NEW RANGE JVC 2014 - Page 103 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3061 of 4136 Old 01-10-2014, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,525
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post

Sweet thanks buddy!

No issues using simultaneously is what you're saying right? smile.gif

correct, it works fine with both plugged in at the same time.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

zombie10k is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3062 of 4136 Old 01-10-2014, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Thank you sir!


Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

krichter1 is online now  
post #3063 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
conan48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Igloo
Posts: 2,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Will the monster vision glasses work with the new RS4910?

I've read that the JVC glasses may be brighter and have less ghosting due to screen polarization?

Can I just skip the JVC emitter and use the JVC glasses with the monster vision emitter?

thanks
conan48 is online now  
post #3064 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,525
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 321
The MV3D glasses will work but you still need their transmitter, those glasses are not compatible with the JVC RF emitter.

I am not having a good experience with the MV3D kit + the RS57, I can't tune out the x-talk the way I am expecting. I'll have to see if there is a firmware update for the transmitter, maybe they changed some of the timings.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

zombie10k is online now  
post #3065 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 67
The last upgrade for the MV glasses is probably on the Bit Cauldron site. That is the company that made them. Curt Palm from Canada also has a link somewhere on his site.
rwestley is offline  
post #3066 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
mntwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post

IR still is based on frequency range so it would seem to me the transmitter & glasses should be different than the IR eye on the front of the PJ for most consumer remotes. Just a thought that isn't happening and causing this issue.

Twister - Those pulls of power are going to kill your bulb! eek.gif

I figured that, I only did it twice, and now have my RS-50 jhooked back up with my new 4910 sitting in the box waiting for all the fixes. It's really disappointing to be anxious and excited for months and finally get the item and it has issues like this.
mntwister is offline  
post #3067 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
mntwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone tried the fix posted in the previous pages? I don't have time to look it up but I did copy the text,

"JVC FIX Set the Inputlevel to "Standard" and Colour area to "YCbCr(4:4:4)" So remove the Auto settings. I tested yesterday 3 hours and never got a blank page...."

I am not going to rehook my 4910 back up unless anyone has any luck with this.
mntwister is offline  
post #3068 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 11:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
seanbryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Knowhere
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mntwister View Post

Has anyone tried the fix posted in the previous pages? I don't have time to look it up but I did copy the text,

"JVC FIX Set the Inputlevel to "Standard" and Colour area to "YCbCr(4:4:4)" So remove the Auto settings. I tested yesterday 3 hours and never got a blank page...."

I am not going to rehook my 4910 back up unless anyone has any luck with this.

I haven't tried it. I'll give it a shot later. I've been walking on eggshells with my RS57 and being very meticulous about how and how often I switch input resolution because I really cringe at the idea of the power off and power on step we have to do to fix it once a lockup happens. I know that it's not good for the lamp. I've kept the lockups to a minimum but they still happen. I'll try this and then treat resolution switching as we should be able to and see what happens.
seanbryan is offline  
post #3069 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 67
It would be nice if JVC gives people who have the HDMI issue an extra lamp for their troubles. That is the least they should do.
rwestley is offline  
post #3070 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 11:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
cardoski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beyond The Wall.
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

It would be nice if JVC gives people who have the HDMI issue an extra lamp for their troubles. That is the least they should do.

Agree.

James Reid:D
cardoski is online now  
post #3071 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,097
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Lol that isn't going to happen. You guys have functional units and in the mean time you know how to avoid lock ups.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #3072 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

Lol that isn't going to happen. You guys have functional units and in the mean time you know how to avoid lock ups.

Good Will and support is important. The time some of the early adopters have spent with the problem deserves compensation. I would not be surprised if JVC did the right thing. It takes time to do a firmware update and hours have been lost on the bulb life by some people. It would bring about a lot of good will and support. We are not talking of low priced units and the cost of the bulb to JVC can not be that much.
rwestley is offline  
post #3073 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
lorjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
As the owner of an RS40 any talk of bulbs brings back bad memories. eek.gif
lorjam is offline  
post #3074 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 01:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by conan48 View Post

Will the monster vision glasses work with the new RS4910?

I've read that the JVC glasses may be brighter and have less ghosting due to screen polarization?

Can I just skip the JVC emitter and use the JVC glasses with the monster vision emitter?

thanks

Rather than explaining why the glasses probably won't make things brighter in your case just state what screen fabric you. It probably does not preserve polarization to any significant extent making the choice of glasses with respect to glass's polarizer orientation irrelevant.

Mark Haflich

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #3075 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
cardoski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beyond The Wall.
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

Lol that isn't going to happen. You guys have functional units and in the mean time you know how to avoid lock ups.

I hear ya, but free stuff is always good.lol

James Reid:D
cardoski is online now  
post #3076 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by mntwister View Post

Has anyone tried the fix posted in the previous pages? I don't have time to look it up but I did copy the text,

"JVC FIX Set the Inputlevel to "Standard" and Colour area to "YCbCr(4:4:4)" So remove the Auto settings. I tested yesterday 3 hours and never got a blank page...."

