Official Owners' Thread, Panasonic PT-AE8000U (US version) PT-AT6000E (European version) - Page 13 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
indyrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine took about 3 weeks. And as previously stated no matter what you ask for you'll get Medium (requested Large).
indyrob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
indyrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have about 100 hours on mine - 12 feet back throwing to a 113 2.35:1 screen. Am NOT seeing anything like this so you may have a defective unit.
indyrob is offline  
post #363 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 10:46 AM
Member
 
blizaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisE123 View Post

blizaine,
Could you give some more information on the gray/graphite paint that you purchased. I really like that color and am thinking about painting my basement that color. Currently its a toffee color.

It's called "Blind Date" and it's from Valspar - Allen & Roth.
http://www.lowes.com/pd_49494-4-AR1328-BLINDD49494_4294862796__?productId=3562542&Ntt=roth%2Band%2Ballen&pl=1&currentURL=%3FNtt%3Droth%252Band%252Ballen&facetInfo=Matte

It has just a slight (very slight) hint of blue. It seems darker than the pic on the website. I'm very happy with it. Good luck!
blizaine is offline  
post #364 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Dizzyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Does anyone know if it's dangerous (or a bad idea) to try running the projector in high altitude mode when in a normal environment? The varying high pitched sound I'm hearing - from what is almost certainly the fan control mechanism, as it varies up and down in pitch by the minute - is driving me up a wall and I want to try to force the fan to run at a constant speed. The noise issues occur in Cinema 2 mode. Cinema 1 is perfectly silent, but I'm not a fan of this setting. frown.gif
Dizzyboy is offline  
post #365 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmcjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am loving my AE8000 Projector. So far it has been excellent. I had some trouble with alignment but that was my fault.
it is really bright! my lightens up the entire room. The room is slightly larger then 16x17 the cool lens makes it look larger

I am using a 133" da-lite screen at 14'-6" throw.
7.1 speakers are behind the 2" accoustical panels.


JOE
cmcjo is offline  
post #366 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 06:59 PM
Member
 
rd7723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blizaine View Post

I just finished my home theater with the AE8000 and I couldn't be happier. It consists of a 120" 16:9 screen, 5.1 Klipsch reference series speakers, Denon Amp w/ HDMI switching, PS3, AppleTV, and Xbox360 (w/ MCE and HDHomeRun for live stuff). I also put in a Lutron IR controllable dimmer for the lights. I took over a bonus/recreational room for the project. I went from yellow walls to a dark greyish/graphite. First picture is a before, the rest are after. I also put up blackout shades for daytime viewing, after these pics were taken. It's really hard to capture the quality of the image of the AE8000 when you take a panorama shot because of the fixed exposure on the camera.



Hey nice setup. Can you tell me where you purchased that shelf that you have your projector on please? Thanks.
rd7723 is offline  
post #367 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by indyrob View Post

$2950 from ProjectorPeople. You won't do too much better til demand settles down.

Where are you reading about $2,950? If Projector People only do $2,950 as their sale, I'll be buying elsewhere. It's been lower than that.. from a certain river-like website for a while. And even cheaper than that from Visual Apex etc.

Hopefully price talk from AVS sponsors is OK. Sorry, if not. biggrin.gif
WilliamG is offline  
post #368 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 07:17 PM
Member
 
dmoneyman2323's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post

Where are you reading about $2,950? If Projector People only do $2,950 as their sale, I'll be buying elsewhere. It's been lower than that.. from a certain river-like website for a while. And even cheaper than that from Visual Apex etc.
Hopefully price talk from AVS sponsors is OK. Sorry, if not. biggrin.gif

ProjectorPoint.com is doing $2799 for the Thanksgiving, and also a 3rd year on the warranty. I think this is the best price online so far for this projector.

Displays: JVC RS4910 Projector | 125-inch 2.35:1 Elite Cinetension2 Screen | Panasonic 58V10 Plasma TV
Sources: Yamaha RX-A800 | Microsoft XBOX One | Dish Hopper | Intel i5 Nuc w/ Openelec | Behringer iNuke 3000DSP
Speakers: DIY Fusion-12 Tempest (L/R) | DIY 88-Special (C) | DIY Volt-10 Speakers (Surr L/R) | Subwoofers: MartyCube w/ Stereo Integrity SI-18 X 2
dmoneyman2323 is offline  
post #369 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
cofn42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Just got mine in the mail today.

