Update for the epson tw9000(5010) is ready - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 432 Old 04-14-2012, 05:48 PM
Member
 
eazyriderr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Once again if anyone gets their hands on the TW9000 (specifically) firmware update please share it.
eazyriderr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 432 Old 04-14-2012, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by eazyriderr View Post

Once again if anyone gets their hands on the TW9000 (specifically) firmware update please share it.

PM sent

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #213 of 432 Old 04-14-2012, 10:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by iovlkiev View Post

Would someone be so kind and send me a link to the firmware and instructions as well?

BR,
iovlkiev

PM Sent

BTW it's a little difficult to determine who still needs the info sent. I'm sorry if I've missed someone, but your welcome to PM me directly and then we'll keep the thread a little cleaner.
jnabq is offline  
post #214 of 432 Old 04-15-2012, 12:52 AM
Newbie
 
Ulric2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
Would someone send me the link to the firmware too ? Thanks a lot
Ulric2 is offline  
post #215 of 432 Old 04-15-2012, 07:11 AM
Member
 
imwho88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my TW8000 with V 1.01. Does TW8000 share the same firmware with TW9000? If it does, would someone send me V1.04 please? thinks a lot!
imwho88 is offline  
post #216 of 432 Old 04-15-2012, 08:15 AM
Newbie
 
alefgr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello from Greece...

I have the EU model TW9000W with v101 firm. I would someone to send me the firmware and infos please. Thanks...
alefgr is offline  
post #217 of 432 Old 04-15-2012, 05:33 PM
Member
 
Larry Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Grateful to jnaba for sharing the file , cautiously , I had updated from 101 to 104 using
XP laptop , just a few points to share with those who will follow :

1. The com port is somtime hiding in the Device Manager - you click top "view" button to disclose it before learning the exact com port , in my case , it is Com 4 .
2. I connected the USB cable first before putting the PJ to download mode - should be the correct way to do it as also confirmed by other members .
3. I installed IDOL from the unzipped firmware folder on the desktop and 1st time executed it but it came out with "vbmcom32.ocx does not exist - I followed instruction and went to C:\\EPSON\\IDOL3.0.5 and just clicked the "Install.bat" , 1KB MS-DOS Batch file , then run the IDOL again with no problem .


I am just average in using computer and no expert but if I could do it , then most of you can !

I watched my 6010D briefly in 2D , the picture is indeed better , more refined & detailed .
Will try 3D to-morrow .

Again , thanks jnabq for providng the link to the firmware , think of all the transport expenses for sending back your PJs to dealers or Epson Service Center for just a 5 minutes update . Epson should really let us have the new firmwares in future -
Given so many expertise members here in AVS forum and their excellent advices .

Larry posted with thanks !
Learning so much from this forum for the last 8 years !
Larry Ng is offline  
post #218 of 432 Old 04-16-2012, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Noticiable improvements

1. The iris is quieter and sounds smoother.
2. The PQ for shots that pan from side to side look smoother.

*PQ sharpness & color look the same as prior to the v1.04 upgrade.

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #219 of 432 Old 04-16-2012, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flint350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
To check the new firmware recently, I watched "I Robot". To me, this is one of the better Blu Ray transfers still out there for image quality, color, detail, etc. It looked wonderful, but I noticed something when I checked the 6010's "Info" display. It shows the signal connection as "HDMI" from my Oppo BD-93 as it should. However, it also shows the signal type as "Component". I don't recall if it always did that before the upgrade or not.

Since nothing else was connected except the HDMI from the Oppo through my HDMI 1.4 Pioneer AVR, I was surprised to see "Component". I re-checked all menu settings and can't find anything set incorrectly, so I assume this is just a nomenclature thing with Epson. It showed the HDMI, 1080p, 24Hz, etc correctly. Strictly speaking, there is a difference between a component and an HDMI connection, so I wondered about it.

Ray
"You cannot reason a person out of a position he did not reason himself into in the first place." -Jonathan Swift
flint350 is offline  
post #220 of 432 Old 04-16-2012, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by flint350 View Post

To check the new firmware recently, I watched "I Robot". To me, this is one of the better Blu Ray transfers still out there for image quality, color, detail, etc. It looked wonderful, but I noticed something when I checked the 6010's "Info" display. It shows the signal connection as "HDMI" from my Oppo BD-93 as it should. However, it also shows the signal type as "Component". I don't recall if it always did that before the upgrade or not.

It's always done this. It even did this on my Epson 8350.

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #221 of 432 Old 04-16-2012, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Ng View Post

Grateful to jnaba for sharing the.... Learning so much from this forum for the last 8 years !

