JVC RS 45 / Sony HW30 / BenQ W7000 / Epson 5010 mini-shootout - Page 84 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2491 of 3270 Old 04-30-2012, 04:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Oh, and you'll need lots of hard drive space to back up Blu-ray discs.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2492 of 3270 Old 04-30-2012, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Interesting device, may get me one after the others in here have had it for a while longer and watched more content.
3TB holds how many 2 hour blurays these days with ALMOST lossless codec compression (barely lossy)?

I say almost lossless and I mean really to the point you cannot tell. I guess some of you are using straight lossless, but I'd probably try something slightly compressed to cram more onto one drive...


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
post #2493 of 3270 Old 04-30-2012, 05:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderguy View Post

Interesting device, may get me one after the others in here have had it for a while longer and watched more content.
3TB holds how many 2 hour blurays these days with ALMOST lossless codec compression (barely lossy)?

I say almost lossless and I mean really to the point you cannot tell. I guess some of you are using straight lossless, but I'd probably try something slightly compressed to cram more onto one drive...

60 movies x 50 GB = 3TB, roughly, though not all movies are a full 50GB. Probably about 70 movies. And that's with true lossless Dolby True HD or DTS HD MA. It's unlikely there are more than about 70 3D movies you'd want to own right now, so probably a personal 3D library would fit on one drive at this point in time. A personal 2D Blu-ray library? Much less likely. That's why some of us have large arrays for such libraries.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #2494 of 3270 Old 04-30-2012, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post

The models shipping from Amazon are already loaded with the latest firmware on their site. I've been using the v1 hardware for about 6 months now. Micca made a change to allow the correct 23.97 signal to output during 2D and 3D BD playback.

Thanks for the update, I just ordered one. At this price it is worth playing with.
Hope it really works well without too many issues. My unit will arrive on Wednesday.
rwestley is offline  
post #2495 of 3270 Old 04-30-2012, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gpmbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post


Slysoft's AnyDVD HD. Once it's installed (and configured the way you want), you're a few simple clicks away from creating a Blu-ray or Blu-ray 3D iso file.

Thx for the info.
gpmbc is offline  
post #2496 of 3270 Old 04-30-2012, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 233
The case has a nice finish, it's metal and it doesn't feel cheap.

I like how the drive drops in, slide the edge connector and it's ready to go. There is a heat sink pad at the top of the case to keep the drive cool, but the green drives hardly generate any heat - especially compared the WD Black drive which is a toaster oven.

zombie10k is offline  
post #2497 of 3270 Old 04-30-2012, 06:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 98
I have an external 3TB drive that I plan to try with it. It's USB 3.0.

Zombie, did you say it uses standard NTFS format, or did I imagine that?

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #2498 of 3270 Old 04-30-2012, 07:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

I have an external 3TB drive that I plan to try with it. It's USB 3.0.

Zombie, did you say it uses standard NTFS format, or did I imagine that?

NTFS is ok. I formatted the drive connected to a PC, moved over some data and the 950 reads it no problem.

3 generations of the media devices. The PCH-A110 was great for it's time, it could play back full M2TS files which was the main movie + HD audio. The PCH-C200 had a lot of growing pains, audio sync issues, etc. I haven't checked in a while to see if there are any updates. it sat idle since 2010 when I had the 3D HTPC setup. now full circle back to the media streamers.



While the HTPC is being retired for 2D and 3D playback, I am still a big fan of MCE7 + the Ceton card. The Ceton Quad tuner has been perfect for over 1 1/2 years now. Verizon FIOS looks great in MCE 7, you can't beat a good source and FIOS is about the best i've seen yet vs. satellite or cable.

I have 360's for extenders all over the house and got rid of the expensive set top rentals. In the rooms that don't have ethernet, I use the Motorola NIM100 MOCA bridges to bring 100MB in those rooms over coax.

zombie10k is offline  
post #2499 of 3270 Old 04-30-2012, 07:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 98
I really like Win7 Media Center with the MyMovies GUI. I think I'll give it one more try, after doing a full system backup with Acronis, so I can restore everything if I have HDMI level issues.

