Official Sony VPL-VW500ES / VW600ES 4K Projector Thread - Page 205 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 390Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6121 of 6149 Old 09-08-2016, 03:26 AM
Member
 
WIKED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 39
I just checked the bulb hours and I'm now at 5323hrs and still going strong. I really wonder how many hours I will get out of this bulb.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
WIKED is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6122 of 6149 Old 09-08-2016, 10:05 PM
Member
 
1fzj80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cardiff CA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1fzj80 View Post
I just purchased a panny ub900 and also still figuring out the setup on the new to me vw600es.
is it correct the the 600 is hdcp 2.2 and hdmi 2.0.
can the 600 accept a full 4k signal from the panny bluray?
after some fiddling with the settings, i finally got panny to output a 4k/60p signal to the 600es.
the panny setting color mode is YCbCr(4:2:2) and deep color and HDR are off.
the HDMI video out signal is 4K/60p SDR.BT.709 YCbCr4:2:0/8 bit.
i will work more with it tomorrow to figure out other settings that work.
the picture is great and does appear better than the 600es upscale of 1080p.
i need to get a few more 4K discs that are mastered in 4K to compare the picture. my screen is 10' wide.

Click image for larger version

Name:	sony 600es.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	145.6 KB
ID:	1650393
1fzj80 is offline  
post #6123 of 6149 Old 09-08-2016, 10:11 PM
Member
 
1fzj80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cardiff CA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big John View Post
I hooked up my new Panny UHD player to my 500ES last night. I was unable to do an a/b comparison to the Oppo 103D that I had been using. First glance I didn't think that it made much difference. I watched Allegiant as a first flick. I spent much of the movie tweaking. As time went on the picture got better. First, the Panny has secondary audio ON as a default. had to work my way in and turn that off in order to get TruHD working.
Ssounds good as one would expect from a digital bitstream transfer allowing my Arcam AVR700 to do the decoding. I realized after about 20 minutes that I had to turn the reality creation off to allow the 500 to show the pic that it was being fed from the Panny. The Panny has a setting that allows you to change increase/decrease the contrast to more accurately reflect HDR. Of course the HDR will not pass as the 500ES is not capable of accepting that feed. increasing the contrast through this slider will allow the SDR feed to more accurately reflect the way it would look if the display was showing HDR. The cost is an overall darker picture. I ended up with a picture that was pleasant but I couldn't say that it was significantly better than allowing the 500ES to upscale 1080p from the Oppo. That may change over time as I watch more movies and tweak a bit more. I may have to run a calibration disc through the Panny to make sure settings are correct for that player. I did find that it help if I switched the 500ES off of low lamp mode and back onto high lamp mode. I have not had a chance to try the new Panny with 3D Blu-ray discs but that will be for another weekend.

I would appreciate any tips from anyone else who has the Panny with a 500/600ES.

John
Do you have any updates on your settings and/or results.
I'm working thru this right now and do not find many other comments on the combo panny ub-900 and the sony vw600es.
1fzj80 is offline  
post #6124 of 6149 Old 09-09-2016, 02:45 AM
Member
 
hwoarang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hollywood Hills, Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Woah. It's been a while. Reading some of the latest posts here, you would think the projector is seeing its last days! I think it still looks awesome.

A couple tech questions for the experts:

1) Does the Xbox One S 4k UHD player work with the VW600?

2) I'm running the projector through a Yamaha receiver with HDMI 1.4a with 4K pass-through and a PS4. If I had a HDMI 2.0 UHD player, would the pass-through send the full UHD signal or would I need to change to a receiver with HDMI 2.0?

3) Will this baby get some sort of pusedo HDR update?

Thanks lads!
hwoarang is offline  
post #6125 of 6149 Old 09-09-2016, 05:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 75
1. Yes, it'll work. The question is if it'll work well. The DMP-UB900 is your best bet.

2. UHD signals would require an HDMI 2.0 pass-through connection and, possibly, with HDCP 2.2, depending on the source.

3. I'd venture to say likely not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hwoarang View Post
Woah. It's been a while. Reading some of the latest posts here, you would think the projector is seeing its last days! I think it still looks awesome.

