Official Owners' Thread, Panasonic PT-AE8000U (US version) PT-AT6000E (European version) - Page 129 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3841 of 3867 Old 12-14-2014, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
AYColumbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So I re-watched Expendables 3 at the scenes where the banding happened and sure enough it's pretty bad. I took a couple shots. Dark/normal taken with f2.8 aperture and 1/8 shutter and brighter with programmed auto to highlight how bad it is. The shot where Ross is blown off the bridge is really bad. It's so bad that I expect the studio will need to publish a newer version IMO. I'm going to contact them to see if they plan on fixing these scenes.

Times below are for theatrical release.

The scene below (01:11:19) is as bad as it looks here.


At around 01:11:51 Banding really prominent over HIS left shoulder especially during motion, i.e., still doesn't do justice.


Last edited by AYColumbia; 12-14-2014 at 07:56 PM. Reason: rearranged pics, added time stamps and clarified release
AYColumbia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3842 of 3867 Old 12-15-2014, 09:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
115 inch 2.35.1 diagonal screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanb61 View Post
Thanks. I've been looking at those. I calculated I'd need 115 inch 2.35.1 diagonal screen size to maintain my 92 inch 16x9 size.
I'm currently in search for the exact sized screen and i found the perfect matchup so i'd figure to share the info!

Silver Ticket 115" Diagonal 2.35:1 Cinema Format (6 Piece Fixed Frame) Projector Screen White Material *also comes in cinagrey, ambient light, & acoustic woven versions*


*Here's the model # for the mattwhite 115" STR-235115*

A great review of this screen brand was written via the Wire Cutter that should give you extra information you might need. Since i'm new I sadly cant give you direct links
Mr Strongg is offline  
post #3843 of 3867 Old 12-15-2014, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 6,722
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 811 Post(s)
Liked: 916
Has anyone tried a Darbee Darblet with the Panasonic 8000 for any length of time?

Thoughts?

They are only $200 right now. I've considered buying one. The Christmas sale might be enough to make me jump.

http://darbeevision.com/darblet

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is offline  
post #3844 of 3867 Old 12-15-2014, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mcascio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kenosha, WI USA
Posts: 3,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post
Has anyone tried a Darbee Darblet with the Panasonic 8000 for any length of time?

Thoughts?

They are only $200 right now. I've considered buying one. The Christmas sale might be enough to make me jump.

http://darbeevision.com/darblet
I have one for my 8000 and love it. I was considering getting another one while they are on sale, but I'm holding out to see what the next model brings and then use the older one on another TV instead and put the new one on the Panny 8000.
mcascio is offline  
post #3845 of 3867 Old 12-15-2014, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,684
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post
Has anyone tried a Darbee Darblet with the Panasonic 8000 for any length of time?
I have had mine for 6 months or so and it adds a noticeable improvement on my 125" screen. I purchased an open box unit for $250 and felt it was worth it...$200 + shipping for a new unit is a great deal.
laugsbach is offline  
post #3846 of 3867 Old 12-15-2014, 09:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcascio View Post
I have one for my 8000 and love it. I was considering getting another one while they are on sale, but I'm holding out to see what the next model brings and then use the older one on another TV instead and put the new one on the Panny 8000.

I'm still debating if I should go for the oppo 103d to hit two birds...but not entirely convinced about the bd player benefits.

My concern was about any handshake issues with darbee separate in the chain with some pj's. Any for you?

---------------------------------------------------------------
for sale/trade: Final Price Drop ~ BNIB LG OLED Curved TV 55EA9800 ~Best Black Levels Ever~ 3-yr Extended Warranty Included
ht: LCR JTR 212HT~Surr. Four JTR 8LP~Hi/Wi Four Elemental Designs Cinema 6 eD6c~Subs Two JTR Orbit Shifter LFU~AV Marantz SR7008
asoofi1 is offline  
post #3847 of 3867 Old 12-18-2014, 03:29 PM
Member
 
Batiatus Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba_fan View Post
Wondering if anybody knows how to have this projector auto detect 3D content when played from XBMC or PLEX. I have to manually switch the projector to 3D (HSBS or TAB) when playing 3D content. Auto switching to 3D is fine when the source is my 3D Bluray player.
Has there been any answer or update to this inquiry? Just setting up an 8000 now and on first testing had to use the remote to change to 3D which pretty much kills the entire Cinema Experience I'm trying to create.
Batiatus Rules is offline  
post #3848 of 3867 Old 12-18-2014, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 6,722
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 811 Post(s)
Liked: 916
Do any projectors auto switch with 3d content played from HTPC. Mine does not either. My friends BenQ doesn't either. Obviously, my sample size is small, but both our projectors don't auto change to 3d when played form HTPC, but do automatically switch on bluray playback.

