Having trouble deciding on a projector for a large wall in basement - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 03-16-2013, 05:39 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My first post so be kind.
I am new to the projector game and have a tight budget. I have read on project central how to paint the wall cheap and will do that at the start and later get a screeen. I went into the house while they did the framing and ran power and audio cables for my system when I get to move into my new house. I will be moving at the end of June. I have been reading alot over the last few weeks and have been gathering alot of information on these forums and reviews of projectors around the web. I might be able to squeeze extra cash out of the misses if there is a good reason for it but I want it to really be worth it. Money is a bit tight given just buying the house so it has to be a real benefit.

The projector will be about 20-22 feet away from the wall. The basement room it will be in will have very little ambient lightning and since I am not there now I cannot say how much. The screeen size will be max 8 feet tall but not sure how wide I should go (we basically have this one spot that would look good if almost the entire wall is covered so I was thinking a 16x9 view which would fill the area nicely but would need to lower height to do a wider screen).