A couple tech questions for the experts:

1) Does the Xbox One S 4k UHD player work with the VW600?

2) I'm running the projector through a Yamaha receiver with HDMI 1.4a with 4K pass-through and a PS4. If I had a HDMI 2.0 UHD player, would the pass-through send the full UHD signal or would I need to change to a receiver with HDMI 2.0?

3) Will this baby get some sort of pusedo HDR update?

Thanks lads!
Michael9009 is offline  
post #6126 of 6149 Old 09-10-2016, 06:22 PM
Newbie
 
Big John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1fzj80 View Post
Do you have any updates on your settings and/or results.
I'm working thru this right now and do not find many other comments on the combo panny ub-900 and the sony vw600es.
No. Sorry, I haven't had any time to watch movies or tweak since my last update. Darn thing called work keeps getting in the way.

John
Big John is offline  
post #6127 of 6149 Old 09-11-2016, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
George Kouzev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Just got the Panny yesterday and gave it a spin last night on my VW300 with the only two 4k titles I have at the moment: Mad Max and Allegiant. These are probably not the best transfers out there but I was sort of disappointed at the resolution improvement with these - not much better than up-scaled Blu Ray. The projector can resolve much more when fed with one of my high quality digital pictures like city shots from up high - difference is profound, especially as you get closer to the screen. I am of course comparing to fairly static movie scenes. It took some time until we saw the best of Blue Ray, so the best of 4k is yet to come I guess.

WRT color, I can see slight difference in colors between blue ray and 4k versions (with SDR conversion engaged) but I expect this to be normal as it is based on how the conversion algorithm does the mapping.

As for the SDR slider adjustment, it works well it seems but cannot decide if I like it at 0 (in the middle) or around say -6. I am curios to see what others think.
George Kouzev is offline  
post #6128 of 6149 Old 09-12-2016, 03:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tnedator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Is there a new firmware (600ES), or just the one from a couple years ago. On the Sony site, it shows 1.1, but I could have sworn my projector came with a newer one than that. I don't want to power it on just to check, but I was thinking 1.2.
Tnedator is offline  
post #6129 of 6149 Old 09-13-2016, 04:52 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
gdfein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Does anyone have their 600ES connected to Directv's C61k mini genie client and if so how is the 4K picture with that?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

gdfein is online now  
post #6130 of 6149 Old 09-14-2016, 12:18 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
LeBon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 86
My VW600ES is connected to a Genie master station through a Marantz AV7702, and it works great. However, I have not tried the 4K feed yet -- I think I will have to bypass the video around the 7702 to get that to work.

I have three of the mini-clients, but they are connected to various flat screen TVs.
LeBon is offline  
post #6131 of 6149 Old 09-14-2016, 05:38 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
gdfein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'm in similar boat. My 600ES in media room is fed DTV from my current DVR via plain HDMI through Marantz 8801. My 600ES 4K feed is still fed the Sony 4K media server. I have an upgrade appt with DTV for new 4K Genie and 3 mini clients tomorrow. My plan is to install new genie same as DVR and add the mini client where the 4K server is, straight into 600es. I was hoping to see if any others had done this already?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

gdfein is online now  
post #6132 of 6149 Old 09-14-2016, 06:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roxiedog13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North 48 °
Posts: 1,689
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 978 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by WIKED View Post
I just checked the bulb hours and I'm now at 5323hrs and still going strong. I really wonder how many hours I will get out of this bulb.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
By all accounts you are five times beyond the point at which most change their bulb , congratulations are in order I do believe. Change the bulb because you feel it is necessary
but not if you don't think it's a problem. If you start changing equipment because others tell you to or a meter reading indicates you should you may be forever chasing your tail .


According to the SXRD degradation thread you should also have little to know contrast left at all. Would be nice to know what your values are . 5323hrs. wow, someones having
a lot of fun.

