Official Epson EH-TW 9200 5030UB Owners' Thread - Page 115 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3421 of 3553 Old 08-07-2014, 06:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,577
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by gec5741 View Post
OK thanks. I'll be shining it on the wall first before deciding on a screen so i guess when the time comes I'll be able to judge for myself. I wish my room was a bit deeper!
When you are ready for a screen or just want to talk screens for your projector, give us a call.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Brands we sell: 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon & many more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3422 of 3553 Old 08-07-2014, 06:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,577
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by JewDaddy View Post
Hey guys. I've been wondering for some time now if my Epson 5030 projector would benefit from doing a panel alignment. I've attached a couple pics to get some opinions. Also, I've went back and read the steps posted on how to perform a panel alignment and it doesn't really make sense. Can someone explain exactly how that works? Thanks for the help.








Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

If the grid looks sharp and white from your seated distance, I doubt that you will be able to improve anything.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Brands we sell: 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon & many more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #3423 of 3553 Old 08-11-2014, 05:02 PM
Member
 
lardo5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Needing some help here.
Have had my 5030 for a few months now. Says I have around 221 hours of lamp time.
Zero issues. No fan issues, just strumming right along.

I come in tonight, turn it on. Watching about 10 minutes worth of tv and I hear the fan on it kick into high gear. It has never done this.
Then the lens shuts, the fan goes even higher, and I get the power blue and temp lights blinking at the same time.
It does this till it shuts down.

If I turn it on, it is rinse and repeat.

Any idea what is happening here? Anyway to access a console or something to see what is freaking out?

This thing does NOT feel hot either.

Last edited by lardo5150; 08-11-2014 at 05:06 PM.
lardo5150 is offline  
post #3424 of 3553 Old 08-11-2014, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 981
Quote:
Originally Posted by lardo5150 View Post
Needing some help here.
Have had my 5030 for a few months now. Says I have around 221 hours of lamp time.
Zero issues. No fan issues, just strumming right along.

I come in tonight, turn it on. Watching about 10 minutes worth of tv and I hear the fan on it kick into high gear. It has never done this.
Then the lens shuts, the fan goes even higher, and I get the power blue and temp lights blinking at the same time.
It does this till it shuts down.

If I turn it on, it is rinse and repeat.

Any idea what is happening here? Anyway to access a console or something to see what is freaking out?

This thing does NOT feel hot either.
Sounds like a faulty temperature sensor or processor board. I'd get an RMA right away and get it in for troubleshooting.

The only thing I see in the manual for two lights is:

the flashing blue power light and the orange lamp light, which means the bulb is bad, or the status light flashing blue and orange temp light. Which means overheating.

I don't see anything in the manual or forums for the power and temp light flashing.

Onkyo TX-NR3009 - Emotiva XPA-2 300 WPC - Polk Audio RTiA9 Mains - CSiA6 Center - F/XiA6 Surrounds - Dual PSA XV-15se Subwoofers - Samsung UN55C8000 3D LED TV - Samsung BD-F5900 3D Bluray - WDTV Live HD Media Player with 6TB External Storage - Nintendo Wii - XBox 360 - Logitech Harmony One...

Last edited by climber07; 08-11-2014 at 06:51 PM.
climber07 is online now  
post #3425 of 3553 Old 08-12-2014, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
metalguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 27
How large of a battery backup supply do i need for this projector? I cant find how many watts it is on the web site. I dont want to go too big but don't want to under cut either.
metalguy is offline  
post #3426 of 3553 Old 08-12-2014, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 981
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalguy View Post
How large of a battery backup supply do i need for this projector? I cant find how many watts it is on the web site. I dont want to go too big but don't want to under cut either.
350W (nominal - from the manual). A 650VA UPS will suffice.
climber07 is online now  
post #3427 of 3553 Old 08-13-2014, 07:18 PM
Member
 
chiltonj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
A better screen can give you a better picture. I really like my Stewart Cima Neve - send me an email with your mailing address and I'll have a sample sent to you.
Received the samples, much appreciated for the quick shipping. Both samples do not show the texture like my current screen. I'm leaning towards the neve. It's a light controlled theater, no outside light whatsoever. Do you know if I can get the screen at 120" to fit in my current elite screen frame?
chiltonj is online now  
post #3428 of 3553 Old 08-14-2014, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing, cycling or kayaking ) - Sacramento CA area
Posts: 4,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiltonj View Post
Received the samples, much appreciated for the quick shipping. Both samples do not show the texture like my current screen. I'm leaning towards the neve. It's a light controlled theater, no outside light whatsoever. Do you know if I can get the screen at 120" to fit in my current elite screen frame?
I doubt it - the easiest solution would be to sell your old screen and replace it with a new one.

