old 06-26-2015, 04:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Guys, I've got the same problem with my X3 as others have posted. I've partly disassembled mine but having trouble finding the ballast board, can someone give me a pointer to where it is please? Is it by the PSU under the scaler board? Any tips for removing it? Many thanks.
neilc71 is offline  
post #4605 of 4614 Old 06-30-2015, 09:10 AM
Member
 
happyfirst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
On my RS45 it was the worst possible thing to get too. I had to remove a few boards and a metal frame to get to it. Follow the power wires from the lamp. I recall the gray lamp wires going right to it. Then at the other end, another pair of thick power wires came off of it and plugged into the bottom most board.
happyfirst is offline  
post #4606 of 4614 Old 07-11-2015, 06:09 AM
Newbie
 
vincz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello claymic
do you have received your ballast for JVC ?
it's easy to disassemble VP?

i think it"s possible to repair pwb, IC + resistor can be replace

i repair currently powerboard air conditioning heat pump and the problem is similar
Voltage Regulator is hot and can be damaged if heat sink is not properly fix correctly
this board cost 1000$ if you don't search to repair
vincz is offline  
post #4607 of 4614 Old 07-16-2015, 11:57 AM
Member
 
patyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mount Pleasant, SC
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you are still looking for a ballast board, I was able to get one at Encompass (https://www.encompassparts.com/item/...01/Ballast_Pwb) and it worked fine.

There is more info in this thread: Replacing JVC Ballast
patyoung is offline  
post #4608 of 4614 Old 07-17-2015, 05:02 AM
Member
 
claymic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vincz View Post
Hello claymic
do you have received your ballast for JVC ?
it's easy to disassemble VP?

i think it"s possible to repair pwb, IC + resistor can be replace

i repair currently powerboard air conditioning heat pump and the problem is similar
Voltage Regulator is hot and can be damaged if heat sink is not properly fix correctly
this board cost 1000$ if you don't search to repair
Yes, receive mine and replace it. The projector is working perfectly again.
I bought it here http://www.partsimple.com/qal1305-001-jvc-n-13.html
I could replace the IC and the resistor, but i don´t found the references for the IC, so i don´t know which one to buy. I don´t understand of this things. I just bought a new one , seems more simple.

For the guys that want to disassemble the projector to reach the Ballast : You need to disassemble everything, only after remove every single PCB and plates you will be able to reach the ballast. It´s not difficult, but you need to know that is a risk and it will take some minutes or hours, if its your first time.

About the cheap lamps we can find in Amazon, i bought one too. I installed yesterday and works fine, but i don´t thing that have the same lumens then the original one, i will have to measure this weekend. I did all calibrations and measures when i bought my RS45 so i can compare with the measures of this new lamp.

Any way, the projector is working and i will have fun this weekend

Regards
Clayton

Last edited by claymic; 07-17-2015 at 05:05 AM.
claymic is offline  
post #4609 of 4614 Old 07-26-2015, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
avfanatic1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Unfortunately my JVC RS45 is flickering I believe :/

Every 15-20 minutes the screen goes black for less than a second the the picture comes back. It frequently goes in waves- 3 flickers in 20 seconds then good for some period of time. Is this definitely a ballast board issue or could it be another board? Could it be the bulb?

I just want confirmation before I do anything or spend money. I've taken this apart before and am technically savvy, so I would definitely prefer to complete the repair myself (whether replacing a board or some component of a circuit board (unless IC chip or more complex part).
avfanatic1 is offline  
post #4610 of 4614 Old 07-27-2015, 11:18 AM
Member
 
happyfirst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So the new ballast arrived from PartSimple. Pretty fast! I've plugged in the new ballast and now i get further, but still have issues. I can see the lamp starting to illuminate and the fans come on. I see some blue light escaping the projection unit I assume where it's starting to project the logo. But after a few seconds, it shuts down, goes into cooling mode (standby blinking) and the lamp light starts a single blink. All the manual says it lamp wont light up. But I see it lighting up. I also have another bulb and same thing. The rear lamp cover is on. As a test, I left it off, and the projector then doesn't even try to turn the lamp on, so I know that part is correct.

All I can think of is something is not plugged in right. Such a shame one has to dismantle the whole thing to get to the part.

Are there any other reasons for a single blink lamp light?

Do I need to have the whole thing assembled? I still have various covers and plates off. Do I have to have a source plugged in? All I have plugged in is power.
happyfirst is offline  
post #4611 of 4614 Old 07-27-2015, 11:52 AM
Member
 
happyfirst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Never fails, after I post I figured it out. I double checked all the connectors and found one that was not all the way in.

It's alive!!!! It works!

Now I need to decide if I really take the whole thing apart again to install the ballast the original way. I wanted to make sure I could reassembly this thing before I spent money on the ballast so right now my ballast tray is 'slid' into it's space. I can install the two outer screws but there's no way to get to the two inner ones. Ridiculous that all of the disassembly was because of those two screws holding up the inside of the ballast tray. Most of the tray will not be resting on the bottom main supply upper metal shield. I wonder how hot that gets. I hope I can leave it this way such that if I need to replace the ballast again in a few years, I don't have to take it all apart again.
Fatshaft likes this.
happyfirst is offline  
post #4612 of 4614 Old 07-27-2015, 12:36 PM
Member
 
JeffR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 19
JeffR1 is online now  
post #4613 of 4614 Old 07-27-2015, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Socio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
My X30 got a pop up on screen to change the bulb and I got the orange light on the unit, I changed the bulb to a brand new one, everything works, image is even a bit brighter, but I still get the bulb pop up on start up and the orange light is still on?

What would cause this?

Thanks.

Edit: nevermind I forgot to reset the lamp.

Last edited by Socio; 07-27-2015 at 05:28 PM.
Socio is offline  
post #4614 of 4614 Old 08-17-2015, 11:27 AM
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi,
Unfortunatley I might be on the same boat as few on here. Summary of what happened....

Switched on the RS45 and HTPC for my wife. It was on for about a half hour. I use Kodi on the HTPC and that had gone in to its dimmed state as it was idle. My wife went up to the room then and hit a key on the remote to start browsing. As she did that Kodi brightened again and then the projector went off and had 2 solid red lights with the lamp light flashing.

Now, prior to this I didn't notice lower brightness or any other issues that would point to the lamp deteriorating. There was only about 500-700 hours on it. Bought it back in December 2012.

Is there any check I can do to determine if its just the lamp or if the ballast is gone? If it is the ballast does that mean that the lamp is done too, i.e. would it cause it fail?

Any info would be great,

Cheers.

Chris.
Its Chris is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , Projectors , Sony , Jvc Dla X30b 3d D Ila Projector , Jvc Dla Rs45 Home Theater Projector 1080p Hdmi
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off