Official Sony VPL-VW500ES / VW600ES 4K Projector Thread - Page 166 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4951 of 4965 Old 04-24-2015, 10:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Skrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Question about the scaler in the Denon 4520 (the receiver I use as a pre-pro). When I set the Denon to just pass the native signal -- for almost all sources my 500ES operates perfectly and outputs a beautifully upscale picture (and this is my current standard setting). The only minor quible is when I am adjusting my Velodyne SMS-1 and using it as a "source" to display the video. Then I need to have the receiver actively scale the picture to 1080p before sending the image to the projector. For some reason -- the 500ES refuses to display the image from the SMS-1 feed natively through the Denon. Minor quibble -- not really an issue.

However, if I ask the Denon to scale the video to 4K (and do the up-converting) with a source like say Blu Ray (via my PS3 or PS4) or DirecTV (or any other source for that matter), the 500ES will display no picture at all. Why is the 500ES unable to display the 4K scaled image from the Denon 4520?

I am using HDMI 1 on the 500ES if that mattes.

It doesn't really bother me as most all of my content is either 1080p (blu ray, HD-DVD, games) or 720p/1080i (DirecTV) -- and the Sony PJ handles the up-scaling without issue. But I was just wondering how well the Denon could do the upscaling -- and it seems that the Sony and Denon refuse to play nicely when the Denon handles the 4K upscaling.

Is this a known issue?
Skrill is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4952 of 4965 Old 04-24-2015, 10:42 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 9,866
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1484 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Yep, a lot of people prefer the scaling of the Sony, even though it does introduce a slight bit of ringing. Most don't notice that ringing and perceive it as a sharper image. Really as Mark said, if you go looking for these things, you will find them, once you know what to look for and then you can't un-see them. Sometimes it is better to be blissfully unaware.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Sony, JVC, Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Pioneer, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #4953 of 4965 Old 04-24-2015, 01:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
George Kouzev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skrill View Post
Question about the scaler in the Denon 4520 (the receiver I use as a pre-pro). When I set the Denon to just pass the native signal -- for almost all sources my 500ES operates perfectly and outputs a beautifully upscale picture (and this is my current standard setting). The only minor quible is when I am adjusting my Velodyne SMS-1 and using it as a "source" to display the video. Then I need to have the receiver actively scale the picture to 1080p before sending the image to the projector. For some reason -- the 500ES refuses to display the image from the SMS-1 feed natively through the Denon. Minor quibble -- not really an issue.

However, if I ask the Denon to scale the video to 4K (and do the up-converting) with a source like say Blu Ray (via my PS3 or PS4) or DirecTV (or any other source for that matter), the 500ES will display no picture at all. Why is the 500ES unable to display the 4K scaled image from the Denon 4520?

I am using HDMI 1 on the 500ES if that mattes.

It doesn't really bother me as most all of my content is either 1080p (blu ray, HD-DVD, games) or 720p/1080i (DirecTV) -- and the Sony PJ handles the up-scaling without issue. But I was just wondering how well the Denon could do the upscaling -- and it seems that the Sony and Denon refuse to play nicely when the Denon handles the 4K upscaling.

Is this a known issue?
Not sure what resolution comes out of the SMS-1 but going by memory, the Sony may not be able to accept 480i (?) or lower.

I am also interested in the answer to your second question. I have a Photo app on my PS3 that can be set to output in 4K but it refuses to do so as it says the display is not 4K (?). It is a bummer not to be able to show photos in 4k w/o PC/laptop. Glitch in the HDMI protocol I guess.
George Kouzev is offline  
post #4954 of 4965 Old 04-25-2015, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
d.j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skrill View Post
Question about the scaler in the Denon 4520 (the receiver I use as a pre-pro). When I set the Denon to just pass the native signal -- for almost all sources my 500ES operates perfectly and outputs a beautifully upscale picture (and this is my current standard setting). The only minor quible is when I am adjusting my Velodyne SMS-1 and using it as a "source" to display the video. Then I need to have the receiver actively scale the picture to 1080p before sending the image to the projector. For some reason -- the 500ES refuses to display the image from the SMS-1 feed natively through the Denon. Minor quibble -- not really an issue.

However, if I ask the Denon to scale the video to 4K (and do the up-converting) with a source like say Blu Ray (via my PS3 or PS4) or DirecTV (or any other source for that matter), the 500ES will display no picture at all. Why is the 500ES unable to display the 4K scaled image from the Denon 4520?

I am using HDMI 1 on the 500ES if that mattes.

It doesn't really bother me as most all of my content is either 1080p (blu ray, HD-DVD, games) or 720p/1080i (DirecTV) -- and the Sony PJ handles the up-scaling without issue. But I was just wondering how well the Denon could do the upscaling -- and it seems that the Sony and Denon refuse to play nicely when the Denon handles the 4K upscaling.

Is this a known issue?



