Offical JVC DLA-RS4810 Owners Thread - Page 53 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1561 of 1868 Old 10-14-2013, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott_R_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rockwood,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by nflguy View Post

When I use the lense memory to switch back and forth from 16x9 content to 2:35 content I noticed it doesn't work 100%

It will get the image close to what it was previously set at but not exact, I have noticed several times after using lense memory that I had to adjust the picture again because of bleed over on the top, bottom of the screen frame.

I had assumed that once you saved a lense memory for 16x9 content and a lense memory for 2:35 content that anytime you selected one of them that the Image would fit the screen as it did when you saved the settings. Kind of a PIA.

Yeah , I've seen that too . I always go back to 16:9 at the end of a Scope Movie just to reset it but every once and a while I've got to "tweak" it again .
Also , be sure that what you're seeing isn't just a result of different AR's , ie 2.35:1 versus 2.40:1 .
I wish there was some way to save the Masking with the Lens Memories .

Scott..........smile.gif

"Home Theatre is a Journey , not a Destination "
Scott_R_K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1562 of 1868 Old 10-14-2013, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by dropzone7 View Post

Well after a lot of troubleshooting it appears I have a flaky HDMI 1 port on my unit. I only have about 60 hours on it and have started having problems locking onto a signal with 1080p60 and 480p material. Strangely enough it does not seem to happen with 1080p24 material. I have tried different sources and taken my scaler out of the chain to make sure it was not the problem. I'm still testing but changing to the HDMI 2 port on the projector seems to fix it. Not what I was hoping for but at least I think I have isolated the problem.

My 4810 had better success on HDMI2 when brand new. I tried several different 50' HDMI cables and sometimes HDMI1 would not work while HDMI2 would.
ScottJ is offline  
post #1563 of 1868 Old 10-14-2013, 09:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
avsform1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post

Is there a way to do "blue channel only" so I can set the color control without using a blue filter? I searched the manual, no luck.

There should be away to do either via the SM or via 232 command. With Calman it allows you to select it.
avsform1 is offline  
post #1564 of 1868 Old 10-15-2013, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post

My 4810 had better success on HDMI2 when brand new. I tried several different 50' HDMI cables and sometimes HDMI1 would not work while HDMI2 would.

Actually, I think I spoke too soon and it now appears to be the HDMI 1 output from my DVDO DUO processor. I switched to the second output on that unit and it's working fine. Tried both HDMI ports on the projector this way and both working fine. So, I have a bad port on a less expensive piece of equipment than the projector which I suppose is the silver lining in it.
dropzone7 is offline  
post #1565 of 1868 Old 10-15-2013, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RonF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 28
With my calibrated 4810 last night I was watching my Dodgers climb back into the series on an amazingly well ptiched game from Ryu in Dodger Stadium. Broadcast courtesy of TBS via DirecTV link in L.A. area. Same as the other games in St. Louis and earlier series with Atlanta, their broadcast was absolutely pristine through the satellite. ZERO noise or artifacts. It was so clean that I used no NR from my Denon processor and...... I watched the game in my theater at over 25FL on my 8.5' wide 16x9 2.8 High Power, my Darblet at Max 120 on Game setting. HD of course worked but shapes and depth in Game and Full Pop much more impressive. Would I do this with a bluray movie, not usually unless it worked with something like Avatar. I was on Film mode Eshift 2 with the MPC at stock 50 50 50. Comparing the Off and On processing you could just see the dimensionality and roundness wrap the players and other details when it popped on. In Game I saw nothing that bothered me the signal was so pristine. Props to the 4810, to TBS and DirecTV and to Darbeevision. I don't recall ever being able to run "Game" at 120 on the Darblet for a "telecast" before, even on Superbowls of highest quality. Always with that much brightness and processing I tend to see some little warts and imperfections pop up that might or might not bother me enough to back off and sacrifice some of the depth it is possible to get.
RonF is offline  
post #1566 of 1868 Old 10-16-2013, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Bardia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Question fellas:

I set my lens memory last night in following order

1- 2:40:1
2- 2:35:1
3- 1:85:1
4- 1:78:1
5- 1:33:1

on the first setting only I used the focus and did not use it for the next 4. As per JVC recommendation

Now when I switch back and forth, I need to refocus. I thought you are only to use focus in your first setting, no?
Bardia is offline  
post #1567 of 1868 Old 10-18-2013, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanyixiang View Post

i think so,I am on the 4810 and 56 pre-order list. so i have to decide if the 56 is worth the extra $1500.thanks
6.gif

you better get off and get on the new jvc pre orders smile.gif
blee0120 is offline  
post #1568 of 1868 Old 10-18-2013, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbw23air's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: KY
Posts: 2,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post

you better get off and get on the new jvc pre orders smile.gif

I thought I woke up a year ago when I read that post. wink.gif
mbw23air is offline  
post #1569 of 1868 Old 10-18-2013, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbw23air View Post

I thought I woke up a year ago when I read that post. wink.gif

LOL
blee0120 is offline  
post #1570 of 1868 Old 10-19-2013, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by greatballes View Post

I strongly recommend to anyone that wants to watch a lot of 3D movies to buy DLP for 3D. The BenQ W7000 is a great starting point,
6.gif

Not if you want the JVC's contrast.
erkq is offline  
post #1571 of 1868 Old 10-19-2013, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,762
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 402
these are bots you guys are replying to, they seem to scrape a single line from the first page in each thread and re-post it.

original post:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1430236/offical-jvc-dla-rs4810-owners-thread#post_22421417
zombie10k is offline  
post #1572 of 1868 Old 10-19-2013, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post

Not if you want the JVC's contrast.