I'll put my entire 3D collection on the 3TB drive and see how that goes with this new device, then see if there's any way to integrate the other films on my UnRaid servers within a GUI. Options are always nice.

I wish I had FIOS as an option. Dish HD, back in the early days, used to have much better image quality. These days, it's all about quantity, and the bandwidth is far too limited to maintain a really good looking picture.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #2500 of 3270 Old 05-01-2012, 01:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post

Manni - Hi, as far as I can tell, it's a Micca only mod. It sounds like they had the OEM make a change to the hardware to create the correct NTSC output.

I'm testing it thoroughly over the next few days, but initial impressions are looking good so far. I haven't seen any skipping on the W7000, HW30 or the RS55.

if your interested once it's been validated, I can buy one and just send it to you in the UK. it's pretty cheap here in the US, much less than I paid for the 900B when I had it imported from the UK.

Thanks for the confirmation and thanks a lot for the offer, I'll let you know but for many reasons it's unlikely to happen if I have to import from the US. Maybe the changes will trickle up to the 900B at some point? In any case it's good to know the Realtek are able to provide proper 24p for both 2D and 3D.

My HTPC is working now (touching wood), and I'm still hoping that Dune will release a new model soon with either the 8910 (very unlikely) or a modified 86xx with HDMI 1.4 support (most likely). I really need MyMovies support and unfortunately Brian confirmed it wasn't on the table for the himedia/compatible models.

Please let us know your opinion when you've done more testing, I'll PM/email you if I have off topic questions...
Manni01 is online now  
post #2501 of 3270 Old 05-01-2012, 01:28 AM
 
HiFiFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

I really like Win7 Media Center with the MyMovies GUI.

Since we all built up a collection of PCs over time, I add them to each room connected to Gigabit Ethernet.
I'm waiting for Windows 8 and purchasing a laptop with GPS built-in. In other words I want to use navigation yet maintain my privacy.
I use Power DVD Ultra and Virtual Clone Drive. I've have to disable three Cyberlink services and block several of the .exe programs from steaming advertising with Windows Firewall.
The key concept is that I remain the System Administrator, as no one else has my best interest in mind.
I read the reviews of the Micca player at Amazon. Nice hardware, but the usual frustrations.
The smartest advice I can give is to use the WASAPI add-on for pcm audio, to bypass the degrading effects of Windows audio processing. I use it for Foobar 2000 along with the new USB DAC speakers like the Adam Audio Artist series. No frustrations - just the next level of performance.

No back to 1:1 mapping, ghosting, flicker and bright, high contrast images.
HiFiFun is offline  
post #2502 of 3270 Old 05-01-2012, 04:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post

Thanks for the confirmation and thanks a lot for the offer, I'll let you know but for many reasons it's unlikely to happen if I have to import from the US. Maybe the changes will trickle up to the 900B at some point? In any case it's good to know the Realtek are able to provide proper 24p for both 2D and 3D.

My HTPC is working now (touching wood), and I'm still hoping that Dune will release a new model soon with either the 8910 (very unlikely) or a modified 86xx with HDMI 1.4 support (most likely). I really need MyMovies support and unfortunately Brian confirmed it wasn't on the table for the himedia/compatible models.

Please let us know your opinion when you've done more testing, I'll PM/email you if I have off topic questions...

I've also been waiting for dune to come out with a 3D capable player. I don't have much faith for Popcorn hour after the C200 and A300, etc.

I used it for 4 hours last night on the W7000 going back and forth between 2D and 3D. it didn't skip a beat, I went through 20+ different 3D movies and a handful of 2D as well.. much faster than using PDVD or TMT 5. I can quickly scrub through the timeline and it picks right up as soon as I hit play.

The unusual thing is that I had skipping errors with the original 900b during certain 3D BD ISO playback. With nothing else changed except swapping in the EP950, it's perfect now. I even had the same firmware on the 900b, so this tells me something else changed - possibly a hardware update to the NIC.


