Official Sony VPL-HW50ES Owners Thread - Page 124 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 22Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 3721 Unread 11-27-2016, 05:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ndabunka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 555 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by quack724 View Post
I don't see the link to your classified ad. Can you PM it to me?
PM sent

Epson 5040ub Projector, Elite Screens 120" Saker AUHD, Yamaha RX-A3060, B&W Speakers: Signature 7's, FMP4, CWM7.5s, CCM65s, Rythmik 15" CI Sub, 30' Monoprice Cabernet Ultra CL2, Tiara CI-Pro Series In-wall wiring, Phillips BDP7501 UHD BD Player, Niles 1230 WHA Amp, Xbox, WiiU, TiVo Premiere
ndabunka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 3721 Unread 11-27-2016, 06:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ndabunka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 555 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by quack724 View Post
I googled "nokia lumia 635 usb cable" and it appears to be micro A to micro USB B (not mini USB or USB C).
OK, it could be

Epson 5040ub Projector, Elite Screens 120" Saker AUHD, Yamaha RX-A3060, B&W Speakers: Signature 7's, FMP4, CWM7.5s, CCM65s, Rythmik 15" CI Sub, 30' Monoprice Cabernet Ultra CL2, Tiara CI-Pro Series In-wall wiring, Phillips BDP7501 UHD BD Player, Niles 1230 WHA Amp, Xbox, WiiU, TiVo Premiere
ndabunka is offline  
post #3693 of 3721 Unread 05-02-2017, 05:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everybody.
In advance I apologize, English is not my native language.
Recently, I bought a Sony HW50 and ran into a problem.
When playing 3D, the projector starts bzzz.
I just started reading this thread and would like to understand who and how to solve such a problem?
Zel41 is offline  
 
post #3694 of 3721 Unread 05-02-2017, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zel41 View Post
Hi everybody.

In advance I apologize, English is not my native language.

Recently, I bought a Sony HW50 and ran into a problem.

When playing 3D, the projector starts bzzz.

I just started reading this thread and would like to understand who and how to solve such a problem?


I think I've read that you can use an optional RF emitter. I'm not sure of their cost or availability.

Fortunately for me, my HW50ES never had that problem.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PN59D8000 and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
Front - CM9, Center - CMC2, Side Surrounds - DS3, Rear Surrounds - CM5, Front/Rear Atmos - CCM663, Subs - PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Remote/Streaming Media Players - Harmony Elite, Apple TV 2, Nvidia Shield Pro - use with HDHomeRun Connect/Extend and Plex
Sweetmeat is offline  
post #3695 of 3721 Unread 05-02-2017, 06:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetmeat View Post
I think I've read that you can use an optional RF emitter.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for the answer.
It is he?
Sony TMR-BR100
Zel41 is offline  
post #3696 of 3721 Unread 05-02-2017, 06:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by BajaPete View Post

I guess I should chime in here as I had the internal emitter buzz on a recently purchased B-Stock HW50 from AVS. Turns out mine was an early production unit which was labeled with a refurbish date of 12/5/2012. Mike at AVS went to bat for me with Sony and they did provide me with the external emitter TMR-PJ2. This completely cured the problem. Luckily the flood of IR from the transmitter does not affect any of my other components (Onkyo Pre/Pro, Oppo 103D, DirecTV reciever).

BajaPete
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zel41 View Post
Thanks for the answer.
It is he?
Sony TMR-BR100
See the post above for more information.

