Can a 30ft HDMI cord do 1080p/3D? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2012, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RocknRolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need a 30 foot long cable to complete the run between my receiver and projector, but I got a little worried reading that cables over 25 feet don't seem to be High Speed?

The cable I'm interested in is a BJC Belden Series-1 Bonded-Pair HDMI 30 ft cable (via Blue Jeans Cables) but it says that it's standard and high speed. Will it still be able to do 3D/1080p and be near the same quality as a high speed cable?

Also, if it can, would it be best to use a shorter BJC Belden Series-1 Bonded-Pair HDMI from my Blu-ray player to my receiver so the HDMI cables are exactly the same through the entire process? Or does it matter if the HDMI cable from the projector to the receiver is a different type than the HDMI cable from the Blu-ray player to the reciever?
RocknRolla is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-09-2012, 09:01 PM
Senior Member
 
plasmaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I've been using this 30ft 22AWG CL2 Standard HDMI cable from Monoprice for the past 3 years with no problems at all. Everything works and looks beautiful (2D, 3D, etc).
plasmaowner is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 07:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 17,789
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Here's an existing discussion that maybe of help

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1404164

We also have a forum dedicated to HDMI cables too

"Retired" AVS Moderator
New lower price : Anthem MX-510 Receiver (awaiting payment) & ACS PlanarTrap (freestanding acoustic panel) ($300/pair):
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/209-au...tic-panel.html
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/209-au...iver-sale.html
rboster is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Hyper_Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Monoprice has introduced their high-speed with redmere cables that they claim are high-speed up to 65-feet. Here is the 30-foot version.
Hyper_Eye is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Generally yes. HOWEVER, what I have found is that more commonly the receiver/prepro can cause issue than the cable. I have done installs where I have had sync issues, but when bypassing the receiver it is aok. Just something to put in the back of your head should you run into occasional problems.

Jason C. Turk
Technical Support, Customer Service, Sales and Installations
A/V Science, Inc.
Direct Line: 585-645-1004
Email: jason@avscience.com

Don't forget my nearly 13,000 posts under my old ID!

AV Science Sales 3 is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 09:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 17,789
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper_Eye View Post

Monoprice has introduced their high-speed with redmere cables that they claim are high-speed up to 65-feet. Here is the 30-foot version.

Here's an overview from Cnet of the Monoprice RedMere cables:

http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-33199_7...?tag=mncol;txt

"Retired" AVS Moderator
New lower price : Anthem MX-510 Receiver (awaiting payment) & ACS PlanarTrap (freestanding acoustic panel) ($300/pair):
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/209-au...tic-panel.html
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/209-au...iver-sale.html
rboster is offline  
Old 04-12-2012, 01:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Joel Solid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Temecula California
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have two monoprice 35 ft cables. Both run 1080p without any issues.

I have 2 of these..

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
Joel Solid is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off