Very welcome Larry, and thanks for the feedback on your update experience. Like you, I thought the picture did look better, sharper, but I think the jury is still out on this? I respect Plasmaman's opinion and I think he believes it hasn't changed. Maybe the convergence is/was, better on his unit, than what ours was?
jnabq is offline  
post #222 of 432 Old 04-16-2012, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Davecraze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sorry if this was already posted, but it's all official-like now...

http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/s...63&foid=208169
Davecraze is offline  
post #223 of 432 Old 04-17-2012, 12:33 PM
Newbie
 
Richman1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi There!

The local EPSON-Support (Germany) told me, that there is only one way to get the FW-Update: send the projector to a service center, wich is far away from my hometown. But that´s a thing, I will not do with my new 3.000 projector. So it would be very kind, if someone would send me the DL-Link for the instruction and the software.

Thank you in advance!
Richman1972 is offline  
post #224 of 432 Old 04-17-2012, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
FreyTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Amish Country Lancaster, PA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davecraze View Post

Sorry if this was already posted, but it's all official-like now...

http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/s...63&foid=208169

Well, I see this on that Epson 5010 FAQ page:

"Epson is providing the firmware update files and instructions on an as needed basis for the customers that have the required mini-USB cable and a supported operating system such as Windows XP."

Since they evidently will now be giving out their link to most anyone that contacts their support, it should become common knowledge very soon... no need to hold back on this one "obscure" thread in the vastness of the internet... actually, the link is so simple, we all pretty much could have guessed it...

Epson FTP link for US 5010/6010: ftp://ftp.epson.com/drivers/epson14639-FW104.zip

Disclaimer: I do not know if this firmware will work for the tw9000 or not, especially the AU version; since the convergeance controls are in the service menu for AU models, the firmware may be different. If you need to know for sure, you'll need to contact Epson and obtain the link for the tw9000 firmware, and see if it is the same link or filename as this one. Can anyone else confirm?

FEEL an awesome 3D Blu-ray movie in the Frey Theater - Now with projection in glorious "FREYMAX" 3D!

FreyTheater is offline  
post #225 of 432 Old 04-17-2012, 05:20 PM
Newbie
 
seancowger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Turn on the projector and wait for the power indicator to stop flashing.


To view the After Service (AS) menu, press and hold the Menu button on the remote or the projector's control panel for at least 8 seconds, then release it. Within 4 seconds of releasing the menu button, press the ESC button twice.


Press the right directional button on the remote control or projector's control panel.


The After Service (AS) menu Versions screen will be displayed.


Confirm the firmware version at the top line starting with the letter "P". The last 3 digits of the firmware version should be V104 or higher.


The following system requirements must be met in order to perform a firmware update.

Windows 98SE

Windows ME

Windows 2000

Windows XP


Your computer must also have a USB port and at least 20MB available hard disk space.

Note: Windows Vista, Windows 7, and Mac OS X are not supported.

Epson is providing the firmware update files and instructions on an as needed basis for the customers that have the required mini-USB cable and a supported operating system such as Windows XP.

Epson is also offering a firmware update kit. The kit contains a 15ft (4.6m) mini-USB cable, a CD with firmware update files, a printed set of instructions, a prepaid self addressed FedEx return shipping label and an envelope. Epson requires that you use the label and the envelope to ship the kit back to Epson within 10 business days after updating the firmware.

To request the firmware update files or a firmware update kit, contact EPSON technical support via the PrivateLine at 1-800-637-7661 (Requires a PIN authorization found on your PrivateLine card that came with the projector's documentation). When you call, make sure you are next to your projector to provide the technician with the projector's serial number and the current firmware version. The PrivateLine is available from Monday through Friday 6AM-8PM (PT) and Saturday 7AM-4PM (PT) for the duration of your warranty.

If you no longer have the PrivateLine card, you can speak with a projector support specialist by calling US: (562) 276-4394 from Monday through Friday 6AM-8PM (PT) and Saturday 7AM-4PM (PT) or Canada: (905) 709-3839, 6AM to 6PM, Pacific Time, Monday through Friday (except holidays).
seancowger is offline  
post #226 of 432 Old 04-17-2012, 05:37 PM
Member
 
eazyriderr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope the EU (AU my case) TW9000 gets a official release also, I know some people are updating using the US firmware but I just need some conformation from Epson to say its ok to be safe.
eazyriderr is offline  
post #227 of 432 Old 04-17-2012, 07:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
michael goldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: portland or
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No laughing allowed ;-) I have set up my 6010. Thanks to all.
My question is how to change the light output on 3D I am sure I will go Duh when someone kindly responds, but in the meantime I am just missing it
Thanks in advance

michael
michael goldman is offline  
post #228 of 432 Old 04-17-2012, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by michael goldman View Post

No laughing allowed ;-) I have set up my 6010. Thanks to all.
My question is how to change the light output on 3D I am sure I will go Duh when someone kindly responds, but in the meantime I am just missing it
Thanks in advance

I think this covers it from the manual, enjoy the pj!

