Official Sony VPL-HW50ES Owners Thread - Page 117 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3481 of 3507 Old 10-28-2014, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Done Deal DR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebase131 View Post
Just last night I started having some serious flickering issues. I switched to high lamp mode and it was still flickering badly.

What is recommended that I do? Is this a bulb issue or equipment issue? I really hate the thought of having to send this thing in for maintenance; couldn't be worse time and I'm praying it's just the bulb. The bulb has about 980 hours on it.
Did your projector come with the spare bulb? If possible swap that in just to see if the condition goes away, if it doesn't then it will need to go in for repair. If it does then it seems as though your bulb failed early.

It seems like you're already aware of the intermittent flickering while on low mode given you turned to high and it persisted, I've had it occur rarely while in low mode (which I am most of the time), but mine's always been resolved by turning it to high for a few seconds.

Home Theater Build in Progress (Contemporary living room, Klipsch RF-7 II 5.2 audio, Sony VPL-HW50ES Projector, Da-Lite 16:9 159" HP, recessed Mid Atlantic rack, etc)
Done Deal DR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3482 of 3507 Old 10-29-2014, 02:09 AM
Member
 
ltd76gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Zigzag Oregon / South Padre Island Texas
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Done Deal DR View Post
Did your projector come with the spare bulb? If possible swap that in just to see if the condition goes away, if it doesn't then it will need to go in for repair. If it does then it seems as though your bulb failed early.

It seems like you're already aware of the intermittent flickering while on low mode given you turned to high and it persisted, I've had it occur rarely while in low mode (which I am most of the time), but mine's always been resolved by turning it to high for a few seconds.
Done deal has it perfect. Even if you do not have a spare, buy a new bulb and switch to see if issue is resolved.

If fixed after a new bulb is installed, be aware that it is not necessarily the amount of hours that causes bulbs to fail. More commonly, frequent and many power "on/off" cycles are bulb killers.
ltd76gold is offline  
post #3483 of 3507 Old 10-29-2014, 03:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
wont turn off

Hi wondering if anyone knows what the problem might be with my sony hw50es sometimes i cant turn it off and it wont respond to the remote or the buttons on the unit happend 2 times
Roger Lindström is offline  
post #3484 of 3507 Old 10-29-2014, 06:36 AM
Member
 
Ebase131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Done Deal DR View Post
Did your projector come with the spare bulb? If possible swap that in just to see if the condition goes away, if it doesn't then it will need to go in for repair. If it does then it seems as though your bulb failed early.

It seems like you're already aware of the intermittent flickering while on low mode given you turned to high and it persisted, I've had it occur rarely while in low mode (which I am most of the time), but mine's always been resolved by turning it to high for a few seconds.
I am rather embarrassed to say that the issue was actually not even the projector at all. I came home yesterday after work and was prepared to tear the thing apart off the ceiling, but decided I'd turn it on again just for fun to confirm it was still flickering, and it wasn't flickering! I was baffled by it, and proceeded to enjoy my evening of some gaming. At the end of the night, I decided to flip to the cable source to catch the end of the World Series game 6, and the flickering was there again! I became really worried as I'd never seen this flickering before and assumed again the bulb was reacting strangely, perhaps to the change in the settings to the preset "TV" mode? Turns out, the HDMI cord going into the Xbox One was ever so slightly loose which was causing that intermittent signal that looked very similar to what I would imagine a dying bulb would look like.

Extremely relieved! Long story short, thank you for the quick help and I hope this bulb lasts another 1000+ hours!

Also, are there any recommended settings for the brightness/RC/color etc. listed by a forum user that people generally use to maximize bulb life while also maintaining a great-looking picture? Do people generally use the presets provided instead of doing some custom settings? Since I was worried about it, I took a look at the settings for "GAME" last night and realized it sets it to HIGH lamp which is overkill and I'd prefer to keep it at Low setting to preserve the life of the bulb.
Ebase131 is offline  
post #3485 of 3507 Old 10-29-2014, 06:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Done Deal DR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebase131 View Post
I am rather embarrassed to say that the issue was actually not even the projector at all. I came home yesterday after work and was prepared to tear the thing apart off the ceiling, but decided I'd turn it on again just for fun to confirm it was still flickering, and it wasn't flickering! I was baffled by it, and proceeded to enjoy my evening of some gaming. At the end of the night, I decided to flip to the cable source to catch the end of the World Series game 6, and the flickering was there again! I became really worried as I'd never seen this flickering before and assumed again the bulb was reacting strangely, perhaps to the change in the settings to the preset "TV" mode? Turns out, the HDMI cord going into the Xbox One was ever so slightly loose which was causing that intermittent signal that looked very similar to what I would imagine a dying bulb would look like.