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is offline  
post #3849 of 3867 Old 12-18-2014, 04:01 PM
Member
 
Batiatus Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post
Do any projectors auto switch with 3d content played from HTPC. Mine does not either. My friends BenQ doesn't either. Obviously, my sample size is small, but both our projectors don't auto change to 3d when played form HTPC, but do automatically switch on bluray playback.
My dad's Panny TC-P65VT30 does, so you'd assume their high-end projector would as well.

Creating a true "home cinema" experience kind of dies when you have to enter menus and select options to get things to work.

Anyone using XBMc/Kodi for 3D CE playback?
Batiatus Rules is offline  
post #3850 of 3867 Old 12-18-2014, 04:07 PM
Member
 
scuba_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Have note been able to get a working solution for auto detect. So I created a hot key for my keyboard that toggles 3D on and off for XBMC. Best I could come up with.
scuba_fan is offline  
post #3851 of 3867 Old 12-18-2014, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,499
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 132
cw5billwade is offline  
post #3852 of 3867 Old 12-18-2014, 05:07 PM
Member
 
Batiatus Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba_fan View Post
Have note been able to get a working solution for auto detect. So I created a hot key for my keyboard that toggles 3D on and off for XBMC. Best I could come up with.
You hotkey XBMC to 3D but what does that do for the projector?

And hearing this top-end projo drops the ball on detecting 3D signals isn't pleasant news. Rather disappointing actually.
Batiatus Rules is offline  
post #3853 of 3867 Old 12-18-2014, 05:25 PM
Member
 
scuba_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It does nothing for the projector. There is no solution. But it's one less thing to switch around to get 3D.
scuba_fan is offline  
post #3854 of 3867 Old 12-18-2014, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,499
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 132
The PJ detects 3D fine. What I meant is with a 3D move the auto detect format from 16x9 to 2.35:1 does not work you have to do it manually
cw5billwade is offline  
post #3855 of 3867 Old 12-19-2014, 04:09 AM
Member
 
scuba_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So you're saying your PJ8 detects 3D automatically when the source is Plex or XBMC/Kodi?

Mine does not.
scuba_fan is offline  
post #3856 of 3867 Old 12-19-2014, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,499
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 132
OK I see what you are saying I am using a blu-ray player via a Denon AVR sorry
cw5billwade is offline  
post #3857 of 3867 Old 12-19-2014, 11:30 AM
Member
 
Batiatus Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba_fan View Post
It does nothing for the projector. There is no solution. But it's one less thing to switch around to get 3D.
Are you running through an AVR or straight from your HTPC to the projo?

Which version of XBMC are you using? Gotham and up is able to detect and switch to the proper 3D mode based on ID tags. That's where you confused me in saying you made a hotkey. My XBMC switches automatically.

Anyone have a remote keystroke that can change the projo 3D mode without having to access the silly menu system? Press 'A' for SBS, 'B' for TAB, 'C' for native or whatever?
Batiatus Rules is offline  
post #3858 of 3867 Old 12-19-2014, 12:51 PM
Member
 
scuba_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batiatus Rules View Post
Are you running through an AVR or straight from your HTPC to the projo?

Which version of XBMC are you using? Gotham and up is able to detect and switch to the proper 3D mode based on ID tags. That's where you confused me in saying you made a hotkey. My XBMC switches automatically.

Anyone have a remote keystroke that can change the projo 3D mode without having to access the silly menu system? Press 'A' for SBS, 'B' for TAB, 'C' for native or whatever?

