Official JVC DLA-RS46 / DLA-X35 owners thread - Page 78 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2311 of 2334 Old 07-07-2014, 03:02 PM
Member
 
petercw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question about improving sports watching via DirecTV.

My greatest frustration with watching sporting events on my JVC46 is simply the inconsistent and generally poor VQ of the image.. Especially full field shots which, depending on the channel and how much bandwidth DTV has afforded said channel, can really get pixelated. Now, when the shot goes to a close up of players or action it can look pretty great.

So, I am wondering if in this group there are any suggestions on alternate settings for the projector - away from my calibrated setup for general BluRay use - that could help improve watching sports on my big screen.

thanks in advance.
petercw2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2312 of 2334 Old 07-08-2014, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,198
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 566
I don't believe a display can fix a bad source.


gotta fix the problem, not try to cover it up. sorry
fierce_gt is online now  
post #2313 of 2334 Old 07-08-2014, 03:50 PM
Member
 
petercw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
I don't believe a display can fix a bad source.
gotta fix the problem, not try to cover it up. sorry
No need to apologize. I think you're right. I just wondered if others had found small tweaks that worked for this type of content that would not be appropriate otherwise.

Sadly, there is not much anyone can do about the quality of the source. OTA, cable, "Uverse" are all equally poor or worse than DTV.

thanks!
petercw2 is offline  
post #2314 of 2334 Old 07-08-2014, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,198
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by petercw2 View Post
No need to apologize. I think you're right. I just wondered if others had found small tweaks that worked for this type of content that would not be appropriate otherwise.

Sadly, there is not much anyone can do about the quality of the source. OTA, cable, "Uverse" are all equally poor or worse than DTV.

thanks!
the only thing I could even think of to try is to mess with the sharpness or even focus on the projector. maybe you can hide the pixilation a bit, and with a slight degradation of the 'good' quality image, it may not be as jarring when it flips between the two.


I'm pretty sure it's just that the jvc is revealing the issues with the source though. between the quality of image and size of image, minor flaws will become easily visible
fierce_gt is online now  
post #2315 of 2334 Old 07-10-2014, 08:38 AM
Member
 
petercw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
I'm pretty sure it's just that the jvc is revealing the issues with the source though. between the quality of image and size of image, minor flaws will become easily visible
agreed. I never anticipated that I could "fix it", but wondered if anyone else had noticed this and possibly had found a combination of setting changes that could improve it.

thanks again.
petercw2 is offline  
post #2316 of 2334 Old 07-13-2014, 09:25 PM
Newbie
 
Pwall921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy JVC lamp: Generation 3? Was I cheated?

Hi guys, I have a 2012 JVC X30BU. If this is the wrong forum please let me know. Some Problems since day one purchase 1-12 (unit would "freeze" upon startup displaying odd pattern of colored lines had to unplug and reboot) and was sent back to repair last time 9-12. Repair sheet says they replaced the optical block part #pc0210406u9 and the ballast pwb pc0106501u9. Ok, fast forward to 7-10-14. Lamp PK-L2210U has burned out at 1258 hours. I read about the so called "cooling fin" addition to the "gen 3" bulbs. So I order a new one direct from JVC. An insane $500. I have 4 questions:

See photo: new lamp left, old lamp right.

1) when was this "gen 3" lamp released?

2) Does the "optical block" include a lamp?

3). Should they have given me a new lamp?

4) software version 25.051. I tried updating the firmware early on but found it nearly impossible, I had to use a PC and I could never get the firmware to update correctly. Options on how important this is.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (177.0 KB, 18 views)
Pwall921 is offline  
post #2317 of 2334 Old 07-13-2014, 10:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pwall921 View Post
Hi guys, I have a 2012 JVC X30BU. If this is the wrong forum please let me know
There is a separate thread for the JVC X30. This thread is for the 2013 models which have a different lamp so you won't get much help here.
ScottJ is offline  
post #2318 of 2334 Old 07-14-2014, 04:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
kkpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by petercw2 View Post
agreed. I never anticipated that I could "fix it", but wondered if anyone else had noticed this and possibly had found a combination of setting changes that could improve it.

thanks again.
Unfortunately, garbage in equals garbage out. The new OPPO 103 & 103D allow you input an HDMI source and "clean" it up some. You may also want to play around with your output settings of the receiver box. The best would be to find a "native" resolution so the satellite receiver is not doing the scaling. Usually, the built in ones are not as capable as the projector or even the one that may be in your surround receiver.