Been up and running for about 3 hrs now.

This is a replacement to my PT-AE7000U from last year.

First thing I did was pop in How to Train your Dragon in 3d. I found this practically unwatchable on the 7000U as there were jsut too many night scenes that you could see nothing in.

The difference is night and day (no pun intended) 3d is sooooo much brighter. Hard to measure just how much more watchable this is in 3d now. The contrast in dark scenes is very noticeable now. Where everything was blurred together in the dark, it now really pops.

And I have yet top even calibrate it.

Setting used were Normal mode, with glasses set to light.

Played a couple PS3 demos in 3d and it is a huge difference as well. Motorstorm Apocalypse is so much better. Gonna try and snag the demo for Batman: Arkham City as it was unplayable in 3d in the past.

More info to come once I have it calibrated this weekend.

For now I am gonna go try Assassin's Creed 3 in 3d and hope for the best.

Marantz AV8801 / Rotel 2x RMB-1095 / RMB-1090 / Yamaha P7000S / Velodyne SMS-1 / DTech BP2000TL / DTech C/L/R 3000 / 4x - DTech BPVX/P Surrounds / DTech SM55 Heights / DTech SM65 Wides / SVS PB13 Ultra / 2x Buttkicker LFE / PTAE-8000U / Globalcache, iRule & Insteon.

Coffin Family Theater Build
cofn42 is offline  
post #370 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmoneyman2323 View Post

ProjectorPoint.com is doing $2799 for the Thanksgiving, and also a 3rd year on the warranty. I think this is the best price online so far for this projector.

Actually, the new official rebate is 3 years warranty, 2 pairs of 3D glasses, AND $100 rebate. That's valid from any authorized reseller from TOMORROW, Nov. 21.

I'm really hoping Projector People AT LEAST matches Projector Point.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cofn42 View Post

Just got mine in the mail today.
Been up and running for about 3 hrs now.
This is a replacement to my PT-AE7000U from last year.
First thing I did was pop in How to Train your Dragon in 3d. I found this practically unwatchable on the 7000U as there were jsut too many night scenes that you could see nothing in.
The difference is night and day (no pun intended) 3d is sooooo much brighter. Hard to measure just how much more watchable this is in 3d now. The contrast in dark scenes is very noticeable now. Where everything was blurred together in the dark, it now really pops.
And I have yet top even calibrate it.
Setting used were Normal mode, with glasses set to light.
Played a couple PS3 demos in 3d and it is a huge difference as well. Motorstorm Apocalypse is so much better. Gonna try and snag the demo for Batman: Arkham City as it was unplayable in 3d in the past.
More info to come once I have it calibrated this weekend.
For now I am gonna go try Assassin's Creed 3 in 3d and hope for the best.

This is great news. I no longer have my 7000 because 3D really just stunk to high heaven. How to Train Your Dragon 3D is a classic example of where you just need lots of brightness. The opening scene is basically unwatchable on it (and that was an 11 foot throw to a 100" 1.0 gain screen - nothing huge).

Definitely excited to get my 8000! Just waiting for the Thanksgiving sales to go live!
WilliamG is offline  
post #371 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,555
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post

Definitely excited to get my 8000! Just waiting for the Thanksgiving sales to go live!

T-minus 39 minutes........wink.gif
cr136124 is offline  
post #372 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 09:00 PM
Member
 
blizaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rd7723 View Post

Hey nice setup. Can you tell me where you purchased that shelf that you have your projector on please? Thanks.


