Official Sony VPL-VW500ES / VW600ES 4K Projector Thread - Page 131 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 115Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3901 of 3925 Old 11-02-2014, 01:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
chiliman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bristow, Va
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any input on this unit vs the Marantz 11s2? Love my Marantz but upgrade bugs do bite occasionally.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
chiliman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3902 of 3925 Old 11-02-2014, 01:38 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,256
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiliman View Post
Any input on this unit vs the Marantz 11s2? Love my Marantz but upgrade bugs do bite occasionally.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The Sony has higher resolution, better contrast and a ton more light output. Though the Marantz is a good projector, I would not put it in the same league as the Sony. I had to use a 106" HP (2.8 gain) screen with my Marantz and I light up a 9' wide 0.85 gain screen with my Sony. If we can help you, give us a call.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #3903 of 3925 Old 11-02-2014, 01:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
chiliman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bristow, Va
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Purchased my current set up from AVS. The Marantz on a Stewart Studiotech 130 235:1 screen. Have always been very pleased. Will shoot a PM.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
chiliman is offline  
post #3904 of 3925 Old 11-02-2014, 03:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,256
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiliman View Post
Purchased my current set up from AVS. The Marantz on a Stewart Studiotech 130 235:1 screen. Have always been very pleased. Will shoot a PM.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Went to look at your room, but the "The Room" link did not work.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #3905 of 3925 Old 11-02-2014, 06:52 PM
Member
 
pevco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a page with settings for the Sony 600ES, and or preferred set up selections for new install ?
pevco is offline  
post #3906 of 3925 Old 11-03-2014, 03:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Canary_Jules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 1,144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just a quick note about the new firmware. I noticed that my panel adjustments had been reset after applying. It's worth checking to see whether yours have been reset as well. Also, the update has cured a handshake issue I was having with my PS3 where the latter would repeatedly report 'out of range' and would take an age to connect. Problem was fixed with the update - which is very welcome. The new gamma adjustment software works a treat too. So much easier to connect and use than the old Image Director. I have dialled in a BT1886 gamma on my VW500 and it looks superb. Thanks Sony.
Canary_Jules is offline  
post #3907 of 3925 Old 11-03-2014, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by pevco View Post
Is there a page with settings for the Sony 600ES, and or preferred set up selections for new install ?
Not that I could find. But, check out the review by Sound and Vision magazine. Their setting worked pretty well, particularly for color. I had to adjust the brightness and contrast some as my screen, throw and room are different. Still, their setting would be a good place to start.
egrady is offline  
post #3908 of 3925 Old 11-04-2014, 07:32 PM
Member
 
subhash_i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to Mike@avscience i got my 600es installed few days ago and very happy with it.Bought all my HT components from Mike along with DNP supernova screen,onkyo TX-838 and speakers.My room has little light in day.So day time viewing is little challenging but night time viewing is great.Mike helped me a great deal getting all equipment at great price and even finding an installer to come to my home and do the installation.My cousin also ended up buying his JVC4910 and all his equipment from Mike.Can't thank him enough for his excellent service.
subhash_i is offline  
post #3909 of 3925 Old 11-04-2014, 08:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,256
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by subhash_i View Post
Thanks to Mike@avscience i got my 600es installed few days ago and very happy with it.Bought all my HT components from Mike along with DNP supernova screen,onkyo TX-838 and speakers.My room has little light in day.So day time viewing is little challenging but night time viewing is great.Mike helped me a great deal getting all equipment at great price and even finding an installer to come to my home and do the installation.My cousin also ended up buying his JVC4910 and all his equipment from Mike.Can't thank him enough for his excellent service.
Thank you. You are very welcome.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #3910 of 3925 Old 11-07-2014, 11:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canary_Jules View Post
Just a quick note about the new firmware. I noticed that my panel adjustments had been reset after applying. It's worth checking to see whether yours have been reset as well. Also, the update has cured a handshake issue I was having with my PS3 where the latter would repeatedly report 'out of range' and would take an age to connect. Problem was fixed with the update - which is very welcome. The new gamma adjustment software works a treat too. So much easier to connect and use than the old Image Director. I have dialled in a BT1886 gamma on my VW500 and it looks superb. Thanks Sony.
Hello.

I've just bought and installed my VW500 and upgraded the unit to 1.100. If anyone else is having issues upgrading, I think the USB-stick / hard disk needs to be FAT-formatted before it accepts it (not FAT32). However I'm not familiar with the gamma adjustment software. Is it separate software that you can download and do you need to use network access to use it? I'd love to test it.

Can you give me any help where I can get it and how to use it?


best regards

AM
Filmmaster is offline  
post #3911 of 3925 Old 11-07-2014, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Canary_Jules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 1,144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filmmaster View Post
Hello.

I've just bought and installed my VW500 and upgraded the unit to 1.100. If anyone else is having issues upgrading, I think the USB-stick / hard disk needs to be FAT-formatted before it accepts it (not FAT32). However I'm not familiar with the gamma adjustment software. Is it separate software that you can download and do you need to use network access to use it? I'd love to test it.

Can you give me any help where I can get it and how to use it?


best regards

AM
Hi. The software is available on the Sony Professional website but you have to be a registered user to be able to download. The software is available on the Partners tab on this page but you won't be able to see the tab unless you're registered and logged in.
Canary_Jules is offline  
post #3912 of 3925 Old 11-07-2014, 01:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filmmaster View Post
If anyone else is having issues upgrading, I think the USB-stick / hard disk needs to be FAT-formatted before it accepts it (not FAT32).
Errr...no. I formatted my USB stick on my MacBook Pro in NTFS using Tuxera NTFS and it worked like a charm.

