EPSON 6020 Owner Thread - Page 6 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #151 of 164 Old 11-20-2014, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaggy2002 View Post
I have had my Epson 6020 for 2 years and 2 months. I have been noticing the screen flickering more and more over time ...
Shaggy, check this out.

BTW, getting Jeff to calibrate our 6020 was the best thing we ever did. Even my wife was blown away. Doing that after a lamp change would be perfect timing.


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 164 Old 11-20-2014, 09:16 PM
Member
 
shaggy2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denton TX (DFW Metroplex)
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post
Shaggy, check this out.

BTW, getting Jeff to calibrate our 6020 was the best thing we ever did. Even my wife was blown away. Doing that after a lamp change would be perfect timing.


I guess I will attempt to replace my bulb this weekend. Where is Jeff located?
shaggy2002 is offline  
post #153 of 164 Old 11-21-2014, 07:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaggy2002 View Post
I guess I will attempt to replace my bulb this weekend. Where is Jeff located?
I think he lives somewhere out near Lake of the Ozarks, but he has a national audience, and travels to most major US cities once or twice a year. Check out the accucal.com site for details or I can just pm you his email address. He also does that blog that I sent the flickering article from. Lots of good stuff there. He gave the 6020 a best in class review after calibrating mine. I had tinkered with mine a bunch, but he just nailed it. Cheers.


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is online now  
post #154 of 164 Old 11-21-2014, 10:09 PM
Member
 
shaggy2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denton TX (DFW Metroplex)
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post
I think he lives somewhere out near Lake of the Ozarks, but he has a national audience, and travels to most major US cities once or twice a year. Check out the accucal.com site for details or I can just pm you his email address. He also does that blog that I sent the flickering article from. Lots of good stuff there. He gave the 6020 a best in class review after calibrating mine. I had tinkered with mine a bunch, but he just nailed it. Cheers.

I checked the site out. It looks like I just ask for someone and they send an available technician? If it is not too personal, can you PM the rate for the calibration and his email address?
shaggy2002 is offline  
post #155 of 164 Old 11-21-2014, 11:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaggy2002 View Post
I checked the site out. It looks like I just ask for someone and they send an available technician? If it is not too personal, can you PM the rate for the calibration and his email address?
Happy to send. But it is Jeff, and only Jeff. Nobody else. Big plus.


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is online now  
post #156 of 164 Old 11-22-2014, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Yzfbossman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaggy2002 View Post
I checked the site out. It looks like I just ask for someone and they send an available technician? If it is not too personal, can you PM the rate for the calibration and his email address?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post
Happy to send. But it is Jeff, and only Jeff. Nobody else. Big plus.
+1 for Jeff. I had him calibrate my 6020 and adjust my audio. Both produced noticeable improvment.

Here is my build thread:

---->Like a Boss Theater Build<----
Yzfbossman is offline  
post #157 of 164 Old 11-22-2014, 11:17 PM
Member
 
kingpin748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Well I went to watch a movie tonight and nothing happened. I checked out the projector and both the temperature and lamp lights were flashing red. Manual says to unplug it and call Epson but since they aren't open until Monday I tried unplugging it for a bit, turning it on and off using the the switch at the back, and just for the hell of it I tried swapping out the bulb with the spare that came with it.

Nothing. When you turn it on the fan kicks in for about 2 seconds and then it shuts down with the 2 lights flashing red.

Any suggestions?

For what its worth I've never had an issue with this projector and I'm sure Epson will swap it out but that still means no Far Cry 4 until next weekend. I couldn't possible play games on my 55" Samsung like some kind of troglodyte.
kingpin748 is offline  
post #158 of 164 Old Yesterday, 10:02 AM
Member
 
rb47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingpin748 View Post
Well I went to watch a movie tonight and nothing happened. I checked out the projector and both the temperature and lamp lights were flashing red. Manual says to unplug it and call Epson but since they aren't open until Monday I tried unplugging it for a bit, turning it on and off using the the switch at the back, and just for the hell of it I tried swapping out the bulb with the spare that came with it.

Nothing. When you turn it on the fan kicks in for about 2 seconds and then it shuts down with the 2 lights flashing red.

Any suggestions?

For what its worth I've never had an issue with this projector and I'm sure Epson will swap it out but that still means no Far Cry 4 until next weekend. I couldn't possible play games on my 55" Samsung like some kind of troglodyte.
kingpin748, did you get the issue fixed? The same thing just happened to me. I tried leaving it unplugged for a while but I get the same red flashing temp and lamp lights.
rb47 is offline  
post #159 of 164 Old Yesterday, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by rb47 View Post
kingpin748, did you get the issue fixed? The same thing just happened to me. I tried leaving it unplugged for a while but I get the same red flashing temp and lamp lights.
RB and Kingpin, how many run hours on your units the last time you checked that in the settings menu?


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is online now  
post #160 of 164 Old Yesterday, 10:34 AM
Member
 
rb47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post
RB and Kingpin, how many run hours on your units the last time you checked that in the settings menu?

I can't get into the menus but my Control4 system is showing 763 hours of lamp use. I installed the projector around July of 2013.
rb47 is offline  
post #161 of 164 Old Yesterday, 07:34 PM
Member
 
rb47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the issue might have been with the motorized lens cover. I manually opened the sliding cover and then turned it on. This time no blinking lights.

My guess is if the motor senses too much resistance it give the error condition. It turned on OK twice so I am keeping my fingers crossed.
rb47 is offline  
post #162 of 164 Old Yesterday, 10:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by rb47 View Post
I think the issue might have been with the motorized lens cover. I manually opened the sliding cover and then turned it on. This time no blinking lights.

My guess is if the motor senses too much resistance it give the error condition. It turned on OK twice so I am keeping my fingers crossed.
Sweet. Thanks for the update. Are you still on the original lamp? And if you can, go into settings and post back with how many run hours you have on your 6020. Glad you're back in business. 👍


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is online now  
post #163 of 164 Old Today, 10:34 AM
Member
 
rb47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post
Are you still on the original lamp? And if you can, go into settings and post back with how many run hours you have on your 6020.
I am on the original lamp. I did go in last night and check the run time, it was around 970 hours.
rb47 is offline  
post #164 of 164 Unread Today, 10:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by rb47 View Post
I am on the original lamp. I did go in last night and check the run time, it was around 970 hours.
Thanks RB, good to know.


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off