Sure thing, it is an Omnimount Tria 3 Shelf wall mount. I only used one shelf, but I got it for the extra height. My stud finder kept telling me I had cross beams in the wall so I used this for cable management rather than fishing the wall. The shelves are perfect for the AE8000. And it's very sturdy.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000RT8CM2/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B000RT8CM2&linkCode=as2&tag=amazonbb55-20
blizaine is offline  
post #373 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post

T-minus 39 minutes........wink.gif

So far ... It's nothing earth shattering. I was expecting more !!
apw2607 is offline  
post #374 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 10:11 PM
Member
 
Jaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HudsonK View Post

I am outputting via HDMI from my AMD 6900 on an ok system (E8500 w/4gb ram). I have the display set to 1080p (1920x1080) @ 60 hz. And it seems like I have a stable image until I make changes on the screen. It is very hard to explain, but it seems like the changing element shake a bit - like when I bring a window from the background to foreground, it looks unstable for a moment. If I drag a window, the contents of text and images seems to get all warbly until I stop moving or drop it.
Also, the desktop doesn't seem to take up the entire width and height of the projected image. I have to zoom in and save a new "pc" lens memory setting. I am confused here.

Make sure Frame Interpolation is turned off, I have some problems with PC too, but the one you describe I only get when I have Frame Interpolation on, though it's not really that severe with my pc.

Concerning the desktop size issue I never got that one. Make sure your graphic card is set correctly to 1920x1080 60hz (mine defaults to 30hz with this projector for some reason) and turn off all graphic card desktop resize and under-/overscan options you can find in your graphics card control panel.
Jaks is offline  
post #375 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 10:32 PM
Senior Member
 
azula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I really really hope price talk is allowed because I will be scouring the net for deals tomorrow. lol. looks like 2800 is the price to beat!
azula is offline  
post #376 of 4519 Old 11-20-2012, 11:11 PM
Member
 
dmoneyman2323's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by azula View Post

I really really hope price talk is allowed because I will be scouring the net for deals tomorrow. lol. looks like 2800 is the price to beat!

Unfortunately I don't think we will see anything lower than that. I was hoping for a short $2599 deal like AudioGeneral did for preorders but I missed that. I have a AE7000 and I'm happy with everything but the 3d on it. I would like to upgrade to the 8000 but i'm not willing to pay $1000 for the upgrade (I figure I will only get about $2000 out of my 7000).

Displays: JVC RS4910 Projector | 125-inch 2.35:1 Elite Cinetension2 Screen | Panasonic 58V10 Plasma TV
Sources: Yamaha RX-A800 | Microsoft XBOX One | Dish Hopper | Intel i5 Nuc w/ Openelec | Behringer iNuke 3000DSP
Speakers: DIY Fusion-12 Tempest (L/R) | DIY 88-Special (C) | DIY Volt-10 Speakers (Surr L/R) | Subwoofers: MartyCube w/ Stereo Integrity SI-18 X 2
dmoneyman2323 is offline  
post #377 of 4519 Old 11-21-2012, 01:50 AM
Member
 
HudsonK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaks View Post

Make sure Frame Interpolation is turned off, I have some problems with PC too, but the one you describe I only get when I have Frame Interpolation on, though it's not really that severe with my pc.
Concerning the desktop size issue I never got that one. Make sure your graphic card is set correctly to 1920x1080 60hz (mine defaults to 30hz with this projector for some reason) and turn off all graphic card desktop resize and under-/overscan options you can find in your graphics card control panel.


Ok thanks. I finally found the overscan area in my Catalyst CC, so I fixed the screen size issue.

Unfortunately I have found no fix for the warbly nature of dragging windows and freshly drawn elements. Frame interpolation is off. Just so wierd. I guess I should try some new drivers. Certainly this card is good/fast enough...

Thanks, Jaks!
HudsonK is offline  
post #378 of 4519 Old 11-21-2012, 04:41 AM
Senior Member
 
randy98mtu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well I got my projector mounted and setup. I was up till midnight watching clips from my favorite movies and figuring out how to get my lens settings right for 16:9 and 2.35. Think I have it pretty good now. Very happy with the purchase! Even if I missed out on some slightly better deals. I grabbed the deal from the river site, which was the lowest I saw before this morning with the new rebates.
randy98mtu is offline  
post #379 of 4519 Old 11-21-2012, 04:48 AM
Member
 
FlyingCheese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Central IL
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lens Memory with Lens Shift?

Apologies if this has been answered already, I looked but could not find it....

Will the lens memory function work if I'm utilizing lens shift? My room does not permit mounting of the projector within the screen area - it will be mounted 8-9 inches above the top of the screen. My primary interest in this projector is the lens memory and power zoom/focus features - I'll be pretty disappointed if using lens shift means no lens memory.....