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Direct Line - 585-671-2972
I'm available 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday Email me at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, Klipsch, and many more!
Craig Peer is offline  
post #3429 of 3553 Old 08-14-2014, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
McGuireV10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anybody have an RTI Integration Designer -compatible file of the IR codes for this?

Trying to avoid bugging my buddy to capture the codes for me... didn't see anything for Epson that has 3D (that I know of) listed on Remote Central's database.

http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/codes/epson/

Edit: A friend sent me an Epson ProCinema 6010 file which seems to have all the same codes -- attached in case somebody else needs it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip EpsonProCinema6010forRTI.zip (1.1 KB, 6 views)

Last edited by McGuireV10; 08-15-2014 at 12:08 PM. Reason: Attached RTI .cml IR file
McGuireV10 is offline  
post #3430 of 3553 Old 08-14-2014, 05:39 PM
Member
 
lardo5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by climber07 View Post
Sounds like a faulty temperature sensor or processor board. I'd get an RMA right away and get it in for troubleshooting.

The only thing I see in the manual for two lights is:

the flashing blue power light and the orange lamp light, which means the bulb is bad, or the status light flashing blue and orange temp light. Which means overheating.

I don't see anything in the manual or forums for the power and temp light flashing.
Yep, got an RMA, VERY easy process, surprisingly. New one is already up
lardo5150 is offline  
post #3431 of 3553 Old 08-15-2014, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
metalguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 27
How do you enable fast mode or even fine mode. I cant find it in the manual anywhere. and want to visually see the difference. Thank in advance.
metalguy is offline  
post #3432 of 3553 Old 08-15-2014, 10:14 AM
Senior Member
 
McGuireV10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalguy View Post
How do you enable fast mode or even fine mode. I cant find it in the manual anywhere. and want to visually see the difference. Thank in advance.
Signal -> Advanced -> Image Processing

metalguy likes this.
McGuireV10 is offline  
post #3433 of 3553 Old 08-15-2014, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
metalguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by McGuireV10 View Post
Signal -> Advanced -> Image Processing

thank you very much
metalguy is offline  
post #3434 of 3553 Old 08-17-2014, 08:25 PM
Member
 
kronik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
HDMI Not Supported

Looks like whenever I try to play 3D Blu-ray content via an Oppo BDP-93 (via Integra DHC-80.3 to 5030UB), I get not supported errors. It appears to be only with 3D content specifically because it shows the first selection screen for language and subsequent Marvel intro video before the error begins. At that point, the screen just continually flashes on and off as if it can't handshake. Ideas?
kronik is offline  
post #3435 of 3553 Old 08-17-2014, 10:25 PM
Senior Member
 
metalguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 27
How big can I really go? I have the room to go as big as I want, but to stay bright enough, I am looking at a 150 16:9 screen or a 166 2.35.1 and will just do side masking for 16:9 tv and movies . Is that to big for most projectors including this one, either one of the sizes I listed, or even a 176 2.35.1? I also enjoy 3d quite a bit too thought its not the majority of what i watch. I look forward to the replys, how big are some of you going with your 5030? I know they say they are light canons but are they really that bright?
metalguy is offline  
post #3436 of 3553 Old 08-18-2014, 04:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
pacemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry if theses questions gave been asked before but need quick answers to following

Why is this PJ so overpriced in the UK? Should be around £1800 when compared to $ prices?
Upgrading from a TW3600 which had to be swapped out a number of times due to bad convergence. Does the digital adjustment eliminate the problem?

Considering this alongside the new Sony HW40es which has lcos panel alignment plus costs a lot less in UK.

Thanks
pacemaker is offline  
post #3437 of 3553 Old 08-18-2014, 05:22 AM
Senior Member
 
McGuireV10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalguy View Post
How big can I really go? I have the room to go as big as I want, but to stay bright enough, I am looking at a 150 16:9 screen or a 166 2.35.1 and will just do side masking for 16:9 tv and movies . Is that to big for most projectors including this one, either one of the sizes I listed, or even a 176 2.35.1? I also enjoy 3d quite a bit too thought its not the majority of what i watch. I look forward to the replys, how big are some of you going with your 5030? I know they say they are light canons but are they really that bright?
I'm throwing to a 150" 16:9 screen with a throw distance of about 17 feet. That is supposedly on the high end of what is optimal according to the Projector Central calculator, but we think the picture is simply amazing.

