Official Mitsubishi HC5 Owners Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 650 Old 11-20-2013, 10:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Elix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dungeon, Pillar of Eyes
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Count me in.
Elix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 650 Old 11-21-2013, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Speedplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which reseller?
Speedplay is online now  
post #453 of 650 Old 11-22-2013, 05:55 AM
Senior Member
 
neonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Whelp. Looks like my HC5 with under 400 hours is going in for service. She keeps throwing an error code. Checked the filter and I have never touched the lamp and its not like I keep her anywhere hot.
neonsky is offline  
post #454 of 650 Old 11-22-2013, 07:37 AM
Member
 
Speedplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which error code?
Keep us posted on how Mitsubishi handles this.

When I had to send mine in, it cost me almost $75 in shipping with insurance. Mitsubishi only pays for the return shipping.

Sad thing was that mine was brand new, less than 100hrs, so I was out that $75 right away. In the end I got a brand new replacement, which BTW was the last new projector they had in stock. At first they wanted to send me a refurb or my other option was to wait at least 4 months (although they told me they really did not have an ETA and it could end up being longer) for the part needed to repair mine, but I objected and they found me a brand new one.

Also, in case anyone is wondering what was wrong with mine was: the LCD/SXRD block assembly and the lamp. I had spots and shading and also a very dim picture. The new one they sent me as a replacement is working perfectly so far and has none of the issues my original had.
Speedplay is online now  
post #455 of 650 Old 11-22-2013, 10:31 AM
Member
 
jimmy12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
2 concerning posts for sure! I have had an error code as well (indicator lights flashing all sorts of colors) - seems to happen when there is an hdmi handshaking issue or when you change the setting of the variable iris. Each time this happened though (not often), I was able to power off, wait for a while, fire it back up and everything was good.

Definitely not good news. Hope everything works out Neonsky and glad everything worked out for you Speedplay.
jimmy12 is offline  
post #456 of 650 Old 11-22-2013, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
larrimore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by armstrr View Post

they go for about $325 for an original lamp in housing....anyone interested in a group buy? I live close to one of the largest original bulb resellers.

I'd be interested.

Living the HT Dream...now in 4D.
larrimore is offline  
post #457 of 650 Old 11-22-2013, 11:14 AM
Member
 
Speedplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by armstrr View Post

they go for about $325 for an original lamp in housing....anyone interested in a group buy? I live close to one of the largest original bulb resellers.

As long as it is not Projector Lamp Source.........http://www.avsforum.com/t/1472311/projector-lamp-source-claims-original-bulbs-ships-generic-bulbs

According to these posts it's better to avoid them if you want to receive an actual OEM lamp
Speedplay is online now  
post #458 of 650 Old 11-22-2013, 12:54 PM
Newbie
 
dc anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moore, OK
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy12 View Post

2 concerning posts for sure! I have had an error code as well (indicator lights flashing all sorts of colors) - seems to happen when there is an hdmi handshaking issue or when you change the setting of the variable iris. Each time this happened though (not often), I was able to power off, wait for a while, fire it back up and everything was good.

Definitely not good news. Hope everything works out Neonsky and glad everything worked out for you Speedplay

 

the variable iris thing is a known gripe. do a search on it on the forum and you'll find it. heck it might be in one of the posts in this thread.

dc anderson is offline  
post #459 of 650 Old 11-22-2013, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I just joined the HC5 club. On the way from ScottyB!biggrin.gif
StevenC56 is offline  
post #460 of 650 Old 11-24-2013, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
wohlstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hmm... I sent him several emails, but no response. There are deals on Ebay though...
wohlstad is offline  
post #461 of 650 Old 11-24-2013, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HTCrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: State of Disbelief
Posts: 4,888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
How big a picture/screen can you comfortably use with the HC5?
HTCrazy is offline  
post #462 of 650 Old 11-24-2013, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
neonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCrazy View Post

How big a picture/screen can you comfortably use with the HC5?

How big of a screen do you want?

I used coderguys calc to figure out my rough lumens prior to buying the PJ.
www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com
neonsky is offline  
post #463 of 650 Old 11-25-2013, 04:20 AM
Newbie
 
Nemesis_002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone recommend hardware (colorimeter/spectrometer) and software for calibrating this projector? Or is it not necessary? It seems quite good out of the box.
The budget is up to USD500, id be happy if it could be less.
Nemesis_002 is offline  
post #464 of 650 Old 11-25-2013, 05:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Elix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dungeon, Pillar of Eyes
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 23
i1 Display Pro 3 is pretty much the consumer standard. You could get i1 Pro 2 spectrophotometer for 1 kilobuck as it will get you more consistent results to-the-standard for a longer period of time. But i1 Display 3 is a good colorimeter to start with.
I suggest you do manual calibration at least several times to get a good grasp of what is what. Here's a great guide: http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10457
Later you can do automatic calibration of grayscale and make Video Look-Up Tables (VideoLUT) for color correction in videos using this guide: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1471169/madvr-argyllcms
You can do this first, of course, but then you won't understand what you're doing.

