Update for the epson tw9000(5010) is ready - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 432 Old 03-23-2012, 06:09 AM
Senior Member
 
jslaw81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast68 View Post


By the way, this is HORRIBLE advice from EPSON
Oh and they lied, there is MORE to the firmware than just this.

I agree.. I have an old xp desktop that I haven't used in years. So I will try and update my 5010 and get the software.
jslaw81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 432 Old 03-23-2012, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
FreyTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Amish Country Lancaster, PA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jslaw81 View Post

I bought my 5010 from projector people.com. I inquired with them about the firmware upgrade and they contacted there Epson rep. Here's the response they got:

I have confirmed with Epson that the only "fix" that the upgrade is for is a sub menu on a rarely used setting that when the projector has been inverted for mounting, does not flip that particular menu screen appropriately. The menu if for aligning the LCD panels but I would not mention that unless the client asks specifically about the menu that is affected as it may raise more questions for you. The fact of the matter is that if the client wants to align their panels they may do so BEFORE they invert and mount and then there is zero issue.

The good news is that Epson has developed a kit that they will send to the end-users for the upgrade but they will ask for the kit to be retuned once they have completed the upgrade. The bad news is that it is not MAC OS compatible and it can only be used with Windows XP or OLDER Windows OS. I explained to them the unlikelihood of our clients having PCs that old and they are taking that to management to consider another plan. There is not currently a plan in place for these requests other than you bringing them to me on a case by case basis and we can determine the best way to manage at that point.

Jslaw, I also bought my 5010 from projectorpeople - will this supposed kit come from them or directly from Epson? Did they say if they would be offering to perform the updates at all, if this kit never comes to fruition?

I would gladly do the update myself if this kit is available, as my HTPC connected to the projector is still an XP machine. Please keep me updated on any further info you get on this from Projectorpeople or Epson.

FEEL an awesome 3D Blu-ray movie in the Frey Theater - Now with projection in glorious "FREYMAX" 3D!

FreyTheater is offline  
post #63 of 432 Old 03-23-2012, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
jslaw81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreyTheater View Post


Jslaw, I also bought my 5010 from projectorpeople - will this supposed kit come from them or directly from Epson? Did they say if they would be offering to perform the updates at all, if this kit never comes to fruition?

I would gladly do the update myself if this kit is available, as my HTPC connected to the projector is still an XP machine. Please keep me updated on any further info you get on this from Projectorpeople or Epson.

I spoke to my sales guy Kirk and he told me to call Epson now and they will send me the firmware kit. I just called Epson and they told me its estimated at 2 weeks before its available and to call them back at that time
jslaw81 is offline  
post #64 of 432 Old 03-23-2012, 09:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jslaw81 View Post


I spoke to my sales guy Kirk and he told me to call Epson now and they will send me the firmware kit. I just called Epson and they told me its estimated at 2 weeks before its available and to call them back at that time

I also called epson( calling from Canada), and at first they insisted that the projector (6010) can't be updated. I told them it can.

Anyway, they talked to a higher level tech and he said yes it can and 2 weeks for me to get.

Sweeet
muad'dib is offline  
post #65 of 432 Old 03-23-2012, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
FreyTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Amish Country Lancaster, PA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jslaw81 View Post

I spoke to my sales guy Kirk and he told me to call Epson now and they will send me the firmware kit. I just called Epson and they told me its estimated at 2 weeks before its available and to call them back at that time

OK, so then we have definitely determined that this update is for BOTH the 6010 and 5010, and not just for the 6010. Awesome!

LOL, they're going to be inundated with phone calls in two weeks...

I especially look forward to decreasing the amount of judder I see in 3D viewing, if this fixes the pulldown issue - but the other refinements in this firmware are also of fair importance to me - fixing the calibration screen, iris action, and sharpness function. They can hardly call this a "trivial" update with all these fixes.

Last question then - someone can PM me if necessary - Which phone number to call for Epson Support - is the number listed on their website, or only in the documentation that came with the projector? I sent them an inquiry email from their support page on their website two days ago, and did not hear back from them yet. I definitely want to call them on this in two weeks...

FEEL an awesome 3D Blu-ray movie in the Frey Theater - Now with projection in glorious "FREYMAX" 3D!

FreyTheater is offline  
post #66 of 432 Old 03-23-2012, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreyTheater View Post

OK, so then we have definitely determined that this update is for BOTH the 6010 and 5010, and not just for the 6010. Awesome!

LOL, they're going to be inundated with phone calls in two weeks...

I especially look forward to decreasing the amount of judder I see in 3D viewing, if this fixes the pulldown issue - but the other refinements in this firmware are also of fair importance to me - fixing the calibration screen, iris action, and sharpness function. They can hardly call this a "trivial" update with all these fixes.