We bump it up to Dynamic (full brightness) in the early evening before it's even dark outside and it looks almost as good as the 50" LCD below the PJ screen -- and this is in a room with 8 big windows in a 22' wall. At night we switch it down to THX mode and it still lights up the room and it really does look like a regular TV. The black levels are simply amazing.

My HomeCinema 400 that it replaced was called a light cannon in its day, but even on day-one of a brand new bulb the 400 doesn't begin to compare to the 5030UB.

I can at least say that for 150" screen at 17' or less, you will probably be quite pleased.
McGuireV10 is offline  
post #3438 of 3553 Old 08-18-2014, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
metalguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by McGuireV10 View Post
I'm throwing to a 150" 16:9 screen with a throw distance of about 17 feet. That is supposedly on the high end of what is optimal according to the Projector Central calculator, but we think the picture is simply amazing.

We bump it up to Dynamic (full brightness) in the early evening before it's even dark outside and it looks almost as good as the 50" LCD below the PJ screen -- and this is in a room with 8 big windows in a 22' wall. At night we switch it down to THX mode and it still lights up the room and it really does look like a regular TV. The black levels are simply amazing.

My HomeCinema 400 that it replaced was called a light cannon in its day, but even on day-one of a brand new bulb the 400 doesn't begin to compare to the 5030UB.

I can at least say that for 150" screen at 17' or less, you will probably be quite pleased.
Thank you sir.
metalguy is offline  
post #3439 of 3553 Old 08-18-2014, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
metalguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Anybody else?
metalguy is offline  
post #3440 of 3553 Old 08-18-2014, 11:26 AM
Member
 
willymo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I'm doing 100 inches from a throw of just under 11 feet and a seating distance about 9 feet from the screen. It looks incredible in my small HT. I could go up to about 106 inches with no problem in the future. Just saw Noah the other night and it looked amazing! Lots of black level torture tests in that one and the projector passed with flying colors... I say, go as big as you can take, without getting a screen door effect.
willymo is offline  
post #3441 of 3553 Old 08-18-2014, 12:20 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,577
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiltonj View Post
Received the samples, much appreciated for the quick shipping. Both samples do not show the texture like my current screen. I'm leaning towards the neve. It's a light controlled theater, no outside light whatsoever. Do you know if I can get the screen at 120" to fit in my current elite screen frame?

The answer is no. Stewart will only sell fabric to an owner with a current Stewart frame. You have to provide the serial number of the frame. As advised, you would have to sell your current screen. The smoothness of the fabric does make a difference. The smoother the screen, the sharper the image.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Brands we sell: 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon & many more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #3442 of 3553 Old 08-18-2014, 12:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,577
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacemaker View Post
Sorry if theses questions gave been asked before but need quick answers to following

Why is this PJ so overpriced in the UK? Should be around £1800 when compared to $ prices?
Upgrading from a TW3600 which had to be swapped out a number of times due to bad convergence. Does the digital adjustment eliminate the problem?

Considering this alongside the new Sony HW40es which has lcos panel alignment plus costs a lot less in UK.

Thanks
Depends on the gain of the screen, as to how big you can go. How are you planning on changing aspect ratios if you go to a 2.35 screen? The Epson does not have lens memory

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Brands we sell: 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon & many more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #3443 of 3553 Old 08-18-2014, 01:29 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 13,759
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
As advised, you would have to sell your current screen.
Lol, seriously?

Does Stewart buy it back or do they just want to spy on your Craigslist?
McGuireV10 likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- direct pod link


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #3444 of 3553 Old 08-19-2014, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
McGuireV10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kronik View Post
Looks like whenever I try to play 3D Blu-ray content via an Oppo BDP-93 (via Integra DHC-80.3 to 5030UB), I get not supported errors. It appears to be only with 3D content specifically because it shows the first selection screen for language and subsequent Marvel intro video before the error begins. At that point, the screen just continually flashes on and off as if it can't handshake. Ideas?
I get "HDMI / Not Supported" errors from the PJ at the slightest provocation. We had lightning in the area -- so far away that I could see faint flickers through the window, but couldn't hear the thunder -- and each flicker of lightning was enough to reset the picture, and sometimes we'd lose it entirely with "Not Supported"...