YUP, coming through an AVR to the Panny. Running XBMC Gotham 13.2. It doesn't autodetect my 3D MKV files at all, none of them... That's why I had to create a keyboard hot-key. Got tired of mucking about trying to figure out why it won't detect the source material and switch, or switch back when playing stops!
scuba_fan is offline  
post #3859 of 3867 Old 12-19-2014, 01:36 PM
Member
 
Batiatus Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba_fan View Post
YUP, coming through an AVR to the Panny. Running XBMC Gotham 13.2. It doesn't autodetect my 3D MKV files at all, none of them... That's why I had to create a keyboard hot-key. Got tired of mucking about trying to figure out why it won't detect the source material and switch, or switch back when playing stops!
Are you using MVC MKV 3D files with an external player or are these converted HSBS or HTAB 3D MKV files?

If the later, using the HSBS or HTAB tags in your file name, directory structure and so on should cue XBMC to auto-detect the 3D and switch it's mode accordingly. Provided you've set the 3D settings to auto-detect internally. It will switch and then switch back when the file ends. However there is an annoying on-screen pop-up telling you which 3D format it's changed to and I can't get that to shut off. The devs seem little concerned about it either.

Now getting the XBMC exported 3D HSBS to be detected by the projector is what I'd like to resolve. Or for that matter sort out the full MVC 3D with Stereoscopic player to this projector and have it auto-detect. It all worked well on the plasma. The projo should work the same in my opinion, which isn't worth mush it seems.
Batiatus Rules is offline  
post #3860 of 3867 Old 12-19-2014, 02:22 PM
Member
 
scuba_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batiatus Rules View Post
Are you using MVC MKV 3D files with an external player or are these converted HSBS or HTAB 3D MKV files?

If the later, using the HSBS or HTAB tags in your file name, directory structure and so on should cue XBMC to auto-detect the 3D and switch it's mode accordingly. Provided you've set the 3D settings to auto-detect internally. It will switch and then switch back when the file ends. However there is an annoying on-screen pop-up telling you which 3D format it's changed to and I can't get that to shut off. The devs seem little concerned about it either.

Now getting the XBMC exported 3D HSBS to be detected by the projector is what I'd like to resolve. Or for that matter sort out the full MVC 3D with Stereoscopic player to this projector and have it auto-detect. It all worked well on the plasma. The projo should work the same in my opinion, which isn't worth mush it seems.

Converted HSBS and named according to XBMC standards... Still no love. Not sure about 3D auto detect, but if you're referring to the XBMC Setting in Video section, I do believe I have it set to Auto.
scuba_fan is offline  
post #3861 of 3867 Old 12-19-2014, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Batiatus Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba_fan View Post
Converted HSBS and named according to XBMC standards... Still no love. Not sure about 3D auto detect, but if you're referring to the XBMC Setting in Video section, I do believe I have it set to Auto.
I'll have to check my naming convention when I get home but all I've had to do is add, I believe, HSBS into the file name. (ex. Transformers Dark of the Moon Bluray HSBS 3DBD (2011).mkv)

But none of that makes up for this heavfty projector not being able to auto-detect the signal!
Batiatus Rules is offline  
post #3862 of 3867 Old Yesterday, 05:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Official Owners' Thread, Panasonic PT-AE8000U (US version) PT-AT6000E (Europe...

In past two movies, the pj has lost signal for 5 seconds randomly three times from avr....went dark and then came back...cables are fine and pj has been running fine for past 20-some hours....no changes were made in the chain. It just started doing this. Any possible causes?

---------------------------------------------------------------
for sale/trade: Final Price Drop ~ BNIB LG OLED Curved TV 55EA9800 ~Best Black Levels Ever~ 3-yr Extended Warranty Included
ht: LCR JTR 212HT~Surr. Four JTR 8LP~Hi/Wi Four Elemental Designs Cinema 6 eD6c~Subs Two JTR Orbit Shifter LFU~AV Marantz SR7008
asoofi1 is offline  
post #3863 of 3867 Old Yesterday, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 6,722
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 811 Post(s)
Liked: 916
cable/HDMI connection is my first guess.

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is offline  
post #3864 of 3867 Old Yesterday, 06:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 149
That's what I thought too. I'll just monitor it and change inputs to verify if the cable is the culprit.