Last question then - someone can PM me if necessary - Which phone number to call for Epson Support - is the number listed on their website, or only in the documentation that came with the projector? I sent them an inquiry email from their support page on their website two days ago, and did not hear back from them yet. I definitely want to call them on this in two weeks...

I just call them at the support number on their website.
http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/s...foType=Contact

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #67 of 432 Old 03-24-2012, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
con219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Down Under
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Have the 9000 here in Australia and just got mine back from repairs with the new fw version 104.

The difference in 2D viewing is very significant. Improved sharpness (Razor Sharp now ..no question)24p motion, skin tones and colours and contrast in THX mode is very noticable.

Watched The Edge last night in HD and scenes around the camp fire at night were best I have seen as far as the blacks go without losing shadow detail. They were inky black.
I use auto iris on normal.
con219 is offline  
post #68 of 432 Old 03-24-2012, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by con219 View Post

Have the 9000 here in Australia and just got mine back from repairs with the new fw version 104.

The difference in 2D viewing is very significant. Improved sharpness (Razor Sharp now ..no question)24p motion, skin tones and colours and contrast in THX mode is very noticable.

Watched The Edge last night in HD and scenes around the camp fire at night were best I have seen as far as the blacks go without losing shadow detail. They were inky black.
I use auto iris on normal.

What do you think is in the firmware upgrade that is causing the increase in sharpness? Do you know what your previous fw version was? I'm at 100 so who knows what was done in fw versions 101-103 as well.
WynsWrld98 is offline  
post #69 of 432 Old 03-24-2012, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by con219 View Post

Have the 9000 here in Australia and just got mine back from repairs with the new fw version 104.

The difference in 2D viewing is very significant. Improved sharpness (Razor Sharp now ..no question)24p motion, skin tones and colours and contrast in THX mode is very noticable.

Watched The Edge last night in HD and scenes around the camp fire at night were best I have seen as far as the blacks go without losing shadow detail. They were inky black.
I use auto iris on normal.

After the FW update, did the projector retain your picture settings/adjustments?

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #70 of 432 Old 03-25-2012, 03:41 AM
Senior Member
 
con219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Down Under
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 42Plasmaman View Post

After the FW update, did the projector retain your picture settings/adjustments?

No because the Tech set it to factory defaults. I had Optical engine replaced
and this is how the FW l.04 load came about.
I am pretty confident I am the first person in Australia to get it done. Reason being the flash was delayed because they had to make a "region setting" fix on the fw.

I think what that means is that they removed the Pixel Alignment capability in the main menu's. We don't get that option here. It is something that is sent to the service centre.
con219 is offline  
post #71 of 432 Old 03-26-2012, 05:03 AM
Senior Member
 
con219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Down Under
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by WynsWrld98 View Post

What do you think is in the firmware upgrade that is causing the increase in sharpness? Do you know what your previous fw version was? I'm at 100 so who knows what was done in fw versions 101-103 as well.

Really can't put my finger on it but I used to own a Sony HW10 and I noticed when I got the 9000 (6010 in US) the picture didn't have the sharpness or refinement like the Sony. Now it is as good.
This was apparant to me straight away. also 24p motion in 2D (haven't checked 3D) is very smooth. I had to check to see if CFI was on.
con219 is offline  
post #72 of 432 Old 03-28-2012, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by con219 View Post

No because the Tech set it to factory defaults. I had Optical engine replaced



Optical engine replaced? I wonder if that is where the improvement in sharpness came from, vs. the firmware update?
jnabq is offline  
post #73 of 432 Old 03-28-2012, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
One day someone will really tell us what the firmware does...until then the GREAT NEWS is that Epson has a method to IMPROVE the projector after release....
toofast68 is online now  
post #74 of 432 Old 03-28-2012, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast68 View Post

One day someone will really tell us what the firmware does...until then the GREAT NEWS is that Epson has a method to IMPROVE the projector after release....

Actually just got off the phone with my installer. They'll be getting the firmware from Epson in a couple days to update mine. I'll see what, if any, improvements I notice beyond the backward pixel alignment menu fix.
jnabq is offline  
post #75 of 432 Old 03-28-2012, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnabq View Post

Actually just got off the phone with my installer. They'll be getting the firmware from Epson in a couple days to update mine. I'll see what, if any, improvements I notice beyond the backward pixel alignment menu fix.

I most admit for the Customers that ceiling mount their PJ,
it is a dumb mistake by Epson. I am happy they have a FIX.
drhankz is offline  
post #76 of 432 Old 03-28-2012, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnabq View Post


Actually just got off the phone with my installer. They'll be getting the firmware from Epson in a couple days to update mine. I'll see what, if any, improvements I notice beyond the backward pixel alignment menu fix.