Extremely relieved! Long story short, thank you for the quick help and I hope this bulb lasts another 1000+ hours!

Also, are there any recommended settings for the brightness/RC/color etc. listed by a forum user that people generally use to maximize bulb life while also maintaining a great-looking picture? Do people generally use the presets provided instead of doing some custom settings? Since I was worried about it, I took a look at the settings for "GAME" last night and realized it sets it to HIGH lamp which is overkill and I'd prefer to keep it at Low setting to preserve the life of the bulb.
Hey, a loose HDMI connection is better than a bad projector any day of the week! Glad the fix was simple (and cheap)!

Home Theater Build in Progress (Contemporary living room, Klipsch RF-7 II 5.2 audio, Sony VPL-HW50ES Projector, Da-Lite 16:9 159" HP, recessed Mid Atlantic rack, etc)
Done Deal DR is offline  
post #3486 of 3507 Old 10-29-2014, 07:10 AM
Member
 
Ebase131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Done Deal DR View Post
Hey, a loose HDMI connection is better than a bad projector any day of the week! Glad the fix was simple (and cheap)!
What settings do you typically watch TV or movies on? Do you do anything else on the projector as well?

And where would you suggest getting a new lamp from? I want to be prepared!
Ebase131 is offline  
post #3487 of 3507 Old 10-29-2014, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Done Deal DR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebase131 View Post
What settings do you typically watch TV or movies on? Do you do anything else on the projector as well?

And where would you suggest getting a new lamp from? I want to be prepared!
I've got a couple cable boxes on it, a ROKU 3, Oppo 103, and an Xbox One.

I'm not one to ask on settings as I've never calibrated it. I've tweaked a couple settings and adjust the reality creation depending on the content, but by and large I use the out of the box settings. TV for cable, Reference or Cinema 1/2 for movies, Game for Xbox One. I'm sure a calibration would make a decent difference, but to me it looks quite good out of the box. I keep Game mode on High mode most of the time, and the only other thing I watch in high mode is 3D (which is a requirement). Very rarely I use "Bright TV" mode for TV watching with a lot of ambient light.

I'm still on the original bulb with 3,000 hours on it and still have the original spare bulb. I haven't really looked around for a spare but I'm sure I'll just order one up from AV Science if and when I need one.

Home Theater Build in Progress (Contemporary living room, Klipsch RF-7 II 5.2 audio, Sony VPL-HW50ES Projector, Da-Lite 16:9 159" HP, recessed Mid Atlantic rack, etc)

Last edited by Done Deal DR; 10-29-2014 at 07:29 AM.
Done Deal DR is offline  
post #3488 of 3507 Old 10-29-2014, 07:35 AM
Member
 
Ebase131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Done Deal DR View Post
I've got a couple cable boxes on it, a ROKU 3, Oppo 103, and an Xbox One.

I'm not one to ask on settings as I've never calibrated it. I've tweaked a couple settings and adjust the reality creation depending on the content, but by and large I use the out of the box settings. TV for cable, Reference or Cinema 1/2 for movies, Game for Xbox One. I'm sure a calibration would make a decent difference, but to me it looks quite good out of the box. I keep Game mode on High mode most of the time, and the only other thing I watch in high mode is 3D (which is a requirement). Very rarely I use "Bright TV" mode for TV watching with a lot of ambient light.

I'm still on the original bulb with 3,000 hours on it and still have the original spare bulb. I haven't really looked around for a spare but I'm sure I'll just order one up from AV Science if and when I need one.
3000 hours! Wow, that is reassuring to hear. I hope I have that type of longevity with mine; I am fortunate to have a spare that came with the projector, so I'm not in immediate need even if the original bulb crapped out, but was just curious.

