Official Sony VPL-VW500ES / VW600ES 4K Projector Thread - Page 181 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 390Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2015, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbw23air's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: KY
Posts: 2,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
I am pretty sure you know this, but to clarify to others, JVC and Sony both use the same technology.
Right, they are both LCOS technology just different variations of it and that SXRD has higher ANSI contrast and DILA is higher in native contrast. Sorry, I should've mentioned that.
mbw23air is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-25-2015, 12:31 PM
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 9,255
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3771 Post(s)
Liked: 1770
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbw23air View Post
Right, they are both LCOS technology just different variations of it and that SXRD has higher ANSI contrast and DILA is higher in native contrast. Sorry, I should've mentioned that.
Still not 100% correct. It's more along the lines of light engine and optical design that help each technology (SXRD and DiLA) give these projector's those traits. That is, it's not entirely the micro display that gives each manufacturer's projectors those traits you talk about. If Sony wanted to they could change up their light engine and optics to give higher on/off contrast and the same thing goes for JVC when it comes to ANSI contrast.
Seegs108 is offline  
Old 09-25-2015, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbw23air's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: KY
Posts: 2,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
Still not 100% correct. It's more along the lines of light engine and optical design that help each technology (SXRD and DiLA) give these projector's those traits. That is, it's not entirely the micro display that gives each manufacturer's projectors those traits you talk about. If Sony wanted to they could change up their light engine and optics to give higher on/off contrast and the same thing goes for JVC when it comes to ANSI contrast.
Gotcha......so I just should have said in Sony's and JVC's implementation of LCOS that Sony's implementation has higher ANSI contrast and JVC's implementation has higher native contrast.
mbw23air is offline  
Old 09-25-2015, 12:55 PM
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 9,255
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3771 Post(s)
Liked: 1770
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbw23air View Post
Gotcha......so I just should have said in Sony's and JVC's implementation of LCOS that Sony's implementation has higher ANSI contrast and JVC's implementation has higher native contrast.
Yes, currently that's the case. In the future they may take on different characteristics. Hopefully, always for the better.
mbw23air likes this.
Seegs108 is offline  
Old 09-27-2015, 09:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Alex, I have a 133 in diagonal, 16:9, Da-Lite HD Progressive 1.3 in a light controlled room which is not a bat cave (light coloured walls). The image from my VW1100ES is phenomenal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by osupike99 View Post
Hey guys. What kind of 16x9 screens are you using in 100% light controlled room with this PJ? I currently use EliteScreens CineGray screen and for some reason the left and bottom edge of each line of the grid used for Focus, is blurry. Are yours doing the same? My RS4910 did something similar.



Alex
Michael9009 is offline  
Old 09-30-2015, 05:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Is anyone also annoyed that the 500ES has got no possibility to do vertical stretch in the 4K mode whereas 2,35:1 is no problem? It even lacks the modes for 1,85:1 and squeeze. Even my Oppo 103 could do that in 4k mode (while it unfortunately still does not deliver hdcp 2.2 so I cannot use 4k sources like new Fire TV)
Eventidal is offline  
Old 09-30-2015, 06:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15,555
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4800 Post(s)
Liked: 2958
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eventidal View Post
Is anyone also annoyed that the 500ES has got no possibility to do vertical stretch in the 4K mode whereas 2,35:1 is no problem? It even lacks the modes for 1,85:1 and squeeze. Even my Oppo 103 could do that in 4k mode (while it unfortunately still does not deliver hdcp 2.2 so I cannot use 4k sources like new Fire TV)
No, your Oppo can't do that. Your Oppo can do vertical stretch in 1080P mode and then upconvert to 4K. The Sony can do that already. This is why I have been waiting for the Lumagen or some other device to do vertical stretch of 4K content.

Call for CEDIA SPECIALS
AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Parasound, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, SE, Carada, MicroLite.
Mike Garrett is offline  
Old 09-30-2015, 08:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
No, your Oppo can't do that. Your Oppo can do vertical stretch in 1080P mode and then upconvert to 4K. The Sony can do that already. This is why I have been waiting for the Lumagen or some other device to do vertical stretch of 4K content.
Well I plugged my Sony FMP-X1 into the Oppo´s HDMI in and used the vertical stretch Function on the movie preview (because they are not hdcp encoded) and it worked. So if what you are saying is true, that would mean that the Previews on the FMP-X1 are not 4k.
Eventidal is offline  
Old 09-30-2015, 08:50 AM
Home Theater Lover!
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 9,616
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2556 Post(s)
Liked: 2335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eventidal View Post
Is anyone also annoyed that the 500ES has got no possibility to do vertical stretch in the 4K mode whereas 2,35:1 is no problem? It even lacks the modes for 1,85:1 and squeeze. Even my Oppo 103 could do that in 4k mode (while it unfortunately still does not deliver hdcp 2.2 so I cannot use 4k sources like new Fire TV)

Since I zoom and do not use an anamorphic lens, that's not a problem for me anyway.

