Official Owners' Thread, Panasonic PT-AE8000U (US version) PT-AT6000E (European version) - Page 129 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3841 of 3855 Old 12-14-2014, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
AYColumbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So I re-watched Expendables 3 at the scenes where the banding happened and sure enough it's pretty bad. I took a couple shots. Dark/normal taken with f2.8 aperture and 1/8 shutter and brighter with programmed auto to highlight how bad it is. The shot where Ross is blown off the bridge is really bad. It's so bad that I expect the studio will need to publish a newer version IMO. I'm going to contact them to see if they plan on fixing these scenes.

Times below are for theatrical release.

The scene below (01:11:19) is as bad as it looks here.


At around 01:11:51 Banding really prominent over HIS left shoulder especially during motion, i.e., still doesn't do justice.


Last edited by AYColumbia; 12-14-2014 at 07:56 PM. Reason: rearranged pics, added time stamps and clarified release
AYColumbia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3842 of 3855 Old 12-15-2014, 09:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
115 inch 2.35.1 diagonal screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanb61 View Post
Thanks. I've been looking at those. I calculated I'd need 115 inch 2.35.1 diagonal screen size to maintain my 92 inch 16x9 size.
I'm currently in search for the exact sized screen and i found the perfect matchup so i'd figure to share the info!

Silver Ticket 115" Diagonal 2.35:1 Cinema Format (6 Piece Fixed Frame) Projector Screen White Material *also comes in cinagrey, ambient light, & acoustic woven versions*


*Here's the model # for the mattwhite 115" STR-235115*

A great review of this screen brand was written via the Wire Cutter that should give you extra information you might need. Since i'm new I sadly cant give you direct links
Mr Strongg is offline  
post #3843 of 3855 Old 12-15-2014, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 6,711
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 806 Post(s)
Liked: 912
Has anyone tried a Darbee Darblet with the Panasonic 8000 for any length of time?

Thoughts?

They are only $200 right now. I've considered buying one. The Christmas sale might be enough to make me jump.

http://darbeevision.com/darblet

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is offline  
post #3844 of 3855 Old 12-15-2014, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mcascio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kenosha, WI USA
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post
Has anyone tried a Darbee Darblet with the Panasonic 8000 for any length of time?

Thoughts?

They are only $200 right now. I've considered buying one. The Christmas sale might be enough to make me jump.

http://darbeevision.com/darblet
I have one for my 8000 and love it. I was considering getting another one while they are on sale, but I'm holding out to see what the next model brings and then use the older one on another TV instead and put the new one on the Panny 8000.
mcascio is offline  
post #3845 of 3855 Old 12-15-2014, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,683
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post
Has anyone tried a Darbee Darblet with the Panasonic 8000 for any length of time?
I have had mine for 6 months or so and it adds a noticeable improvement on my 125" screen. I purchased an open box unit for $250 and felt it was worth it...$200 + shipping for a new unit is a great deal.
laugsbach is offline  
post #3846 of 3855 Old 12-15-2014, 09:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcascio View Post
I have one for my 8000 and love it. I was considering getting another one while they are on sale, but I'm holding out to see what the next model brings and then use the older one on another TV instead and put the new one on the Panny 8000.

I'm still debating if I should go for the oppo 103d to hit two birds...but not entirely convinced about the bd player benefits.

My concern was about any handshake issues with darbee separate in the chain with some pj's. Any for you?

---------------------------------------------------------------
for sale/trade: Final Price Drop ~ BNIB LG OLED Curved TV 55EA9800 ~Best Black Levels Ever~ 3-yr Extended Warranty Included
ht: LCR JTR 212HT~Surr. Four JTR 8LP~Hi/Wi Four Elemental Designs Cinema 6 eD6c~Subs Two JTR Orbit Shifter LFU~AV Marantz SR7008
asoofi1 is offline  
post #3847 of 3855 Unread Yesterday, 03:29 PM
Member
 
Batiatus Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba_fan View Post
Wondering if anybody knows how to have this projector auto detect 3D content when played from XBMC or PLEX. I have to manually switch the projector to 3D (HSBS or TAB) when playing 3D content. Auto switching to 3D is fine when the source is my 3D Bluray player.
Has there been any answer or update to this inquiry? Just setting up an 8000 now and on first testing had to use the remote to change to 3D which pretty much kills the entire Cinema Experience I'm trying to create.
Batiatus Rules is offline  
post #3848 of 3855 Unread Yesterday, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 6,711
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 806 Post(s)
Liked: 912
Do any projectors auto switch with 3d content played from HTPC. Mine does not either. My friends BenQ doesn't either. Obviously, my sample size is small, but both our projectors don't auto change to 3d when played form HTPC, but do automatically switch on bluray playback.

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is offline  
post #3849 of 3855 Unread Yesterday, 04:01 PM
Member
 
Batiatus Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post
Do any projectors auto switch with 3d content played from HTPC. Mine does not either. My friends BenQ doesn't either. Obviously, my sample size is small, but both our projectors don't auto change to 3d when played form HTPC, but do automatically switch on bluray playback.
My dad's Panny TC-P65VT30 does, so you'd assume their high-end projector would as well.

Creating a true "home cinema" experience kind of dies when you have to enter menus and select options to get things to work.

Anyone using XBMc/Kodi for 3D CE playback?
Batiatus Rules is offline  
post #3850 of 3855 Unread Yesterday, 04:07 PM
Member
 
scuba_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Have note been able to get a working solution for auto detect. So I created a hot key for my keyboard that toggles 3D on and off for XBMC. Best I could come up with.
scuba_fan is online now  
post #3851 of 3855 Unread Yesterday, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 132
cw5billwade is offline  
post #3852 of 3855 Unread Yesterday, 05:07 PM
Member
 
Batiatus Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba_fan View Post
Have note been able to get a working solution for auto detect. So I created a hot key for my keyboard that toggles 3D on and off for XBMC. Best I could come up with.
You hotkey XBMC to 3D but what does that do for the projector?

And hearing this top-end projo drops the ball on detecting 3D signals isn't pleasant news. Rather disappointing actually.
Batiatus Rules is offline  
post #3853 of 3855 Unread Yesterday, 05:25 PM
Member
 
scuba_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It does nothing for the projector. There is no solution. But it's one less thing to switch around to get 3D.
scuba_fan is online now  
post #3854 of 3855 Unread Yesterday, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 132
The PJ detects 3D fine. What I meant is with a 3D move the auto detect format from 16x9 to 2.35:1 does not work you have to do it manually
cw5billwade is offline  
post #3855 of 3855 Unread Today, 04:09 AM
Member
 
scuba_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So you're saying your PJ8 detects 3D automatically when the source is Plex or XBMC/Kodi?

Mine does not.
scuba_fan is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Epson 5020ub Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Jvc Dla X35 3d Hd Front Projector , Panasonic Pt Ae7000u 1080p Full Hd Projector , Panasonic Pt Ae4000u 1600 Lumen Lcd Home Theater Projector , Sony Vpl Hw50es 3d Projector , Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor , Panasonic Ptae8000u Hd Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off