NEW EPSON HOME CINEMA 3020, 5020 and 6020 AVAILABLE IN OCTOBER AND NOVEMBER 2012 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 782 Old 10-01-2012, 07:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by programmergeek View Post

Yup that is what I was told aslo should have one or two here in November to loan out for Demo units.


Yep. I have snagged more than a few out of the first shipment whenever it comes, but like you only a couple of those can be demos.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 782 Old 10-01-2012, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oiler View Post

Sorry if the answer to my question is well known. The 6020 seems to have wireless HDMI, but I have not been able to confirm if it is also on the 6010. My original understanding was that the 6020 will accept additional sources.

No wireless hdmi on the 6010, the 5010e does however, if I understood the question.
jnabq is offline  
post #93 of 782 Old 10-02-2012, 05:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Oiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Waterloo. Ontario
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnabq View Post

No wireless hdmi on the 6010, the 5010e does however, if I understood the question.

Thanks. I had originally assumed that the 6010 did not have wireless HDMI but there seemed to be some abiguity in some of the write-ups.

Brian
Oiler is offline  
post #94 of 782 Old 10-02-2012, 05:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 293
The "e" signifies wireless HDMI on the Epson models. Thus no wireless on the 5010, but wireless on the 5010e. Ditto 6010 vs 6010e. I know not whether there will be a 6020e to compliment the 6020 but I will find out. It really makes 0 difference because aftermarket add on wireless HDMI is available very inexpensively now. AV Science can not and does not sell the 6010, 6010e, or the 6020, but if you are interested in one, please send me an email or give me a call.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #95 of 782 Old 10-02-2012, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
keyser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Iceland
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

The "e" signifies wireless HDMI on the Epson models. Thus no wireless on the 5010, but wireless on the 5010e. Ditto 6010 vs 6010e. I know not whether there will be a 6020e to compliment the 6020 but I will find out. It really makes 0 difference because aftermarket add on wireless HDMI is available very inexpensively now. AV Science can not and does not sell the 6010, 6010e, or the 6020, but if you are interested in one, please send me an email or give me a call.
Can you recoment a wireless HDMI switchbox?

Birgir "keyser"
keyser is offline  
post #96 of 782 Old 10-02-2012, 11:34 AM
Member
 
dmoneyman2323's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyser View Post

Can you recoment a wireless HDMI switchbox?

I use the IOGEAR wireless kit, it also does 3d and there's no lag. The only bad reviews on this item are if you need to use the IR remote or if you have the tranmsitter in a different room from the receiver. It works great for me. I don't use the IR remote because it's a set it and forget it item for me. I use it on my Panasonic PT-AE7000u for my living room setup. I didn't have a way to cleanly run a long HDMI cable so this was the best solution. Here is the link for it.

http://www.amazon.com/IOGEAR-GW3DHDKIT-Wireless-Digital-Channel/dp/B00630WKGI/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&qid=1349202399&sr=8-9&keywords=wireless+hdmi
dmoneyman2323 is online now  
post #97 of 782 Old 10-02-2012, 11:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 293
AV Science sells it, so if you need one give Mike Garret a call.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #98 of 782 Old 10-02-2012, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Strange I've never seen a review or product spec on Epson's site for a 6010(E), your sure they actually exist?
jnabq is offline  
post #99 of 782 Old 10-02-2012, 06:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 293
I have sold quite a few 6010 and none were 6010e. The e was announced at Cedia 2011 or thereabouts, perhaps it was never produced. It would, if it existed, be a special order from the distributor with a wait. Easier just to add the I/O gear boxes if wireless was needed for the install.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #100 of 782 Old 10-03-2012, 10:19 AM
Member
 
bigman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I called Epson today to inquire about release date for the new projectors (specifically the 3020)

Man, it really makes you wonder where they find their customer service reps. The guy I spoke with barely knew English.

He told me he has no idea if or when the 3020 will ship.

He also stated that the 3010 is not being discontinued.