AV Science, Inc. Direct (585) 671-2972 craig@avscience.com www.avscience.com Like us on Facebook
Epson 5040 / 6040 now available The new JVC RS4500 available for pre order !
JVC RS400 500 600 Cedia Special pricing - call !
Craig Peer is offline  
Old 09-30-2015, 09:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 20,628
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2114 Post(s)
Liked: 975
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eventidal View Post
Well I plugged my Sony FMP-X1 into the Oppo´s HDMI in and used the vertical stretch Function on the movie preview (because they are not hdcp encoded) and it worked. So if what you are saying is true, that would mean that the Previews on the FMP-X1 are not 4k.
Actually according to the specs, the Oppo doesn't support 4K input, so you're only getting 1080p from your FMP-X1 if you pipe it through the Oppo.
stanger89 is offline  
Old 09-30-2015, 10:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15,555
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4800 Post(s)
Liked: 2958
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Actually according to the specs, the Oppo doesn't support 4K input, so you're only getting 1080p from your FMP-X1 if you pipe it through the Oppo.
Correct.

Call for CEDIA SPECIALS
AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Parasound, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, SE, Carada, MicroLite.
Mike Garrett is offline  
Old 10-03-2015, 09:42 AM
BL
Senior Member
 
BL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Falmouth, Maine
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having trouble locating the keystone adjustment, is there a trick to getting to it in the menus?

Any help would be appreciated.

Bill
BL is offline  
Old 10-03-2015, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by BL View Post
I am having trouble locating the keystone adjustment, is there a trick to getting to it in the menus?

Any help would be appreciated.
No trick because it does not have one. This projector has "Lens Shift" so not sure why you would need a keystone adjustment. Page 6 through 11 should have all the info you need to do an install.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
Old 10-03-2015, 10:15 AM
BL
Senior Member
 
BL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Falmouth, Maine
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, maybe I should rephrase. Is there a way to use lens shift to adjust when the image is wider at the bottom or top of the screen or does the projector have to be positioned to avoid that?

Bill
BL is offline  
Old 10-03-2015, 10:44 AM
Member
 
Oilmanmojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Indianapolis, In
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
check the levelness of the projector and Screen. The bottom wider is indicating the bottom of the screen is further from the light source than the top of the screen. i always ensure the projector is properly level (side to side and front to back), center the lens as close as you can afford to do with the center of the screen. Make sure the screen is properly level (side to side) and that it is hanging perfectly down. if you have a wall mounted screen, it could be somewhat out of plumb and causing the screen to be out of plumb. Once these are adjusted, then use the lens shift to get it perfect.
Oilmanmojo is offline  
Old 10-03-2015, 01:56 PM
BL
Senior Member
 
BL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Falmouth, Maine
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, that is interesting, the CRT I am replacing doesn't require that the projector be so square to the screen, you can hang it on an angle and just adjust the keystone setting. There must be a reason this PJ does not have that adjustment capability, I just wasn't expecting it.

Bill
BL is offline  
Old 10-03-2015, 04:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15,555
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4800 Post(s)
Liked: 2958
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by BL View Post
Ok, maybe I should rephrase. Is there a way to use lens shift to adjust when the image is wider at the bottom or top of the screen or does the projector have to be positioned to avoid that?
Angle toward smaller side. So if top is smaller than bottom, tilt projector up and then lens shift the image back down, onto the screen.

Call for CEDIA SPECIALS
AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Parasound, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, SE, Carada, MicroLite.
Mike Garrett is offline  
Old 10-04-2015, 02:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Venice, Florida, USA
Posts: 22,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1416 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by BL View Post
Thanks, that is interesting, the CRT I am replacing doesn't require that the projector be so square to the screen, you can hang it on an angle and just adjust the keystone setting. There must be a reason this PJ does not have that adjustment capability, I just wasn't expecting it.