Please check out my FlyingCheese Theater build thread. I need followers to answer my questions!!
FlyingCheese is offline  
post #380 of 4519 Old 11-21-2012, 04:58 AM
Senior Member
 
randy98mtu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
They are independent. You shift the lens manually. The zoom, focus and memory are electronic. I just set mine up last night. Took me a bit of back and forth to figure it out. but I have it working very well now for both 16:9 and 2.35. I haven't tried the auto switching yet. It seemed to get confused in the 3 minutes I tried it so I just turned it off. I'll come back to that. Shouldn't be hard to put a couple buttons on my Harmony for the different settings I'll need. I'll just leave it in 16:9 when I turn it off so the non-tweakers in the house can watch anything without complaining that half the picture is spilling over the screen.
randy98mtu is offline  
post #381 of 4519 Old 11-21-2012, 05:10 AM
Member
 
FlyingCheese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Central IL
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by randy98mtu View Post

They are independent. You shift the lens manually. The zoom, focus and memory are electronic. I just set mine up last night. Took me a bit of back and forth to figure it out. but I have it working very well now for both 16:9 and 2.35. I haven't tried the auto switching yet. It seemed to get confused in the 3 minutes I tried it so I just turned it off. I'll come back to that. Shouldn't be hard to put a couple buttons on my Harmony for the different settings I'll need. I'll just leave it in 16:9 when I turn it off so the non-tweakers in the house can watch anything without complaining that half the picture is spilling over the screen.

Understood that they're independent of each other, but I swear I had read somewhere that if you were utilizing lens shift - that is if your projector was mounted outside the screen area, that lens shift would not function appropriately. Can anyone confirm or deny this?

I've got it down to the Panny 8000 or Epson 5020 - if lens shift and lens memory don't play nicely together, it's the Epson for me....

Please check out my FlyingCheese Theater build thread. I need followers to answer my questions!!
FlyingCheese is offline  
post #382 of 4519 Old 11-21-2012, 05:20 AM
Member
 
baltar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Boxtel, Holland
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mine developed a dark blue dustblob after 20 hours. It is only visible when no images are projected so that's luckey. Hope i don't get any more..
I thought this was something on the past.
baltar is offline  
post #383 of 4519 Old 11-21-2012, 05:47 AM
Member
 
rd7723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blizaine View Post

Sure thing, it is an Omnimount Tria 3 Shelf wall mount. I only used one shelf, but I got it for the extra height. My stud finder kept telling me I had cross beams in the wall so I used this for cable management rather than fishing the wall. The shelves are perfect for the AE8000. And it's very sturdy.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000RT8CM2/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B000RT8CM2&linkCode=as2&tag=amazonbb55-20

Hey thanks for answering my question. That is perfect. take care.
rd7723 is offline  
post #384 of 4519 Old 11-21-2012, 06:09 AM
Senior Member
 
randy98mtu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
FlyingCheese: With my vast 3 hours of experience (lol) I can tell you this. My lens is less than 8" off the ceiling. The top of my screen is around 14-16" off the ceiling, so at least 6 inches below the lens. My screen is 55" tall, so I'm around 10% of screen height outside of the screen area. Also I had a moment of dyslexia when I was mounting the projector and shifted 4" the wrong way, so my lens is 8" off center of the screen. I used the manual lens shift to dial in the position. It's a balancing act going back and forth with fitting the height of the 16:9 image on the screen, then fitting the width of a 2.35 image on the screen. I had to go back and forth between the electronic zoom and the manual shift, but I got there. I also initially had the 2.35 image centered vertically and had to use electronic vertical shift to get the16:9 image on the screen. This started cropping the bottom of the image. So I started over and fit the 16:9 height, then the 2.35 width for the lens shift. Then I had to apply a slight vertical shift to get the 2.35 image on the screen, but this time I was cropping unused area at the top of the screen. I've got it very close now.

