Which Texas Instruments DLP Darkhip version is the projector? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 06-29-2012, 08:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
manoharshetty9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does one tell which DLP chip is being used in the projector? My projector, according to the manual says Darkchip4 is being used but when i connect to my computer the computer recognizes the projector as a monitor and the automatic title that appears on the name of the monitor has DC3 along with some other numbers. what does this mean? DC3 i assume stands for Darkchip3. Why would a Darkchip4 read as DC3?

Thanks in advance to anyone for your answers.
manoharshetty9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 06-29-2012, 09:10 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 383
What projector are we talking about?

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #3 of 12 Old 06-29-2012, 09:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
manoharshetty9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post

What projector are we talking about?

Truevue Vango
manoharshetty9 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 06-29-2012, 09:38 PM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
To my knowedge its the latest, DC4 plus or whatever.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 06-29-2012, 09:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
manoharshetty9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 4 View Post

To my knowedge its the latest, DC4 plus or whatever.

The literature already mentions that. My query(read the initial post) is that Why would a Darkchip4 read as DC3 on the computer?
manoharshetty9 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 06-30-2012, 06:07 AM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I have no idea.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 06-30-2012, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,980
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Because the computer drivers and recognition are not that advanced, same reason a device might read "generic plug n play"...


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 06-30-2012, 07:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 127
What the PC displays has nothing to do with what's actually it the projector, it just displays whatever the manufacturer placed in the EDID.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is online now  
post #9 of 12 Old 06-30-2012, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,980
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Yes, and sometimes the drivers will just ignore it even if it is placed there and default to some other value.


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 06-30-2012, 10:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
manoharshetty9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your replies.


Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post

What the PC displays has nothing to do with what's actually it the projector, it just displays whatever the manufacturer placed in the EDID.


Normally when i connect to a display it shows the manufacturer name or generic plug and play. But if the manufacturer has not placed anything in the EDID then does the computer read the next defaullt reading? The DMD chip is the primary display device and the projector just surrounds it with the light engine etc. So will the computer read the DMD chip information? DC3 being read by the computer seems like a reading of the DMD chip as it correlates to the word DarkChip.


Quote:
Originally Posted by coderguy View Post

Yes, and sometimes the drivers will just ignore it even if it is placed there and default to some other value.


Thats what i thought too that it is defaulting to the DMD Chip value. Just too much of a coincidence for DC3 to show up in the reading. Anyways, i guess there is no way to know for sure where the DC3 reading is coming from unless we get some expert intervention.

Thanks again.
manoharshetty9 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 07-01-2012, 06:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by manoharshetty9 View Post

Thanks for your replies.
Normally when i connect to a display it shows the manufacturer name or generic plug and play. But if the manufacturer has not placed anything in the EDID then does the computer read the next defaullt reading? The DMD chip is the primary display device and the projector just surrounds it with the light engine etc. So will the computer read the DMD chip information? DC3 being read by the computer seems like a reading of the DMD chip as it correlates to the word DarkChip.

Nope, the computer can't talk to the chip at all, they speak different languages. It's most likely that the manufacturer just developed the EDID for a generic DLP that happened to be a DC3, and they just used that as is and either never bothered, or forgot to update the name in the EDID when they put it in the Vango.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is online now  
post #12 of 12 Old 07-02-2012, 05:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
manoharshetty9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post

Nope, the computer can't talk to the chip at all, they speak different languages. It's most likely that the manufacturer just developed the EDID for a generic DLP that happened to be a DC3, and they just used that as is and either never bothered, or forgot to update the name in the EDID when they put it in the Vango.


Ok. Thanks for the information.
manoharshetty9 is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off