Offical JVC DLA-RS4810 Owners Thread - Page 67 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1981 of 1995 Old 05-29-2016, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott_R_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rockwood,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well...I'm trying to follow all the "details" in the HD Fury Thread and the Posts by Manni01 as he too is looking for a solution like me .
I've not quite finished the entire Thread but this Post caught my eye today...

"At the moment, I have a JVC X500 projector, which doesn't have native 4K panels even if it accepts native 4K content and displays it in faux-K using e-shift. As it doesn't support HDCP 2.2 or HDR either, I would like to get the 4K24 HDR 10bits BT2020 4:2:0 (or 4:4:4 if chroma is already upscaled by the player, such as the Samsung) from a UHD Bluray player and convert it to 2K24 8bits 4:4:4 SDR for my 1080p display. This would allow to make use of the fact that the chroma resolution in UHD Bluray 4:2:0 content is 1080p, hence this would give us an excellent 1080p 4:4:4 quality in 8bits, which should be fine with a good dithering as we're not using BT2020 or PQ Gamma. On a screen size such as mine (88" diag 16/9), even from my fairly close 1.2SW sitting distance, I would much rather take a native 1080p 4:4:4 content, even at 8bits (not even using eshift to upscale it) than a 4K resolution than needs eshift to work, causing a loss of sharpness on my non native 4K display."

This was a Post by Manni01 to HDFury for suggestions to the HD Fury Integral Product . This is why I'm a little excited by this . The Company is taking all kinds of suggestions and implementing them on a weekly basis . They are also intending on building a Scaler into the Integral at a future date .

I'm just looking for a solution to not being able to Upgrade without winning the Lottery . This Tech looks promising .

Scott......................

"Home Theatre is a Journey , not a Destination "
Scott_R_K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1982 of 1995 Old 05-29-2016, 01:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,899
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1373 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
Manni is now using an RS500.


DavidHir is online now  
post #1983 of 1995 Old 05-29-2016, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,710
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_R_K View Post
Well...I'm trying to follow all the "details" in the HD Fury Thread and the Posts by Manni01 as he too is looking for a solution like me .
I've not quite finished the entire Thread but this Post caught my eye today...

"At the moment, I have a JVC X500 projector, which doesn't have native 4K panels even if it accepts native 4K content and displays it in faux-K using e-shift. As it doesn't support HDCP 2.2 or HDR either, I would like to get the 4K24 HDR 10bits BT2020 4:2:0 (or 4:4:4 if chroma is already upscaled by the player, such as the Samsung) from a UHD Bluray player and convert it to 2K24 8bits 4:4:4 SDR for my 1080p display. This would allow to make use of the fact that the chroma resolution in UHD Bluray 4:2:0 content is 1080p, hence this would give us an excellent 1080p 4:4:4 quality in 8bits, which should be fine with a good dithering as we're not using BT2020 or PQ Gamma. On a screen size such as mine (88" diag 16/9), even from my fairly close 1.2SW sitting distance, I would much rather take a native 1080p 4:4:4 content, even at 8bits (not even using eshift to upscale it) than a 4K resolution than needs eshift to work, causing a loss of sharpness on my non native 4K display."

This was a Post by Manni01 to HDFury for suggestions to the HD Fury Integral Product . This is why I'm a little excited by this . The Company is taking all kinds of suggestions and implementing them on a weekly basis . They are also intending on building a Scaler into the Integral at a future date .

I'm just looking for a solution to not being able to Upgrade without winning the Lottery . This Tech looks promising .

Scott......................
It sounds like he's asking HD Fury to make some changes to their product to enable this. It would give him double the chroma resolution vs standard Blu-Ray.

That would be advantageous on paper, but could you really see any difference on actual program material? I seriously doubt it.
DavidHir likes this.
ScottJ is online now  
post #1984 of 1995 Old 06-02-2016, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
CHUCKCHILLOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Magnolia, Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Adjusting Convergence,

So I recently acquired an X55RBU. I have seen that convergence is a subject talked about quite a bit. Never having a LCD, LCOS display, I have never witnessed the shortcomings of this technology, nor would I know how to properly adjust it. Can anyone give me any pointers or a guide on how to properly assess or adjust convergence?

Thank You
CHUCKCHILLOUT is offline  
post #1985 of 1995 Old 06-03-2016, 06:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,899
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1373 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
You really don't want to adjust convergence as you lose pixel resolution unless you move one full pixel...but most units don't require that large of a change. You can do the small zonal adjustments if an area is really bad and you see color fringing in content - so it could be worth the compromise of less resolution. But in general, it's best to just leave it unless it becomes noticeable and distracting on content.


DavidHir is online now  
post #1986 of 1995 Old 07-02-2016, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
CHUCKCHILLOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Magnolia, Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So for a couple of weeks I have tried IRIS @ -15, the lamp I have has 1600 hours on it. Iris @ -7,or -8 seems a lot better, this is on low lamp power mode. If I buy a new lamp, can I go back to -15 iris and still have a comparably bright image to -7, -8? Screen is 1.1 gain, dark walls, blacks out curtains etc. Thanks.
CHUCKCHILLOUT is offline  
post #1987 of 1995 Old 07-03-2016, 07:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,899
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1373 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
A new lamp will allow you to obtain the same light output you had before...until it starts to age again.


DavidHir is online now  
post #1988 of 1995 Old 07-05-2016, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Anyone have a step by step lens memory setup 16:9 and 2.35 on a 2.35 screen?

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
post #1989 of 1995 Old 07-05-2016, 12:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,899
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1373 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbase1 View Post
Anyone have a step by step lens memory setup 16:9 and 2.35 on a 2.35 screen?
I'm using lens memory with my 2:35 screen. What do you mean "step by step"?


DavidHir is online now  
post #1990 of 1995 Old 07-05-2016, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 59
getting the 16:9 to fit a scope screen. Is this done via zooming and masking the sides?

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
post #1991 of 1995 Old 07-05-2016, 01:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,899
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1373 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
Yes, it's done my zooming and then saving the memory. I have three zoom memories: scope, 1:85, and 1:78.

I don't bother masking for 16x9 content, but a number of people do.


DavidHir is online now  
post #1992 of 1995 Old 07-07-2016, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 59
As a old A-Lens owner I always fit the 16:9 vertical and fit the horizontal with the lens to a scope screen. With that being said, should I zoom the entire screen and mask all four sides?

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
post #1993 of 1995 Old 07-07-2016, 12:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,899
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1373 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
I'm not sure regarding the A-Lens. What are you trying to accomplish with it? I find just using the zoom method works great.


DavidHir is online now  
post #1994 of 1995 Old Yesterday, 08:47 PM
Member
 
Jim CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just posted this in the general $3000.00+ forum, but found a dedicated area here, and ham hoping someone may know something:

I purchased a JVC DLA-RS4810 projector in September of 2013 and it has been a great performer. A few months ago, I had to replace the lamp (thankfully at the time I purchased it JVC was including a new spare lamp). Everything has been perfect since then until tonight. When the projector came on there was a bluish cast to all the highlighted and detailed areas of the picture. Everything else, the sharpness, the other colors, is perfect. What happened?

I just noticed that my warranty is good for three years, so at least this happened ahead of that, but I have no idea what's going on. Any expertise or assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

JC
Jim CL is offline  
post #1995 of 1995 Old Today, 09:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,899
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1373 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
It sounds like something with the panel/blue chip. I assume it happens on all sources?


DavidHir is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , Jvc America , Jvc Dla Rs4810 3d Home Theater Projector
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off