Offical JVC DLA-RS4810 Owners Thread - Page 63 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 1887 Old 11-21-2014, 03:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 11,160
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 639
Correct, there was never a firmware update for this projector. HDMI 1 is fine on my RS4810, but I only using 1080p. However, the handshake can be tricky if I don't follow a certain order as I always turn on the projector, then AVR, then Blu-ray player.

DavidHir is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 1887 Old 11-21-2014, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tqlla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post
Correct, there was never a firmware update for this projector. HDMI 1 is fine on my RS4810, but I only using 1080p. However, the handshake can be tricky if I don't follow a certain order as I always turn on the projector, then AVR, then Blu-ray player.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
Beats me.

I had a similar HDMI issue. HDMI2 worked better. Since I only needed one input, I just used HDMI2 for everything.
What? So this HDMI1 issue is a common problem? Thats a bummer. Well at least I have a 4 year Best Buy warranty. If this isnt addressed via firmware by then, I will have to take it in for warranty repairs.

I actually use both of my HDMI's because my AVR doesnt pass 3D(AVR347). My Blu ray player has 2 outputs(Panasonic BDT500). I havent upgraded my AVR because the new HKs have lost a lot of weight and power.
tqlla is offline  
post #1863 of 1887 Old 11-21-2014, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by tqlla View Post
What? So this HDMI1 issue is a common problem? Thats a bummer. Well at least I have a 4 year Best Buy warranty. If this isnt addressed via firmware by then, I will have to take it in for warranty repairs.
There's essentially zero chance of a firmware update for this model. You're going to work around the problem for 4 years and only then try to fix it?

I don't know if HDMI1 is a "common" problem. HDMI issues are common for all projectors because of the long cable runs typically required. I know I tried three different 50' cables to find the one that worked best for my setup. HDMI1 was usable with some of those cables but HDMI2 always worked better.

How long is your cable run? Have you tried a Redmere cable from Monoprice? That's what I settled on and they are very popular for longer HDMI cables.
ScottJ is offline  
post #1864 of 1887 Old 11-21-2014, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tqlla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
There's essentially zero chance of a firmware update for this model. You're going to work around the problem for 4 years and only then try to fix it?

I don't know if HDMI1 is a "common" problem. HDMI issues are common for all projectors because of the long cable runs typically required. I know I tried three different 50' cables to find the one that worked best for my setup. HDMI1 was usable with some of those cables but HDMI2 always worked better.

How long is your cable run? Have you tried a Redmere cable from Monoprice? That's what I settled on and they are very popular for longer HDMI cables.
I am running 2 cables, 1 Monster 1000 25ft cable(Goes from the AVR directly to the Projector), and a Monster 1000 16ft cable(That terminates at the wall).

I am having a problem with my AVR run, which uses 720P for its menu, and my FIOS box uses 720P/1080i. Its possible that the cable got damaged when I was putting the drywall up. The picture becomes split on JVC-HDMI1, but if I take the cable right out of JVC-HDMI1 and plug it into JVC-HDMI2.. it works fine. The exact same cable and components work fine on JVC-HDMI2, but not on JVC-HDMI1

I know people hate monster and all, but the inwall Monoprice cable had a terrible jacket and puts a lot of stress on an HDMI port. Plus I dont mind spending, when its a product going in the wall.
tqlla is offline  
post #1865 of 1887 Old 11-24-2014, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tqlla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It looks like the HDMI1 port is slightly looser fitting than the HDMI2 port. using a coupler and a newer HDMI cable(with clips on both sides) fixes the issue.
ScottJ likes this.
tqlla is offline  
post #1866 of 1887 Old 11-24-2014, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 466 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Glad you figured it out.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #1867 of 1887 Old 12-16-2014, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
ezrangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Guys, does the RS4810 work with the autocal function of the Calman5 software? Via RS232 or LAN?
Is it worth the extra $100?

Sorry for bad english...
ezrangel is offline  
post #1868 of 1887 Old 12-17-2014, 04:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezrangel View Post
Guys, does the RS4810 work with the autocal function of the Calman5 software? Via RS232 or LAN?
Is it worth the extra $100?
Yes, autocal works fine. IMHO it was worth the extra $100.
ezrangel likes this.
Schwa is offline  
post #1869 of 1887 Old 01-08-2015, 04:46 AM
Senior Member
 
ezrangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post
Yes, autocal works fine. IMHO it was worth the extra $100.
Sorry, I took so long to thank you for your answer but Thanks!

I got the Calman Control. Autocal really is great. It got the grayscale and the gama perfectly! Of course, I had the same old issues with the undersaturated greens and it seems there´s no workaround it besides buying an external video processor like a Lumagen.

Sorry for bad english...
ezrangel is offline  
post #1870 of 1887 Old 01-17-2015, 09:40 AM
Member
 
holmern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Are anyone else having IP control issues with their projector? I cannot get control by using IP commands. I have triple checked the IP address and tried using DCHP as well instead of static. I can ping the projector just fine, but if I try to send commands its no dice. I also tried using their iOS app to gain control, but app states that it cannot establish connection with the IP address (I get a reply when pinging the same address).

