Update for the epson tw9000(5010) is ready - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP > Update for the epson tw9000(5010) is ready

Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

john2910's Avatar john2910
04:02 AM Liked: 17
post #1 of 432
03-12-2012 | Posts: 332
Joined: Nov 2006
The update is there and brings the following:

The update brings an improved programming of the IRIS membrane.

In addition, the "super resolution" now better aligned with the 5 institutions and our main criticism was that choppy 3D view now revised and corrected.

Unfortunately, the "inter-frame" is still only available for 2D display
sanderdvd's Avatar sanderdvd
06:40 AM Liked: 24
post #2 of 432
03-12-2012 | Posts: 2,206
Joined: Nov 2001
apparantly more information about the update is comming soon!
john2910's Avatar john2910
06:45 AM Liked: 17
post #3 of 432
03-12-2012 | Posts: 332
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

apparantly more information about the update is comming soon!

Yes we have to wait a bit longer...
john2910's Avatar john2910
10:01 AM Liked: 17
post #4 of 432
03-13-2012 | Posts: 332
Joined: Nov 2006
Topic is edited...
sanderdvd's Avatar sanderdvd
01:24 PM Liked: 24
post #5 of 432
03-13-2012 | Posts: 2,206
Joined: Nov 2001
I just bought a new Epson TW9000 which just came right from Epson. How do I find out which firmware version my Epson has?
WynsWrld98's Avatar WynsWrld98
04:21 PM Liked: 23
post #6 of 432
03-13-2012 | Posts: 2,483
Joined: Nov 1999
What does super resolution aligned with 5 institutions mean??
GrantMeThePower's Avatar GrantMeThePower
05:02 PM Liked: 12
post #7 of 432
03-13-2012 | Posts: 1,673
Joined: Dec 2003
I'd be interested to learn if this means there is any change to the input lag.
sanderdvd's Avatar sanderdvd
12:37 AM Liked: 24
post #8 of 432
03-14-2012 | Posts: 2,206
Joined: Nov 2001
We somehow need to find out the release notes of the new firmware.

I have a new Epson TW9000 which I bought yesterday. The dealer told me it has the latest firmware. I see that my menu has a 'superresolution' option which can be set from 1-5. Does this mean I have the new released firmware?
WynsWrld98's Avatar WynsWrld98
12:52 AM Liked: 23
post #9 of 432
03-14-2012 | Posts: 2,483
Joined: Nov 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

We somehow need to find out the release notes of the new firmware.

I have a new Epson TW9000 which I bought yesterday. The dealer told me it has the latest firmware. I see that my menu has a 'superresolution' option which can be set from 1-5. Does this mean I have the new released firmware?

No, I've had mine for about 6 weeks and it has the Super Resolution option with values 1-5 too.
sanderdvd's Avatar sanderdvd
07:36 AM Liked: 24
post #10 of 432
03-14-2012 | Posts: 2,206
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by WynsWrld98 View Post

No, I've had mine for about 6 weeks and it has the Super Resolution option with values 1-5 too.

But how would one then find out which firmware version he has?????
toofast68's Avatar toofast68
02:02 PM Liked: 19
post #11 of 432
03-14-2012 | Posts: 938
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

But how would one then find out which firmware version he has?????

Yes and and more importantly how can we UPDATE the unit if we have it at our homes ? I see no way to do this?
happybob's Avatar happybob
06:33 PM Liked: 10
post #12 of 432
03-14-2012 | Posts: 121
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by john2910 View Post

The update is there and brings the following:

The update brings an improved programming of the IRIS membrane.

In addition, the "super resolution" now better aligned with the 5 institutions and our main criticism was that choppy 3D view now revised and corrected.

Unfortunately, the "inter-frame" is still only available for 2D display

john2910, where did you get your information on this new update? any more details on how we can get them? seems like you've created even more speculations...
WynsWrld98's Avatar WynsWrld98
09:10 PM Liked: 23
post #13 of 432
03-14-2012 | Posts: 2,483
Joined: Nov 1999
I looked in the Info menu and the only field that MAY have firmware as part of it is named 'Status' but it's a long numeric value, have no idea if firmware version is part of this value but none of the other values looked like firmware version.
john2910's Avatar john2910
11:07 PM Liked: 17
post #14 of 432
03-14-2012 | Posts: 332
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by happybob View Post

john2910, where did you get your information on this new update? any more details on how we can get them? seems like you've created even more speculations...

Hello there

These information have i directly from my dealer(grobi in germany).

The update can only be done by your dealer or you need to call epson support.

I still need it to do to.

If i have time(its a long drive for me) i bring my epson to my dealer.(grobi).

They will do the update for me
happybob's Avatar happybob
11:30 PM Liked: 10
post #15 of 432
03-14-2012 | Posts: 121
Joined: Mar 2004
Anyone in the US with more information on this 5010/6010 firmware update? Or is this an European release only?
john2910's Avatar john2910
12:13 PM Liked: 17
post #16 of 432
03-15-2012 | Posts: 332
Joined: Nov 2006
Hopefully i will get the update done by the dealer this saturday.

I will let you know here the difference in performance.
toofast68's Avatar toofast68
12:30 PM Liked: 19
post #17 of 432
03-15-2012 | Posts: 938
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by john2910 View Post

Hopefully i will get the update done by the dealer this saturday.

I will let you know here the difference in performance.

