JVC RSxx/Xxx lens memory question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 09-24-2013, 07:44 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TK Doom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sun Diego
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Short version :

Is the lens memory supposed to be accurate regardless of how often you use it? Like several changes a sitting?


Long version:

Bought X95, which I adore, but it seems to lose the lens/zoom settings. I have macros that open the masking and adjust zoom and position for each aspect ratio. When you power down the system it resets it to 16x9 as that is what all blurays menus are defaulted to. So it adjusts at least twice a sitting, 4 times if its a double feature.

Installer programmed all settings into the JVC and later he had to correct hem, now several months after completion of theater, they are out of whack again and I have to manually adjust a bit after movie starts.

So am I simply abusing the feature, or do you think, there is a flaw in my projector?

Thanks!

TK Doom

Unreal Tournament Forever
Project Gotham Racing too!
 

TK Doom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 09-25-2013, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,182
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 564
mine tends to 'settle' a little as well, but i attributed it to the projector mount as well. it gets rattled a bit from overhead traffic(damn dogs). i find myself making minor adjustments almost every week. i tried making the image slightly larger than the screen so there was never any gaps, but the black areas of my screen(cheap electric) don't hide the light well enough for that to work.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 09-26-2013, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TK Doom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sun Diego
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
There has to be more than just us!

Which projector do you have?

TK Doom

Unreal Tournament Forever
Project Gotham Racing too!
 

TK Doom is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 09-27-2013, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I have an X35 and although I use an A-Len for 2.35:1 I physically remove it for 1.85:1/16:9 and have to change the zoom slightly due to a 5% or so magnification effect of my Isco II lens. Therefore I have two lens memory settings I use regularly; 1.85:1 and 2.35:1. I find that maybe every 2nd or 3rd time I use the projector the image has slightly dropped (or raised) so that it isn't 100% lined up with my screen border. I then give it a little tweak and all is well for a few more uses.

In the past I have overwritten the appropriate lens memory when doing this, but it seems that once tweaked I don't need to do this.

Zooming: Been there, done that, bought the lens...
Kelvin1965S is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 09-27-2013, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,182
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 564
i have an x35. since making that above comment i haven't noticed any drifting. i'm still thinking most of my problem is the mount, which i think may have finally settled into position. but we'll see in a couple more days i guess

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 09-27-2013, 12:03 PM
Vao
Member
 
Vao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post

Therefore I have two lens memory settings I use regularly; 1.85:1 and 2.35:1. I find that maybe every 2nd or 3rd time I use the projector the image has slightly dropped (or raised) so that it isn't 100% lined up with my screen border. I then give it a little tweak and all is well for a few more uses.

I have the same problem every time when I switch the lens and i need to tweak a little bit. I few times i tried to re-shift and re-SAVE the exact position but I always get some out of screen. I thought to update the soft but its seems thats not the problem.
Vao is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 09-29-2013, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
My 'mount' is a floating shelf I built out of steel frame I welded together then covered MDF painted to match the wall behind to finish it off. I was very worried about the strength of this shelf, but I actually did pull ups on the bare frame once I'd fixed it to the wall to check the strength. biggrin.gif

However this occasional drift of alignment sometimes gets me worried, but I'm sure it's just the projector itself rather than the mount. It did it again last night so I just tweaked the height/focus and resaved my 2.35:1 memory setting. I'll see how it goes next time I use it.

Just incase of interest this is my home made mount:



And with my beloved Isco II lens in place. cool.gif


Zooming: Been there, done that, bought the lens...
Kelvin1965S is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 09-29-2013, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
TK Doom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sun Diego
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I wish I'd get a definitive answer though. I think its the projector. As it always reverts to being a bit to the left and have to move image to right. I don't think its my lens mount either.

I just want to know if my usage is abnormal as well, with the amount of what appeared to be JVC users on this forum, i'm surprised at the lack of input. =(

TK Doom

Unreal Tournament Forever
Project Gotham Racing too!
 

TK Doom is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 09-29-2013, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 3,751
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 144
In several of the owners' threads people have had issues with the lens memory not always going back and forth to the same position as when you set it. Your issue is the projectors fault and is completely normal when comparing to others who use the lens memory feature too. JVC is not the only company with this issue. I've read that the Sony VPL-VW95ES has issues with getting the zoom memory to work 100% all the time as well.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #10 of 11 Old 09-29-2013, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Monahan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Butte, Montana Hometown of the late Evel Knievel
Posts: 2,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
My RS55's lens memory is decent but I almost always need to adjust it a little. A little adjustment is better than having to manually zoom from 16x9 to scope. I do wish it was more accurate and offer more than three memories. I would love to have memories for at least 1.78, 1.85, 2.35, 2.40, 2.55 and 2.76.

My equipment: JVC RS55 for 2D, BenQ W7000 for 3D, Carada 40x117 2.925:1 AR BW Criterion screen, Navatar .8 HD conversion lens, Darbee Darblet, region free Oppo BP93, Toshiba HD-A35 HD-DVD, JVC HD-DH5U D-Theater, Mitsubishi HS-HD 20000 DVHS, Pioneer CLD-97 LD player/AC-3 mod, B&K AC3 Demodulator
Tom Monahan is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 09-29-2013, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,182
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 564
watched another movie last night and it's still holding well. i have 3 saved settings, i have a low mounted 100" electric screen and sometimes i use a 120" white screen for scope formats. so i have 16:9 for the 100", 2.35:1 moves up to the top of the 100" screen, and a 2.35:1 setting for the 120" screen. i've gone back and forth between the two settings for the 100" screen and it's holding position ok.

is there any chance the the a-lens could be moving the projector or something? i mean it shouldn't take much of a bump to move the image

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off