** The Amazon reviews were all written before the 2nd rev was released which was just 3 days ago, i'd wait for feedback of the new models before making any judgements. There is a dedicated thread in the Network and Media area of the site.
zombie10k is offline  
post #2503 of 3270 Old 05-01-2012, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Hmm - this Micca looks pretty interesting. Was thinking about getting a Dune, but this might be the better choice. What kind of UI does it have? I've got a WDTV Live Hub that I could move to the bedroom.

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
post #2504 of 3270 Old 05-01-2012, 08:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post

Hmm - this Micca looks pretty interesting. Was thinking about getting a Dune, but this might be the better choice. What kind of UI does it have? I've got a WDTV Live Hub that I could move to the bedroom.

The interface is relatively sparse - just a directory listing of the file structure. The benefits are fast 2D and 3D BD ISO playback and direct play to skip all the BS that comes up when playing a BD. There are very few standalone players that can handle 3D BD this well.

PCH wasted too much time trying to make it look pretty and then had issues with audio sync, etc. I'd rather they get the basic playback right first.. then figure out how to bring in a jukebox style GUI. I believe YAMJ is working with data on the local drive and they are working on implementing it with network storage.
zombie10k is offline  
post #2505 of 3270 Old 05-01-2012, 09:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiFiFun View Post

Since we all built up a collection of PCs over time, I add them to each room connected to Gigabit Ethernet.
I'm waiting for Windows 8 and purchasing a laptop with GPS built-in. In other words I want to use navigation yet maintain my privacy.
I use Power DVD Ultra and Virtual Clone Drive. I've have to disable three Cyberlink services and block several of the .exe programs from steaming advertising with Windows Firewall.
The key concept is that I remain the System Administrator, as no one else has my best interest in mind.
I read the reviews of the Micca player at Amazon. Nice hardware, but the usual frustrations.
The smartest advice I can give is to use the WASAPI add-on for pcm audio, to bypass the degrading effects of Windows audio processing. I use it for Foobar 2000 along with the new USB DAC speakers like the Adam Audio Artist series. No frustrations - just the next level of performance.

No back to 1:1 mapping, ghosting, flicker and bright, high contrast images.

Which Cyberlink services do you disable to get rid of the ads?

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #2506 of 3270 Old 05-01-2012, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gpmbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Ordered the Micca last night, now AnyDVD HD, then 3TB and I'm in business right?
gpmbc is offline  
post #2507 of 3270 Old 05-01-2012, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpmbc View Post

Ordered the Micca last night, now AnyDVD HD, then 3TB and I'm in business right?

that's pretty much it. Visit the Networking, Media Servers & Content Streamers for more info on using ANYDVDHD or the 950. There's a handful of HTPC/media streaming enthusiasts that visit the mini-shootout thread which is why I posted it here.
zombie10k is offline  
post #2508 of 3270 Old 05-01-2012, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gpmbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Thanks I'll check it out.
gpmbc is offline  
post #2509 of 3270 Old 05-01-2012, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevenjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DC Metro area USA
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Ordered an Epson 6010 since my JVC 40 is just too damn dim for 3D. If the blacks and 2D are adequate on the Epson, I'll sell the JVC. If not, I'll decide what to do then. May just keep both and use one based on what I'm watching.

Anyway, the 6010 comes with two glasses so I'm covered for two people. My understand that the Xpand 103's don't work well with the Epson. I have several of these and want to confirm whether or not they will work. If not, what's the best glasses to use with the Epson (in addition to their own)?

...Steve
"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

 


My 3D-BD/BD/HD-DVD/DVD collection and HT gear

stevenjw is offline  
post #2510 of 3270 Old 05-01-2012, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenjw View Post

Ordered an Epson 6010 since my JVC 40 is just too damn dim for 3D. If the blacks and 2D are adequate on the Epson, I'll sell the JVC. If not, I'll decide what to do then. May just keep both and use one based on what I'm watching.

Anyway, the 6010 comes with two glasses so I'm covered for two people. My understand that the Xpand 103's don't work well with the Epson. I have several of these and want to confirm whether or not they will work. If not, what's the best glasses to use with the Epson (in addition to their own)?