PN59D8000 and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
Front - CM9, Center - CMC2, Side Surrounds - DS3, Rear Surrounds - CM5, Front/Rear Atmos - CCM663, Subs - PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Remote/Streaming Media Players - Harmony Elite, Apple TV 2, Nvidia Shield Pro - use with HDHomeRun Connect/Extend and Plex

Last edited by Sweetmeat; 05-02-2017 at 06:56 AM.
Sweetmeat is offline  
post #3697 of 3721 Unread 05-02-2017, 06:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17,813
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6372 Post(s)
Liked: 4118
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zel41 View Post
Hi everybody.
In advance I apologize, English is not my native language.
Recently, I bought a Sony HW50 and ran into a problem.
When playing 3D, the projector starts bzzz.
I just started reading this thread and would like to understand who and how to solve such a problem?
It is a capacitor problem, that is encountered, when using 3D. You can either send it in for repair or buy the optional IR emitter, TMR-PJ2. The optional emitter usually works better than the built in emitter and costs the same or cheaper than shipping the projector for repair. Of course your other option might be to just return the projector and buy something else.
http://www.sony.co.uk/pro/product/pr...-pj2/overview/

mjgarrett100@gmail.com

My Baffle wall LCR build: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...-tpl-150h.html
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #3698 of 3721 Unread 05-02-2017, 06:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks guys!
And if I can use 3D glasses Hi-SHOСK or other with emitter TMR-PJ2?
Zel41 is offline  
post #3699 of 3721 Unread 05-02-2017, 06:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zel41 View Post
Thanks guys!
And if I can use 3D glasses Hi-SHOСK or other with emitter TMR-PJ2?
Sorry, that I'm not able to answer since I didn't need to use that emitter. With using the built-in emitter, the Sony PS3 3D glasses work great, along with (of course) the OEM glasses that came with the HW50ES.

PN59D8000 and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
Front - CM9, Center - CMC2, Side Surrounds - DS3, Rear Surrounds - CM5, Front/Rear Atmos - CCM663, Subs - PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Remote/Streaming Media Players - Harmony Elite, Apple TV 2, Nvidia Shield Pro - use with HDHomeRun Connect/Extend and Plex
Sweetmeat is offline  
post #3700 of 3721 Unread 05-02-2017, 08:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I wrote to Sony.
Let's see what they answer about "bzzz problem".
Zel41 is offline  
post #3701 of 3721 Unread 05-13-2017, 02:59 AM
Member
 
networkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys.

I have been battling a problem with my projector where the screen will go black for a second or two semi-frequently. Often it will happen a few times in a row until something is reset. Sometimes it's a cable unplugged and replugged, othertimes 1-2 restarts of the amp will help. I have changed the cable and no difference. Happens on a lot of sources. I changed the Amp for an A2060 from my A3030 and it didn't happen once in 2 weeks, decided I'd buy said amp, and the last 2 days it's resumed doing it. I am very puzzled.

Are there any firmware updates for this device?
Could this be a faulty bulb (I assume not since a variety of different issues cause it.

Anyone seen it? Sometimes it's super quick, sometimes it's a little longer. Sometimes if it's long, the input will show on the screen top left (HDMI1 for example).
networkn is online now  
post #3702 of 3721 Unread 05-13-2017, 06:06 AM
Senior Member
 
ltd76gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Zigzag Oregon / South Padre Island Texas
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 41
You might try switching the hdmi input on the projector from (hdmi 1) to (hdmi 2).

If that works, you might want to recheck your user settings as they are independent.

Are you getting any power on indication telltale... Flashing red or green or a combo of both?

Doug k
ltd76gold is offline  
post #3703 of 3721 Unread 05-15-2017, 06:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
BartMan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Looking at getting a new bulb. I see a handful of places that sell bulbs for ~100 less than the official Sony packaged bulb. Looking closely at pictures in the positive reviews for these bulbs they do appear to use Philips UHP Bulbs, but they have different markings:
Original bulb: 200/150W 0.8
Replacement bulb: 200W 1.0, part number AM200-150WP22

Seems the major difference between the official Sony bulb and the cheaper ones is the arc length of .8 vs 1.0. Even looking around at bare bulbs, I don't see a Philips 200W 0.8 arc bulb for sale anywhere so I am guessing that Sony is using a bulb designed specifically for them.

Has anyone found a reliable source other than the official Sony boxed units that uses the .8 arc bulbs?

Thanks.

