JVC projector reporting as 1080i 30hz native on HTPC ? help. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-10-2012, 05:59 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Timoxx4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so i have just built my first HTPC and was connecting it all up and noticed when connected to my JVC HD550 projector it is showing up in windows and the Nivida control panel as native 1080i 30hz ? This is a 1080p native projector so i am not sure how that could be possible ?

And how do i correct it ? Because it wont let me set it to 1080p or i just get a black screen. It will only let me do 1080i

I have a Nvidia GTX460 GPU connected via HDMI to a Yamaha AVR which is then connected to a HDMI splitter that then goes to my 46" Sony HX800 (1080p) native also. And my HD550

On my 46" Sony i get 1080p. But for some odd reason the computer thinks the JVC is 1080i ?

Dose anyone know how i can get the HTPC to see the JVC as a native 1080p display ?

Thanks for any help.
Timoxx4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-10-2012, 01:16 PM
KMR
Senior Member
 
KMR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I first connected my PC to my projector, it showed up as 1080i 30hz too. I had to go into the NVidia Control Panel and there was an option to choose several different resolutions. I made sure to choose 1080p 60hz. It displayed fine after that. This was through HDMI.
KMR is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-10-2012, 07:11 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Timoxx4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just tried with the projector connected to the PC only and you are correct i can select 1080p 60hz fine there even though it is showing up as native 1080i when it's not as it a native 1080p display. Weird ?

Anyway with my HDMI splitter in the chain when i swap over to the 46" Sony HDTV which is also 1080p native 3D tv i can only select 1080i as the highest res even with the JVC off. For some reason the JVC HD550 is sending out a native 1080i EDID info over its HDMI 1 output even when off so my switch is not letting anything higher than 1080i 30hz go through ?

So its the JVC that is sending false EDID info that's the problem. Now how do i get around that i wonder? As it is a native 1080p display and the splitter is blocking my Sony 3D tv from doing anything better than 1080i because that's what the splitter is thinking its limited too from the JVC ?
Timoxx4 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-19-2012, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nebrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: omaha,NE,USA
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I have an RS1 and nvidia 430 and have the exact same issue. I do not think I had this issue before I "upgraded" from intel gpu to the nvidia. Yes you can override and manually set it to 1080p60 but the computer has a nagging habit of resetting back to 1080i30 at times of stress, since it sees that as "native". Frustrating.

My perpetual home theater build -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nebrunner is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off