Newbie needing help on projector/screen choice for under 6k - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 05-18-2013, 10:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in the process of finishing my basement and will have a rectangle room that is 20 x 40 feet with one half dedicated to a home theatre with projector and 120" screen. The other half will have a pool table. The two areas are separated by a bar. The walls will be tan with the wall having the screen being wood painted white. The ceiling height is 9' and I plan to mount the projector 16' back on the ceiling. The room will have some ambient light as there is a double door from the outside that is all glass. I will have window treatments on it but light will still filter through. The area will be used mostly for watching sports and some movies. I am a total newbie to AV and need some advice on a projector and screen for under 6k total. Thanks in advance for your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 05-19-2013, 12:59 AM

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
If you expect to have ambient light and a white wall you'll want to have the brightest picture possible.

I'm thinking Epson 5020 or Sony HW50. The Epson is twice as bright which means it will look 10% brighter, but the Sony has better motion for watching sports.

I would get the projector first and some screen samples before choosing. Just project onto the wall for a while until you figure out the screen.
post #3 of 5 Old 05-19-2013, 05:38 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 74
The Epson 5010, 5020 and the Sony HW50 are the best choices for what you need. Another one is the Benq W7000, which might be better for sports. A screen to look at is the Screen Innovations Black Diamond 1,4. Its good with ambient light. I had a sample and I didn't really care for it, but i don't really need that screen in my theater. It should work for you but they are expensive.