Edit: Just got confirmation from Pureland Supply (mentioned earlier in this thread as a trustworthy source) that their lamp has the 1mm arc bulbs as well. Has anyone tried the commonly available 1mm arc bulbs in this projector? Any pros (other than price)/cons to doing so?

Last edited by BartMan01; 05-15-2017 at 10:28 AM.
BartMan01 is offline  
post #3704 of 3721 Unread 05-15-2017, 07:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17,813
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6372 Post(s)
Liked: 4118
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by networkn View Post
Hi Guys.

I have been battling a problem with my projector where the screen will go black for a second or two semi-frequently. Often it will happen a few times in a row until something is reset. Sometimes it's a cable unplugged and replugged, othertimes 1-2 restarts of the amp will help. I have changed the cable and no difference. Happens on a lot of sources. I changed the Amp for an A2060 from my A3030 and it didn't happen once in 2 weeks, decided I'd buy said amp, and the last 2 days it's resumed doing it. I am very puzzled.

Are there any firmware updates for this device?
Could this be a faulty bulb (I assume not since a variety of different issues cause it.

Anyone seen it? Sometimes it's super quick, sometimes it's a little longer. Sometimes if it's long, the input will show on the screen top left (HDMI1 for example).
You might want to try a different HDMI cable. It sounds like your cable may be working close to the edge of its limits.

mjgarrett100@gmail.com

My Baffle wall LCR build: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...-tpl-150h.html
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #3705 of 3721 Unread 05-16-2017, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
ltd76gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Zigzag Oregon / South Padre Island Texas
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Looking at getting a new bulb. I see a handful of places that sell bulbs for ~100 less than the official Sony packaged bulb. Looking closely at pictures in the positive reviews for these bulbs they do appear to use Philips UHP Bulbs, but they have different markings:
http://www.purelandsupply.com/sony-p...pl-hw50es.html

This comes complete with the module, fully assembled but no filter. While I have changed many a bulb using the old carrier module, for $30 more...not worth the potential hassles. Must wear gloves and be mighty careful! Especially with the old lamp removal. Heat makes everything brittle.

Works perfectly.
Interesting about the lamp arc.... Never ran into that or just did not read up.

All the Best,
Doug

Imaging Science Foundation Technician ( Retired )
ltd76gold is offline  
post #3706 of 3721 Unread 05-16-2017, 09:30 AM
Member
 
kirbybreezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetmeat View Post
Could someone post a picture of a still shot of a football game where the camera is panned out, like when everyone is lined up before the snap?

It seems that my projector has a problem as the picture is not clear at all during those shots, but up close the picture is very clear. I have no idea why there's such a big difference in clarity, but I want to know if it's just my projector or if all HW50ES's look that way. Maybe it's my screen causing the issue.

My projector is mounted about 15' from the screen in a light controlled room.

Below are some pictures from my seat. The first 3 seem a little fuzzy to me, but the closeups seem more clear.

***Edited*** I accidentally indicated I had a HW55ES.

That is most likely the nature of the TV signal. Wide shots often don't have the highest quality cameras and/or are compressed. This happens on certain sports channels.
Try comparing the same feed on a flat panel TV if possible.

Jamal Shareef
THX® Certified Video Calibrator
Seattle, WA
kirbybreezy is offline  
post #3707 of 3721 Unread 05-16-2017, 05:06 PM
Member
 
daWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by BartMan01 View Post
Looking at getting a new bulb. I see a handful of places that sell bulbs for ~100 less than the official Sony packaged bulb. Looking closely at pictures in the positive reviews for these bulbs they do appear to use Philips UHP Bulbs, but they have different markings:
Original bulb: 200/150W 0.8
Replacement bulb: 200W 1.0, part number AM200-150WP22

Seems the major difference between the official Sony bulb and the cheaper ones is the arc length of .8 vs 1.0. Even looking around at bare bulbs, I don't see a Philips 200W 0.8 arc bulb for sale anywhere so I am guessing that Sony is using a bulb designed specifically for them.