Select the image source you want to adjust, then press the Color Mode button on the remote
control. Choose from these settings:
■ Cinema for viewing movies in a dimly lit room.
■ Dynamic for projecting the brightest picture
available.
■ Living Room for watching television programs
during the day.
■ Natural or THX for projecting natural, accurate
colors in a dimly lit room.
■ 3D Dynamic for projecting the brightest 3D picture available (only available when the
projector is in 3D Mode).
■ 3D Cinema for viewing 3D movies in a dimly lit room (only available when the projector
is in 3D Mode).
■ THX 3D for projecting natural, accurate colors in a dimly lit room (only available when
the projector is in 3D Mode).
jnabq is offline  
post #229 of 432 Old 04-17-2012, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Good to see Epson finally making this FW update, "official", and readily available.
jnabq is offline  
post #230 of 432 Old 04-17-2012, 07:23 PM
Newbie
 
seancowger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michael goldman View Post

No laughing allowed ;-) I have set up my 6010. Thanks to all.
My question is how to change the light output on 3D I am sure I will go Duh when someone kindly responds, but in the meantime I am just missing it
Thanks in advance

I ordered my 6010 and i can't wait to get it. I'm curious about something however, Does the 6010 have wirelessHD? What type of screen do you use?

Anyways there should be THX 3D mode.
seancowger is offline  
post #231 of 432 Old 04-17-2012, 08:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
michael goldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: portland or
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jnabq
Thanks for the response. Just must have missed the point. Sorta like looking for your glasses and they are on your forehead
Seancowger
I have an HDMI cable from my Receiver to the Projector so I don't know about the wireless capabilities. I use a high dain screen which was in place from a previous installation. Seems to work fine. However I do have a fully light controlled room
The reason for my question was that I thought the #D using THX was a little dark.
Still happy as a clam with the unit

michael
michael goldman is offline  
post #232 of 432 Old 04-18-2012, 04:34 AM
Newbie
 
Giorgosuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I please have a link for the 9000W version fw as well

Thanks a lot

Georgios
Giorgosuk is offline  
post #233 of 432 Old 04-18-2012, 06:22 AM
Newbie
 
AlmostFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
In the new version of the instructions pdf (R1) they have swapped the order of connecting the cable and powering on the PJ, as some of you suggested...
AlmostFast is offline  
post #234 of 432 Old 04-18-2012, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flint350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by seancowger View Post

I ordered my 6010 and i can't wait to get it. I'm curious about something however, Does the 6010 have wirelessHD? What type of screen do you use?

Anyways there should be THX 3D mode.

You have to order the "e" version of the 5010/6010 to get the wireless built in. There are aftermarket options available that do the same thing if you already have the standard (non-wireless) projector.

Ray
"You cannot reason a person out of a position he did not reason himself into in the first place." -Jonathan Swift
flint350 is offline  
post #235 of 432 Old 04-18-2012, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giorgosuk View Post

Can I please have a link for the 9000W version fw as well

Thanks a lot

Georgios

PM sent regarding the FW
jnabq is offline  
post #236 of 432 Old 04-18-2012, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
 
xtrips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnabq View Post

PM sent regarding the FW

Hello,

What? Do you have a link for the European version?
Please PM me too.

Thank you
xtrips is offline  
post #237 of 432 Old 04-18-2012, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtrips View Post

What? Do you have a link for the European version?

Nope, the information I sent was the same I have had, ie., the FW for the 6010/5010, (US versions). I did point them toward the link FreyTheater posted for the official Epson FW at, ftp://ftp.epson.com/drivers/epson14639-FW104.zip where it seems they changed some sequence for the download mode in the instructions. I know of no "official" European version available, as I'm just a customer like you, who was able to get the FW from my dealer/installer.
jnabq is offline  
post #238 of 432 Old 04-20-2012, 03:14 AM
Senior Member
 
charlievoviii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just stumble on this thread so I did the firmware check. I bought my 5010 back in Feb and it came with v104, im happy lol
charlievoviii is offline  
post #239 of 432 Old 04-20-2012, 09:19 AM
Newbie
 
BlackF1re's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone tested the input lag with gaming on 5010/6010 with the new firmware?
BlackF1re is offline  
post #240 of 432 Old 04-20-2012, 11:30 AM
TgL
Newbie
 
TgL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi! I have also bought the TW9000 and would be grateful if someone could send me the firmware 1.04,i also have another problem and that is that the top border of the movie screen isnt horisontal.There a difference of a couple of centimeters and from left to right and i wonder how i can fix it,my earlier Panna 4000 was standing in the exact spot and didnt have that problem.
I hope someone could help me here with those two things..
Best regards..
TgL is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Epson 5010 Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Epson 5010 E Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector With Wirelesshd

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off