Official Epson EH-TW 9200 5030UB Owners' Thread - Page 119 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3541 of 3544 Old Today, 02:32 PM
Member
 
Soulnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I live in Europa and I ahve made the update. I also have a darbee and previously owned a sony hw50es, so I know very well the reality creation.

The new "super resolution" is NOT at all like the darbee because it sharpens the whole picture...and the noise in it: exactly like the reality creation from sony (maybe a bit less than the RC that I could not really use on the sony because even on 1, the noise from a blu-ray source was always too much amplified).

I did a lot of comparisons with darbee on and off and the "super resolution V2" on 1 to 5, and I must say that both are really complementary.

I use the darbee on 40% and the super resolution on level 2. Already with 3 is the noise in the picture too noticeable (like RC on 1...).

I like the result very much! However even if I am thankfull to epson to have emproved the "super resolution", I think it is sad they did not propose a new menu for it like they actually did on the new epson 6600...
Soulnight is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3542 of 3544 Old Today, 03:03 PM
Member
 
chriso1671's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulnight View Post
I live in Europa and I ahve made the update. I also have a darbee and previously owned a sony hw50es, so I know very well the reality creation.

The new "super resolution" is NOT at all like the darbee because it sharpens the whole picture...and the noise in it: exactly like the reality creation from sony (maybe a bit less than the RC that I could not really use on the sony because even on 1, the noise from a blu-ray source was always too much amplified).

I did a lot of comparisons with darbee on and off and the "super resolution V2" on 1 to 5, and I must say that both are really complementary.

I use the darbee on 40% and the super resolution on level 2. Already with 3 is the noise in the picture too noticeable (like RC on 1...).

I like the result very much! However even if I am thankfull to epson to have emproved the "super resolution", I think it is sad they did not propose a new menu for it like they actually did on the new epson 6600...
that's good to know I don't have a darbee but was going to get one, I watched 2 movies last night one was a an animated one for kids and I had SR on 3 and it looked really good no noise at all and super sharp I only saw ringing in the picture twice in 3 hours but I do sit over 4.5m from a 120'' screen. I do believe if you sit close you would want to back it off a bit. Overall I think it has added a lot to the PQ it just looks better to me, think i will still grab a darbee soon and do more testing, cheers.
chriso1671 is offline  
post #3543 of 3544 Old Today, 06:00 PM
Member
 
smithysmythe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulnight View Post
I live in Europa and I ahve made the update. I also have a darbee and previously owned a sony hw50es, so I know very well the reality creation.

The new "super resolution" is NOT at all like the darbee because it sharpens the whole picture...and the noise in it: exactly like the reality creation from sony (maybe a bit less than the RC that I could not really use on the sony because even on 1, the noise from a blu-ray source was always too much amplified).

I did a lot of comparisons with darbee on and off and the "super resolution V2" on 1 to 5, and I must say that both are really complementary.

I use the darbee on 40% and the super resolution on level 2. Already with 3 is the noise in the picture too noticeable (like RC on 1...).

I like the result very much! However even if I am thankfull to epson to have emproved the "super resolution", I think it is sad they did not propose a new menu for it like they actually did on the new epson 6600...
Doesn't seem a US update has been released. I tried to register my projector online, but it wouldn't recognize the SN. I called Epson and got no where after 30 minutes and also the call center person told me they don't recommend the update. What?
climber07 likes this.
smithysmythe is online now  
post #3544 of 3544 Old Today, 06:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Keith Mickunas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wylie, TX, USA
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Well great, now I have the flashing power and temp lights. I've tried starting it about 5 times tonight and each time it goes to full speed on the fan almost immediately, the lights start blinking, then the shutter closes, and about a minute later the fan stops. I'm getting another replacement. My original projector, which I set up in June, had dust blobs, so I got this one. Seems like a pretty high failure rate for these things, I know I'm not the first to go through multiple projectors.

Download my IR hex codes for the Denon AVR-4810ci and other Denon receivers
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
For Logitech Harmony support, ask Logitech for the Denon receiver in the account kmickunas.

Keith Mickunas is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Epson 5030ub 2d 3d 1080p 3lcd Projector
Gear in this thread - 5030ub by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off