See if you can find out what it addresses...what firmware you are on now vs. new one, etc.

Thanks much!
eazyriderr's Avatar eazyriderr
11:19 PM Liked: 10
post #18 of 432
03-15-2012 | Posts: 51
Joined: Dec 2006
"improved programming of the IRIS membrane"

Any ideas as to what this will do or mean?
toofast68's Avatar toofast68
06:52 AM Liked: 19
post #19 of 432
03-16-2012 | Posts: 938
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by eazyriderr View Post

"improved programming of the IRIS membrane"

Any ideas as to what this will do or mean?

Where did you find that ?

If I were to guess, I would say that they are trying to improve the function of the IRIS. Either quiet it down, or make the transition from light/dark scenes a bit smoother.
Elkhunter's Avatar Elkhunter
08:33 PM Liked: 10
post #20 of 432
03-16-2012 | Posts: 316
Joined: Jul 2008
To check your firmware:

1. Press and hold the Menu button for at least 8 seconds - then release it.

2. Press the Esc button twice.

3. Select the second page (Versions) by pressing the right navigation button once.

4. The projector's current firmware is the last three digits of the first line (P).

5. To exit - press the Menu button once.


According to Epson (I called them today), the current firmware is 104. It was released on Feb 2nd. The tech said that it corrects an alignment bug when the projector's were ceiling mounted.

Good news:
They are working on a user upgradeable method, which will be available "soon" - possibly in a week! The firmware will be sent out via email.

My 5010 needs an update - I have V100. Anyone with 104 (or 105,...)???

john2910:
What is your new firmware version - V105???
toofast68's Avatar toofast68
08:40 PM Liked: 19
post #21 of 432
03-16-2012 | Posts: 938
Joined: Nov 2007
Wow, wonder what that fix really means ?

Feb 2 is 6 weeks ago and we find this out now from epson ??
WynsWrld98's Avatar WynsWrld98
11:03 PM Liked: 23
post #22 of 432
03-16-2012 | Posts: 2,483
Joined: Nov 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elkhunter View Post

To check your firmware:

1. Press and hold the Menu button for at least 8 seconds - then release it.

2. Press the Esc button twice.

3. Select the second page (Versions) by pressing the right navigation button once.

4. The projector's current firmware is the last three digits of the first line (P).

5. To exit - press the Menu button once.


According to Epson (I called them today), the current firmware is 104. It was released on Feb 2nd. The tech said that it corrects an alignment bug when the projector's were ceiling mounted.

Good news:
They are working on a user upgradeable method, which will be available "soon" - possibly in a week! The firmware will be sent out via email.

My 5010 needs an update - I have V100. Anyone with 104 (or 105,...)???

john2910:
What is your new firmware version - V105???

I tried this, steps 1 and 2 but the menu was gone after that, never saw what is described in step 3. I tried it three times and it didn't work for me. I have a 6010.
eazyriderr's Avatar eazyriderr
02:48 AM Liked: 10
post #23 of 432
03-17-2012 | Posts: 51
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:


Good news:
They are working on a user upgradeable method, which will be available "soon" - possibly in a week! The firmware will be sent out via email.


If that turns out to be true that's great news. I'm loving my TW9000 and if they intend to make little further improvements that's awesome.
jslaw81's Avatar jslaw81
04:41 AM Liked: 15
post #24 of 432
03-17-2012 | Posts: 314
Joined: Oct 2010
So how would we update the unit? Through the Ethernet port in the back that's for the 3d emitter?
drhankz's Avatar drhankz
05:57 AM Liked: 50
post #25 of 432
03-17-2012 | Posts: 6,466
Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jslaw81 View Post

So how would we update the unit? Through the Ethernet port in the back that's for the 3d emitter?

I am just guessing but my Guess is the RS232 port.
john2910's Avatar john2910
06:04 AM Liked: 17
post #26 of 432
03-17-2012 | Posts: 332
Joined: Nov 2006
Today i did the update.

Mijn firmware was before the update 101.

And now its 104.

The iris is much smoother in the picture.

ALso the 3d seems to be more fluid.(less choppy)

Tonight i do some more testing i dont have much time now

I only watched a couple off minutes.
jslaw81's Avatar jslaw81
06:08 AM Liked: 15
post #27 of 432
03-17-2012 | Posts: 314
Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by john2910 View Post

Today i did the update.

Mijn firmware was before the update 101.

And now its 104.

The iris is much smoother in the picture.

ALso the 3d seems to be more fluid.(less choppy)

Tonight i do some more testing i dont have much time now

I only watched a couple off minutes.

How did you perform the update? Where did you get it?
john2910's Avatar john2910
06:37 AM Liked: 17
post #28 of 432
03-17-2012 | Posts: 332
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jslaw81 View Post

How did you perform the update? Where did you get it?

Its done by my dealer in germany.
jslaw81's Avatar jslaw81
06:50 AM Liked: 15
post #29 of 432
03-17-2012 | Posts: 314
Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by john2910 View Post


Its done by my dealer in germany.

Oh I bought mine from Projector People.com So I wouldn't be able to get mine updated that way. I should see what version I have though
jslaw81's Avatar jslaw81
10:44 AM Liked: 15
post #30 of 432
03-17-2012 | Posts: 314
Joined: Oct 2010
I called Epson and they said there is no update at this time.
Tags: Epson 5010 Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Epson 5010 E Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector With Wirelesshd

Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3