Official Epson EH-TW 9200 5030UB Owners' Thread - Page 201 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 378Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6001 of 6027 Old 02-23-2017, 10:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,326
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougdude9 View Post
So I have a media/gaming computer hooked up to my Epson 5030ub. The detected refresh rate is 60hz... well, 59 actually I believe. Anyway, according to the manual this is normal for a 1080p resolution via HDMI. However, when I was doing some research about refresh rates and the 5030ub, I noticed some sites have the refresh rate listed much higher.
I believe the higher refresh rates are with frame interpolation enabled (and 480 is for 3D content). If you turn on FI, you may have smoother motion when gaming, but lag suddenly becomes an issue. I play everything locked at 60hz on my 1070, and love the performance. Witcher 3 with Hairworks enabled is not a problem for me.
Bluescale is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6002 of 6027 Old 02-23-2017, 11:51 AM
Member
 
dougdude9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post
I believe the higher refresh rates are with frame interpolation enabled (and 480 is for 3D content). If you turn on FI, you may have smoother motion when gaming, but lag suddenly becomes an issue. I play everything locked at 60hz on my 1070, and love the performance. Witcher 3 with Hairworks enabled is not a problem for me.
Funny... I thought the same thing. I went home over lunch and saw FI was greyed out until I switched to fine mode. I knew I couldn't game like that, but I thought I would try it anyway to see if detected higher than 60hz. It did NOT.

HOWEVER!... I went into the Nvidia control panel and made a custom resolution. Now, I didn't change the actual resolution... that I left at 1080p, but I did step up the hz. I started in small increments. 62hz worked. I then tried 70, it worked. I then tried 80 and it worked. So I finally just tried 90hz and it worked!

Attached is screenshot to prove it.

I ran out of time over lunch, but I wonder if I can get up to 120hz. That would be great and surely I would be able to tell a difference in smoothness. I play racing simulations and they always say a high refresh rate and fps are important.

I'm still curious why the computer (nvidia) doesn't detect a high possible refresh rate. Why do I have to manually put it in?

Thanks,
Doug
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	90hz.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	142.0 KB
ID:	1988937  
Bluescale likes this.
dougdude9 is offline  
post #6003 of 6027 Old 02-23-2017, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Gabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 19
How do u handle lag which is very obvious on my 5020.
Gabre is offline  
 
post #6004 of 6027 Old 02-23-2017, 12:20 PM
Member
 
dougdude9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabre View Post
How do u handle lag which is very obvious on my 5020.
On the 5030, there is a setting between "Fine" and "Fast" Fast knocks the lag down to 30 some ms. Not bad for a projector I guess.

Here is some more info on it. http://www.projectorcentral.com/epso...ge=Performance

Go down to the "Input Lag" paragraph. Sounds like the 5020 has 50ms lag. I'm not sure if it has the fast feature or not.

Doug
dougdude9 is offline  
post #6005 of 6027 Old 02-23-2017, 12:23 PM
Member
 
dougdude9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabre View Post
How do u handle lag which is very obvious on my 5020.
Also there is this...

"This year, a series of input lag measurements reveals that the 5020UBe is faster than its predecessor in several areas. If you are serious about games, you can get a 50 millisecond delay out of the 5020UBe by changing the amount of processing the projector does to the signal. Go to Signal>Advanced>Image Processing and switch from "Fine" to "Fast." Using Cinema mode with Frame Interpolation off, that gets you 50ms (3 frames) of input lag, the fastest time the 5020UBe is capable of."

I found that here... http://www.projectorcentral.com/epso...ge=Limitations

Doug
dougdude9 is offline  
post #6006 of 6027 Old 02-23-2017, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Gabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Thats still terrible.
When I scroll on my computer which is connected to receiver,and then from receivers two hdmi outs, one goes to monitor, another to projector.
Image on projector lags so obvious

That would explain audio video sync issues.
Gabre is offline  
post #6007 of 6027 Old 02-23-2017, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 7,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 645 Post(s)
Liked: 364
^^ audio sync is easy to fix by adding matching delay in the receiver. To minimize the video delay make sure frame interpolation is off. On my 5030 with frame interpolation on (even low) and processing set to fine, I add 140ms of audio delay in the receiver (added to the normal audio processing delay that matches the approx. 180ms of video delay). That's no problem for movies but for anything interactive you need frame interpolation off and processing set to fast.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #6008 of 6027 Old 02-23-2017, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,326
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougdude9 View Post
Funny... I thought the same thing. I went home over lunch and saw FI was greyed out until I switched to fine mode. I knew I couldn't game like that, but I thought I would try it anyway to see if detected higher than 60hz. It did NOT.

