Official Sony VPL-VW500ES / VW600ES 4K Projector Thread - Page 67 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1981 of 3340 Old 02-09-2014, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whitetrash66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Does anyone know if a uk lamp will work in a USA or Canadian machine? I can't find anyone in North America with a lamp in stock or on order. Will a euro lamp work if the part number is the same?
whitetrash66 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1982 of 3340 Old 02-09-2014, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitetrash66 View Post

Does anyone know if a uk lamp will work in a USA or Canadian machine? I can't find anyone in North America with a lamp in stock or on order. Will a euro lamp work if the part number is the same?

Any reason you think why they would not work? They are just named differently but they should use the same parts. I can understand if it was the Sony 95 or 1000es, but the 500es and 600es are the same projector. Never hurts to be 100% sure
blee0120 is online now  
post #1983 of 3340 Old 02-09-2014, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whitetrash66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I'm just not sure a euro lamp will work. I know power standards are different there (120 vs 240). If anyone can find me one in stock, I'd be thankful. I already have 500 on mine and I'd like to have a spare
whitetrash66 is offline  
post #1984 of 3340 Old 02-09-2014, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Brad/Viper-Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking of buying the 600ES to use on a smaller screen, 40"x94" scope screen, would this be to bright in low lamp? Screen is a ST130 micro-perf about 1.17gain, light controlled room.
If to bright, is there a manual iris to close down to reduce brightness?

Brad
Brad/Viper-Fan is offline  
post #1985 of 3340 Old 02-09-2014, 12:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad/Viper-Fan View Post

I'm thinking of buying the 600ES to use on a smaller screen, 40"x94" scope screen, would this be to bright in low lamp? Screen is a ST130 micro-perf about 1.17gain, light controlled room.
If to bright, is there a manual iris to close down to reduce brightness?

It would be very bright for a fully light controlled room, but some would like it.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales
Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com

Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/

 

Call for B-stock projectors

Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.

AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #1986 of 3340 Old 02-09-2014, 12:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad/Viper-Fan View Post

I'm thinking of buying the 600ES to use on a smaller screen, 40"x94" scope screen, would this be to bright in low lamp? Screen is a ST130 micro-perf about 1.17gain, light controlled room.
If to bright, is there a manual iris to close down to reduce brightness?

Yes. there is a manual iris and you could also use a ND filter.i

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #1987 of 3340 Old 02-09-2014, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Brad/Viper-Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Mark!
In your opinion will that be to bright for that screen size?

Brad
Brad/Viper-Fan is offline  
post #1988 of 3340 Old 02-09-2014, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Brad/Viper-Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to clarify, that's a manual iris in addition to the dynamic iris?

Brad
Brad/Viper-Fan is offline  
post #1989 of 3340 Old 02-09-2014, 01:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 293
There is only one iris. It can be set to manual or dynamic (full or partial). In dynamic the iris bright opening level can be set via the dynamic iris brightness control which sets how large the iris will open to. this affects how bright the picture will be.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #1990 of 3340 Old 02-09-2014, 03:09 PM
Member
 
Thaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BakeApples View Post


Have anyone here imported a 500es from Japan and how did it work? I`m mostly interested in how and if the warranty will apply on a imported 500es from Japan to Europe.
Sony Prime support?

It's important to know that there is NO prime support in Japan with 500es. They mention only 1 year standard warranty. Now will Sony make repairs in Europe for a Japanese 500es... Maybe (or it might be out of warranty repairs) ? All I heard is that Sony Europe's prime support are actually exchanging european units with Japanese ones when swapping units... In the US it might be a different story since it's a 600es and not 500es... Worse case scenario you'll have to pay to ship it back to Japan...

Thaal is offline  
post #1991 of 3340 Old 02-09-2014, 03:16 PM
Member
 
espny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
is there a way to make the projector Simulview ready?!
espny is offline  
post #1992 of 3340 Old 02-09-2014, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Brad/Viper-Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the feedback Mike, in your view, would you buy the 600ES or the RS57/4910 for my size screen?

Brad
Brad/Viper-Fan is offline  
post #1993 of 3340 Old 02-09-2014, 08:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad/Viper-Fan View Post

Thanks for the feedback Mike, in your view, would you buy the 600ES or the RS57/4910 for my size screen?