Where are you located? Bought my 6010 from Magnolia and they refer me to Epson saying they don't do firmware updates at all.
WynsWrld98 is offline  
post #77 of 432 Old 03-28-2012, 01:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by WynsWrld98 View Post

Where are you located? Bought my 6010 from Magnolia and they refer me to Epson saying they don't do firmware updates at all.

Is Magnolia the Best Buy high end "room" ?
toofast68 is online now  
post #78 of 432 Old 03-28-2012, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast68 View Post


Is Magnolia the Best Buy high end "room" ?

No I bought it at a standalone Magnolia store vs the tiny Magnolia room within BB which doesn't carry the Epson (at least at ones near me) but they are affiliated
WynsWrld98 is offline  
post #79 of 432 Old 03-28-2012, 03:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by WynsWrld98 View Post

No I bought it at a standalone Magnolia store vs the tiny Magnolia room within BB which doesn't carry the Epson (at least at ones near me) but they are affiliated

Mmmm, I would still "argue" with them...if they are selling the "high end" stuff they really should be supporting it.
toofast68 is online now  
post #80 of 432 Old 03-28-2012, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by WynsWrld98 View Post

Where are you located? Bought my 6010 from Magnolia and they refer me to Epson saying they don't do firmware updates at all.

Albuquerque, local dealer, Paradise Village, sold and installed my unit here. I did mention to them, I had no laptop and would be unable to update the firmware if one was needed for the procedure. They said they would take care of it for me. Hopefully, I'll get it done in a few days.
jnabq is offline  
post #81 of 432 Old 03-28-2012, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnabq View Post


Albuquerque, local dealer, Paradise Village, sold and installed my unit here. I did mention to them, I had no laptop and would be unable to update the firmware if one was needed for the procedure. They said they would take care of it for me. Hopefully, I'll get it done in a few days.

Magnolia really should do the firmware update and provide this simple service. I will push some more. What firmware update are you currently on? I am at version 100 and am curious what was done in firmware versions 101-103 as well.
WynsWrld98 is offline  
post #82 of 432 Old 03-28-2012, 06:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by WynsWrld98 View Post

Magnolia really should do the firmware update and provide this simple service. I will push some more. What firmware update are you currently on? I am at version 100 and am curious what was done in firmware versions 101-103 as well.

Nobody really knows much about the firmware, a few sources, like AV Science said Epson is close to releasing some details...but nothing really firm yet...no pun intended.
toofast68 is online now  
post #83 of 432 Old 03-29-2012, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by WynsWrld98 View Post

Magnolia really should do the firmware update and provide this simple service. I will push some more. What firmware update are you currently on? I am at version 100 and am curious what was done in firmware versions 101-103 as well.

My 6010 is currently on version 101. I haven't seen any info on what the different versions changed/updated, and I don't think Epson is talking???
jnabq is offline  
post #84 of 432 Old 03-30-2012, 05:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnabq View Post

My 6010 is currently on version 101. I haven't seen any info on what the different versions changed/updated, and I don't think Epson is talking???

There has been some speculation....we THINK 101 fixed the upside down pixel alignment...other than that, who knows.
toofast68 is online now  
post #85 of 432 Old 03-30-2012, 06:09 AM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Let me be perfectly clear. When we learn that version 1.04 is ready and about the procedures to be followed for installing it or getting it installed we will post such information. I have a 6010 sitting here ready to be loaded with the new software and which is holding up a whole theater installation we are doing.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #86 of 432 Old 03-30-2012, 08:43 AM
Newbie
 
Karasmanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They ( cine4home.de ) have already the new software and they ...test it
Karasmanis is offline  
post #87 of 432 Old 03-30-2012, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karasmanis View Post

They ( cine4home.de ) have already the new software and they ...test it

I did not find any reference through the Google Translate function
drhankz is offline  
post #88 of 432 Old 03-30-2012, 09:33 AM
Member
 
FSOL1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karasmanis View Post

They ( cine4home.de ) have already the new software and they ...test it

The red text in the rewiew marks changes with 104 update
FSOL1 is offline  
post #89 of 432 Old 03-30-2012, 10:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSOL1 View Post

The red text in the rewiew marks changes with 104 update

Well this is what is says...still kind of confusing as to really what is going on.

"Also, the current software update (March 2012) is already included, which affects the 3D, the iris control and the Super resolution. This is therefore the first proper test of the final image properties of Epson EH-TW9000."

There seems to be a bit more in RED as well, but I am out of time this afternoon to translate it...or just too lazy perhaps.
toofast68 is online now  
post #90 of 432 Old 03-30-2012, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast68 View Post

There has been some speculation....we THINK 101 fixed the upside down pixel alignment...other than that, who knows.

101 on mine and the "backward" pixel alignment operation, for upside down/ceiling mount, still exists. It must've been to address something else.
jnabq is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Epson 5010 Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Epson 5010 E Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector With Wirelesshd

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off