Now, this is assuming you use HTPC as a video source. If you're using hardware players then it's going to cost you more. You'll have to get a dedicated color processor in addition to the color meter, and a software like Spectracal or ChromaPure with autocal option for that processor.
Elix is offline  
post #465 of 650 Old 11-25-2013, 11:38 AM
Newbie
 
Nemesis_002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the detailed response.
Im usually playing contents from my laptop. But I assumed I would have to make changed to the projector calibration parameters and not to the laptop graphics card?
Nemesis_002 is offline  
post #466 of 650 Old 11-25-2013, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
canton160's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemesis_002 View Post

Can anyone recommend hardware (colorimeter/spectrometer) and software for calibrating this projector? Or is it not necessary? It seems quite good out of the box.
The budget is up to USD500, id be happy if it could be less.

Im using I1 display pro + hcfr software with very good results, i was able to get delta E below 3

Projector Mitsubishi HC5

Projector Optoma hd300x 

Av receiver Onkyo TX-NR 818

Oppo 103D

Media player Med1000x3D

 

 

KEN KREISEL DXD-808 

Q7000 5.1

canton160 is offline  
post #467 of 650 Old 11-25-2013, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
neonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you'd like I can post some before and after calibration reports to show OTB vs calibrated results. Personally I think VPs are wastes of money these days.
neonsky is offline  
post #468 of 650 Old 11-25-2013, 10:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Elix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dungeon, Pillar of Eyes
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemesis_002 View Post

But I assumed I would have to make changed to the projector calibration parameters and not to the laptop graphics card?
Depending on a projector you use, you may attain good/great result using strictly on-board controls. However, not all projectors have great color controls (CMS/Color Management System) and let you only correct grayscale (color temperature and gamma). But even those projectors that have very sophisticated controls sometimes have color/gamma limitations and non-linearities which can only be corrected via video card's LUT and software LUT in madVR (it's a video renderer). For that, read the 2nd link I posted.

I agree with neonsky, VPs are only justified when you have loads of money and you don't want to concern yourself with learning stuff.
Elix is offline  
post #469 of 650 Old 11-26-2013, 04:28 AM
Newbie
 
Nemesis_002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elix View Post

Depending on a projector you use, you may attain good/great result using strictly on-board controls. However, not all projectors have great color controls (CMS/Color Management System) and let you only correct grayscale (color temperature and gamma). But even those projectors that have very sophisticated controls sometimes have color/gamma limitations and non-linearities which can only be corrected via video card's LUT and software LUT in madVR (it's a video renderer). For that, read the 2nd link I posted.

I agree with neonsky, VPs are only justified when you have loads of money and you don't want to concern yourself with learning stuff.

Thanks again for the feedback.
Looking to purchase the colorimeter, I noticed it being sold by the same seller at different prices. I would just like to double check with you there are no "versions" of the product, and I can just buy the cheapest one?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/X-Rite-i1-Display-Pro-Professional-Monitor-Calibrator-Easy-Accurate-NEW-/251298625639?pt=US_Image_Video_Audio_Software&hash=item3a8290b867
http://www.ebay.com/itm/X-Rite-i1-Display-Pro-Monitor-Calibrator-New-Unused-Boxed-/330859625822?pt=AU_software&hash=item4d08c53d5e
http://www.ebay.com/itm/X-Rite-i1-Display-Pro-Professional-Monitor-Calibrator-NEW-Easy-Accurate-/330859621892?pt=US_Image_Video_Audio_Software&hash=item4d08c52e04

Thanks alot smile.gif
Nemesis_002 is offline  
post #470 of 650 Old 11-26-2013, 04:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
FilmReverie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: The Grid
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 73
^ What software are you going to be using, and why not just buy directly from the company at those prices?
FilmReverie is offline  
post #471 of 650 Old 11-26-2013, 04:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Elix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dungeon, Pillar of Eyes
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 23
There are indeed several "versions" of i1 Display 3. Everything you've listed is an OEM version, free to work with any software. There are two competing companies which have their own versions of this device and they're made to work best with their proprietary software. By "work best" I mean they have internal correction tables for different display devices (CRT, CCFL LCD, LED LCD, Plasma, DLP Projectors, LED LCD Projectors etc.). And yes, colorimeters will show different readings on different devices, I'm not sure exactly why. Only class of device that will provide constant readings are spectroradiometers (like i1 Pro 2). But colorimeters take dark readings better and work faster. That's why many people use the bunch of two (they profile colorimeter against spectroradiometer and use it to calibrate faster).

http://store.spectracal.com/consumer/i1-display-pro-w-tutorial.html
http://store.spectracal.com/spectracal-c6.html
http://www.curtpalme.com/ChromaPure_EyeOneDisplay3.shtm