Like I said, it took me about 30 minutes to get it hung, then I watched/tweaked position for 2.5 hours. Probably the hardest part was navigating menus, upside down and more than 50% off the screen before realizing I could use the lens shift to find the "Front/Ceiling" setting. smile.gif
randy98mtu is offline  
post #385 of 4519 Old 11-21-2012, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
azula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingCheese View Post

Understood that they're independent of each other, but I swear I had read somewhere that if you were utilizing lens shift - that is if your projector was mounted outside the screen area, that lens shift would not function appropriately. Can anyone confirm or deny this?
I've got it down to the Panny 8000 or Epson 5020 - if lens shift and lens memory don't play nicely together, it's the Epson for me....


I know that this was true for the 7000. The projector had to be mounted within the parameters of the screen itself for lens memory to work correctly. While most likely true for the 8k, I can't confirm it since I haven't taken the plunge yet. Good luck.
azula is offline  
post #386 of 4519 Old 11-21-2012, 07:08 AM
Member
 
ChrisE123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hartford, Wisconsin
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I decided to return my PT-AE8000 projector and have it replaced with a new one due to the high pitched whine, convergence and uniformity issues. Well I have to say the new one does have better convergence and uniformity but still makes the high pitched whining sound which I can live with. But now I noticed flickering on the new projector when the screen is a displaying a constant color. I noticed this right away when I first turned on the projector and its been doing this for the few hours I had it on. Does anyone know if this will go away?

Also, I still have the old PT-AE8000 as I have to send it back still. Should I just switch the bulbs out and see if that would fix it?
ChrisE123 is offline  
post #387 of 4519 Old 11-21-2012, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,399
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 825 Post(s)
Liked: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisE123 View Post

I decided to return my PT-AE8000 projector and have it replaced with a new one due to the high pitched whine, convergence and uniformity issues. Well I have to say the new one does have better convergence and uniformity but still makes the high pitched whining sound which I can live with. But now I noticed flickering on the new projector when the screen is a displaying a constant color. I noticed this right away when I first turned on the projector and its been doing this for the few hours I had it on. Does anyone know if this will go away?

Also, I still have the old PT-AE8000 as I have to send it back still. Should I just switch the bulbs out and see if that would fix it?

this sounds similar to what some folks saw on the 7000 last year. I would try swapping lamps to see if it's the lamp or the actual projector.
zombie10k is online now  
post #388 of 4519 Old 11-21-2012, 07:54 AM
Member
 
JasonSuave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisE123 View Post

I decided to return my PT-AE8000 projector and have it replaced with a new one due to the high pitched whine, convergence and uniformity issues. Well I have to say the new one does have better convergence and uniformity but still makes the high pitched whining sound which I can live with. But now I noticed flickering on the new projector when the screen is a displaying a constant color. I noticed this right away when I first turned on the projector and its been doing this for the few hours I had it on. Does anyone know if this will go away?
Also, I still have the old PT-AE8000 as I have to send it back still. Should I just switch the bulbs out and see if that would fix it?

How long did it take you to get your replacement. Panasonic told me the replacement could take 3-4 weeks before it even ships!
JasonSuave is offline  
post #389 of 4519 Old 11-21-2012, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
randy98mtu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Do most folks put the lens cap on when not using the projector? I left mine off today since I didn't know if our sitter or my wife would try turning it on and I didn't want them to overheat the thing. After I show a few people how to operate it I may start using it. Hopefully I make it complicated enough they won't bother. smile.gif
randy98mtu is offline  
post #390 of 4519 Old 11-21-2012, 08:06 AM
Member
 
ChrisE123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hartford, Wisconsin
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonSuave View Post

How long did it take you to get your replacement. Panasonic told me the replacement could take 3-4 weeks before it even ships!

I bought my projector from amazon and I contacted them and told them about my issue. They sent me a replacement with 1 day shipping, so I got the unit yesterday. After hearing your experience with Panasonic's customer support, i figured I wouldn't bother until I have to deal with them. Did you have to send your projector back and then wait for the replacement? Cause if that's the cause that is horrible.
ChrisE123 is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Epson 5020ub Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Jvc Dla X35 3d Hd Front Projector , Panasonic Pt Ae7000u 1080p Full Hd Projector , Panasonic Pt Ae4000u 1600 Lumen Lcd Home Theater Projector , Sony Vpl Hw50es 3d Projector , Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor , Panasonic Ptae8000u Hd Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off