HOWEVER!... I went into the Nvidia control panel and made a custom resolution. Now, I didn't change the actual resolution... that I left at 1080p, but I did step up the hz. I started in small increments. 62hz worked. I then tried 70, it worked. I then tried 80 and it worked. So I finally just tried 90hz and it worked!
Are you able to do this in fast mode? If you have to FI enabled to do this, I think the input lag would be counterproductive. If you can do this in fast mode, I think you may have found something really cool.
Bluescale is online now  
post #6009 of 6027 Old 02-23-2017, 05:16 PM
Member
 
dougdude9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post
Are you able to do this in fast mode? If you have to FI enabled to do this, I think the input lag would be counterproductive. If you can do this in fast mode, I think you may have found something really cool.
Yea, sorry... I should had specified. This is in fast mode. When I got home from work, I was curious how much higher I could get it. I did 95hz. So then I thought, "heck, why not just try 120hz." I tried 120 and it did NOT work. Screen went blank and it came back after it timed out on the count down where it asks if you want to keep the setting. I think I even tried 100 and that didn't work.

Now I should say I'm going through a Denon AVR X4000. I don't know if that could have anything to do with it. I might plug the computer directly into the projector just as a test, but I'm thinking I can't go higher for 2 possible reasons...

1. The projector simply can't do it.
2. HDMI 1.4 may not be able to go much higher. I find conflicting reports on this. Maybe I have an old cable too.

Anyway, 90hz over 60hz I suppose is much better.

Be sure for your games you go in and change the resolution to 90hz. My game I play was still stuck on 1920x1080 @ 60. I had to select the 90hz one in the game.

Doug
Bluescale likes this.
dougdude9 is offline  
post #6010 of 6027 Old 02-24-2017, 01:01 PM
Member
 
dougdude9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
New Firmware Version 112

Anyone have any information about what version 112 does? I have version 111 installed which included some detail enhancement under super resolution if I remember correctly, but I can't find any information about 112.

It can be downloaded from here... https://epson.com/Support/wa00805

Thanks,
Doug
dougdude9 is offline  
post #6011 of 6027 Old 02-24-2017, 01:09 PM
Member
 
dougdude9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougdude9 View Post
Anyone have any information about what version 112 does? I have version 111 installed which included some detail enhancement under super resolution if I remember correctly, but I can't find any information about 112.

It can be downloaded from here... https://epson.com/Support/wa00805

Thanks,
Doug
I've filled out a support request to find out. We will see what they come back with. Hopefully it isn't a generic response something like, "The latest firmware addresses stability issues allows optimal performance."

The odd thing is if you go to the support site for the 5030ub and look at the firmware download, it is still 111. However, the site from my previous post shows 112.

Doug
Bluescale likes this.
dougdude9 is offline  
post #6012 of 6027 Old 02-25-2017, 09:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by trailblazer View Post
I think when the resolution changes, that is normal behavior for the projector. For instance, when I have a blu-ray at 1080P/24 frames and finish watching, the projector will black out momentarily while it switches to 1080i/60 . Also, if I allow my cable box to send the signal as it comes from the originator, the screen will blank out till it locks onto the signal. Since this is cumbersome and annoying, I just upscale everything out of the cable box to 1080i and than there is no blanking.
Thanks Trailblazer. All of my sources (blu-ray, directv, roku, etc.) route through my Onkyo NR-3030 receiver. Do you think it is receiver, the source or the projector that is lagging?
cswackha is offline  
post #6013 of 6027 Old 02-25-2017, 10:19 AM
Member
 
trailblazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Jackson, NJ
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cswackha View Post
Thanks Trailblazer. All of my sources (blu-ray, directv, roku, etc.) route through my Onkyo NR-3030 receiver. Do you think it is receiver, the source or the projector that is lagging?
Not sure what is lagging by your statement. I run all my sources through a Marantz AV Processor and do not experience any lagging in the audio. You can see audio delays (if this is what you are referring too) when you use Super Resolution and/or FI on your projector. If that is the case your Onkyo should have an adjustment to correct for audio delay.
trailblazer is offline  
post #6014 of 6027 Old 02-25-2017, 03:21 PM
Newbie
 
wokster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys,

Firstly I apologize, as I am pretty useless when it comes to tech.

I have the TW9200W, which is the same model as the 5030ube. I have moved house and stupidly never made a note of how I had connected the devices. I have a Yamaha RX-A3050 and have my Xfinity Box connected to the HDMI 1 port on the receiver, My Nvidia Shield on the HDMI 2 port on the receiver and my PS4 on the HDMI 3 port on the receiver. I then have the wireless receiver going in to the HDMI out on the receiver and then the HDMI out on the wireless receiver. The problem is that it keeps saying that the source is Wireless HD with a message saying No Signal (Transmitter detected). The first two lights on the transmitter are on, but the last one is flashing.

I also switched the HDMI cable from the HDMI out on the Receiver, to HDMI 1 on the Wireless Receiver but it is still the same.

I brought down an old tv and put the HDMI out from the receiver in to the HDMI 1 port in the TV and it was working, so the problem seems to lie on the PJ wireless end. I also get the menu from the PJ on my screen, so it is outputting a signal.