From my experience (I purchased i1 Display 3 OEM from a local store) the accuracy of an OEM colorimeter has got a lot to be desired... The readings are consistent, just far from accurate in absolute terms (in relevance to the standard). But it's not like I'm running a video production studio, so. The difference between calibrated display (even with inaccurate colorimeter) vs. non-calibrated is substantial.
Elix is offline  
post #472 of 650 Old 11-26-2013, 05:00 AM
Newbie
 
Nemesis_002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elix View Post

There are indeed several "versions" of i1 Display 3. Everything you've listed is an OEM version, free to work with any software. There are two competing companies which have their own versions of this device and they're made to work best with their proprietary software. By "work best" I mean they have internal correction tables for different display devices (CRT, CCFL LCD, LED LCD, Plasma, DLP Projectors, LED LCD Projectors etc.). And yes, colorimeters will show different readings on different devices, I'm not sure exactly why. Only class of device that will provide constant readings are spectroradiometers (like i1 Pro 2). But colorimeters take dark readings better and work faster. That's why many people use the bunch of two (they profile colorimeter against spectroradiometer and use it to calibrate faster).

http://store.spectracal.com/consumer/i1-display-pro-w-tutorial.html
http://store.spectracal.com/spectracal-c6.html
http://www.curtpalme.com/ChromaPure_EyeOneDisplay3.shtm

From my experience (I purchased i1 Display 3 OEM from a local store) the accuracy of an OEM colorimeter has got a lot to be desired... The readings are consistent, just far from accurate in absolute terms (in relevance to the standard). But it's not like I'm running a video production studio, so. The difference between calibrated display (even with inaccurate colorimeter) vs. non-calibrated is substantial.

Got it, thanks. So basically I'm better off buying it from the software vendor (spectracal/curtpalme).
The basic software seems to go at about the same price for both of them.
Any preference as to which software/hardware i1 display pro should I pick?

The end result is the same ~400$. Or do I need one of the more expensive versions?

Thanks again for your time and detailed answers.
Nemesis_002 is offline  
post #473 of 650 Old 11-26-2013, 05:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Elix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dungeon, Pillar of Eyes
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Sorry, I can't help you here. Full version of CalMAN might be more feature-rich but it might not be the case with Basic version. Just try searching CalMAN vs. ChromaPure.
Elix is offline  
post #474 of 650 Old 11-26-2013, 06:08 AM
Newbie
 
Nemesis_002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.
Let's see what we can get on Black Friday.
Nemesis_002 is offline  
post #475 of 650 Old 11-26-2013, 07:13 AM
Member
 
3dmaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemesis_002 View Post

Got it, thanks. So basically I'm better off buying it from the software vendor (spectracal/curtpalme).
The basic software seems to go at about the same price for both of them.
Any preference as to which software/hardware i1 display pro should I pick?

The end result is the same ~400$. Or do I need one of the more expensive versions?

Thanks again for your time and detailed answers.

I've been using Spectracal for quite a while now. It works well when you get used to it, and they have made their home user pricing much better over the years. I can't really say it is any better than Chromapure--either package should work well.
3dmaven is offline  
post #476 of 650 Old 11-26-2013, 07:16 AM
Member
 
3dmaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As for your second question. The only other thing you might want in addition to the standard calibration package is the autocal add-on if you have a supported video processor (like the Lumagen). The Mits HC-5 does not itself support autocal (the JVC line does). You also might want the spectrometer add-on if you have a spectrometer you can use to calibrate the colorimeter (i.e., the i1 display 3).
3dmaven is offline  
post #477 of 650 Old 11-26-2013, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
neonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Could always buy an i1 display pro and then go grab HCFR for free. This would save you some money in the end.
neonsky is offline  
post #478 of 650 Old 11-26-2013, 02:16 PM
Member
 
marc1006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have been slowly reading through this thread for the past couple of weeks, before deciding to upgrade from Epson 8700UB.

 

What is the official mounting plate model no. or part no.?  Is it the same as the Mits 9000 mounting plate?  I did search/read throughly before posting.

 

I called the Mits CS and they said they would do some research and call me back, which obviously has not happened.  

marc1006 is offline  
post #479 of 650 Old 11-26-2013, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Does the vertical position adjustment on the HC5 move the picture digitally? I use this adjustment on my HC4000 with a scope screen and it effectively moves the lower letterbox bar on top of the picture information and adds it to the upper letterbox bar. (So that both letterbox bars are together on top of the picture information)
StevenC56 is offline  
post #480 of 650 Old 11-26-2013, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Can anybody with a 16:9 screen watching a scope movie with their HC5 try this adjustment and report back as to if the picture moves up or down while adding to the letterbox bar height opposite the up or down movement of the picture? Or maybe this adjustment is for something completely different. eek.gif
StevenC56 is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Mitsubishi , Mitsubishi Brand , Mitsubishi Electronics America , Mitsubishi Hc9000d 3d 1080p Lcd Projector , Mitsubishi Hc5 , Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 8350 , Benq W7000 Home Projection System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off