Electronic keystone adjustment really degrades the PQ of projectors and that is why manufacturers now leave it out of HT projectors which are normally set up permanently. You will still find it on presentation projectors which are usually mobile and quickly set up.
OzHDHT and Seegs108 like this.
mark haflich is offline  
Old 10-06-2015, 08:32 PM
Member
 
bearcat2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fremont, NE
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OK, I just purchased a Fire TV 4k so I can at least see how Netflix looks on this thing. I know I won't get sound until I get a hdcp 2.2 receiver so I just plugged it in direct. I plugged it into both HDMI ports (1 & 2) even though I think that 2 is the only one that is HDCP 2.2 compliant, however I get this message on the screen and therefore can't see 4k. Very frustrating. Is there something I'm going wrong here? Hopefully someone can help me out because this is driving me nuts.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0960.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	155.0 KB
ID:	980673  
bearcat2002 is offline  
Old 10-06-2015, 08:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Naylorman32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearcat2002 View Post
OK, I just purchased a Fire TV 4k so I can at least see how Netflix looks on this thing. I know I won't get sound until I get a hdcp 2.2 receiver so I just plugged it in direct. I plugged it into both HDMI ports (1 & 2) even though I think that 2 is the only one that is HDCP 2.2 compliant, however I get this message on the screen and therefore can't see 4k. Very frustrating. Is there something I'm going wrong here? Hopefully someone can help me out because this is driving me nuts.


Hmm... That's odd. its definitely input 2 that is hdcp2.2. Mine worked with 4K just fine last night.
Naylorman32 is online now  
Old 10-07-2015, 06:21 AM
Member
 
bearcat2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fremont, NE
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I went into my cabinet and realized a had that stupid darbee attached. It obviously isn't compliant so the unit thought that was the tv. Works fine directly now and can at least see video which looks fantastic. I'll be ordering the new Marantz receiver when it becomes available and we should be all set.
bearcat2002 is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 06:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15,555
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4800 Post(s)
Liked: 2958
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearcat2002 View Post
I went into my cabinet and realized a had that stupid darbee attached. It obviously isn't compliant so the unit thought that was the tv. Works fine directly now and can at least see video which looks fantastic. I'll be ordering the new Marantz receiver when it becomes available and we should be all set.
All the new Marantz AVR's have been available to us about two weeks ago. What model were you waiting on?

Call for CEDIA SPECIALS
AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Parasound, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, SE, Carada, MicroLite.
Mike Garrett is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 06:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15,555
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4800 Post(s)
Liked: 2958
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
If anyone is holding out on the hope of picking up a new VW600 at reduced cost, once the replacement comes out, it may be hard to find one. Sony has very few left and the remaining VW600's that Sony has, they are holding for emergency replacement.

Call for CEDIA SPECIALS
AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Parasound, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, SE, Carada, MicroLite.
Mike Garrett is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
scanido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto Suburbs
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Hi guys

I've been extremely happy with the overall picture quality of my VPL-VW500es since I bought it 2yrs ago.

Rogers here in Toronto has just announced that they will come out with 4K live and support HDR. Would my vw500es support HDR? Does anyone know if it can be updated via firmware for this?
scanido is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 10:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15,555
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4800 Post(s)
Liked: 2958
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by scanido View Post
Hi guys

I've been extremely happy with the overall picture quality of my VPL-VW500es since I bought it 2yrs ago.

Rogers here in Toronto has just announced that they will come out with 4K live and support HDR. Would my vw500es support HDR? Does anyone know if it can be updated via firmware for this?
I have been told no.

Call for CEDIA SPECIALS
AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Parasound, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, SE, Carada, MicroLite.
Mike Garrett is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 11:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1480 Post(s)
Liked: 1115
The new 600ES will contain HDR, correct? But no P3.


DavidHir is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 11:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15,555
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4800 Post(s)
Liked: 2958
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post
The new 600ES will contain HDR, correct? But no P3.
The VW600 replacement will have HDR, but no P3, correct.

Call for CEDIA SPECIALS
AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Parasound, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, SE, Carada, MicroLite.
Mike Garrett is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 12:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1480 Post(s)
Liked: 1115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
The VW600 replacement will have HDR, but no P3, correct.
Anything known on contrast improvements?


DavidHir is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 12:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15,555
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4800 Post(s)
Liked: 2958
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post
Anything known on contrast improvements?
Ask me again in 8 days.

Call for CEDIA SPECIALS
AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Parasound, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, SE, Carada, MicroLite.
Mike Garrett is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 02:12 PM
Member
 
bearcat2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fremont, NE
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearcat2002 View Post
I went into my cabinet and realized a had that stupid darbee attached. It obviously isn't compliant so the unit thought that was the tv. Works fine directly now and can at least see video which looks fantastic. I'll be ordering the new Marantz receiver when it becomes available and we should be all set.
All the new Marantz AVR's have been available to us about two weeks ago. What model were you waiting on?
I was looking at the SR7010. Do you already have it in stock?
bearcat2002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw500es , Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Sony Fmp X1 4k Ultra Hd Media Player
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off