Any help would be greatly received, as I have spent hours on it, but to no avail.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by wokster; 02-25-2017 at 06:55 PM. Reason: Update
wokster is offline  
post #6015 of 6027 Old 02-25-2017, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Gabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Well, if u r usong hdmi cable to connect receiver to projector, turn off wireless receiver.
Gabre is offline  
post #6016 of 6027 Old 02-25-2017, 06:56 PM
Newbie
 
wokster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabre View Post
Well, if u r using hdmi cable to connect receiver to projector, turn off wireless receiver.
Sorry, when I typed PJ, I meant the wireless receiver. I have updated the post now. Thanks for pointing this out.
wokster is offline  
post #6017 of 6027 Old 02-25-2017, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Gabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Have you tried connecting hdmi cable directly to projector?
Seems to me u r just missing on some silly setting under projector options.
Gabre is offline  
post #6018 of 6027 Old 03-10-2017, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,326
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougdude9 View Post
I've filled out a support request to find out. We will see what they come back with. Hopefully it isn't a generic response something like, "The latest firmware addresses stability issues allows optimal performance."

The odd thing is if you go to the support site for the 5030ub and look at the firmware download, it is still 111. However, the site from my previous post shows 112.

Doug
Did you ever get a response on this, Doug?
Bluescale is online now  
post #6019 of 6027 Old 03-10-2017, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
willieconway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post
Did you ever get a response on this, Doug?
It's been noted earlier in this thread that 112 doesn't impact anything that's user-facing. I.e. no new features or improvements.
willieconway is online now  
post #6020 of 6027 Old 03-10-2017, 08:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,326
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by willieconway View Post
It's been noted earlier in this thread that 112 doesn't impact anything that's user-facing. I.e. no new features or improvements.
I did a search for 112 in this thread, and didn't find it. If doesn't provide any improvements or functionality, what does it do? And what's it doing on the public download page?
Bluescale is online now  
post #6021 of 6027 Old 03-12-2017, 03:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
willieconway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post
I did a search for 112 in this thread, and didn't find it. If doesn't provide any improvements or functionality, what does it do? And what's it doing on the public download page?
Here's the post.
Bluescale likes this.

Adjusting settings according to personal preference is not calibration.

Epson 5030UB, 100" Carada Criterion with Classic Cinema White, Onkyo TX-NR818, NHT Classic 3s, Classic ThreeC, SuperZero 2.1s, Mirage Omni S10, Oppo 103D. Currently boxed up: Denon 1713, Klipsch SW-450,
NHT Absolute Center, Energy Veritas 5.1s, 5.2C, V-Mini-C.
willieconway is online now  
post #6022 of 6027 Old 03-13-2017, 05:58 AM
Member
 
dougdude9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post
Did you ever get a response on this, Doug?
Yea, they said it offers no new enhancements or improvements. Had something to do with a menu item somewhere I believe. There exact response was "Added the EUL destination. Not a performance enhancing update."

Thanks,
Doug
Bluescale likes this.
dougdude9 is offline  
post #6023 of 6027 Old 03-25-2017, 10:18 AM
Member
 
smokeyla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is there a post or link to a site that has best settings without doing a professional calibration? I feel like I would like something in between "dynamic" and "living room". Like dynamic seems to be bright, a little too bright maybe and the colors seem a hair too intense if that makes sense, where as "living room" seems to be not enough.

Also are folks using different settings for different material? I mainly watch 1080p .mkv, 3D .mkv's and some games all from media PC/radeon r9 280 through yamaha rx-a750. I notice sometimes when I play a game and its choppy, so I check settings and somehow it reverted back to 1080p 24hz instead of 60hz that I set it to.

Anyone with Radeon what settings are you using through that?

Anything on projector besides "Fast", turn off interpolation, super resolution i have at 3
smokeyla1 is offline  
post #6024 of 6027 Old Yesterday, 03:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Borneo Island
Posts: 2,701
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 192
My lens is getting dirtier over the years. How do I clean it when the lens is covered when powered off?
Skylinestar is online now  
post #6025 of 6027 Old Yesterday, 07:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Waterboy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 518 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post
My lens is getting dirtier over the years. How do I clean it when the lens is covered when powered off?
Refer to page 91 of manual Here

One day I will start the new theater....... one day..... THAT DAY HAS ARRIVED
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." Red Green
Family Cave Theater
Automation Thoughts/ Questions
Waterboy77 is offline  
post #6026 of 6027 Old Today, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Turning on issues

Please help me. When the projector is turned off does the power light stay always on?
Because after turning it off, it will not turn on in the first 60 minutes. Instead, the three lights remain blinking.

Thanks
edson is offline  
post #6027 of 6027 Old Today, 10:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,326
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by edson View Post
Please help me. When the projector is turned off does the power light stay always on?
Because after turning it off, it will not turn on in the first 60 minutes. Instead, the three lights remain blinking.

Thanks
No, this means something went wrong. Hold the Power button for about 30 seconds. It'll eventually fully power down. After that unplug it for about 10 minutes just to let everything discharge. The plug it back in and turn it back on. Hopefully everything works after that.
Bluescale is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Epson 5030ub 2d 3d 1080p 3lcd Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off