Has anyone found a reliable source other than the official Sony boxed units that uses the .8 arc bulbs?

Thanks.

Edit: Just got confirmation from Pureland Supply (mentioned earlier in this thread as a trustworthy source) that their lamp has the 1mm arc bulbs as well. Has anyone tried the commonly available 1mm arc bulbs in this projector? Any pros (other than price)/cons to doing so?
No idea what arc length my bulb is put I went through 2 sony bulbs and just picked up an el cheapo one off amazon @ https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 . Works great got 100hrs on it so far. I honestly can't tell the difference.
daWill is offline  
post #3708 of 3721 Unread 05-16-2017, 05:26 PM
Member
 
networkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
You might want to try a different HDMI cable. It sounds like your cable may be working close to the edge of its limits.
I had an installer quality cable designed for installation into walls and ceilings (24 AWG maybe or something?) and at the supplier of the amps' insistence replaced it with a Fibre Optic HDMI cable of the same length (Need 10M) and the behaviour didn't really change, except the speed of the black outs seemed shorter. So instead of the screen going black for a full second, it was going black for half a second for example).

The number of times it happened and what it took to fix it, didn't change.

If it were a cable length problem, I'd expect an Amp restart to not resolve the issue ?
networkn is online now  
post #3709 of 3721 Unread 05-16-2017, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
ltd76gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Zigzag Oregon / South Padre Island Texas
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 41
The ARC distance of the lamp is a non issue. Get a bulb with the carriage. Cheap stuff never works for long... Think yugo.

Hdmi runs OF 50 feet... No issues. Been there and done that. Now if there are any bends in the cable and especially where the cable connection to to the PJ or avr... Big hassles.

Images of football from any cable/dish provider.... Simply not giving you the bandwidth to keep the image close to pure. If your bud's or streams of 1080p are pure but your cable pix suck, blame the provider you are using for the football game.

All the best
Doug k
ltd76gold is offline  
post #3710 of 3721 Unread 05-16-2017, 09:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17,813
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6372 Post(s)
Liked: 4118
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by networkn View Post
I had an installer quality cable designed for installation into walls and ceilings (24 AWG maybe or something?) and at the supplier of the amps' insistence replaced it with a Fibre Optic HDMI cable of the same length (Need 10M) and the behaviour didn't really change, except the speed of the black outs seemed shorter. So instead of the screen going black for a full second, it was going black for half a second for example).

The number of times it happened and what it took to fix it, didn't change.

If it were a cable length problem, I'd expect an Amp restart to not resolve the issue ?
Fiber optic is the correct type of cable. Which one are you using?

mjgarrett100@gmail.com

My Baffle wall LCR build: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...-tpl-150h.html
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #3711 of 3721 Unread 05-16-2017, 09:31 PM
Member
 
networkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
Fiber optic is the correct type of cable. Which one are you using?
We can only easily get one type here : Unitek

Optical fibre•HDMI 2.0, support 4K resolution•LED Flash Light•Hi-Fi quality, support 32 audio channels
•Nylon coated, ultra slim cable•Clear labeling •Long distance transfer•Cable available in 1.5m ~ 20m
networkn is online now  
post #3712 of 3721 Unread 05-16-2017, 09:33 PM
Member
 
networkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there new firmware available for this unit 50ES ? Any chance it might resolve the black screen issues I am having?
networkn is online now  
post #3713 of 3721 Unread 05-17-2017, 05:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17,813
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6372 Post(s)
Liked: 4118
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by networkn View Post
We can only easily get one type here : Unitek