I also tried a factory reset from the service menu to see if that helped. Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Edit: Forgot to mention that ECO mode is set to "OFF"

holmern is offline  
post #1871 of 1887 Old 01-18-2015, 12:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
avsform1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I always had issue with Calman and IP control, therefore I always use RS232. Control with the IPHONE app works fine. Note that I hadn't tried using it since Calman 5.3

Last edited by avsform1; 02-24-2015 at 10:36 AM.
avsform1 is offline  
post #1872 of 1887 Old 02-19-2015, 08:09 AM
Newbie
 
zachfine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Beijing, China
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post
you can use this kit on both the JVC and the Optoma:

http://www.amazon.com/EStar-America-ESG6100-RF-3D-Starter/dp/B00D39AUCI/ref=sr_1_8?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1385312802&sr =1-8&keywords=RF+3D+glasses

glasses are not that cheap though depending on your price range, the replacements are in the $50 range, I don't know of any inexpensive RF glasses that work with this transmitter.

Does this kit work with standard JVC RF 3D glasses, or does it require one to use a different line of glasses? Is its emitter functionally equivalent to the JVC RF emitter?
In the photo on Amazon, it kind of looks as though the emitter features a line of IR LEDs (and the words "IR-Sync" are visible on it). Does it emit both RF and IR?

Thanks for any info.
zachfine is offline  
post #1873 of 1887 Old 02-19-2015, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,412
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 832 Post(s)
Liked: 610
hi, that kit is proprietary and not compatible with the JV RF glasses. The transmitter is RF output only but certain kits do include the IR receiver in order to use the original IR JVC transmitter + this RF transmitter as well.


check out this inexpensive kit. it says Mitsubishi but it works perfect with the JVC's. The RF transmitter that is included works with the JVC RF glasses as well.

http://www.amazon.com/EX105BT-Shutte...dp/B009ZW7SR2/
zombie10k is online now  
post #1874 of 1887 Old 02-28-2015, 10:30 AM
Member
 
CarsandCigars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mesa,AZ
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Best place to get replacement bulb?

How many of you have replaced the bulbs on your 4810? I am coming up near the end of life on my original and am getting ready to buy a new one, but not sure the best place to purchase it online. It seems like when I google PK-L2312u to find replacements, bulbs show up that end in UP or UG, so I fear they are not truly OEM replacements, so I am hesitant to order.
CarsandCigars is offline  
post #1875 of 1887 Old 02-28-2015, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarsandCigars View Post
How many of you have replaced the bulbs on your 4810? I am coming up near the end of life on my original and am getting ready to buy a new one, but not sure the best place to purchase it online. It seems like when I google PK-L2312u to find replacements, bulbs show up that end in UP or UG, so I fear they are not truly OEM replacements, so I am hesitant to order.
The best place is right here at AVS. They are sure to have OEM bulbs.
ScottJ is offline  
post #1876 of 1887 Old 02-28-2015, 01:56 PM
Member
 
CarsandCigars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mesa,AZ
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
The best place is right here at AVS. They are sure to have OEM bulbs.
Scott, so I noticed the one on AVS is also listed as a PK-L2312UP, where the owner's manual lists the part number without the P on the end. Any idea what the difference is?
CarsandCigars is offline  
post #1877 of 1887 Old 02-28-2015, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarsandCigars View Post
Scott, so I noticed the one on AVS is also listed as a PK-L2312UP, where the owner's manual lists the part number without the P on the end. Any idea what the difference is?
My guess is, the difference is the same as the difference between the X55 and RS4810 -- same PJ, sold through different sales channels.

Also see here.
ScottJ is offline  
post #1878 of 1887 Old 02-28-2015, 03:15 PM
Member
 
CarsandCigars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mesa,AZ
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
My guess is, the difference is the same as the difference between the X55 and RS4810 -- same PJ, sold through different sales channels.

Also see here.
Makes sense. Just didn't want to order the wrong thing and then have to deal with returning it and all that fun stuff. I'll be placing my order with AVS this weekend. Any benefit for you if I say you referred me?
CarsandCigars is offline  
post #1879 of 1887 Old 02-28-2015, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarsandCigars View Post
Makes sense. Just didn't want to order the wrong thing and then have to deal with returning it and all that fun stuff. I'll be placing my order with AVS this weekend. Any benefit for you if I say you referred me?
Haha no. I'm just a happy customer. Call Mike or Craig (they post regularly here) and tell them what PJ you have and they'll hook you up with the right bulb.
ScottJ is offline  
post #1880 of 1887 Old 03-01-2015, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RobZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Texas
Posts: 3,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I posted this in the RS49 thread and thought I'd ask here.

For those that are using a Panamorph lens or anyone who may know of options, what are RS48 owners using to mount the lens and transport? I currently have the UH480 and manual sled mounted on my RS20 using the steel AK8J plate.