Dedicated Theater: JVC X950R/RS600 , Panamorph DC1 Anamorphic Lens, Draper TecVision XT1800X Screen, 2.40:1 132" diagonal curved 36FT radius, Denon X7200WA , 7.2.4 Atmos, Paradigm Monitor 11 fronts, Monitor 3 Center, Monitor V7 Rear, SA-ADP In-wall Surround, Niles DS-7 In-Ceiling, Subwoofers: (4000 watts peak) Klipsch RW-12 + SVS PC13-Ultra
roxiedog13 is offline  
post #6133 of 6149 Old 09-17-2016, 08:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So I've recently noticed a bit of a yellow tint vertically down the centre of my image and also slightly on the left side also. I ran the auto calibrate and the white test was virtually 2/3 yellow with only the far RHS actually white. Once calibration was complete skin tones did look much better, However the yellow tint was still noticeable. I saw this being discussed a while back in the thread. Have people had this issue increase in severity and had the units fixed or replaced under warranty? I have only done just over 700 hrs in almost 2 years. I still have just over a year of warranty left. Any info/ input is appreciated.
Planet Express is offline  
post #6134 of 6149 Old 09-17-2016, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Planet Express View Post
So I've recently noticed a bit of a yellow tint vertically down the centre of my image and also slightly on the left side also. I ran the auto calibrate and the white test was virtually 2/3 yellow with only the far RHS actually white. Once calibration was complete skin tones did look much better, However the yellow tint was still noticeable. I saw this being discussed a while back in the thread. Have people had this issue increase in severity and had the units fixed or replaced under warranty? I have only done just over 700 hrs in almost 2 years. I still have just over a year of warranty left. Any info/ input is appreciated.
Sounds like the optical block engine is going. Get it to Sony under your warranty.
cdnscg is online now  
post #6135 of 6149 Old 09-17-2016, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
gdfein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdfein View Post
I'm in similar boat. My 600ES in media room is fed DTV from my current DVR via plain HDMI through Marantz 8801. My 600ES 4K feed is still fed the Sony 4K media server. I have an upgrade appt with DTV for new 4K Genie and 3 mini clients tomorrow. My plan is to install new genie same as DVR and add the mini client where the 4K server is, straight into 600es. I was hoping to see if any others had done this already?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Reply to my own query to let others with our PJ know that my Directv 4K install was an apparent success. Had the HR54 genie installed as well as the 4K C61K client. I don't yet have my audio processor upgraded to handle switching, so the C61K goes HDMI direct into the 4K input on my 600ES and I have temporarily taken out my 4K media server. I have a separate digital audio cable feeding audio signal to processor. Once I have the cash to upgrade my Marantz 8801 I'll be able to switch 4K sources all via hdmi. The 4K demos DTV runs are nice.

True test will be tonight's Notre Dame game broadcast live in 4K!!!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

gdfein is online now  
post #6136 of 6149 Old 09-19-2016, 05:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Planet Express View Post
So I've recently noticed a bit of a yellow tint vertically down the centre of my image and also slightly on the left side also. I ran the auto calibrate and the white test was virtually 2/3 yellow with only the far RHS actually white. Once calibration was complete skin tones did look much better, However the yellow tint was still noticeable. I saw this being discussed a while back in the thread. Have people had this issue increase in severity and had the units fixed or replaced under warranty? I have only done just over 700 hrs in almost 2 years. I still have just over a year of warranty left. Any info/ input is appreciated.
I have attached an image that shows the description above. Have other people with this issue had there units replaced?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3111.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	101.5 KB
ID:	1668937  
Planet Express is offline  
post #6137 of 6149 Old 09-19-2016, 09:25 AM
Home Theater Lover
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 9,781
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2670 Post(s)
Liked: 2461
Quote:
Originally Posted by hwoarang View Post
Woah. It's been a while. Reading some of the latest posts here, you would think the projector is seeing its last days! I think it still looks awesome.

A couple tech questions for the experts:

1) Does the Xbox One S 4k UHD player work with the VW600?