Have you tried the HDMI 2 ( which is the HDCP 2.2 compatible input ) ?


dj

Last edited by d.j.; 04-25-2015 at 10:16 AM.
d.j. is offline  
post #4955 of 4965 Old 04-25-2015, 11:31 AM
Member
 
Jare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for comments regarding what to use for up scaling.

I have one more question. My Sony is in living room with white walls and floor. My screen is Screenline Tab tensioned 110 inch mat white 1.0 gain. I'm planning on getting a new screen. So, would I have better contrast (picture in whole) if I buy a grey high contrast screen (it would be bigger than the current one at 130-140 inch) or to stay with mat surface since it would be larger in size? Would there be a huge difference? From what I red on line, it should have more impact in living room than in cave, or I might be wrong?

Thanks
Jare is offline  
post #4956 of 4965 Old 04-25-2015, 11:38 AM
Member
 
Jare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
To add, Im projecting now from 3,35m (so I have to zoom out to the max now at 2,05 based on calculator), but would be moving both screen and projector so that I would be projecting from 4,25-4,4m so zoom would be from 1,85 to 2,00, depending on the diagonal.
Jare is offline  
post #4957 of 4965 Old 04-25-2015, 11:53 AM
Member
 
Jare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Last but not least, I am watching movies at night without any lights, so I have light controlled room, except walls.
Jare is offline  
post #4958 of 4965 Old 04-25-2015, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Skrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by d.j. View Post
Have you tried the HDMI 2 ( which is the HDCP 2.2 compatible input ) ?


dj
I can try it -- but that shouldn't be the issue since none of the content is HDCP 2.2 protected (and the Denon 4520 is not HDCP 2.2 enabled).
Skrill is online now  
post #4959 of 4965 Old Yesterday, 03:01 PM
Newbie
 
Homer J Simpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sony just sent my another unit of the 500es...they could not fix my old one.

This unit is equipped with the firmware 1.200 A. Everything is perfect but I notice some lag when I watch blu ray disc (audio comes first). It is subtle but it bothers me. With the old unit firmware 1.100 I had not this problem. Anyone has reported this?

I know there is the IMPUT LAG option that I can activate and that actually works to solve this problem, but does it downgrades the image?

Thanks for your help
Homer J Simpson is online now  
post #4960 of 4965 Old Yesterday, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 5,729
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1360 Post(s)
Liked: 496
An easy fix is to set an audio delay in your sound receiver/processor. Some blu-ray players also have such a feature. This will ensure that enabling the lower input lag mode doesn't alter image quality.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Crazy Projector Journey!
Seegs108 is online now  
post #4961 of 4965 Old Yesterday, 05:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 20,973
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1075 Post(s)
Liked: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
An easy fix is to set an audio delay in your sound receiver/processor. Some blu-ray players also have such a feature. This will ensure that enabling the lower input lag mode doesn't alter image quality.

That is the way to do it. the video processing tajes longer than the audio processing and there is no cost in slowing the audio to equal the time needed to process the video. If one uses the input lag shortening in the projector, it switches to quicker but less good scaling.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #4962 of 4965 Old Yesterday, 11:05 PM
Newbie
 
Homer J Simpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually I don't have the possibility to delay the audio in my player (OPPO 93) or receiver...but I was wondering if anybody reported this issue with firmware 1.200 A. With the old firmware I didn't have this problem...

Last edited by Homer J Simpson; Today at 01:42 AM.
Homer J Simpson is online now  
post #4963 of 4965 Old Today, 06:04 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 9,866
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1484 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer J Simpson View Post
Actually I don't have the possibility to delay the audio in my player (OPPO 93) or receiver...but I was wondering if anybody reported this issue with firmware 1.200 A. With the old firmware I didn't have this problem...
What AVR do you have? I ask since lip sync has been a pretty common feature for a while now.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Sony, JVC, Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Pioneer, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #4964 of 4965 Old Today, 06:11 AM
Newbie
 
Homer J Simpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own a classé SSP-30 preamplifier....pretty old but it sounds great. I fear I'll have to upgrade from oppo 93 to 103

Last edited by Homer J Simpson; Today at 06:47 AM.
Homer J Simpson is online now  
post #4965 of 4965 Old Today, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer J Simpson View Post
I own a classé SSP-30 preamplifier....pretty old but it sounds great. I fear I'll have to upgrade from oppo 93 to 103
If you are using the analogue outputs from the 93 into your Classé then changing to a 103 will give you the option of up to 100mS audio delay. However, if you are using HDMI or coax/optical output from your 93 then you would need to replace the Classé for something with audio delay built in.

(FWIW I have a 93 and was trying to use it via analogue outputs, but my Lumagen 2041/JVC X500 means I have a lip sync issue, so I considered the 103 myself. I've decided that I'll live with 'core' DTS for another 6 months until I buy a new processor).

Zooming: Been there, done that, bought the lens...now using e-shift.
Kelvin1965S is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw500es , Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Sony Fmp X1 4k Ultra Hd Media Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off