Welcome to the Forum!
Michael9009 is online now  
post #3913 of 3925 Old 11-07-2014, 01:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
Errr...no. I formatted my USB stick on my MacBook Pro in NTFS using Tuxera NTFS and it worked like a charm.

Welcome to the Forum!
Good to know. Even as a long time mac user I have never formatted anything to NTFS using mac. Always felt those NTFS-programs weren't reliable enough. Maybe I should test this one.

Thank you!
Filmmaster is offline  
post #3914 of 3925 Old 11-07-2014, 08:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filmmaster View Post
Good to know. Even as a long time mac user I have never formatted anything to NTFS using mac. Always felt those NTFS-programs weren't reliable enough. Maybe I should test this one.

Thank you!
I've only used Tuxera NTFS and it has worked well. Voilá!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 22.39.58.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	219.3 KB
ID:	354009  
Michael9009 is online now  
post #3915 of 3925 Old 11-10-2014, 07:57 PM
Senior Member
 
wagnerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just installed the new firmware. It reset my settings...
wagnerc is offline  
post #3916 of 3925 Old 11-12-2014, 01:44 AM
Newbie
 
RealJEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Munich/Germany
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagnerc View Post
Just installed the new firmware. It reset my settings...
Strange. Did the firmware update twice (1.005 -> 1.006 -> 1.100) and it kept the settings both times.
Cheers, Alex
RealJEDI is offline  
post #3917 of 3925 Old 11-12-2014, 05:40 AM
Member
 
RioBar4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also updated the firmeware without change...
RioBar4U is offline  
post #3918 of 3925 Old 11-12-2014, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kjlewie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Marion, Iowa
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I completed the firmware update two days ago. I just rechecked the settings on my 600 and they are unchanged here as well.

The improved lag is quite noticeable. Sadly, my daughter continues to thoroughly pound me in FIFA for the playstation on the 600 just as easily as she did on the TV upstairs.

Clearly, I'm a man of action - just give me a few minutes to think about it.
Lewis Family Cinema 1.0

Lewis Family Cinema 2.0
kjlewie is offline  
post #3919 of 3925 Old 11-12-2014, 01:04 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,256
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjlewie View Post
I completed the firmware update two days ago. I just rechecked the settings on my 600 and they are unchanged here as well.

The improved lag is quite noticeable. Sadly, my daughter continues to thoroughly pound me in FIFA for the playstation on the 600 just as easily as she did on the TV upstairs.
Now if there was a way that she had the added lag and you didn't, then maybe you would stand a chance.
kjlewie likes this.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #3920 of 3925 Old 11-15-2014, 12:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,504
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 160
I have a favor to ask 500ES owners.

I'm hearing that HDCP 2.2 wouldn't be compatible with legacy (non HDCP 2.2 compliant) sources, which would be pure non sense, but sadly not the first time the industry does something crazy.

Has anyone tried to connect a non HDCP 2.2 compliant device in HDMI 2, and does it work? It would be a relief if it was the case.


[EDIT] Forget it, sadly it's confirmed:


Denon AVR-X7200W 9.2/13.2ch 2014/2015 Receiver Details-

Last edited by Manni01; 11-15-2014 at 02:14 AM.
Manni01 is online now  
post #3921 of 3925 Old 11-15-2014, 07:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,256
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post
I have a favor to ask 500ES owners.

I'm hearing that HDCP 2.2 wouldn't be compatible with legacy (non HDCP 2.2 compliant) sources, which would be pure non sense, but sadly not the first time the industry does something crazy.

Has anyone tried to connect a non HDCP 2.2 compliant device in HDMI 2, and does it work? It would be a relief if it was the case.


[EDIT] Forget it, sadly it's confirmed:


Denon AVR-X7200W 9.2/13.2ch 2014/2015 Receiver Details-
I have connected to HDMI port #2 and feed the projector 1080P content without any problem.
Manni01 likes this.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #3922 of 3925 Old 11-15-2014, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,504
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Thanks Mike, that's good news. I hope this will translate when an HDCP 2.2 AVR is in the chain.
Manni01 is online now  
post #3923 of 3925 Old 11-15-2014, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Andreas21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
I have connected to HDMI port #2 and feed the projector 1080P content without any problem.
Same here with the VW1100.
Manni01 likes this.

Regards
Andreas

My Homecinema

Andreas21 is online now  
post #3924 of 3925 Old 11-16-2014, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
clausdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Anyone have experience with the lens at near max lens shift vertical shelf mounted?

Planning my rear shelve and it would be practical to mount as high as possible. For scope movies it wont be an issue but zooming to 16:9 on my scope screen will be the limiting factor. I am planning to use 70% out of 80% max. Recommendations?

My previous projector infocus sp8602 was at it's max vertical lens shift and zero problems with focus etc.
clausdk is online now  
post #3925 of 3925 Old 11-16-2014, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
me23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjlewie View Post
I completed the firmware update two days ago. I just rechecked the settings on my 600 and they are unchanged here as well.

The improved lag is quite noticeable. Sadly, my daughter continues to thoroughly pound me in FIFA for the playstation on the 600 just as easily as she did on the TV upstairs.
It is very noticeable. I was considering a second projector for my xbox. Not now. Very pleased.
me23 is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw500es , Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Sony Fmp X1 4k Ultra Hd Media Player
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off