Last edited by kkpro; 07-22-2014 at 03:49 AM.
kkpro is offline  
post #2319 of 2334 Old 07-22-2014, 10:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm in the process of rethinking my home theater set up for a new house. If I went with a 160" curved cinema scope screen, would I need one of those ridiculously expensive lenses? Or can the projector do it natively?
plissken99 is offline  
post #2320 of 2334 Old 07-23-2014, 02:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,198
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 566
I don't think you'd have the brightness for 160" even with the a-lens, maybe in high bulb with the iris fully opened, but I don't like the idea of REQUIRING the use of high bulb brightness. I never want to use a projector in it's brightest mode from the get go.


also, you'll need to post mounting distances to see if the zoom range is compatible or not too.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #2321 of 2334 Old 07-23-2014, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Glenn Baumann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
I don't think you'd have the brightness for 160" even with the a-lens, maybe in high bulb with the iris fully opened, but I don't like the idea of REQUIRING the use of high bulb brightness. I never want to use a projector in it's brightest mode from the get go. also, you'll need to post mounting distances to see if the zoom range is compatible or not too.

fierce,

How do you think the brightness would fair with a JVC X35 on a 120" wide (130" diagonal) 2.37 scope screen with a gain of 1.0?

Low lamp, closed iris over time?

...Glenn
Glenn Baumann is online now  
post #2322 of 2334 Old 07-23-2014, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Baumann View Post
fierce,

How do you think the brightness would fair with a JVC X35 on a 120" wide (130" diagonal) 2.37 scope screen with a gain of 1.0?

Low lamp, closed iris over time?

...Glenn
I'd assumed the curvature would help the brightness. Otherwise a 140" would be acceptable. But can I do one of those sizes without a lens?
plissken99 is offline  
post #2323 of 2334 Old 07-23-2014, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeahrens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Iowa, USA
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Baumann View Post
fierce,

How do you think the brightness would fair with a JVC X35 on a 120" wide (130" diagonal) 2.37 scope screen with a gain of 1.0?

Low lamp, closed iris over time?

...Glenn
Our screen is a 130" 1.0 gain 2.35:1. The RS46 is bright enough for us with in low lamp mode with the iris closed down to -7. Any curved screen will introduce distortion when using lens memory for scope content. The curvature is meant to address distortion introduced by some lens setups. Using the zoom method does not introduce this distortion, so instead you will be causing distortion from the curve.

jeahrens is offline  
post #2324 of 2334 Old 07-23-2014, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,198
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Baumann View Post
fierce,

How do you think the brightness would fair with a JVC X35 on a 120" wide (130" diagonal) 2.37 scope screen with a gain of 1.0?

Low lamp, closed iris over time?

...Glenn
I'm pretty sure I would be fine with it. if you're somebody that likes a really bright image you may not. I'm using my x35 on a 120" diagonal 16:9 screen right now, and think it's great. I've even watched 3D on it without opening up the iris and found it watchable.


I've got about 600hrs on the bulb right now, I haven't noticed any dimming, which probably just means it's been gradual. but if I'm gonna guess, I'd think you might want to open up the iris to -10 or -5 for that size screen. if not at the start, probably after a few hundred hours.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #2325 of 2334 Old 07-24-2014, 05:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Baumann View Post
fierce,

How do you think the brightness would fair with a JVC X35 on a 120" wide (130" diagonal) 2.37 scope screen with a gain of 1.0?