Sent you a PM. smile.gif

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales
Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com

Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/

 

Call for B-stock projectors

Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.

AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #1994 of 3340 Old 02-09-2014, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
billqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by BakeApples View Post

Have anyone here imported a 500es from Japan and how did it work? I`m mostly interested in how and if the warranty will apply on a imported 500es from Japan to Europe.
Sony Prime support?

That's a pretty steep price difference if the yen to dollars calculator I used was correct. I didn't notice any different models from JVC than the ones over here. If Sony eventually decides to market the 500/600 similarly here, they would see tremendous sales. Right now the new e-shift3 projectors and the Sony 4ks are at two very different price points. Both are outside my price point, but last year's model JVC 4810 in B Stock from AVS just might do it for me. It would be a different story if the Sony were competitively priced.
billqs is offline  
post #1995 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 11:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by billqs View Post

That's a pretty steep price difference if the yen to dollars calculator I used was correct. I didn't notice any different models from JVC than the ones over here. If Sony eventually decides to market the 500/600 similarly here, they would see tremendous sales. Right now the new e-shift3 projectors and the Sony 4ks are at two very different price points. Both are outside my price point, but last year's model JVC 4810 in B Stock from AVS just might do it for me. It would be a different story if the Sony were competitively priced.

If you did not purchase one already, the 4810 B-stocks are gone.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales
Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com

Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/

 

Call for B-stock projectors

Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.

AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #1996 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 11:49 AM
Newbie
 
jaychatbonneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Will I need a separate video processor to use a 500es with a 2.40 lens? Can the internal video processor be adjusted to do the appropriate stretch? I know it can for 2.35 lenses.

2. If the 500es can't do stretch for 2.40 on its own, how much stretch do I need to program the external video processor for? Remember the native aspect ration on the 500es is 1.89.

3. How precisely can aspect ratios be entered into video processors? Limited to two digits after the decimal?

Thank you for your help! I know these are noob questions.
jaychatbonneau is offline  
post #1997 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 12:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
SherazNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitetrash66 View Post

Update on lag.

I was playing Red Dead Redemption for the XBOX 360, and was messing around. There is definately a noticeable delay between button pushing and action on the screen. I have an Onkyo 3009, and so i set it to output 4k2k to the projector instead of 1080P. Now I must say, the 4K upscaling is TERRIBLE from this receiver, and the game looked visibly softer. BUT the latency was gone! Much much better! i'd say its improved from about 100ms to maybe 30 ms. It feels like there is no delay compared to sending a 1080P signal. So gaming is much better. I guess when receiving a native source, there is much less processing in the receiver going on.

Because the upscaling sucks so bad from my Onkyo, i set it to output the direct resolution from all my sources (Xbox 360, Xbox One, PS4, Cable box) to my Oppo 103D and let the 103D upscale these sources to 4K so the projector doesn't have to. Now my lag is gone! I'd recommend this to all gamers on this projector, and i'd be interested to see some hard measured numbers on this!

Yesterday i played Demon Souls and also Last of us on PS3 and had no issue with lagging. Demon Souls is critical on timing and I didn't have much issue with it. I said "much" because I haven't played it in a while and not being able to perform an action could very much be my own skills. But for the most part, I was able to perform time critical actions.

I only tested shooting in Last of us and it was spontaneous.

Checking in RC menu, there was no database option available. Checking info, it said 720P/60 FPS.
SherazNJ is offline  
post #1998 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 01:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 293
The answer is no and yes. If your souces are below 1080p, the projector will do the necessary stretch. If your source is UHD or 4K, the answer is you will need to use an external processor.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #1999 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 02:08 PM
Newbie
 
jaychatbonneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know the input has to be 1080P. I have no 4K material to input. :-(

The thing is I will be using a 2.40 lens that stretches by 35% horizontally, while a 2.35 lens stretches by 33%. Can the 500ES do the different vertical stretch necessary for the 2.40 lens?

Thanks.
jaychatbonneau is offline  
post #2000 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 03:45 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaychatbonneau View Post

I know the input has to be 1080P. I have no 4K material to input. :-(

The thing is I will be using a 2.40 lens that stretches by 35% horizontally, while a 2.35 lens stretches by 33%. Can the 500ES do the different vertical stretch necessary for the 2.40 lens?