I am not going to rehook my 4910 back up unless anyone has any luck with this.

It does seem to work and I posted this as the likely culprit last week. I have STD & 4:2:2 set and now just switched the Darbee out for the Lumagen and so far so good. I've changed the Mini back to full Auto on all resolutions and all my device switching tests were successful! biggrin.gif

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

krichter1 is online now  
post #3077 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 02:34 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post

Thank you sir!


This picture is awesome, I love it!
krichter1 likes this.

My humble Cinema
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wse is offline  
post #3078 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
conan48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Igloo
Posts: 2,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 163
I use Carada BW screen material. Zombie are you planning on testing with JVC emitter and glasses? I'm wondering if its worth the money to bother with the JVC emitter and glasses if they might perform the same as the monster vision. Why do you believe the monster vision are at fault for the x talk? and not the JVC itself. Did you have better results with the Monster and JVC combo in the past?

I have an Optoma HD25 for 3D but I'd love the inky blacks. ESPECIALLY with Gravity coming out. DLP blacks are crap even through the glasses.
conan48 is online now  
post #3079 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 05:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,577
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

Lol that isn't going to happen. You guys have functional units and in the mean time you know how to avoid lock ups.

I agree with you, JVC is not going to give free lamps.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Brands we sell: 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon & many more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #3080 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pottscb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

Lol that isn't going to happen. You guys have functional units and in the mean time you know how to avoid lock ups.

The only way for most of us to avoid lock ups is to leave our projectors off, which Ive already stated gives me an unrivaled black level (much better than the oversaturated blue, my only other screen choice with anything besides BD), these JVC pj's really are something to behold. Very little unit-to-unit variation.
pottscb is offline  
post #3081 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,097
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by pottscb View Post

The only way for most of us to avoid lock ups is to leave our projectors off, which Ive already stated gives me an unrivaled black level (much better than the oversaturated blue, my only other screen choice with anything besides BD), these JVC pj's really are something to behold. Very little unit-to-unit variation.

There's no way to connect your source component without switching refresh rates?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #3082 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 06:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

Lol that isn't going to happen. You guys have functional units and in the mean time you know how to avoid lock ups.

I agree that we won't be getting free bulbs, but I don't agree that I have a functional unit at the moment. Pretty much the only thing I use my projector (an x700) is to watch Blu-ray movies and mine will not display anything that's 1080p/24. Blu-ray concerts seem to be ok (1080p/60).
bwillcox is offline  
post #3083 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
stef2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

Lol that isn't going to happen. You guys have functional units and in the mean time you know how to avoid lock ups.

A functional unit is a very subjective term. A projector that has to be turned off more than a couple of times throughout its lifetime is NOT a functionnal unit. To me, such a behavior is normal for a PC computer, but not for any display device.

That sounds like saying a car is functional because it can take you from point a to point b, but to do so you must stop on the soulder of the road couple times and wait for ten minutes each time because the motor overheats...

Stef
stef2 is offline  
post #3084 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,097
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 226
That's kind of a poor analogy. I'm just trying to say this issue doesn't warrant JVC to give people free stuff. They definitely need to fix the issue but I just think people are making this issue into more than it actually is. It does seem to be a pain in the butt but how many times per use are people actually changing resolutions/refresh rates?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #3085 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

That's kind of a poor analogy. I'm just trying to say this issue doesn't warrant JVC to give people free stuff. They definitely need to fix the issue but I just think people are making this issue into more than it actually is. It does seem to be a pain in the butt but how many times per use are people actually changing resolutions/refresh rates?
You're kidding, right?

Let's say I turn on my equipment, and the Oppo home screen comes up at 1080p60. I start BD playback. Previews? Maybe 1080p24, maybe 1080p60, maybe both. Regardless, every time the resolution switches, there's a risk of lockup. And then you get to the menu; let's say it's 3D. Another res change, another lockup risk. If it's not, great, but the movie might be 3D. Lockup risk. Well, now I want to watch some extras. Res change to 1080p60 or 480p from 1080p24(3D). Lockup risk. Now I have to pee so I hit stop and the Oppo home screen comes up at 1080p60. Another res change. Lockup risk. Now I'm back and I want to watch another movie so I pop in another disc...here comes another resolution change to 1080p24 and another lockup risk. And so on.

At any one of those lockups, you get to turn off the projector, wait for the fans to stop, pull the plug, plug it back in, turn it on, wait for the lamp to light up fully, and try to pick up where you left off.

So ya know what? I don't think anyone is making this a bigger deal than it is. it's a huge PITA and it needs fixed yesterday.