2) I'm running the projector through a Yamaha receiver with HDMI 1.4a with 4K pass-through and a PS4. If I had a HDMI 2.0 UHD player, would the pass-through send the full UHD signal or would I need to change to a receiver with HDMI 2.0?

3) Will this baby get some sort of pusedo HDR update?

Thanks lads!
I can't answer #1 , but -

2 ) - might be time to get a new receiver with the current HDMI 2.0 / HDCP 2.2 . Flip the old one on Ebay or here on the free classifieds.

3 ) - I'd say no. The HDR update is called the VW675ES.

Current home theater photos - http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2386514

craigpeer@earthlink.net
Craig Peer is offline  
post #6138 of 6149 Old 10-06-2016, 04:26 AM
Newbie
 
nx101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Planet Express View Post
I have attached an image that shows the description above. Have other people with this issue had there units replaced?
Hi I have the same issue i am looking to get my Projector sent for repair no settings changes will fix this issue
nx101 is offline  
post #6139 of 6149 Old 10-07-2016, 07:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roxiedog13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North 48 °
Posts: 1,689
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 978 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by hwoarang View Post
Woah. It's been a while. Reading some of the latest posts here, you would think the projector is seeing its last days! I think it still looks awesome.

A couple tech questions for the experts:

1) Does the Xbox One S 4k UHD player work with the VW600?

2) I'm running the projector through a Yamaha receiver with HDMI 1.4a with 4K pass-through and a PS4. If I had a HDMI 2.0 UHD player, would the pass-through send the full UHD signal or would I need to change to a receiver with HDMI 2.0?

3) Will this baby get some sort of pusedo HDR update?

Thanks lads!
No HDR updates , the inputs will not handle HDR. You can use a HD Fury Integal to run 4K at HDMI 1.4 though although you probably will not see any big advantage over up-scaled BR, unless the 4K is remastered AND includes Atmos audio . Lumagen is going to remap HDR that you could use as well, just that the Lumagen player will cost more than your projector is worth.

Dedicated Theater: JVC X950R/RS600 , Panamorph DC1 Anamorphic Lens, Draper TecVision XT1800X Screen, 2.40:1 132" diagonal curved 36FT radius, Denon X7200WA , 7.2.4 Atmos, Paradigm Monitor 11 fronts, Monitor 3 Center, Monitor V7 Rear, SA-ADP In-wall Surround, Niles DS-7 In-Ceiling, Subwoofers: (4000 watts peak) Klipsch RW-12 + SVS PC13-Ultra

Last edited by roxiedog13; 11-09-2016 at 05:23 PM.
roxiedog13 is offline  
post #6140 of 6149 Old 11-06-2016, 07:15 AM
Senior Member
 
paulfromtulsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I just got a panasonic dmp-ub900 uhd bluray player and a new integra drx-1. Should I run my video hdmi from my uhd player to the reciever and then out to my Sony 600 or run a hdmi video straight to my projector so it doesn't pass through my reciever. My receiver is suppose to have 4k pass through and 2.2 compliant but all that stuff confuses me. What would be the best route? Thanks
paulfromtulsa is offline  
post #6141 of 6149 Old 11-06-2016, 05:38 PM
Senior Member
 
paulfromtulsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Do you guys know if this projector have hdr? Thanks
paulfromtulsa is offline  
post #6142 of 6149 Old 11-07-2016, 05:41 PM
Member
 
Oilmanmojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Indianapolis, In
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulfromtulsa View Post
Do you guys know if this projector have hdr? Thanks
paul-- it does not have HDR.
Oilmanmojo is offline  
post #6143 of 6149 Old 11-07-2016, 05:44 PM
Member
 
Oilmanmojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Indianapolis, In
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulfromtulsa View Post
I just got a panasonic dmp-ub900 uhd bluray player and a new integra drx-1. Should I run my video hdmi from my uhd player to the reciever and then out to my Sony 600 or run a hdmi video straight to my projector so it doesn't pass through my reciever. My receiver is suppose to have 4k pass through and 2.2 compliant but all that stuff confuses me. What would be the best route? Thanks
others may have a different opinion, but routing everything to the receiver simplifies the control of your system. remember to route your signal to the proper HDMI input on your projector. HDMI input 2 is the correct one on the 500 for 4k signals
Oilmanmojo is offline  
post #6144 of 6149 Old 11-07-2016, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
paulfromtulsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oilmanmojo View Post
others may have a different opinion, but routing everything to the receiver simplifies the control of your system. remember to route your signal to the proper HDMI input on your projector. HDMI input 2 is the correct one on the 500 for 4k signals
So on my Sony projector I need to use input 2 for 4k stuff? What is the resolution if I use input 1? I have been using input 1 for a while now but never had any 4k source or player till now

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G928A using Tapatalk
paulfromtulsa is offline  
post #6145 of 6149 Old 11-07-2016, 06:26 PM
Member
 
Oilmanmojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Indianapolis, In
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulfromtulsa View Post
So on my Sony projector I need to use input 2 for 4k stuff? What is the resolution if I use input 1? I have been using input 1 for a while now but never had any 4k source or player till now

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G928A using Tapatalk
Paul

The Sony upscales everything to 4k so regardless of the signal, it gets upscaled to 4k. However, the HDMI 2 is configured to take a native 4k signal whereas the HDMI 1 only handles a 1080 signal if i understand it correctly. Only is important when you are feeding it a UHD signal.

Hope this helps
Oilmanmojo is offline  
post #6146 of 6149 Old 11-07-2016, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
paulfromtulsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oilmanmojo View Post
Paul

The Sony upscales everything to 4k so regardless of the signal, it gets upscaled to 4k. However, the HDMI 2 is configured to take a native 4k signal whereas the HDMI 1 only handles a 1080 signal if i understand it correctly. Only is important when you are feeding it a UHD signal.

Hope this helps
Thank you. That does help. I will just use input 2 for now on.
paulfromtulsa is offline  
post #6147 of 6149 Old 11-09-2016, 04:51 PM
Newbie
 
Homer J Simpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I'm an owner of the vw-500es and today I got the ps4 pro which can output 4k. The ps4 pro asks for HDCP 2.2 and I figured out that HDMI 2 handles it. On the ps4 pro youtube released a 4k native app but when I run the videos they are displayed in at 854 x 480 and there is not quality option to choose...

I'm a little bit confused. On the console I set the video output to be 3840 x 2160 - 60hz and when I go to the info panel of the projector it says I'm viewing at 3840x2160-60p but even in games I can't see any difference...somebody in the same situation? I think this projector should be fully compatible with the ps4 pro.

Last question: I thought that when displaying a 4k source the reality creation would have been automatically turned off, but this is not happening...is it correct?

Thanks
Homer J Simpson is offline  
post #6148 of 6149 Old 11-10-2016, 05:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 75
No. Regretfully, this is completely incorrect. Both HDMI inputs accept 4K signals but only HDMI 2 is HDCP 2.2 compliant. This means that if you've got a 4K signal that is copy-protected using HDCP 2.2, you need to feed it through HDMI 2 in order to decode it properly to be able to see it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oilmanmojo View Post
Paul

The Sony upscales everything to 4k so regardless of the signal, it gets upscaled to 4k. However, the HDMI 2 is configured to take a native 4k signal whereas the HDMI 1 only handles a 1080 signal if i understand it correctly. Only is important when you are feeding it a UHD signal.

Hope this helps
Michael9009 is offline  
post #6149 of 6149 Old 11-10-2016, 08:48 PM
Member
 
Oilmanmojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Indianapolis, In
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
No. Regretfully, this is completely incorrect. Both HDMI inputs accept 4K signals but only HDMI 2 is HDCP 2.2 compliant. This means that if you've got a 4K signal that is copy-protected using HDCP 2.2, you need to feed it through HDMI 2 in order to decode it properly to be able to see it.
michael--thanks for the correction. i know i could only get a 4k signal through the HDMI 2 on my projector so it probably was the HDCP 2.2 issue.
Oilmanmojo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw500es , Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Sony Fmp X1 4k Ultra Hd Media Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off