I suspect this thing is highly sensitive to cable quality.
McGuireV10 is offline  
post #3445 of 3553 Old 08-19-2014, 05:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,577
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
Lol, seriously?

Does Stewart buy it back or do they just want to spy on your Craigslist?
You must have missed something. Customer was asking about putting Stewart fabric into an Elite Screen frame. Stewart will not sell just fabric alone, unless you can provide a serial number for the frame you want to install new fabric into. Stewart has on file (by serial number) all of the screens sold. They pull the original packet to make sure the replacement fabric fits the original screen.

Now if you want to go on Craig's list and buy a Stewart frame, then yes you would be able to buy replacement fabric for that Stewart frame. You could do what you want with the fabric, but by the time you bought a used Stewart frame and new replacement fabric, you might as well buy a Stewart screen, since you would most likely have the same money in it.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Brands we sell: 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon & many more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.

Last edited by AV Science Sales 5; 08-19-2014 at 05:29 AM.
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #3446 of 3553 Old 08-19-2014, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
metalguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by McGuireV10 View Post
I'm throwing to a 150" 16:9 screen with a throw distance of about 17 feet. That is supposedly on the high end of what is optimal according to the Projector Central calculator, but we think the picture is simply amazing.

We bump it up to Dynamic (full brightness) in the early evening before it's even dark outside and it looks almost as good as the 50" LCD below the PJ screen -- and this is in a room with 8 big windows in a 22' wall. At night we switch it down to THX mode and it still lights up the room and it really does look like a regular TV. The black levels are simply amazing.

My HomeCinema 400 that it replaced was called a light cannon in its day, but even on day-one of a brand new bulb the 400 doesn't begin to compare to the 5030UB.

I can at least say that for 150" screen at 17' or less, you will probably be quite pleased.
What brand screen are you using and what gain does it have?
metalguy is offline  
post #3447 of 3553 Old 08-19-2014, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
metalguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by willymo View Post
I'm doing 100 inches from a throw of just under 11 feet and a seating distance about 9 feet from the screen. It looks incredible in my small HT. I could go up to about 106 inches with no problem in the future. Just saw Noah the other night and it looked amazing! Lots of black level torture tests in that one and the projector passed with flying colors... I say, go as big as you can take, without getting a screen door effect.
What brand screen are you using, and what gain? Also since this is an lcd projector, are you not going to get SDE no matter what?
metalguy is offline  
post #3448 of 3553 Old 08-19-2014, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
McGuireV10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalguy View Post
What brand screen are you using and what gain does it have?
Elite's R150H1, fixed-frame, 1.0 gain CineGray material... found it somewhere for about $700 delivered, back when $950 was the going price. Was pretty happy with that. Looks great, and install was surprisingly easy despite the size of the thing (74 x 131 or thereabouts).
McGuireV10 is offline  
post #3449 of 3553 Old 08-19-2014, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
McGuireV10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalguy View Post
What brand screen are you using, and what gain? Also since this is an lcd projector, are you not going to get SDE no matter what?
The 5030 is my third 3LCD projector since 2005 and I've never seen SDE, nor has anyone at my house ever complained of it or even mentioned seeing anything "weird" -- I think it's mostly a matter of correct seating distance.

A lot of people I know with projectors are throwing waaaay too huge a screen for their seating position. (Mine, 150" at about 17', is fairly optimal, there are online calculators for seating distance and screen height above the floor, I think Proj Central has one.)
McGuireV10 is offline  
post #3450 of 3553 Old 08-19-2014, 08:51 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 13,759
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
You must have missed something. Customer was asking about putting Stewart fabric into an Elite Screen frame. Stewart will not sell just fabric alone, unless you can provide a serial number for the frame you want to install new fabric into. Stewart has on file (by serial number) all of the screens sold. They pull the original packet to make sure the replacement fabric fits the original screen.

Now if you want to go on Craig's list and buy a Stewart frame, then yes you would be able to buy replacement fabric for that Stewart frame. You could do what you want with the fabric, but by the time you bought a used Stewart frame and new replacement fabric, you might as well buy a Stewart screen, since you would most likely have the same money in it.
Yeah I read that wrong, it seems. It had sounded like you had to sell the original material (since one would keep the frame) in order to get the newer material for the same Stewart frame.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- direct pod link


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Epson 5030ub 2d 3d 1080p 3lcd Projector
Gear in this thread - 5030ub by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off