Now, if switching the Color Area from Auto to 4:2:2 (or something else) works, that's a workaround I can get behind. Forcing the resolution to 1080p24 is a non-starter.
Schwa is online now  
post #3086 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,097
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 226
It depends on your source equipment. In your case, yes, you'll have issues. If I had one of this generations projectors I wouldn't have an issue.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #3087 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

It depends on your source equipment. In your case, yes, you'll have issues. If I had one of this generations projectors I wouldn't have an issue.
Oh really? How are you going to watch both 2D and 3D material and not have an issue? I suppose I could force 1080p60 and skip 3D altogether but that's not a compromise I'm willing to make. So, unless you're okay with watching something at other than its native frame rate, and passing on 3D, please explain how you're not going to have an issue.
Schwa is online now  
post #3088 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,097
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post

Oh really? How are you going to watch both 2D and 3D material and not have an issue? I suppose I could force 1080p60 and skip 3D altogether but that's not a compromise I'm willing to make. So, unless you're okay with watching something at other than its native frame rate, and passing on 3D, please explain how you're not going to have an issue.

Yes, really. I use an HTPC and it remembers resolution and refresh rates and will automatically enable the last one set when reconnecting to the device again, ie 1080p24 or if I had it set to 3D mode. You have to remember I'm talking about single use scenarios, so unless you have a movie marathon where you're switching to and from 2D and 3D movies, it shouldn't be that big of a deal to choose one resolution and refresh rate and stick with it until you decide to power down. If it locks up when switching to 3D mode, the next time you power up it will be in 3D mode. You make it sound as if you leave your projector on 24/7 and are constantly going to and from a million different refresh rates and resolutions. Am I wrong to assume most of the content people watch on a JVC projector is 1080p/24? JVC will have a solution to the handshake issues but please don't sit there and tell me your projector is useless in it's current state because it isn't. Like I said before, most of the problems people are having are source based and sometimes it's harder to work around the handshake issue, like you seem to be having. Other are not having that much of an issue with it or have no issue at all. The issues are very scenario based.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #3089 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

Yes, really. I use an HTPC and it remembers resolution and refresh rates and will automatically enable the last one set when reconnecting to the device again, ie 1080p24 or if I had it set to 3D mode. You have to remember I'm talking about single use scenarios, so unless you have a movie marathon where you're switching to and from 2D and 3D movies, it shouldn't be that big of a deal to choose one resolution and refresh rate and stick with it until you decide to power down. If it locks up when switching to 3D mode, the next time you power up it will be in 3D mode. You make it sound as if you leave your projector on 24/7 and are constantly going to and from a million different refresh rates and resolutions. Am I wrong to assume most of the content people watch on a JVC projector is 1080p/24? JVC will have a solution to the handshake issues but please don't sit there and tell me your projector is useless in it's current state because it isn't. Like I said before, most of the problems people are having are source based and sometimes it's harder to work around the handshake issue, like you seem to be having. Other are not having that much of an issue with it or have no issue at all. The issues are very scenario based.

I never said my projector was useless. But I also didn't claim that people were making a big deal out of nothing without actually owning one of the affected projectors. The use case I presented is a very valid one if one watches Blu-ray discs and not rips from an HTPC, and I bet 80% of owners are shiny-disc watchers, not HTPC users. The resolution will change multiple times even if all you do is turn on your BD player, insert a disc, and press play. I've gotten at least one lockup each time I've tried to watch just a single disc. There's no way to say that's anything but a huge PITA, and it's a little galling to see comments from non-owners implying that owners are making a mountain out of a molehill.

Just because it wouldn't be a big deal to you doesn't mean that's it's not a big deal to a whole bunch of owners. In fact, if it were "no big deal," there wouldn't be so much discussion about the issue. Even kraine, one of the more respected contributors around, has refused to take delivery of his X500 until a fix has been released.

Yes, I'm sure JVC will address the problem, but that doesn't make it much easier to live with in the meantime. And if that fix means we have to ship our brand new projectors off to be repaired, oh brother...
Toe and cardoski like this.
Schwa is online now  
post #3090 of 4136 Old 01-11-2014, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

Yes, really. I use an HTPC and it remembers resolution and refresh rates and will automatically enable the last one set when reconnecting to the device again, ie 1080p24 or if I had it set to 3D mode.

But technically you would still be having an issue with the JVC's (if you owned one of the new ones). Because no matter what, you would have to switch resolutions to go from 2D to 3D. Your solution, as you propose, is to just make sure you set the source (your HTPC) to 3D after watching a 2D movie in anticipation of watching a 3D movie the next time you power up. But doing that would mean you may experience the lock-up issue but since you are turning it off anyways, you discount it as a non-issue. That doesn't mean the issue isn't present. You are actively going out of your way to overcome a FAULTY unit. That's the plain and simple truth.

And, as an example, I normally watch two movies when I have friends over and a lot of the times it's one 2D movie and one 3D movie. Congrats if your setup *may* allow you to deal with the faulty performance of the JVC, Seegs, but your experience is your own. And frankly, having not purchased this projector, you really can't be so quick to tell others it "isn't faulty" or "isn't an issue to make a big deal out of". People are spending 4k+ on a machine that is not functioning the way it is intended. Period. I don't even own the JVC but I find myself frustrated reading some of the responses to owners because some people seem to be telling them to basically "deal with it". BS.
Schwa, mariob33 and cardoski like this.
BigCoolJesus is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Jvc Dla X900r , Jvc Dla X700r
Gear in this thread - X900r by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off