Question about visual quality capability projectors vs plasma (go easy I'm new to this). - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 26 Old 08-31-2013, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So up until now I've been all about plasma and never really gave projectors a real chance. Now I'm possibly going to home theaterize (yup I'm trademarking that word) the basement in a house that we are purchasing and I was thinking about stadium seating, 7.1 booming sound, a projector and the whole 9. My only question is how close a projector can come to sharpness and detail to a top of the line plasma tv when it comes to 1080P content? So after reading this question you might be thinking to yourself "well duh Mike, a projector can definitely be as good as a plasma" OR you could be thinking "Man Mike you're a moron projectors blow plasmas out of the water" and while one of those things might be true, I don't actually know that from experience so that's why I'm asking people who would know smile.gif So my questions are:

1.) How good can projectors get in terms of visual quality? Is it a matter of just cost in that after a certain size 70"+ plasma (or any tv for that matter) become much more cost prohibitive so projectors are the way to go OR can projectors really keep up and/or surpass quality of the plasma?
2.) How much would a good projector that can keep up or even leap ahead of plasma in visual quality cost on average and what's a good price? Can an amazing projector be had for $4k or less or what should I expect to pay?

Thanks in advance for taking the time to read and respond to this. smile.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 08-31-2013, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 168