And yeah, for the settings I pretty much do the same thing, but often will keep it on Game or Movie 2 for TV (unless I'm watching sports) as that Soap Opera effect ruins everything it touches in my opinion. I find Movie 1 to be too juddery and soap-opera-y as well...I'm not sure if that's a result of the Reality Creation or another setting, but Movie 2 seems to be just about perfect for movies with the very occasional juddery effect.
Ebase131 is offline  
post #3489 of 3507 Old 10-29-2014, 08:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
BartMan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebase131 View Post
Just last night I started having some serious flickering issues. I switched to high lamp mode and it was still flickering badly.

What is recommended that I do? Is this a bulb issue or equipment issue? I really hate the thought of having to send this thing in for maintenance; couldn't be worse time and I'm praying it's just the bulb. The bulb has about 980 hours on it.
I have been struggling with the same issue. It comes and goes, it will be fine for a few days and then be horrible for a while. I tried swapping out the lamp for a new one and it made no difference. I need to bite the bullet and just send it in, I am just a little fearful of getting a refurb back with 'acceptable' issues mine does not have, or that it will decide to be fine while they have it. I thought I had it solved a while back when I had the A/C decoupled from the ceiling and it went away for a while only to come back later.

I think I will try the replacement lamp one more time and just send it in if that doesn't fix it. My biggest issue is that I use it almost every day and don't have another TV I can just use in it's place.
BartMan01 is offline  
post #3490 of 3507 Old 10-31-2014, 12:09 PM
Member
 
Oven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been getting the flicker issue for the last year. I really only notice it on Blu-ray movies. Not games or live TV. So, I'm hoping it's a loose connecter like Ebase131 on here found a few posts up. I'm going to check my HDMI cables to that player and the receiver. It's fairly intermittent and only seems to come on for a while, but then goes away again.

Oven is offline  
post #3491 of 3507 Old 11-02-2014, 06:30 PM
Member
 
Oven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I think I've figured this out for myself. The flickering issue I was experiencing was related to 1080 / 24. At 24 fps I get noticeable flicker. It's especially apparent in bright white areas. I thought it might be a cable issue as listed above, but my cables were snug and in place.

This also explains why I only saw it on movies and not video games or other media.

Oven is offline  
post #3492 of 3507 Old 11-02-2014, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,433
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oven View Post
Ok, I think I've figured this out for myself. The flickering issue I was experiencing was related to 1080 / 24. At 24 fps I get noticeable flicker. It's especially apparent in bright white areas. I thought it might be a cable issue as listed above, but my cables were snug and in place.

This also explains why I only saw it on movies and not video games or other media.
Do you have MotionFlow enabled? More specifically do you have the "Film Projection" MotionFlow mode enabled? If so, this is why you're seeing flicker with a 24p signal. Make sure you check this the next time you have a 24p movie playing.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Crazy Projector Journey
Seegs108 is online now  
post #3493 of 3507 Old 11-02-2014, 09:58 PM
Member
 
Oven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
Do you have MotionFlow enabled? More specifically do you have the "Film Projection" MotionFlow mode enabled? If so, this is why you're seeing flicker with a 24p signal. Make sure you check this the next time you have a 24p movie playing.
Yeah, I'm not a fan of motion flow, so I have it turned off.

Oven is offline  
post #3494 of 3507 Old 11-02-2014, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,433
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 297
It's very strange that you're seeing flicker with a 24p signal on this projector. The Film Projection mode doesn't look like you're typical frame interpolation "smooth" motion mode. Film Projection mode is a dark frame insertion interpolation mode. This mode adds motion resolution by adding dark frames. This will add flicker to the image on purpose to recreate what true 24 frames per second looks like. I'd just double check that this isn't enabled the next time you use a 24p signal going to the projector. I say this specifically, as previously noted, this mode doesn't give the image a "smooth" soap opera effect and the only noticeable thing it does add is flicker and some extra motion resolution. If it's truly off, you may have something wrong with your projector, incorrect video processing from source components in the chain before the Sony, or the cables are causing an issue.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Crazy Projector Journey
Seegs108 is online now  
post #3495 of 3507 Old 11-03-2014, 06:35 AM
Member
 