Optical fibre•HDMI 2.0, support 4K resolution•LED Flash Light•Hi-Fi quality, support 32 audio channels
•Nylon coated, ultra slim cable•Clear labeling •Long distance transfer•Cable available in 1.5m ~ 20m
Quote:
Originally Posted by networkn View Post
Is there new firmware available for this unit 50ES ? Any chance it might resolve the black screen issues I am having?
No one with an HW50 has had this issue, so I doubt that it is the projector. Only way to solve these types of problems is to eliminate variables in the video chain, until the problem goes away. So if you have the video going through and AVR, eliminate that, by going direct from source to projector. If you still have it, try a shorter cable feeding direct from source to projector. If you still have it, try a different source. If you still have it, then it is the projector, but I will be very surprised if the problem is the projector.

mjgarrett100@gmail.com

My Baffle wall LCR build: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...-tpl-150h.html
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #3714 of 3721 Unread 05-21-2017, 03:07 PM
Member
 
networkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am wondering if anyone else is having this? I watch Rugby on Live TV. When the pitch is shown (grass) in green, the entire display sort of... flickers? It's hard to explain, a little like it can't decide if it should be very bright or not so dark. It's visible other times too, but it's completely reproduceable.
networkn is online now  
post #3715 of 3721 Unread 05-21-2017, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
ltd76gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Zigzag Oregon / South Padre Island Texas
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 41
"If your bd's or streams of 1080p are pure but your cable/sat pix suck, blame the provider you are using for the football game".

How are your blu ray images?
ltd76gold is offline  
post #3716 of 3721 Unread 05-21-2017, 05:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17,813
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6372 Post(s)
Liked: 4118
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltd76gold View Post
"If your bd's or streams of 1080p are pure but your cable/sat pix suck, blame the provider you are using for the football game".

How are your blu ray images?
Correct. Your projector can't play one source perfectly and then play another source, using same projector settings, poorly. As you said, it is the source that is the problem.

mjgarrett100@gmail.com

My Baffle wall LCR build: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...-tpl-150h.html
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #3717 of 3721 Unread 05-22-2017, 03:43 PM
Member
 
networkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltd76gold View Post
"If your bd's or streams of 1080p are pure but your cable/sat pix suck, blame the provider you are using for the football game".

How are your blu ray images?
I don't recall Blu-Ray or gaming issues. If I watch that same game on a LCD/LED screen it does not have the flickering of the green.
networkn is online now  
post #3718 of 3721 Unread 05-28-2017, 02:58 AM
Member
 
networkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So my issue with the picture going black seems to be evolving in a bad way. Now it seems that I am getting "snow" more frequently and over the past few days, occasionally it will go to "snow" and then not recover back to the picture, and the way to fix that, is put the Amp into standby and back again.
Very occasionally I need to do this twice, but it's usually fine after that.
networkn is online now  
post #3719 of 3721 Unread Today, 10:47 PM
Member
 
networkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I think I am being dumb, but where do I set lamp mode to high? I see a standby mode low or standard, but nothing called lamp mode that I can see?
Ok I think it's under Cinema Pro Black, but it's already set to high and I am seeing flickering across all my content more or less, but particularly in sports games, showing green fields.
I have changed it back to low, and I guess I can change it back.

Last edited by networkn; Today at 10:53 PM.
networkn is online now  
post #3720 of 3721 Unread Today, 11:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,238
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by networkn View Post
Ok, I think I am being dumb, but where do I set lamp mode to high? I see a standby mode low or standard, but nothing called lamp mode that I can see?
Ok I think it's under Cinema Pro Black, but it's already set to high and I am seeing flickering across all my content more or less, but particularly in sports games, showing green fields.
I have changed it back to low, and I guess I can change it back.
You found the setting. I firmly believe there's a design flaw with these projectors and lamp flickering. Good friend of mine bought the HW40ES a while back and has the same issue as me with the flickering. Changing lamp setting from high to low or vice versa should fix it for a while, until it comes back... Just something we have to deal with.

I'm tempted, as a stopgap, to pick up an HW65ES as a replacement for the HW50ES, but I'm probably only thinking to do that because I'm bored. I should just wait for 4K technology to get cheaper because right now it's idiotically expensive...
WilliamG is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Hw50es 3d Projector



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off