Low lamp, closed iris over time?

...Glenn
I have a 136" 2.35:1 screen and I'm on low lamp with Iris at -8. I only pen up the Iris and use high lamp mode for 3D. Pitch black room.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #2326 of 2334 Old 07-24-2014, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Never got a full answer to my question. Can a cinema scope screen be done without a lens?
plissken99 is offline  
post #2327 of 2334 Old 07-24-2014, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeahrens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Iowa, USA
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by plissken99 View Post
Never got a full answer to my question. Can a cinema scope screen be done without a lens?
Absolutely. The RS46 has a lens memory feature that allows you to save settings for various aspect ratios. Ours for instance has 2 I have saved. One called 16:9, the other Scope. We just select the appropriate ratio and it's done. Keep in mind that since you are zooming the active scope picture onto the 2.35:1 screen the black bars will spill over onto the wall. So if you have a bright or glossy finished wall this may be distracting. We use a dark flat red and can't see them at all.

jeahrens is offline  
post #2328 of 2334 Old 07-24-2014, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Excellent, I'm going for the gusto then, a 140" screen. 140" shouldn't be too large, and I won't lose any height the screen already has on my current 120" 16:9 screen.

I'll be using an acoustically transparent screen with speakers behind, so the surrounding wall will be speaker grill cloth.
plissken99 is offline  
post #2329 of 2334 Old 07-24-2014, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I should have clarified further. I'd also like the cinema scope screen to curved, can that be done without a special lens?

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Snake Plissken

 

plissken99 is offline  
post #2330 of 2334 Old 07-24-2014, 12:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
jeahrens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Iowa, USA
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by plissken99 View Post
I should have clarified further. I'd also like the cinema scope screen to curved, can that be done without a special lens?
Not without introducing distortion. Curved screens are meant to remedy distortion that is caused by some lens setups. The lens memory/zoom application of the RS46 does not suffer from this, so the curvature will instead introduce distortion.

jeahrens is offline  
post #2331 of 2334 Old 07-24-2014, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
From what I'm reading the lens solution introduces it's own artifacts, in the form of distortion and scaling artifacts. Sounds like the thing to do is forget the curved screen, it would look cool but it sounds like it introduces too many problems.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Snake Plissken

 

plissken99 is offline  
post #2332 of 2334 Old Yesterday, 12:25 PM
Member
 
gravi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was out of town for some time and when I got back to firing up the RS46 again it was after 4 or 5 weeks. What I noticed is that the image was shifted down an inch or so in my 2.35 lens memory setting. I turned on the image pattern and saw that the image was shifted down. Has any one else experienced this?
gravi is offline  
post #2333 of 2334 Old Yesterday, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,198
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravi View Post
I was out of town for some time and when I got back to firing up the RS46 again it was after 4 or 5 weeks. What I noticed is that the image was shifted down an inch or so in my 2.35 lens memory setting. I turned on the image pattern and saw that the image was shifted down. Has any one else experienced this?
I get a small bit of 'drift' when switching between settings, but I haven't had a setting drift just over time.


not sure if that's what you meant or not, but to clarify, I mostly watch scope movies, and I have gone weeks between viewings and the setting retains its position. but if I were to switch between the scope setting and 16:9 setting, I notice it's not perfect all the time.


this has been discussed and seems to be a common issue. those who use more lens shift seem to have more drift as well.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #2334 of 2334 Old Yesterday, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Every great now and then I seem to have to move the raster up. Particularly after a new install or any kind of movement of the projector.. Like it needs to settle.

I never thought much of it as I used CRT until the RS1 came out, and those things require constant adjustment.
plissken99 is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc Dla X35 3d Hd Front Projector , Jvc Dla Rs46 Projector , Panasonic Viera Ty Er3d4mu Active Shutter 3d Eyewear , Samsung Ssg 4100gb 3d Active Glasses 2012 Model , Optoma Hd72 720p Dlp Home Theater Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off