I use the Optoma which are the Less Expensive Version of
the MonsterVision glasses without paying the Monster Price.
They are RF -NOT IR - they are the BEST.
drhankz is offline  
post #2511 of 3270 Old 05-01-2012, 12:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenjw View Post

Ordered an Epson 6010 since my JVC 40 is just too damn dim for 3D. If the blacks and 2D are adequate on the Epson, I'll sell the JVC. If not, I'll decide what to do then. May just keep both and use one based on what I'm watching.

Anyway, the 6010 comes with two glasses so I'm covered for two people. My understand that the Xpand 103's don't work well with the Epson. I have several of these and want to confirm whether or not they will work. If not, what's the best glasses to use with the Epson (in addition to their own)?

The Sony PS3 glasses work well with the Epson 6010. They recharge via USB, so I keep a 4-port USB hub on the mantle and have four sets charging all the time. I don't like them quite as well as the ones that came with the Epson, but they're a lot cheaper. I picked some up from Best Buy for $40 on sale.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #2512 of 3270 Old 05-01-2012, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevenjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DC Metro area USA
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Thanks for the replies on the glasses. I'll research both options a go from there if I need to add any.

Can someone confirm that the X103s do NOT work with the 5010/6010s?

...Steve
"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

 


My 3D-BD/BD/HD-DVD/DVD collection and HT gear

stevenjw is offline  
post #2513 of 3270 Old 05-01-2012, 01:26 PM
Member
 
THE DU3C3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenjw View Post

Thanks for the replies on the glasses. I'll research both options a go from there if I need to add any.

Can someone confirm that the X103s do NOT work with the 5010/6010s?

I have the X104s that I was using for my JVC and what I've read is that they work with the Epson line. I don't use my JVC for 3D anymore so I was getting ready to unload the glasses. If you're interested PM me.
THE DU3C3 is offline  
post #2514 of 3270 Old 05-03-2012, 11:32 AM
Super Moderator
 
Bob Sorel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,451
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:


60 movies x 50 GB = 3TB, roughly, though not all movies are a full 50GB. Probably about 70 movies. And that's with true lossless Dolby True HD or DTS HD MA. It's unlikely there are more than about 70 3D movies you'd want to own right now, so probably a personal 3D library would fit on one drive at this point in time. A personal 2D Blu-ray library? Much less likely. That's why some of us have large arrays for such libraries.

Does the Micca support 4TB drives? If I am going to drop a single drive into the machine itself, it might as well be the largest available for the moment...

My findings with the HiMedia 900A:

1. Plays 3D ISOs from a directly attached HD with no issues whatsoever...no stuttering and no frame dropping that I can detect.

2. Playing 3D ISOs with a USB attached drive is a hit or miss situation....plays some of them fine and stutters badly on others. I think it is a bitrate issue.

3. Playing either 2D MKV or 3D ISO over a gigabit network results in stuttering. Playing the same 2D files over the same network using J. River Media Center 17, Media Player Classic, or Zoomplayer or using the SageTV HD300 box results in flawless playback, so I am convinced that the problem is not in my network, but rather in HiMedia's poorly written Linux code.

4. Networking to the 900A is not the best...writing files to the directly attached hard drive is very slow, and when I delete a file, the free space is not recovered. I have to disconnect the drive from the 900A and attach it to a Windows machine to recover the space...very strange.

So, as long as I limit the HiMedia device to playing back 3D ISO files on the single drive I have directly attached, it works fine and I am happy enough. Even if the hardware is identical, if Micca's firmware can sort out some of the issues that HiMedia is not resolving, then it will be more than worth the price...
Bob Sorel is offline  
post #2515 of 3270 Old 05-03-2012, 11:47 AM
Super Moderator
 
Bob Sorel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,451
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:


It would be great if this device "just plain works."