You're missing his point. Even on my X55R which has the upgraded lamp and 3D reproduction, it's still way behind DLP in regards to 3D performance. Plus once you factor in the polarized glasses contrast becomes far less of an issue with 3D. In 2D the difference is clear, but not so much behind the glasses. But then again he isn't talking about 2D.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
For Sale: Marantz VP-15S1 1080p High End DLP Projector - $1295
My Crazy Projector Journey!
Seegs108 is online now  
post #1573 of 1868 Old 10-19-2013, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,762
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 402
zombie10k is offline  
post #1574 of 1868 Old 10-19-2013, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbw23air's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: KY
Posts: 2,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post

these are bots you guys are replying to, they seem to scrape a single line from the first page in each thread and re-post it.

original post:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1430236/offical-jvc-dla-rs4810-owners-thread#post_22421417

Ok, that makes sense now but why would a bot do this as there is no spam or link to anything else? It sometimes is bad enough having to read Mark's posts to now have to read these bot posts. biggrin.gif
mbw23air is offline  
post #1575 of 1868 Old 10-22-2013, 10:18 AM
Member
 
Farayar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
Farayar is offline  
post #1576 of 1868 Old 10-22-2013, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Farayar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello.

I have a question for those that are using Calman to calibrate your RS4810 projector.

Do you turn off e-shift to calibrate the RS4810? Have you done a calibration using e-shift on in any of its modes?

Thxs.
Farayar is offline  
post #1577 of 1868 Old 10-22-2013, 06:55 PM
Senior Member
 
colleycol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farayar View Post

Hello.

I have a question for those that are using Calman to calibrate your RS4810 projector.

Do you turn off e-shift to calibrate the RS4810? Have you done a calibration using e-shift on in any of its modes?

Thxs.

You should turn off all processing modes before calibrating.

_________________________________________________
My Gear:
JVC RS4810, Prismasonic HD6000M anamorphic lens, Screen Excellence 4K 115 inch wide
Lumagen Radiance 2021
Onkyo 818, Emotiva Amp
B&W CT700 Series Speakers, (2) PowerSound Audio XS30s
Custom HTPC running Mediabrowser, 12TB Server for storage
...
colleycol is offline  
post #1578 of 1868 Old 10-22-2013, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farayar View Post

Do you turn off e-shift to calibrate the RS4810? Have you done a calibration using e-shift on in any of its modes?

I see no reason to turn off e-shift.

If you're going to enable it while watching movies, then you should enable it while calibrating. That goes for all processing features/modes. (Many of which should be turned off and left off, IMO.)
Schwa likes this.
ScottJ is offline  
post #1579 of 1868 Old 10-22-2013, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post

I see no reason to turn off e-shift.

If you're going to enable it while watching movies, then you should enable it while calibrating. That goes for all processing features/modes. (Many of which should be turned off and left off, IMO.)
+1. I leave it on since I watch the projector with e-shift on.
Schwa is online now  
post #1580 of 1868 Old 10-22-2013, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post

I see no reason to turn off e-shift.

If you're going to enable it while watching movies, then you should enable it while calibrating. That goes for all processing features/modes. (Many of which should be turned off and left off, IMO.)

If you're going to be looking at signal generators definitely turn it off, but for general using for viewing real content you can leave it on. But to answer his question, yes, turn it off while calibrating. This would be no different than turning off a dynamic iris while calibrating a projector.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
For Sale: Marantz VP-15S1 1080p High End DLP Projector - $1295
My Crazy Projector Journey!
Seegs108 is online now  
post #1581 of 1868 Old 10-22-2013, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

If you're going to be looking at signal generators definitely turn it off, but for general using for viewing real content you can leave it on. But to answer his question, yes, turn it off while calibrating. This would be no different than turning off a dynamic iris while calibrating a projector.

I didn't consider a DI; that could throw a monkey wrench into any calibration, just like ABL on a plasma. By turning it off, you are now calibrating something different than you will be watching. There's not a lot you can do about that, short of using APL patterns.

Why wouldn't you want to calibrate the same thing you're going to be watching? What if e-shift subtly changes the colors or something? You wouldn't want to calibrate it and then turn on e-shift and have the colors change.