This is very helpful information. rolleyes.gif
bigman69 is offline  
post #101 of 782 Old 10-03-2012, 05:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackdevil77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nassau County, Long Island, New York
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigman69 View Post

I called Epson today to inquire about release date for the new projectors (specifically the 3020)
Man, it really makes you wonder where they find their customer service reps. The guy I spoke with barely knew English.
He told me he has no idea if or when the 3020 will ship.
He also stated that the 3010 is not being discontinued.
This is very helpful information. rolleyes.gif

confused.gif
Blackdevil77 is offline  
post #102 of 782 Old 10-04-2012, 05:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Customer service guys are trained to help with existing products. Most are not in the loop about what is coming. They simply are people, often not even company employees, but contractor employees, who are trained in providing some assistance and in dealing with the issuance of RMAs etc. If enough people ask the same question, they might be able to find out an answer as to when it might be coming but since deadlines often slip, the best policy is just to say I dunno. I am not sure. I know it wasn't yesterday and I doubt it will be tomorrow. They have told us nothing about the present flamejet being discontinued and it won't be discontinued until present stock runs out and a new model is being produced. So, buy the flamejet now, you are safe, it is not being discontined, its a claassic man. Cedia? What's that? I thought it is in Vegas in January.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #103 of 782 Old 10-04-2012, 06:52 AM
Member
 
bigman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Well, this fella I spoke with checked with the "projector dept" when he put me on hold for about 2-3 minutes...

and came back and said they have no information about the 3020 and when it will be available, and that the 3010 is not discontinued.

I find this very strange since Epson made a big deal about its new projectors last month at CEDIA.

But even more importantly, Epson has all of the new models, with very detailed specs, listed on its website...

But this CSR couldn't tell me a single thing about it.

I just find it strange that they are supposedly replacing many of their best selling projectors with new models that apparently ship in late Sept/Oct yet their CSRs are clueless.

Oh well, guess I'll wait to hear from my dealer.

If anybody hears anything concrete about shipping for the 3020 and the 6020, please keep us posted.

Also, does anyone have a sense of whether the 3010s will be discounted? I know hgregg had a sale recently...
bigman69 is offline  
post #104 of 782 Old 10-04-2012, 07:19 AM
Member
 
dagameballa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Portland,Or
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah I called on tuesday too..was put on hold for about 5 minutes with a guy who barely spoke english as well..he had no info either, and told me to keep a look out at my local costco store...seriously. I called about the 5020 though.
dagameballa is offline  
post #105 of 782 Old 10-04-2012, 08:04 AM
Member
 
rpconrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As stated earlier don't believe anything you hear (or don't) from a CSR as most are clueless in most companies (even the revered JVC)
rpconrad is offline  
post #106 of 782 Old 10-05-2012, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
keyser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Iceland
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmoneyman2323 View Post

I use the IOGEAR wireless kit, it also does 3d and there's no lag. The only bad reviews on this item are if you need to use the IR remote or if you have the tranmsitter in a different room from the receiver. It works great for me. I don't use the IR remote because it's a set it and forget it item for me. I use it on my Panasonic PT-AE7000u for my living room setup. I didn't have a way to cleanly run a long HDMI cable so this was the best solution. Here is the link for it.
http://www.amazon.com/IOGEAR-GW3DHDKIT-Wireless-Digital-Channel/dp/B00630WKGI/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&qid=1349202399&sr=8-9&keywords=wireless+hdmi
A con of using this instead of the Epson HDMI box is that it would make it necessary to switch between memorized picture modes on the Epson remote rather than it would automatically do for different intputs with the Epson box, correct? That and having yet and having to use yet another remote to switch the inputs.

Birgir "keyser"
keyser is offline  
post #107 of 782 Old 10-05-2012, 11:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Maybe I am missing something here, but the IO transmitter and box just convert wired HDMI to wireless HDMI and then back again. The vast majority just use one input on a projector anyway. And the Epson's various modes like other projectors are accessible using HDMI input. Regarding source selection, usually such switching is done at the AV Rceiver or at the pre pro is one has one hooked up to a multi channel amp or amps.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #108 of 782 Old 10-05-2012, 01:21 PM
Member
 
dagameballa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Portland,Or
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm trying to be patient but it's so hard, I cant believe no pre orders on the 3020 and 5020 yet confused.gif
dagameballa is offline  
post #109 of 782 Old 10-05-2012, 02:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 293
No pricing yet from Epson. No predicted shipping dates from Epson yet. They will set a MAP and every dealer in the country will sell it for the same price.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #110 of 782 Old 10-05-2012, 03:34 PM
Member
 
dagameballa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Portland,Or
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
the company I work for owns an authorized epson store..I get cost plus 10..luckily!
dagameballa is offline  
post #111 of 782 Old 10-05-2012, 04:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Brian Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Art Feierman at projectorreviews.com says his review sample of the 5020 should be arriving next week! We are getting close..
Brian Miller is offline  
post #112 of 782 Old 10-06-2012, 08:59 AM
Member
 
schmluss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mableton, Georgia
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Visual Apex has the 3020 available as of yesterday according to their website. MSRP is apparently $1,599. I'm waiting for the 5020 mainly for ease of installation. Hopefully coming soon.
schmluss is offline  
post #113 of 782 Old 10-06-2012, 09:37 AM
Member
 
dmoneyman2323's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

Maybe I am missing something here, but the IO transmitter and box just convert wired HDMI to wireless HDMI and then back again. The vast majority just use one input on a projector anyway. And the Epson's various modes like other projectors are accessible using HDMI input. Regarding source selection, usually such switching is done at the AV Rceiver or at the pre pro is one has one hooked up to a multi channel amp or amps.

