Using old HDMI Cables - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 11-27-2012, 06:06 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
pred02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
As far as the cable, I read that all hdmi cables will pass 1.4 but not ethernet. I tested this theory with one 1.4 hdmi cable (brand new) and a year old 1.3 cable (monoprice) and it passed audio, video, and 3d). I cannot guarantee yours will but I would try before you buy, perhaps other members can offer their cable experiences.

We have a 25 ft cable circa 2006 Monoprice HDMI cable that we put in when we built the home theatre, it would be good to know if it will be compatible with with the newer projector such as the Panny AE8000 and Epson 5020 passing the 3D and 1080p signal.

Many thanks!
pred02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 11-27-2012, 07:34 AM
Member
 
holmern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
HDMI 1.3 was introduced in 2006, so it might be a 1.3 cable. If that is the case, you can use it for 3D without problems. In any case it will do 1080P.

holmern is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 11-27-2012, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 3,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 144
All HDMI cables are the same. The differences you see on websites selling them, ie. 1.3, 1.4 ect, has to do with build quality and signal retention. When a cable is spec'ed to be HDMI 1.4 compliant, that simply means that it's rated to send a certain amount of data through the cable without signal degradation or drop outs. Just because the cable says 1.3 doesn't mean you can't use them with a HDMI 1.4 port. You'll need to test it out first obviously. If it doesn't seem to pass information properly then you can buy a 1.4 rated one.
Seegs108 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 11-29-2012, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Floydster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered wall plates for HDMI cables. They were advertised (monoprice) to be HDMI/Ethernet plates, but they have female jacks that look just like HDMI. I haven't heard of HDMI cables passing ethernet, so I was puzzled. Why would I use HDMI cables to pass Ethernet instead of using CAT5e cables?

Floyd

A lie can travel halfway around the world before the truth gets its shoes on. -- Mark Twain
Floydster is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off