My Theater Room JVC RS4910, Panamorph UH480, 148 in. 2.40:1 Dalite HD Pro 1.3, Klipsch THX Ultra II's x 7, Quad JTR Captivator S1 subs
My Previous Non-Dedicated space
RobZ is online now  
post #1881 of 1887 Old 04-10-2015, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 85
I have had my X55 on a Chief mount and Panamorph JVC plate (not sure of model #) with powered sled and lens mounted at the front of that plate just the way it was made to. Works perfectly.
dropzone7 is offline  
post #1882 of 1887 Old 05-20-2015, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
johng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: California's Redwood Coast
Posts: 1,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Question Time to Upgrade? Suggestions?

Hello everyone,
What is the "current" version of the RS4810? Anything comparable from other manufacturer's? I love the 4810, but it is now nearly 2 years "old" and I try to replace my projector every 2-3 years. It appears that it'll be 2-3 years, at least, before we see UHD projectors with street prices under $3K, so I might as well take an interim step while all that shakes out.

I love the JVC black levels and color accuracy. While I haven't used it with a panamorph lens, that's also something I'd like to consider.

Good Viewing,
John G

 

 JVC DLA-RS4810 Projector, Vutec 110" (16x9) Bright White Screen, Darbee Darblet, Onkyo TX-NR708 Receiver/Processor, Sony BDP S790 BR Player, Toshiba 1250 NTSC-PAL Region Free BR Player, 7 Paradigm Reference spkrs w Dual Subs,  Adcom & Yamaha Amps .Light controlled HT...

johng is offline  
post #1883 of 1887 Old 05-20-2015, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Current model (4910) adds a dynamic iris but that's about it. I'm still quite happy with my 4810.

The a-lens seems to be less popular these days. With today's projectors having a decent pixel fill ratio and motorized lens memory, it doesn't add much value.
ScottJ is offline  
post #1884 of 1887 Old 05-20-2015, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
......also, I believe the current model can process a 4K source signal whereas the 4810 cannot.

Are Eleven Channels Really Enough?

Jedi is offline  
post #1885 of 1887 Old 05-21-2015, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 6,166
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1630 Post(s)
Liked: 585
And it has more more contrast/higher lumen output.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #1886 of 1887 Old 05-21-2015, 09:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 11,160
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 639
I've been very happy with my RS4810 having used it for about a year now. It was a B stock from AVS and I got a great deal on it. When I bought it in Feb of 2014, the price of a new 4910 was $1700 more and I just couldn't justify it.

The stated native contrast of the 4910 is 60,000:1 vs the 50,000:1 for the RS4810. However, I recall my calibrator (Chad B) having measured both and the 4910 was only like 2,000:1 more native in real world although I would have to verify with him if that was under the same conditions (I think it was though). Either way, if not using the iris, I don't see how that small amount of difference is going to be perceptible. I recall the general rule that a doubling of native contrast was need to really see a difference. The JVCs have nearly double the native contrast of the Epson LS10000 (with irises opened up) and most say you can see that difference, but it's really not that large of a difference, overall.

Also, I have no interest in an iris as I know for a fact the gamma changes would be distracting to me. I am happy with the current contrast and blacks in my dedicated theater room (which is painted and carpeted black). I also don't believe Calman offers the software support yet for the 4910 which they do for the 4810 and earlier JVCs (someone correct me if wrong).

I plan on keeping my RS4810 until a UHD projector hits $5K with better performance as I will still be watching 1080p Blu-ray most of the time for a long time as UHD/Blu-ray content rolls out.

Chad B is coming out this Saturday to do a cal tune-up to my RS4810. Last cal was almost 500 hours ago. I'll post the before and after results as well as the light output change from the lamp. I think my cal is still holding up pretty well, but I have seen some greyscale shifting and I think there is some gamma change as well.


Last edited by DavidHir; 05-21-2015 at 09:42 AM.
DavidHir is online now  
post #1887 of 1887 Old 05-26-2015, 04:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 11,160
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 639
Here's the re-cal tune up results for 2:35:1 mode although 1:85:1 is very similar. It's been nearly 500 hours since last cal (lamp and unit is now at the 900 hour mark). I lost 2.1 ftL. I'm now at 11.4 ftL (iris at 0) with a Stewart ST100 screen (9 ft wide, 2:35:1). For 1:85:1, iris is at -5 for 12.2 ftL. Brightness is fine to me as my room is a black pit and I sit close at about 9.5 feet back or so as I like the immersive, big screen effect, but will probably need a new lamp for the next re-cal or maybe use high lamp if the noise is not too bad. Biggest change in greyscale and especially gamma. I had Chad calibrate to 2.28 gamma (vs 2.26 last time) which I really like. He did a great a job, overall, as usual. Highly recommended.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	157.7 KB
ID:	738969   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	190.0 KB
ID:	738977   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	169.1 KB
ID:	738985   Click image for larger version

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	180.6 KB
ID:	738993   Click image for larger version

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	260.7 KB
ID:	739001  

Click image for larger version

Name:	room.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	61.6 KB
ID:	739065  
Chad B likes this.


Last edited by DavidHir; 05-26-2015 at 04:40 PM.
DavidHir is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , Jvc America , Jvc Dla Rs4810 3d Home Theater Projector
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off