Thanks.

What lens are you using. Most horizontal expansion lenses are 1.33 and that will work fine with your 2.40 screen.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales
Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com

Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/

 

Call for B-stock projectors

Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.

AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #2001 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 04:08 PM
Newbie
 
jaychatbonneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be using a Prismasonic that does a 35%stretch instead of 33%.
jaychatbonneau is offline  
post #2002 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 04:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 293
No. The vertical stretch only has two options 1.33 and 1.24 9or something close t that, I don't remember.

Just use the 1.33 stretch on the Sony. You can over scan slightly and you will probably be overscanning more anyway to hide the pincushioning caused by the anamorphic lens.
jaychatbonneau likes this.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #2003 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
billqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post

If you did not purchase one already, the 4810 B-stocks are gone.
Shoot! Any chance more will pop up?
billqs is offline  
post #2004 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 07:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 293
How about the odds on Masters tickets popping up. Whoops this is a Sony 500/600 thread. Excuse me, I look in the right thread. smile.gif

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #2005 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 07:30 PM
Newbie
 
jaychatbonneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

No. The vertical stretch only has two options 1.33 and 1.24 9or something close t that, I don't remember.

Just use the 1.33 stretch on the Sony. You can over scan slightly and you will probably be overscanning more anyway to hide the pincushioning caused by the anamorphic lens.

1.33 stretch with a 2.40 lens would look really distorted. Since the 500ES only has two setting for vertical stretch I will just get a Lumagen. If I light the center 3840 by 2160 pixels a 35% vertical stretch will result in exactly a 2.40 aspect ratio with the Prismasonic lens. If I light all the pixels, a 26.66% will get me almost exactly 2.40.

So, how precisely will the Lumagen set the stretch?
jaychatbonneau is offline  
post #2006 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 07:45 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaychatbonneau View Post

1.33 stretch with a 2.40 lens would look really distorted. Since the 500ES only has two setting for vertical stretch I will just get a Lumagen. If I light the center 3840 by 2160 pixels a 35% vertical stretch will result in exactly a 2.40 aspect ratio with the Prismasonic lens. If I light all the pixels, a 26.66% will get me almost exactly 2.40.

So, how precisely will the Lumagen set the stretch?

The vertical stretch of the 600ES works fine on a 2.40 aspect screen. It is not distorted (not talking about pincushion, which all A-lenses give). Not sure where you are getting this.

If your screen is 50" high and 120" wide, then the width of your 16:9 image is 88.89" wide. That means with a 50" high image you would get a 118.5" wide image once stretched 33%. So to completely fill the 120" width, you would need to increase the image height to 50.75", over-scanning the height of the screen 3/8" of an inch, top and bottom.

Added
Now the Lumagen works very well for vertical stretch and since vertical stretch is a scaling function and the Lumagen does a great job scaling, you will probably find that it does a better job than the projector.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales
Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com

Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/

 

Call for B-stock projectors

Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.

AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #2007 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 07:58 PM
Newbie
 
jaychatbonneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not true. This is because the Prismasonic lens I am going to use does a 35% stretch. Unless the Sony's video processor can be set to a 35% vertical stretch in 1.78 mode there will be geometric distortion.
jaychatbonneau is offline  
post #2008 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 08:02 PM
Newbie
 
jaychatbonneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How precisely can the Lumagen Radiance Mini set the vertical stretch? Do you sell them?
jaychatbonneau is offline  
post #2009 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 08:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaychatbonneau View Post

Not true. This is because the Prismasonic lens I am going to use does a 35% stretch. Unless the Sony's video processor can be set to a 35% vertical stretch in 1.78 mode there will be geometric distortion.

Can't do that with the Sony, but I believe you can with the Lumagen, though I think you are not going to be able to tell the difference. Yes we are a Lumagen dealer.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales
Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com

Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/

 

Call for B-stock projectors

Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.

AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #2010 of 3340 Old 02-10-2014, 08:43 PM
Newbie
 
jaychatbonneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will call you. Can you ship to Hong Kong?
jaychatbonneau is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw500es , Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Sony Fmp X1 4k Ultra Hd Media Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off