---------------------------------------------------------------
for sale/trade: Final Price Drop ~ BNIB LG OLED Curved TV 55EA9800 ~Best Black Levels Ever~ 3-yr Extended Warranty Included
ht: LCR JTR 212HT~Surr. Four JTR 8LP~Hi/Wi Four Elemental Designs Cinema 6 eD6c~Subs Two JTR Orbit Shifter LFU~AV Marantz SR7008
asoofi1 is offline  
post #3865 of 3867 Old Yesterday, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
heffneil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys! I have the AE4000. I am looking to upgrade to the 8000 but I have a slight problem. The new unit is 18.5" wide but I use a chief electric mount SL151. The max width of the projector according to chief is 18.3" so I am .2" too wide. I am not sure if it will work and I don't want to order a projector that won't fit nor screw up my 4000's settings and placement to find out it won't fit. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Neil
heffneil is offline  
post #3866 of 3867 Old Today, 03:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 670 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by AYColumbia View Post
So I re-watched Expendables 3 at the scenes where the banding happened and sure enough it's pretty bad. I took a couple shots. Dark/normal taken with f2.8 aperture and 1/8 shutter and brighter with programmed auto to highlight how bad it is. The shot where Ross is blown off the bridge is really bad. It's so bad that I expect the studio will need to publish a newer version IMO. I'm going to contact them to see if they plan on fixing these scenes.

Times below are for theatrical release.

The scene below (01:11:19) is as bad as it looks here.


At around 01:11:51 Banding really prominent over HIS left shoulder especially during motion, i.e., still doesn't do justice.
This could be fixed with a de-band filter, but it's caused simply because blu-ray is 8bit video and banding like this is quite common on a lot blu-ray encodes. Even films, like The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug, with very high bitrate (35+ mbps) encoded video have the issue:

http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/105244

The second shot has had a deband filter applied and as you can see it fixes the issue. Once we have 10 or 12 bit video with higher chroma subsampling (when 4K Bluray arrives) it will fix these issues so they don't show up on our source material. There's nothing wrong with The Expendables 3. This is just what we get in an 8 bit blu-ray world.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Crazy Projector Journey!

For Sale: Marantz VP-15S1 1080p High End DLP Projector - $1295

Last edited by Seegs108; Today at 03:44 AM.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #3867 of 3867 Unread Today, 03:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Hyper_Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys. I've been going through an ordeal with Panasonic starting with sending a PT-AE7000U in for service to correct a convergence issue. When they sent the unit back they had corrected the original problem but created a new one as it was suffering from pretty significant blooming. The service center couldn't figure out or reproduce the problem so Panasonic had me send it to their offices directly to one of their engineers. I mostly didn't hear anything for a month. After a good bit of poking and prodding they informed me that they had isolated the problem but the replacement part was on backorder and they did not know when they would receive it. They offered to send me a reconditioned PT-AE8000U in its place. They asked that I evaluate the unit and, if I wanted to accept the unit, sign a document agreeing to the exchange. If I did not accept the unit I was asked to explain why.

The unit arrived with 28 hours on it. I have spent a considerable amount of time with the unit over the last few days evaluating. For the most part I am happy with the unit. It is in great shape, the lamp is bright, it's quiet, the black levels are good, and there is no blooming. The only problem is the convergence. This seems to be a theme with these units. In this case green appears to be off quite a bit. I think it's more than a pixel but I can't be sure. It definitely tints things at the bottom. I'm trying to decide if I want to reject the unit or not. I might consider tentatively accepting the unit with a stipulation that the convergence needs to be repaired.

Please take a look at the attached image and give me your thoughts. I'd like to respond to Panasonic within the next few days. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1756.JPG
Views:	2
Size:	274.6 KB
ID:	433434  
Hyper_Eye is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Epson 5020ub Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Jvc Dla X35 3d Hd Front Projector , Panasonic Pt Ae7000u 1080p Full Hd Projector , Panasonic Pt Ae4000u 1600 Lumen Lcd Home Theater Projector , Sony Vpl Hw50es 3d Projector , Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor , Panasonic Ptae8000u Hd Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off