Oven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
It's very strange that you're seeing flicker with a 24p signal on this projector. The Film Projection mode doesn't look like you're typical frame interpolation "smooth" motion mode. Film Projection mode is a dark frame insertion interpolation mode. This mode adds motion resolution by adding dark frames. This will add flicker to the image on purpose to recreate what true 24 frames per second looks like. I'd just double check that this isn't enabled the next time you use a 24p signal going to the projector. I say this specifically, as previously noted, this mode doesn't give the image a "smooth" soap opera effect and the only noticeable thing it does add is flicker and some extra motion resolution. If it's truly off, you may have something wrong with your projector, incorrect video processing from source components in the chain before the Sony, or the cables are causing an issue.
What's "film projection mode"? Is this a mode of the projector? I've turned off 1080/24 on my Oppo blu-ray player only. I've not done anything with the default settings on the projector other than to adjust color and brightness when color correcting. The only feature I have turned on on the projector that I'm not sure is default, is the reality creating algorithm to sharpen the picture.

Oven is offline  
post #3496 of 3507 Old 11-03-2014, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
ndskurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndskurfer View Post
I still haven't found a good solution. Anybody know if Sony has discrete remote codes for aspect ratios?
I'm thinking there are no discrete codes for this? Just throwing it out there 1 more time in case anybody else switches between "squeeze" & "vertical stretch". cycling through the settings works, but would rather have it programmed into my harmony macro.
ndskurfer is offline  
post #3497 of 3507 Old 11-03-2014, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,433
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oven View Post
What's "film projection mode"? Is this a mode of the projector? I've turned off 1080/24 on my Oppo blu-ray player only. I've not done anything with the default settings on the projector other than to adjust color and brightness when color correcting. The only feature I have turned on on the projector that I'm not sure is default, is the reality creating algorithm to sharpen the picture.
Please refer to the manual, but in a nut shell I've already explained what it does. Like I said, it doesn't look like a traditional motion interpolation mode and I'd double check that it isn't enabled next time you use a 24p input. The manual will show you where this mode is located in the menus. I'm not sure if this is something that's enabled by default, I just know it's there and if you're only seeing flickering with 24p material this could be why.

RC is a "smart sharpening" algorithm similar to what a Darbee Darblet does. Technically it's not a "sharpener" because it doesn't do what traditional sharpening algorithms do, but the overall affect from it makes your brain see a sharper looking image.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Crazy Projector Journey
Seegs108 is online now  
post #3498 of 3507 Old 11-03-2014, 04:12 PM
Member
 
Oven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
Please refer to the manual, but in a nut shell I've already explained what it does. Like I said, it doesn't look like a traditional motion interpolation mode and I'd double check that it isn't enabled next time you use a 24p input. The manual will show you where this mode is located in the menus. I'm not sure if this is something that's enabled by default, I just know it's there and if you're only seeing flickering with 24p material this could be why.

RC is a "smart sharpening" algorithm similar to what a Darbee Darblet does. Technically it's not a "sharpener" because it doesn't do what traditional sharpening algorithms do, but the overall affect from it makes your brain see a sharper looking image.
Great, I'll give that a look tonight. Thanks for the info.

Oven is offline  
post #3499 of 3507 Old 11-06-2014, 11:57 AM
Member
 
Oven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oven View Post
Great, I'll give that a look tonight. Thanks for the info.
This actually fixed the issue! I'm pretty sure of it. Another night of watching and we'll see. This explains why I only saw it sometimes (I had film projection mode set to auto). I thought it was the 1080/24 thing, but not likely now. I'll turn 1080/24 back on and check again, because I really do prefer a film like look, but the black frames in white scenes flickering was a little too much.

Oven is offline  
post #3500 of 3507 Old 11-20-2014, 07:47 PM
Member
 
vkk07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone know the remote code to be used for this Sony projector with Sony's universal remotes?

I'm trying to configure the Sony RM-VLZ620 universal remote with my AV equipment. I've been able to setup everything except the Sony projector itself... what irony!