Thats what I do, to me it doesn't make sense to hook more than one HDMI cable up to the projector when the receiver does all the switching for you.
dmoneyman2323 is online now  
post #114 of 782 Old 10-06-2012, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
keyser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Iceland
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My receiver doesn't support 3D, so I won't be able to have it pass through the video for most of my stuff. Therefor I´m thinking if the Epson switchbox memorized the video setings for each input.

Birgir "keyser"
keyser is offline  
post #115 of 782 Old 10-06-2012, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
keyser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Iceland
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are the prices of replacement bulbs for the Panasonic and Epson?

Birgir "keyser"
keyser is offline  
post #116 of 782 Old 10-07-2012, 09:04 AM
Member
 
Movieaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Plano, tx
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup looks like the 5020 will be available this week sometime. I've decided to get it instead of the 6020 since performance wise I see no difference just the extras. Not to mention the fact the 5020 is coming out a month before the 6020...

Also does anyone know the mount used for the 6010/6020?? Now that I'm getting the 5020 ill need to buy one and I heard the chief mount works great. All I can find on it is its the chief 2500 mount but there are quite a few models it appears for the 2500s. Any advice is appreciated or even if anyone else has had good experiences with other mounts for these models.
Movieaddict is offline  
post #117 of 782 Old 10-08-2012, 06:48 AM
Member
 
bigman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by schmluss View Post

Visual Apex has the 3020 available as of yesterday according to their website. MSRP is apparently $1,599. I'm waiting for the 5020 mainly for ease of installation. Hopefully coming soon.

What do you mean by ease of installation? Is this due to lens shift?

I am looking at the 3020 as my first projector. Probably going to bundle with a 106" from visual apex. The throw calculator here indicates a recommended distance of 12'7" which I can acheive.

However, the Epson manual (for the 3010) indicates a throw range of 9.7 ft to 15.7 ft for 100" screen.

So, can I mount this projector about 11ft instead of 12'7" and still fill a 106" screen? I imagine this can be accomplished with slight tweaks to the zoom correct? And slight tweaks shouldn't have any effect on PQ?

I can get the projector mounted at a close to perfect height (ceiling mount) and almost directly on center for the screen so I think I can get away without any lens shift on more expensive model and having to use keystone corrrection.

I would prefer to mount at 11ft throw distance to avoid moving an overhead HVAC duct, but that duct can be moved if necessary to allow mount of 12'7" since all the joists in my basement are open.

Thanks.
bigman69 is offline  
post #118 of 782 Old 10-08-2012, 02:06 PM
Member
 
schmluss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mableton, Georgia
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I was referring to lens shift to ease the install. I had a Viewsonic with lens shift that was very easy to install, however I went to an Optoma with no lens shift and it was a pain.
schmluss is offline  
post #119 of 782 Old 10-09-2012, 04:00 AM
Member
 
Projector Lad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I noted earlier today Visual Apex had updated their listing of the 5020ub as 'no longer available'. Is that just they are not stocking it or have they heard of some changes in Epson's new lineup??
Projector Lad is offline  
post #120 of 782 Old 10-09-2012, 05:46 AM
Member
 
Yusuf.0088's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigman69 View Post

I am looking at the 3020 as my first projector. Probably going to bundle with a 106" from visual apex.
So, can I mount this projector about 11ft instead of 12'7" and still fill a 106" screen? I imagine this can be accomplished with slight tweaks to the zoom correct?
Yes you can do it by adjusting zoom.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigman69 View Post

And slight tweaks shouldn't have any effect on PQ?
You won't see any difference on PQ, though PQ and contrast will be better on minimal zoom, on "tele".
Yusuf.0088 is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Epson V11h502020 Powerlite Home Cinema 3020e 2d And 3d 1080p Wireless Home Theater Projector , Epson 5020ub Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Epson Powerlite Pro Cinema 6010 Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off