(Note, I don't think e-shift does any such thing, but better safe than sorry.)
ScottJ is offline  
post #1582 of 1868 Old 10-23-2013, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 75
I have yet to do any sort of calibration but I was surprised to see how much the focus is affected by eShift while looking at test patterns. It is much easier to get good focus with eShift off but then you wonder what good it was when you turn it back on and it looks out of focus again.
dropzone7 is offline  
post #1583 of 1868 Old 10-23-2013, 09:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
seanbryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Knowhere
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 16
E-shift shouldn't technically be affecting the "focus" at all. But it does basically eliminate the visibility of the pixel structure.

Focus is generally set by observing the pixel structure and adjusting until the pixels are as clearly defined as you can get them.

You shouldn't adjust focus with e-shift on. Period. You can't see the pixel structure, so how can you attempt to set the focus?

Set the focus with the e-shift off. When you know the focus is right, then you can activate e-shift.

Just to clarify:

If it looks "out of focus" on real material from viewing distance, then "maybe" something isn't right.

But if you're saying that it looks "out of focus" because you can no longer see clearly delineated pixels from up close, then that is what it is supposed to be doing.
ScottJ likes this.
seanbryan is offline  
post #1584 of 1868 Old 10-23-2013, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanbryan View Post

E-shift shouldn't technically be affecting the "focus" at all. But it does basically eliminate the visibility of the pixel structure.

Focus is generally set by observing the pixel structure and adjusting until the pixels are as clearly defined as you can get them.

You shouldn't adjust focus with e-shift on. Period. You can't see the pixel structure, so how can you attempt to set the focus?

Set the focus with the e-shift off. When you know the focus is right, then you can activate e-shift.

This is exactly what I have done. It just seems strange to see the result through a test pattern, after focusing, then turning on eShift. Of course, the resulting image watching video is still focused and looks great with eShift so I guess that is all that matters.
dropzone7 is offline  
post #1585 of 1868 Old 10-23-2013, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
seanbryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Knowhere
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yep. Tricks like e-shift, dynamic iris, digital convergence correction, etc... aren't meant to be judged by test patterns. Because they will mostly likely show "issues".

But they are meant to make the actual viewing material look "better" to the human eye.

You also have access to three different "enhancement" MPC settings with the e-shift and several modes.

Most suggest sticking with film mode and keeping the various enhancement settings between 0-50, depending on taste.
seanbryan is offline  
post #1586 of 1868 Old 10-23-2013, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanbryan View Post

Yep. Tricks like e-shift, dynamic iris, digital convergence correction, etc... aren't meant to be judged by test patterns. Because they will mostly likely show "issues".

But they are meant to make the actual viewing material look "better" to the human eye.

You also have access to three different "enhancement" MPC settings with the e-shift and several modes.

Most suggest sticking with film mode and keeping the various enhancement settings between 0-50, depending on taste.

Yeah, I have been using FILM mode and have not touched any of the values. I think I am using NATURAL for image or color, can't remember what the parameter name is at the moment.
dropzone7 is offline  
post #1587 of 1868 Old 10-23-2013, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by dropzone7 View Post

Yeah, I have been using FILM mode and have not touched any of the values. I think I am using NATURAL for image or color, can't remember what the parameter name is at the moment.

I found Cinema mode to be closest to reference (same as recommended in 1st post of this thread). Also I found movies looked too "digital" and processed with the default 50/50/50 on the three MPC settings, so I set those all to 0.
ScottJ is offline  
post #1588 of 1868 Old 10-24-2013, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 327
I have my X55R (RS4810) up for sale in the classifieds for anyone interested. This is a golden sample. Great convergence and great lens. I've had 5 JVC units in the past and this one is by far the best one I've owned in both convergence and lens quality. I do have an auction currently on ebay for it but I'd much rather sell this to an AVSer. Feel free to PM me if you're interested! There are under 50 hours on the lamp/unit.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
For Sale: Marantz VP-15S1 1080p High End DLP Projector - $1295
My Crazy Projector Journey!
Seegs108 is online now  
post #1589 of 1868 Old 10-25-2013, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

I have my X55R (RS4810) up for sale in the classifieds for anyone interested. This is a golden sample. Great convergence and great lens. I've had 5 JVC units in the past and this one is by far the best one I've owned in both convergence and lens quality. I do have an auction currently on ebay for it but I'd much rather sell this to an AVSer. Feel free to PM me if you're interested! There are under 50 hours on the lamp/unit.

Just curious, are you a reviewer or dealer? Just noticed that you go through a LOT of projectors. I'm just jealous of course. biggrin.gif
dropzone7 is offline  
post #1590 of 1868 Old 10-25-2013, 02:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
armstrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: sarnia, ontario, Canuckland
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

I have my X55R (RS4810) up for sale in the classifieds for anyone interested. This is a golden sample. Great convergence and great lens. I've had 5 JVC units in the past and this one is by far the best one I've owned in both convergence and lens quality. I do have an auction currently on ebay for it but I'd much rather sell this to an AVSer. Feel free to PM me if you're interested! There are under 50 hours on the lamp/unit.
I assume you are preordering one of the new jvcs to replace it?
armstrr is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , Jvc America , Jvc Dla Rs4810 3d Home Theater Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off