The remote is supposed to work with Sony devices out of the box, but it didn't work with the projector. I tried setting up using the Sony TV/Projector codes in the remote's Code List, but none of them work.
vkk07 is offline  
post #3501 of 3507 Old 11-20-2014, 07:47 PM
Member
 
vkk07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone know the remote code to be used for this Sony projector with Sony's universal remotes?

I'm trying to configure the Sony RM-VLZ620 universal remote with my AV equipment. I've been able to setup everything except the Sony projector itself... what irony!

The remote is supposed to work with Sony devices out of the box, but it didn't work with the projector. I tried setting up using the Sony TV/Projector codes in the remote's Code List, but none of them work.
vkk07 is offline  
post #3502 of 3507 Old Yesterday, 04:00 PM
Member
 
vkk07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I contacted Sony support to check for the projector's remote code. They're telling me that the Sony projector cannot be used with any universal remote. Is this really true?


Here is the email from Sony:

Dear Customer,

Thank you for contacting Sony Support.

I hope you are doing good. Thank you for being loyal to the Sony.

We really apologize for the delay in response.

Because of high volume with the emails we are unable to provide support for the emails.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused.

I have reviewed your concern and found that the remote RM-VLZ620 does not have any codes to program it to function with VPL-HW55ES projector.

Projectors cannot be operated by any remote other then the specified remote model for that particular model.

Hope this information is helpful to you.

Thank you for being a valued Sony Customer.

Have a Wonderful day!


If you would like to be the first to know about our latest products and receive exclusive offers, please sign up for our newsletter:
https://subscribe.sel.sony.com

The Sony Email Response Team
vkk07 is offline  
post #3503 of 3507 Old Yesterday, 04:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Done Deal DR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 109
IR is IR... Basically a load of crap. However they are saying that your particular remote model does not have the codes necessary to operate it which may be true. Any remote that has the correct code set however should be able to operate it.

Home Theater Build in Progress (Contemporary living room, Klipsch RF-7 II 5.2 audio, Sony VPL-HW50ES Projector, Da-Lite 16:9 159" HP, recessed Mid Atlantic rack, etc)
Done Deal DR is offline  
post #3504 of 3507 Old Today, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
TorTorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by vkk07 View Post
I contacted Sony support to check for the projector's remote code. They're telling me that the Sony projector cannot be used with any universal remote. Is this really true?


Here is the email from Sony:

Dear Customer,

Thank you for contacting Sony Support.

I hope you are doing good. Thank you for being loyal to the Sony.

We really apologize for the delay in response.

Because of high volume with the emails we are unable to provide support for the emails.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused.

I have reviewed your concern and found that the remote RM-VLZ620 does not have any codes to program it to function with VPL-HW55ES projector.

Projectors cannot be operated by any remote other then the specified remote model for that particular model.

Hope this information is helpful to you.

Thank you for being a valued Sony Customer.

Have a Wonderful day!


If you would like to be the first to know about our latest products and receive exclusive offers, please sign up for our newsletter:
https://subscribe.sel.sony.com

The Sony Email Response Team
Funny, my harmony ultimate controls it just fine.
TorTorden is online now  
post #3505 of 3507 Old Today, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tigerfan33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by TorTorden View Post
Funny, my harmony ultimate controls it just fine.
So does my Directv remote....
tigerfan33 is offline  
post #3506 of 3507 Old Today, 04:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Done Deal DR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Yes... any IR remote with the appropriate IR code set will control it fine, there isn't anything beyond the code set Sony has implemented on the IR protocol for this or any other product, like any other manufacturer. IR is IR.

Home Theater Build in Progress (Contemporary living room, Klipsch RF-7 II 5.2 audio, Sony VPL-HW50ES Projector, Da-Lite 16:9 159" HP, recessed Mid Atlantic rack, etc)
Done Deal DR is offline  
post #3507 of 3507 Old Today, 04:42 PM
Member
 
Quickett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mo County, MD
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
In a previous post in this thread, there is a link to a file with all of the hex remote codes. Can't find it with this mobile version, but doing a search should easily find it.

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk 2
Quickett is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Hw50es 3d Projector

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off