I have owned 4 different units so far:

early Popcorn Hour - complete garbage
early HDX - complete garbage
HiMedia - works well enough, but has issues as described above
SageTV - Far and away the best player to date - nothing comes even close to its abilities as a 2D player in terms of networking smoothness, 24 FPS playback, features, interface, etc. It is just such a shame that Google bought them out (before they went 3D) just to shelve the entire product line...

Micca - just ordered one...
Bob Sorel is offline  
post #2516 of 3270 Old 05-03-2012, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Bob, let me know what you think of it when you get it. My 2 issues with the 900b were the 24FPS bug and the skipping on some (not all) of my 3D BD ISO's over a fast 12TB NAS connected to a 2008 R2 Server with a Perc 6 raid controller. I know it was the 900b since MCE7/PDVD/TMT5 can stream them fine.

I was surprised when I swapped in the Micca 950 that all the 3D BD's I had issues with play fine now. I didn't change anything on the network side so it must be something in the player.

The 24FPS bug appears to be fixed as well, so 2D and 3D BD should play back fine now @ 23.97. None of the media streamers are perfect, but i'm quite happy now with this 950 over my 900b even though they look physically identical. You can't beat the price - it's almost a giveaway.
zombie10k is offline  
post #2517 of 3270 Old 05-03-2012, 12:57 PM
Super Moderator
 
Bob Sorel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,451
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:


Bob, let me know what you think of it when you get it.

Will do...I will report back here as soon as I get the unit and test it under varied conditions and connection types...the good, the bad, and the ugly...
Bob Sorel is offline  
post #2518 of 3270 Old 05-03-2012, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whitetrash66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
So has anyone here compared the HW30 to the VW95? I know the 95 is way more, but how much better is the image quality of the VW95?
whitetrash66 is offline  
post #2519 of 3270 Old 05-03-2012, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sorel View Post

Will do...I will report back here as soon as I get the unit and test it under varied conditions and connection types...the good, the bad, and the ugly...

sounds good, i've run about 20+ 3D BD iso's through it so far and it's been behaving better than the 900b overall.
zombie10k is offline  
post #2520 of 3270 Old 05-03-2012, 07:26 PM
 
HiFiFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sorel View Post

Does the Micca support 4TB drives? If I am going to drop a single drive into the machine itself, it might as well be the largest available for the moment...

My findings with the HiMedia 900A:

1. Plays 3D ISOs from a directly attached HD with no issues whatsoever...no stuttering and no frame dropping that I can detect.

2. Playing 3D ISOs with a USB attached drive is a hit or miss situation....plays some of them fine and stutters badly on others. I think it is a bitrate issue.

3. Playing either 2D MKV or 3D ISO over a gigabit network results in stuttering. Playing the same 2D files over the same network using J. River Media Center 17, Media Player Classic, or Zoomplayer or using the SageTV HD300 box results in flawless playback, so I am convinced that the problem is not in my network, but rather in HiMedia's poorly written Linux code.

4. Networking to the 900A is not the best...writing files to the directly attached hard drive is very slow, and when I delete a file, the free space is not recovered. I have to disconnect the drive from the 900A and attach it to a Windows machine to recover the space...very strange.

So, as long as I limit the HiMedia device to playing back 3D ISO files on the single drive I have directly attached, it works fine and I am happy enough. Even if the hardware is identical, if Micca's firmware can sort out some of the issues that HiMedia is not resolving, then it will be more than worth the price...

Network writes or multitasking are a major weakness for all these little boxes. For superior critical performance, a HTPC with Intel i3, i5 or i7 will provide for smooth playback.
For networking my Asus 56 wireless router with twin USB ports performs writes at 100mbits/sec. I attach a 1TB 2.5 drive ($90 Costco) and use to stream for my 32K FLAC based audio tracks.
http://usa.asus.com/Networks/
Here many masterpieces were only $2 disc last week:
http://www.amazon.com/The-Decca-Soun.../dp/B005D51II0
HiFiFun is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , Jvc Dla Rs45 Home Theater Projector 1080p Hdmi , Kef Q700wa Floorstanding Speaker , Epson 5010 Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Projectors
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off